Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stayokay Maastricht

Maasboulevard 101, Jekerkwartier, 6211 JW Maastricht, Netherlands

#35 of 51 hotels in Maastricht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1358 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price listing was not correct, charge in the credit card was higher than posted in the website.

    Room was not as advertised in the Booking web page, instead of a double bed with extra single. Other than that the room was clean and tidy, staff was friendly and cooperative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to party and meet people and sleep is less of a concern - this is the place for you. Great location and facilities. However, if you just want a (slightly) cheaper alternative to a hotel and get some sleep, you’re guaranteed to StayAwake at StayOkay. Paper thin walls combined with loud pumping music from the bar (as well as loud kids and drunk people) will rob you from any significant shuteye. The rooms are also incredibly warm and there’s no A/C.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hostel is in a great location only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Nicely situated on the river Maas, with a terrace overlooking the river. good selection available for breakfast, although unlike other stayOK hostels this is an additional item to purchase. a number of different beers available at the bar, and good food as well. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered extra service which includes that our beds are made for us when we arrive and we are provided with shower gel, towels etc., unfortunately nothing was prepared, beds weren't made and everything else was missing. Also we requested a double bed which was not prepared as well. After a short visit at the reception, both was changed except that we still had to make our own bed in the evening. The rooms were not clean at all, there were unidentifying spots on windows and walls and dust under the bed and heater. It states the hostal has a trendy interior but it would be nice if that would include the rooms and hallways. We expected a little bit more choice for breakfast.

    The view was exceptional and the location was great too. The hostel provides bicycle renting and a lot of additional activity offers. The breakfast was really delicious, it included even peanut butter and the bread was really good. The staff speaks really good English and is friendly. The room was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a typical hostel (and especially unusual for an HI hostel) because there is no kitchen or any common area where you are allowed to eat your own food (not even a salad from the supermarket). It's not even possible to get hot water or coffee before breakfast time. Also, the doors don't lock properly, when I told front desk staff, she was like "yeah, that's normal, you have to put your card in again to lock it". It would be good if staff would tell that every guest because it's clearly a safety issue (I passed quite a few open doors when I stayed there).

    This hostel is clean and modern

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better... Not much to choose from.

    Thr staff is amazing. They help in any way they can. The fact that they have accessible rooms (4 in total I believe) is also very good. Right by the water. You can rent a bike so me and my aide could go out together, me with a mobility scooter and her with a bike, it was very cheap to rent a bike for the day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smelly bathroom with no possibility to get some air. Smelly floors. Poor and not qualitative breakfast and the list goes on.

    I liked Only the location of the hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could only expect a little more hot food at the breakfast.

    The location was as beautiful as conveniet. You can get a world-class view over Maas river from your room if you're lucky (which I was). The staff members were friendly, polite, very helpful and generally amazing. Great place to stay overnight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in a shower room was clogged and hot water was nearly water. It was hard to take a shower.

    Staffs were nice. Nice river side view from a restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking beside the Hostel is not save. 2 broken car windows within two days. And we were not properly informed about this situation, although it is known. The police and city did not do much about it yet, despite the fact that a problem for a while.

    All is easy going there. A bit chaotic, but it works out. Rooms are simple but good. The ones with river view are great. Breakfast is nice for the price ;-) The organization of the party was great and the ceramique meeting room is well suiting for a private event.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is not very practical - no separation of the shower from the rest of the bathroom.

    The breakfast is good, nice variety of food and drinks. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean enough and the evening staff seemed uninterested. The beds of the people who had left were not cleaned even before I checked in during the evening.

    It's location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were not very comfortable. I know this is a hostel but at approx €30 pppn in a quadruple room (2 bunk beds) a better mattress and better bedding should have been expected. Bathrooms could do with modernising (but were still adequate overall). Bar only open until midnight on Saturday - an extra hour would have been nice.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The whole place has a welcoming and happy atmosphere! Nice, clean, bright and spacious bar/dining areas and communal areas. Lovely outside patio area. Short walk from Maastricht City Centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very lumpy and unfomtable to lay on. And it would be nice to have some soap in the room.

    Really friendly staff and a good place to meet new people. Friday there was a salsa party and a lot of people attended that. The location is absolutely fantastic. It's right by the river Maas and a park so the walk to the centre is a nice 5-10 min walk. All in all it was a great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't have vegetable milk

    The breakfast was definetly a great choice! Really nice hostel near the center with really friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed in a mixed room, and for all but one night I was the only girl; not exactly my definition of "mixed". Very late night/early morning check-ins disturb the other guests

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the rooms and i could hear the people and the heavy doors slamming all the time, so the noise was not pleasant. Staff was not very nice. They say they have breakfast until 9.30 but at 9 there was nothing left in the breakfast table. Also no lock on the bathroom door and no shower curtain.

    The location is very good, the rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a hostel but no laundry or customer-kitchen. The light is dim and completely not suitable for reading or writing. I do hate the shower room as I have to continuously pushing the button for keeping water running. Water is running weak that hair or dirt cannot be wash away easily. We have to make up the beds. Having consider this is a hostel, it is fine. However, as a hostel, it is expensive.

    City center is within 10 mins walk. The room is clean. Staff are nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't book with much anticipation so Maastricht was almost fully booked. I just needed a place to spend the night (Fri - Sat) with my family and wanted to keep it on budget so this seemed to be the best option for us and it was. Since they have salsa nights every friday we asked them in advance for a quiet room (we have a 2 year old son) and we were very happy with the option they gave us since the sound almost didn't get in. The room also had a big window from where you could see the beautiful park right outside and the water that is next to the building. Location was almost perfect, just 10 minute walking to the main attractions. It was winter so the weather so unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the terrace they have next to the water but must be great in summer. Also props to the breakfast, it was basic but very good value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was the only girl in a 7 beds dormatory :/ And no lockers in the rooms

    The staff were amazing, very friendly.. The location is STUNNING! The rooms were good, the facilities in the hostel were good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi could be better.

    Staff members were very friendly and the place was really well organized and clean. Breakfast was very good. Also they had a basement where I could store my bicycle safely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels had to be paid for(it was mentioned in the details but still not cool). The parking was beside the hotel(secured street parking beneath the bridge) but had to be paid on per hour basis(free from 6pm to 8 am). So you can calculate.(1.20 EUR per hour if I remember correctly).

    The accommodation was great for the budget. Just a little away from city center(10-15 mins on foot). The room was a dorm room but given to just two of us. So very spacious and just beside the river. The view from the room(dorm) was great. I liked it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the priciest place on our trip, for the most Spartan accommodations. Could just be that Maastricht is expensive, but it felt like a lot of money. There was also a 25 euro fee and we don't know why. Although there was a private toilet, the smell in the toilet room was TERRIBLE - like make-you-sick-to-smell bad. Also, late at night another guest mistakenly entered our private room - not sure why his key worked on our door. Pretty typical hostel, really, but priced like a hotel.

    The room was as described - a 6-bed (3 bunk-bed) room with private toilet. The food in the restaurant was fine. The location was good - an easy walk to downtown Maastricht and in a quiet spot on the river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows very flat, no hand towel or paper towels in the bathroom, no hairdryers in bathrooms or to borrow.

    Easy walk to the centre of town and train station. Good leisure facilities e.g. pool table. Room was very simple but comfortable. Cold free drinking water machine available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A yha should be much cheaper..any traveler should be able to afford the money for a night in a youth! Hostel...

    Nicht bis hostel near Maastricht oldtown. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a perfect location If you have a big luggage with you, you have think twice cuz it takes 30mins to walk to hostel. It would be much better if they have locker in the room.

    The view from the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do understand the fact that it is a Bio hotel, .. etc .. etc... but after being on the road for 8-9 hours, .. you do want to take a good shower, .. but because it is a Bio hotel, they don't allow you taking a long and WARM shower, ... it was not even 5 minutes and the shower turned to be cold and colder, ... but hey .... everything for the planet .. innit!!

    I got checked in by Simone, .. she was super-friendly and helpfull, .. taking her time to give you all the information you need, .. The also have a big bar where they organise some stuff in the weekend, .. which probably is very cool in the weekend, ... My room was great with a view on the canal, .... no complains overhere! So .. yeah, .. if I would visit Maastricht again, .. I would go back for sure to StayOkay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The payment process was not well coordinated. There was a group of us, each paying individually which has not been a problem in previous accommodation. The member of staff taking the payments did not appear to be taking any record of which or how many people had paid and the balance was incorrect in the end.

    Good for a budget stay. Nothing fancy but it's clean and in a good location. I stayed in a private 4 bed room. It was a good sized room and each bed had its own plug socket which was convenient. There was also a good view out over the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to hang clothes and towel in the shower Expensive for a bunk bed No comfortable common rooms No hostel atmosphere No kitchen, food and drinks from outside forbidden

    Breakfast Terrace Surrounding park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi, only 100Mbps per guest. Not suitable for streaming a movie or your favorite TV series.

    Clean and cozi. Very close to City center. Friendly enviroment. Lovely personnel and guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty nosy. I stayed in a four-bed room and the other people came back very late and made a lot of noise.

    The hostel is well located, 15 min walking from the central station. The staff was very helpful. The room was clean and I was provided with clean sheets. I would deffinetly recommend this hostel if you planning a quick trip to Maastricht.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that you had to make your own bed was a little strange and could be annoying if you're arriving late at night

    Just a short walk from the train station; beautiful river views; close to the old town where there are lots of charming restaurants, cafes, and shops; comfortable beds; staff were super friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive and small rental towels, room smelled terrible and was far too warm even with window open. The price is a lot for a very basic hostel.

    24hr desk, cute terrace, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kitchen for customers to cook

    Everything was great especially the location.. Its located right on the river and hence gives great views of the city.. Also the hostel is near from city center.. 10 minutes walk.. Also its spacious and have plenty of facilities in there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Park directly opposite. Bikes available for hire direct from Stayokay. Excellent location for getting around Maastricht. Perfect location for anyone competing in Ironman Maastricht, less than a 20minute walk to the registration/transition. Friends and family can observe the Ironman Maastricht swim from the outdoor decking area, whilst having breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a hostel. No elevator, so it was difficult to carry a big suitcase up to 1st floor.

    OK for one night, but wouldn't recommend for longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated in the tell us more not recommende

    Very well over priced very poor facilities, lack of air conditioning Breakfast very standard no variation from day to day Bar service extremely slow and waiting to get served No parking facilities but still a very high cost stay per day £125 a night for very little facilities No welcome in he rooms such as a supply of tea or coffe The area not guaranteed safe for your vehicle, accommodation very you noisy On arrival the room was not very clean there was cobwebs in the window frame and walking the floor you picked up other people hair on your feet hence the reason we purchased floor wipes and cleaned it to our standard Would like to recommend it to friends but I am unable to do for all the above reasons

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The top bunk which I had to use, as another guest removed my "reserved" notice for a bottom bunk (I'm 70), had a removable rail to stop the user falling out of bed. I was the first up that morning and as I was trying to clamber down I held the rail and the end of the bed and the rail became dislodged causing a great deal of noise and almost hit the person using the lower bunk.

    I have stayed at the Stayokay Maastrict once before so new what to expect. The staff are all really helpful and friendly without exception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    car park next to hotel is pay by hour

    good choice at breakfast and you can eat it sitting on terrace over looking river,we also liked to relax with a beer in the evening on the terrace you could also hire a bike to see the town as it is very bike frendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on the second morning wasn't as good as the first. There were no eggs eventhough we were told they would be out in 10 minutes. Also it seemed a little expensive at 308.00 euro for 2 nights.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location was excellent. The staff especially one young blond lady (so sorry to not have her name) was particularly helpful to me when I had a problem with checking in for my flight with the Ryanair app. This lovely lady checked in for me and printed my boarding cards. Staff like this should be well rewarded and appreciated as they make guests want to return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I enjoyed my stay. The location was good. Bikes were available for hire outside the door, and the staff were really nice people.

    I don't know what the Genius perks were so cannot comment. They are trying to stop people running the showers for far too long, so they shut off every couple of minutes so you have to repeat pressing the button. I understand the problem as people waste water and electricity.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House Rate

    Clean and Simple Style of Hotel. helpful and friendly staff Location great and just by riverside, beautiful sight of Maas river and Bridge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no plug for the bathroom sink. There were no proper towel rails only 3 little hooks which is useless to hang a damp towel. I know this is a hostel but paying 92 euros per night is disgraceful. If i had been staying for longer I would have moved to a proper hotel which would have been a much higher standard for the same price. When I arrived there was a large crowd of young people who were very rude completely blocking the door and I had to shout and push them out of the way to get in. I would like a 50 per cent refund to compensate.

    the dutch breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so hot eveyone was dying, even the staff. NOT recommended at all to go in summer.

    The staff was really nice, and they tried to help us in eveything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During my stay in one of the waterfront rooms (which are the best, with great view of the river) it was really warm and the room does not have airco.. the only kickback

    great place! simple and very good, very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is pretty basic. There are no lockers in the rooms but you have to pay them at the reception.

    The location is relatively good and the rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very warm (33 Celcius) and the room does not have much ventilation nor airco. So it was sweltering hot in the room unfortunately. When it is a less warm day, room will be great!

    Property is in walking distance of old city centre, shops and restaurants. Very nicely situated on the banks of the river. Accommodation is basic and good, room en suite. Room has 6 beds but we booked just for ourselves. Well priced for what you get. Riverside rooms are very nice with great view of river and river boats passing by. Staff are very helpful, friendly and professional. Low cost car park just next to hotel, very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful. We had a 4 person dorm for the two of us. It was pokey even for two, and lacked basic features- like a hook in the shower for clothes, and adequate surfaces and storage : it would have been horrible with 4. The room faced east and the curtains were too thin to block the dawn light at 5 am. Only the side ege of the window opened, which meant little ventilation - we sweltered on both nights here. The noise from the parties and the guests on the terrace below went on loudly into the wee hours : closing the window helped the noise but the heat was then unbearable Breakfast was extra All this for more than the price of a standard hotel roomroom with all facilities In 6 weeks of bike touring , this was by far the worst accommodation we have found for the equally highest price

    The shared facilities were pleasant - a terrace, and games area. The bike storage was good The position on the riverbank is lovely (but there are many other lovely parts in this attractive town)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no mirrors in the bathrooms, it was really problematic for 6 women to try to get ready with a single mirror and a single bathroom.

    The staff were really great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled like there had not entered fresh air for a long, long time. Looked like the room had not been in operation for some time. Not 100% clean.

    Breakfast was good. Price of the breakfast 6,50. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Nice hostel for young people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I didn't stay longer!

    StayOkay exceeded my expectations. Staff were incredibly polite, friendly, and helpful. The hostel is in a great location next to the river and over the road from the park and historic walls. Rooms were clean and breakfast was very good value for money. Wifi coverage was good throughout.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful bathroom and toilet. I booked a 4 person room, and it was just okay to sleep for a night. Not recommended for longer stay.

    The staff at reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    The view from my room was absolutely gorgeous. It looked out into the river and gave me a beautiful view day and night. Location is great as its a short walk into the city centre but a 20 min walk to the train station. Otherwise facilities were good. Each bed had a light and outlet. Staff was friendly and informative. Breakfast was decent and very typical European breakfast. Overall, wonderful stay. I ended up leaving a day early just because I got bored there. Oh there's also a gorgeous Park right across the street from the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't open window, it was a wheelchair-friendly room so the bathroom was bit un-handy for us. We had booked a double room (with double bed in the picture) but we got a 4-bed (2 bunks) for us only. Not a major drama, but not what we had booked/expected.

    Price, quietness, comfortable bed, adjustable heating (cold room when we arrived but it warmed up quickly).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big schoolgroup on excursion. The teachers probably let them loose for the evening... the party in the hallway was wild, my night's sleep a bit less so.

    Great locations, nice rooms, just a very good hostel to have a stay at. Best valua for money in Maastricht!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not so practical ..no space to put your soap/shampoo (which were also not included in the price) and needed to push the button continuously to keep running,also havin no shower cup would not be easy if needing your hair to stay dry! Also not having the bed done for us meant having to witness the "body" stains on every surface!

    Arriving on a Friday and finding out that the hostel was carrying out a salsa party( my favourite dance) was the cherry on top!!! if u are a salsa fan ,you will have a blast! the stay would.be only 1,5 day short so the location was pretty optimal , only few 100 m away from city center! the breakfast was cheap and quite ok!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could be much cleaner. The bar is a bit pricey.

    Everything was okay. It is a well-equipped, modern hostel, with a good location - very much worth its price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think overall it's a bit too expensive for what i experienced here. The showerheads in the bathroom cannot provide water continuously. If you press the button it will only less 10 seconds at most. Also no kitchen,no hairdryer(but you can borrow from the counter). And the light in the room is really dim.

    The bed is comfortable and the staff are kind. Overall, the room is clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was supposed to start at 07:30 - wasn't ready by 07:45 rooms don't have much light

    Location is good Walking distance to the city centre Rooms are small but it's Okay for one night

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very expensive for what you get. Showers are a bit cramped. Beds leave something to be desired.

    Breakfast was good. Staff are friendly. The hostel is very close to everything you need to see in Maastricht.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left too early for breakfast :( There didn't seem to be any staff on in the bar or when I checked out in the morning.

    Beautiful location on the river side with big windows to look out of. The bookshelf and magazines were a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room was slightly cold despite the fact that the heating was full on. Heating can be improved. - There is room for improvement when it comes to the breakfast.

    The entire experience was excellent, staff very very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I've stayed here, and both have had no problems.

    The breakfast was, as always, excellent. They had poffertjies one day - so nice. I love the location, the common area, and the staff were so friendly with my accented Dutch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the first night, some guests from the room next door were too noisy. However, after kindly requesting with the reception desk to notify them, they eventually kept the noise down.

    Excellent location, great view, great breakfast! All employees are very polite and extremely helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly! Many thanks!!! Everything in the room simple but good and clean and comfortable. Breakfast included, and you get really everything you need, fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, big parcking next to the hostel, 15 min walking distance to historic center, restaurants, bars ect. All facilities in the room, clean and quiet. Overall, good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is pretty basic, not worth the rave online. And there's no eateries nearby. Laundry facilities would be nice too

    Super pretty and quiet location, right next to the river. It is quite straight forward to get to the city centre, but ride a bike from the train station otherwise it is a bit far off. Twisted my ankle and staff were happy to assist.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sometimes cleanliness of room depends on the people stay inside. I felt bad somedays due to others hygiene.

    excellent place to stay. I can recommend for others too. go and enjoy near to river...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a little problem with WiFi. I could go on the web sites, but WhatsApp and Viber were not working. I asked the girl at the reception about it, she didn't know why is like that, but she offered me a help with it. At that time I was going out so I decided to deal with it when I come back. At some moment, somehow I got to the some Home page of the hostel and then all the app started to work. I think they should put some instructions for WiFi, that's all.

    The location is really great, everything is so close from there. Breakfast was excellent, everything fresh and bio, lots of coffee :) The best thing is, you can drink your coffee outside on the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wanted to leave the hotel 3 day earlier, but the staff refuse to refund even 20-30 euro from my payment.

    Good value for a short stay. Very good location. Reasonable price for the lockers and bikes. Good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic covered mattresses are uncomfortable especially when its hot and the windows don't let in much fresh air

    Good location with a bar overlooking the river. Good breakfast. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, except maybe the bathroom (separate shower and toiler) is a bit too small. Still, it's more than okay to use for a few days.

    The hostel is located by the river and has a very nice terrace where guests can have breakfast or coffee /drinks on a sunny day. The breakfast choice is very good, one of the best I've seen in hostels. It's also possible to rent bikes for a day or half a day. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress are of the worst quality, some kind of plastic, and really old. The room (private one) was clearly dirty, with rest of food probably from other guest, dust, and even insects and some weird sort spiders. And it seems it was not the first time, as the roof had marks of other dead insects. On the side, there was a place with extra bed sheets, totally disorganized. The area for hang out, play area, charges for the use of anything. The hostel made for its name "OK". For such room I would expect to be charged no more than 1/3 of what I paid. I can compare it with bad quality hostels.

    The breakfast was OK if you compare with other hostels. The restaurant area is nice with view to the water.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could have had better facilities like more usable plug points and hand wash near the sink. Too few chairs for a 6-bed dorm.

    The place has a great view of the river and offers good breakfast in the morning. Very nice for large student groups/teams staying for a short while. Wouldn't recommend it for stay beyond 3 nights though.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't sleep. There were way too many people yelling and making noise outside. If you're going to stay here, I recommend earplugs.

    I thought it was a cute little hotel in a nice location. The breakfast was good and the room was pretty big.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stayokay Maastricht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: