Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stayokay Rotterdam

Overblaak 85- 87, 3011 MH Rotterdam, Netherlands

#34 of 58 hotels in Rotterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2388 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is really really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is not very convenient because it stops every 15 seconds..... The room is not very clean either.

    The breakfast is really really good! The front desk is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite basic.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. The rooms are nicely laid out, so that even in a dorm, there's a bit of privacy. Location is also perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Funky shaped hostel perfectly located in Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not have anything negative to say about this hostel. Maybe some air conditioning in the rooms perhaps, can be a little stuffy sometimes.

    Had a one night stay at Stayokay and would highly recommend it to those looking for something cheap, cheerful, and relaxed. Staff were friendly, there is locker facilities to store your belongings, and the location is great. Breakfast was included and was a sufficient meal to start the day. Rotterdam Blaak train line right outside the door and the Rotterdam Centraal is no more than a 10 minute walk. The market is only a 2 minute walk away and is a great way to spend a few hours. Main shopping streets, cafes, restaurants and bars also very close to Stayokay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Rooms are all different shape and it may not fit to you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room which shown in pictures on booking.com are not always available. You may get very poor and narrow room.

    After complain about room status, Stayokay changed room for better one (wider, sun light, closed window) next day

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    The location is great and nice, near MarkHal and centrum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is shared with other people. It is appreciated if I can book the room for myself even though I need to pay a bit more.

    The location is great and nice, near MarkHal and centrum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Worth it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Close to Blaak of Rotterdam, easy access via transportation, within reach of port and market hall. Rooms are neatly arranged inside the Cube. Breakfast provided was exceptional. Helpful staff at the front desk. Met a lot of interesting people here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Was okay but expected a room in the cube which was not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hoped to stay in a cube room but ended up in an ordinary dark hostel room, disappointing.

    Good breakfast, helpful staff. Unfortunately all rooms in cubes were booked so we got a very ordinary dark hostel room on 1st floor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great experience for kids or even for any ages, It was just an idea to see how it would be staying in such an unique architecture, the breakfast was great and super location to visit Rotterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lockers in the room. The room was rather dark as there was very little light both from the windows during the day and from the lamps in the evening.

    The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean. Breakfast is included and is really good. The location of the hostel is great - center of the city, metro and train station nearby, a walking distance from the Central station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was hoping to feel more that I was in a Cube House. Maybe because it was a familiar room it was on a lower floor and didn't feel that much that it was a cube house.

    Location is amazing. Near the train station Blaack and near the Markthal. Really loved the location. Also the staff was nice and breakfast was nice but busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place, perfect for short stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is really an amazing experience. Breakfast exceeds expectations by miles. Rooms are facilitated very well and spacious. Location is perfect, subway walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay and within walking distance to center trainstation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bathtowels!

    Beds were very comfortable Rooms not very big ,but unique and interesting. Great breakfast ! And we really enjoyed the area everything was within walking distance.And interesting buildings to look at all around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel location was very OK to me and my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room has no table that can be used either for laptop or other purposes, the bathroom & Toilet were a bit disconfort due to automatic light switch on and off in very short time, and the water for shower as well

    I like the hotel's location that was very close to all public facilities, beakfast was also OK

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    A unique hostel experience due to its location at one of the tourist highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the rooms are irregular, there is no individual lockers inside the room. They have a looker machine at the lobby for 2 euro / 24 hrs or 0.40 cents / hr.

    A hostel inside the cubic house! They have air condition since the windows are not easy to open. Excellent location right at the station Blaak (both metro, tram and train). Walking distance to the harbor. 5 mins to a food court and many other good restaurants. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    The staff were friendly and were happy to help when I chose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not what I booked. I booked a double room but they changed me to a 2 bunk room with a single bed without telling me. Beds were very uncomfortable and the room was right on the main road so the noise was horrible. The room was very hot and there was only a small fan.

    The staff were friendly and were happy to help when I chose to leave after checking in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    It's a very special spot, such a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very special spot, such a nice place. However, the room of 7 persons are too crowded not so many personal spaces. Highly recommend people to book a 4 person or less people's room. But in general, the service is very nice and it's worthy staying there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, situated in the Oude Haven, with restaurants and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, situated in the Oude Haven, with restaurants and bars, and only 200 metres away from the Markthal (covered food market) and shopping streets. Breakfast included!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Architectural hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel looks special from the outside but it's kinda uncomfortable to stay in. I stayed in a room which there were no windows that I could open. It's not a hostel problem though, however the architect is responsible I guess...

    The breakfast was superb! Great quality! Such a great deal with this price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but the rooms are not too comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a good ventilation system, neither natural nor an air conditioning.

    The hotel location is perfect for a stay in Rotterdam for couple days, its close to everything and you can reach the main city destinations by walking or cycling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Unique experience staying in a cube house in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one curtain for the 7 windows in my room. Add the fact that there was a security light going off by the front door, which was directly below me, and you can imagine it was a really broken sleep for me. Woke up every time someone set the light off!

    A unique architectural experience and a location that can't be beaten! Perfect springboard for exploring Rotterdam. The bar was really cosy and all of the staff were super friendly and went the extra mile being patient and helpful with guests. I didn't have the complimentary breakfast but it looked good. Wi-Fi speeds were also amazing. A small ventilator fan was provided as it was hot weather, but with the window open I didn't find it necessary to use (I was alone in a room though, I imagine a big dorm would be a different story).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    It was really great except for the shower’s place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower’s place is really too small and it was smelling garlic.

    The breaksfast was just perfect, the building it’s really nice and has personal power plug in the beds. The localization it’s good too, firstly if you like to do shoppings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Living in a sight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is everything. You are living in one of the greatest sights in Rotterdam. The staff was really nice, they will help you with all your problems. They also try to maintain balance in rooms, which is great, if you are traveling alone. The bar downstairs was awesome two, you can order some local beer, meet some fellow travelers, watch a game or just surf the internet. Breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s bit hot in the summer, and there is limited space in the upper bed.

    The breakfast is good. The room is clean. The location is superb. And the staff is friendly. The plug is beside the bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Fair stay in the architectural artwork located in vibrant part of Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were pretty stuffed with beds, there are no shades on the windows and windows can't be openned (this is due to the fact that windows are on the roof, but still there could be some solution to this issue), washbasin is outside of the toilet inside of the room, so it tends to be noisy if somebody is using it in the middle of the night.

    Friendly stuff, nice breakfast with some meat and vegetable options (salami and ham, cherry tomatoes and cucumbers- plus variety of jams and spreads, some fruits and nice coffee, tea and juices). Excellent location- plus you are staying in architectural artwork :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Worth a visit :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can hear noise from other rooms.

    1 night stay in the landmark of Rotterdam. Worth a visit. First experience at hostel with my 4, 8 year old kids and they were also happy with the room. Also my parents were satisfied with the room. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Clean facilities and SUPERB LOCATION.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really dont like the automatic bathroom for water and electric! I almost pressed the button for water every 3 minutes and go outside for the light every 5 minutes! A bad experience of bathing!

    Good location! Pretty good design of hostel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location and limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, paid towels, no soap and shampoo, unpalatable сoffee, limited number of power sockets.

    Best location, famous buildings with unusual design, clean room, standard quite good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    It was interesting experience to stay in this hostel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was too dark and there was not enough light. Breaksfast was too poor. Only slicing cheese, 3 types sausages and jam. No any hot meal.

    It was interesting experience to stay in this hostel and such building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast, vast variety of options to eat &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a result of being situated in cubic houses, the interior is very tight, staircases are narrow and so on.

    Very good breakfast, vast variety of options to eat & drink. Automatic coffee machine at the end of the buffet line is very fast and coffee is OK for hostel automatic machine. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no curtains, so we couldn't darken the room. It would have been nice to have this info on the website.

    Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced with huge compromises in comfort. Do not be fooled by the photos of the family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a family room because we wanted to stay in an architectural icon with two adults and three kids. The first night we stayed in a room just above the entrance and the smokin area. The room ist extremely small and dark, it wasnt possible to open the window because of people smoking and talking just below the room. We asked to be moved for the second night and we ended up in one of the rooms at the top. Again, the rooms are very compromised due to the nature of the building. The main problem is, that no window can be opened and the climate machine was extremely noisy. Bottom line is that staying in an architectural icon has massive drawbacks. Also value for money is not great at all, we could have stayed in a hotel in two rooms for the same price. Also, the photo of the family room on booking is NOTHING like what the room was we ended up staying.

    breakfeast was ok, the building is an architectural landmark, location ist good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing hostel with very good price in one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not so easy to find at first. We were living in this hostel for 3 days and it seems that shower room wasn't cleaning at all all this time.

    Amazing hostel with very good price in one of the best places of Rotterdam. Breakfast was huge and tasty! Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find the front door.

    The breakfast is good. The location is awesome as itself is one of the attractions. You can see the markthal and other famous buildings from the balcony. Clean hostel, and one shower room and toilet in each room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Live in sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy neighbors.

    It may be a good place for short staying. Really perfect location near shops, cafes, sightseens and other points of interests. The room was modest: two beds, two chairs and shelves for items. That's all. But staying at cube-houses was very interesting. Two windows at room watched down and we saw people who walked under us. The breakfast was regular breakfast in hostels - good and enought. There are balcony at the lobby with very beautiful view - you must see it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location and their common area was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a deep clean, and I get wanting to conserve on your utilities but having the light turn off on you in the bathroom is annoying, so is pushing the shower button multiple times to try and rinse your hair. Rooms seriously need a deep clean.

    Good location and their common area was decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    The only thing I liked about the place was the main hall,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During this trip we visited 3 countries and 8 cities. Rotterdam was one of them. This city is very boring, so when you think about the prices they charge you to stay in a boring place, you start to wonder... is it really worth it? Then you say, ok, I will pay a ridiculous amount of money because at least I will be staying in an interesting place, the Cube Houses.... From the outside it looks "cool", then from the inside, it just does not work. This place is one of the reasons why Airbnb is taking over. When I compare my experience with the Airbnb I stayed, this place was the worst rated. Why on earth would you charge for towels? I understand they one to give the "hostel" experience and make you feel like you are in some sort of camp in a Chilean mine... but really? really? You have to take into consideration that every room is different. When we booked, we were expecting a certain kind of room we saw in a picture, but that was not the case. We complained, and they changed rooms to a big one with 6 beds (we were only 2). But it was still very uncomfortable and very cold. Finally they changed to a better room, number 87, and it was better... until I got to the bathroom. The shower had mould... to the point I had to clean it myself. A lot of things were wrong in this stay. The restaurant's food was very bad. I would like the manager of this place, to try the carbonara, and tell me it was good. To me, that was the most uninspired pasta ever. There are many details that make this place rubbish, like the lighting in the rooms (the place is very dark), the pillows quality, etc.

    The only thing I liked about the place was the main hall, where the reception and the restaurant are. It looks very nice. Location is good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Would like to live it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The space of shower room not really large enough.

    Great location! Just inside the famous building - Cube house! The Price is also acceptable and included breakfast buffet! Housing service is nice as well, quite satisfying living experience. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    A nice place to stay at, with a few caveats
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no free lockers available. Plus, there are no lockers at all in the rooms (but there are quite roomy shelves). You can leave your belongings in the baggage room but at your own risk, as it's not monitored. You have to pay for the lockers (it's NOT a refundable deposit). If you leave your baggage there overtime, you will have to pay again to retrieve your own belongings, which is definitely unpleasant for any traveler. The rooms don't have soap (you have to buy it, either at the hostel or by yourself) or anything to dry your hands with, which makes it quite unhygienic. I believe this is a must for any facility, even if it's a budget hostel. There are no free towels. The shower is time-limited and you have to continuously press in order to maintain a water flow. I do understand the environmental concerns, though.

    The location was amazing and close to most major sightseeings in the city, as well as right next to the Blaak metro station. It's located inside the ''Cube House'', which by itself is a great sightseeing. It also overlooks the Old Harbour. Apparently, it's a major hostel in Rotterdam, as signs around the city show the direction towards it, which makes Stayokay Rotterdam easy to find. The rooms are very clean and tidy overall (including sheets) and are regularly taken care of (on a daily basis). Every bed is equipped with lighting and a plug, which is a big plus. You can ascend to your room using an elevator, making the ''cubes'' easier to navigate. There is a free breakfast, with a very good and generous offer of food. There are desktop computers in the lobby that you can use. Plus there are plenty of comfortable spaces at the lobby to just relax and chill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    breakfast and location
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the 1st floor, you will hear the music until 12 night. Since it is the 1st floor, it does not like the photo from the website (inside the cube), it is just like a normal hostel with 3 double decker bed. By the way, the lamps(light) in the room are extremely dark.

    breakfast and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Each bed has a light and outlet, bedsheets and such are fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No handsoap in the bathrooms, first floor toilets were disgusting...

    Each bed has a light and outlet, bedsheets and such are fine and the in room bathroom/shower/sink are okay too. Location was perfect and very central. Buildings are cool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    The employers, attentions, services, room, the location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The oly thing I would 'complain about' would be the lockers, they are few so normally people would have to leave their luggage in a storage next to the reception. Although I let mine there and nothing happened!

    The employers, attentions, services, room, the location and the architecture itself were amazing. I was there just for one night but I wished I could have been more nights. A great experience to repeat!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stay. Location is pretty good, just inside the Cube House, close to the main scenic spots. The room is clean and comfortable. Facilities also very good. A breakfast is included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Hostel did the job for a basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very basic and curtains brown and so made the room feel dull when could have been a bright colour to add a little something to the room.

    location was good near to the metro station and the old harbour and the market. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    Living in the legendary architecture is definitely a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is so small. I booked a six people room but they added one more bed there so it's actually for seven people. Renting a bike here is also not recommended for you can rent a bike with better quality at the same price in the city. The floor in shower room is not clean.

    Living in the legendary architecture is definitely a good experience, but I will not stay there for more than two nights. The hostel is close to the famous market.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    It's a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    "it's a hostel" told us staff, that's why price doesn't include towels, soap, gel shower, shampoo. We have big room of nothing: no fan, no microwave oven, no fridge. Tiny bathroom, lots of cupboards, everything requires renovation. No view, cause our cube was in the middle of construction and surrounded by other cubes. So no much sunlight at all. What we have was crowds of tourist at day and noise from restaurants on the ground floor at night. Stairs were dangerously high and narrow, specially with luggage. Maybe life is easier if your room is in the main building, at least they have lift. But I definitely would not recommend our room. Not comfortable stay

    Breakfast was interesting experience. And not because of food, but because of people. But time of breakfast (7:30-9:30) was totally disadvantage for us. There was heating in the room, though one battery switcher was broken

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice and practical location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could get messy as there was no door between the shower and the changing space. It would be nice to have some soap for the sink.

    Great location and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Not good value for money, good looking but not comfortable enough to live in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small for 7 people, I book for a 6 person room and they changed it into such a crowded one. Also too many doors to get to the room.

    Breakfast included is the best thing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable. I had to pay for soap? Staff weren't welcoming. I will suggest that stayokay informs guest prior about the things the ought to bring with them.

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff are super friendly, attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodation is really very basic. One toilet, one mini-sink and one shower in a room for 7 is restricted and in the whole hotel there's just one more spare toilet for ladies and gents: that's lining up ! Would also be nice if beds would be made and ready when you arrive: it's not a camping !

    Staff are super friendly, attentive and helpful. Breakfast is quite ok. Views over the city are magnificent. Locaton is perfectly central, close to all highlights of the city and public transport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    Unique hostel / good breakfast / outdated facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort is not really something you will find here. Although it is a unique place, the fact that the hostel is in the cubic houses makes it really inconvenient if you are on the top bunk bed. Also, there are some beds where you don't have have an outlet right next to your bed (which I think is a must in a hostel). Also, seems like no renovations have been made for quite a while and the place starts to look a bit outdated. I remember being here six years ago, and nothing has changed since then. Another anoying thing is that even though I had pre-paid my stay beforehand, I still had to pay 60 cents for a "tourist tax". It feels kind of stupid.. just include it in the price. Lastly, I really don't like that you have to pay for a towel here. Prices here are the same and even higher than most hostels in Rotterdam, and still you have to pay for a towel... kind of ridiculous.

    It's a unique hostel and if you are visiting Rotterdam for the first time, it might be a cool place to visit. Location is great, almost everything within the city center is walking distance from here. Lastly, it is nice that breakfastis included. Staff is also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Cube Houses from Inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No furniture (except beds, of course): you will have to unpack your luggage on your bed. Poor sound insulation in the bathroom: you will hear the roaring showers even in the neighboring rooms (especially after 23:00).

    The best thing about the hostel is its location - not just near the city center, but in the legendary Cube Houses! You can live in such a unique architecture masterpiece! The breakfast, although being rather simplistic, was a nice addition to the day. Sink, toilet and shower are separate (which is vital for any dorm).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Hostel in a interesting location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is basically hostel accommodation so its pretty basic. No towels, you need to make and change your own beds. Bed almost camp bed style. No furniture other than beds in the room.

    Interesting to stay in the kube houses and very central. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Pleasent experience close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had sorers in the dormitory, but with ear plugs, the problem was solved. Could maybe furnish a squeegee for the shower (or bring slippers !)

    Great location, great architectural experience, great breakfast, great staff, great everything !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    It is near Marthal ! And for the price it is good for one traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the interior design of the room is too boring and looks dusty a little bit. Also the soundproof system can be improvised.

    The location is quite good actually if you would like to live near the place where there are many tourists and central district. And it is a quite good experience of living in the Cube House which is a dream place which I want to go to. One thing should be mentioned is because Cube House is also like a sky-bridge crossing over the main avenue, which means a little bit noisy even in the midnight. The social space is quite good as well, lively and active, parents playing chess and friends chatting there. The receptionist is really nice when hearing about my pain in my knees and she gave me the medicine to release my pain and the address of the medicine shop. Overall, it is a little bit lower of my fresh expectation, but for the price, it is acceptable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    This budget travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concept of the place is interesting but in practical terms the actual structure inside was not great. We had had a staircase to our room that was treacherous. We expected some of this but decided it wasn’t for us so is not a reflection on the hostel listing.

    The price was right for budget travel. One stop away from Rotterdam central but 30 minute walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    the location is perfect in Rotterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    inside private rooms are very minimalistic. But its okay. The problem is that there is very cold. They have old wooden windows, not plastic, so it feels the wind. One radiator near entrance, so even when I put it on max, to sleep there was pretty cold( And also there is very big minus, that there are no towels and shower gels, no soap.. You can rent towels for 2 euro and 2 euro deposit. C'mon guys, these are basics

    the location is perfect in Rotterdam. Couldnt be better. When you come out from the hostel you are on the central squere where is located Markthal, which is so modern and amazing place!! Also from another side of cubus houses is canal with old boates and beautiful old building. The tram stop is just under the hostel. All sightseeing you can visit by walk from the hostel. Design from outside is amazing! Personal is very friendly. Socket and lamp where you can put your phome just near the bed. Unlimited breakfast is included ( with soa milk for vegan!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Unique hostel with good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Kind of annoying that they didn't allow me to check in before 14:00. I would expect that if a guest arrives a bit early, especially having in mind that this is a hostel, it wouldn't be an issue to do an early check in. - You have to pay to get a towel. Compared to other hostels in Rotterdam, this is a first for me. - You may feel a bit claustrophobic. Although the cubic houses are very original, it eats into the space of some rooms. - Some people in the rooms around made a lot of noise after midnight. The staff should make sure to correct that.

    Stayokay Rotterdam is quite unique. Having in mind that it is located in the Cubic House, chances are, you've never visited a similar hostel before. Some of the positive aspects include: great location, extremely friendly staff, decent cleanliness, fast internet, and last but not least - included breakfast. Although this is something that is not very often included in hostels, it is important to note that Stayokay is one of the more expensive hostels in Rotterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff super friendly, location amazing, right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff super friendly, location amazing, right next to the Markthal, and everything that is there to see. Staying here it's a great experience, especially if you like architecture and enjoy staying in it! The cube experience is something to recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    The location is awesome very close to all the tourist spots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not very spacious and the shower was pretty small

    The location is awesome very close to all the tourist spots and only two stop from main station . Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything is nice and comfortable. Especially the breakfast. Love the cubic house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I dont have a power source near my bed so have to charge my phone near the bathroom

    Breakfast is awesome. Also the structure of the building: cubic house. Lots of fun.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Best choice if you wanna have an amazing experience of living in a cubic house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is small and not very clean.

    Great location!Amazing architecture!If you wanna have an amazing experience of living in the world's famous cubic house,this is the best choice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    I found out a wonderful civilization enviroment that enfolds you like only a mom does with her child
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed comfort, in particular the pillow.

    An incredible shaped building in a really strategic position for looking all the charm of Rotterdam City. A breakfast made for every customer need. I enjoyed it and I council it for short period travel. Cool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Super efficient but cold atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff even if is very efficient and professional is cold. The atmosphere make the hostel seems more like a hotel.

    Property is clean and very good located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Special experience to sleep in one of the cubes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We slept in two single beds. Would have liked a double bed, but that was unavailable.

    Special experience to sleep in one of the cubes! Room was clean and good breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great experience in the cube house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled very bad for the first two nights. I booked 6-dorm room but they put 7 beds in the room.

    The cube house made my stay very special. It’s amazing for visitor’s stay. Great location which is close to most landmarks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.3
    THE View from hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ich hatte Hostel international card, But they said if i booked from Booking.com. it is not available. But in Luxemburg and Amsterdam, they accepted. That is bad. Some personal was not friendly

    THE View from hostel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    The architecture of the building was incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat was turned off and it took a while for the room to get warm

    The architecture of the building was incredible Friendly staff Clean room Nice view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Really cool! I can recommend this place and now I do it! Let's check this place, homies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes people outside were very loud in night. There wasn't soap in the room (in the sink). And also hair dryer, but it's less important.

    Everything was really OK. Staff in Stayokay Rotterdam are really friendly and helpfull. Localization is the best, not very far to the shops, markets (Jumbo is almost next to the hostel, maybe 3 minutes, yup!) etc. Clean room with new bedclothes for every one new person. Also a very interesting experience - spend some nights in the place like this, it was cool. Aaaa, and very simple, but tasty at the same time, breakfasts - really good (bread, ham, cheese, milk, apples, muesli, coffee, juices, water et cetera...).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Clean, quiet and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet and friendly. The space of the cube houses is well used and the dining area is colourful and welcoming. Good breakfast, making it very good value for money overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Great experience to stay in the cubic houses, loved the location and staff. clean comfy and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours till 9:30. A bit early if you want to go out at night and experience the night life and also get ready for a day of wonder.. I basically came in 5 min late and the drinking machine was off, had to ask to let me make a sandwich there was barely any leftover,managed to make one but felt like a beggar.

    Location was perfect to get around in the city, near the markethal (which is a big attraction) near the train/tram, a walking distance to the center where you can find plenty to do/see/eat 😊 Staff were amazing, incredibly nice and helpful! The bed was super comfy, the room super clean and such an experience. I highly recommend, it made my trip worthwhile!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Awesome. Cheap and comfortable. And very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everyone and everything was very profesional

    Everything was perfect you can choose easily. If you come rotterdam you should see and stay in cubic house

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, cool architecture, and lovely breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cubed houses are legendary architectural design and a sign of Rotterdam, so it was lovely to stay inside them. Plus, it was right next to the popular areas like Markthal, Beaurs shopping street, Witte de Withstraat; lots of nice restaurants near the harbour, and Blaak (metro, tram, and train) station was right at the door step. The breakfast was also quite good, very happy with the fresh toasted bread selection. So location, the property itself, and included breakfast, were amazing value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space in the room

    The cubes are one of the best attraction in Rotterdam,living inside has been fun,because of the internal cubic structure the facilities are a bit particular,not so comfy but it's part of Rotterdam culture,appreciate

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.4
    The location is excellent and the beds, showers and wifi are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no view to the street from the rooms (only to the sky), it is not a real backpackers hostel, more a business and school groups hotel, with no kitchen for guests to cook, socialize and exchange travel tips.

    The location is excellent and the beds, showers and wifi are good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    The location is great, it includes breakfast and you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was okay in general, probably the price is quite high for a 6 people shared room

    The location is great, it includes breakfast and you can host in one of the famous cubes from Rotterdam

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stayokay Rotterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: