Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Utrecht Province hotel reviews
  4. Utrecht hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Stayokay Utrecht Centrum

Reviews of Stayokay Utrecht Centrum

Neude 5, City Centre, 3512 AD Utrecht, Netherlands

#10 of 35 hotels in Utrecht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2752 hostel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    9.2
    staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the sink in the room it was hard to use the bathroom facilities without waking people up, and somehow i got a room where someone was sleeping at all times of day and night. So I used the bathroom next to reception to get ready for bed.

    staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great and everything is rather new. breakfast is also solid for that price.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    9.2
    Cosy, safe place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the toilet in the room could be much cleaner it would be perfect.

    There is an elevator up to the rooms as opposed to my experience in other parts of Europe. So that's great!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hostel. Would be nicer if it costed lesser.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price could have been lesser.

    Great place to stay in the centre of the city! The staff were like my friends. Open culture. Had the temperature marked on the shower valve. I have never seen this anywhere.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    9.6
    stayokay is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything have an additional cost. No soap in the bedroom toilet.

    Really friendly and engaging staff! Clean room and comfortable bed. Amazing cafe area!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    9.6
    Good Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a Hostel, so if you have party guests it might be quite loud during nights (ear plugs are provided). Check out at 10 am is quite early.

    Right in the Centre, very modern and clean. Good room with comfortable bed and big bathroom. Nice bar with Daily Specials. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold , there is a heater but it's not enough . I think because of the window its so big..

    Location is great.. next to main train station

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    10
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, modern new, run by young friendly staff. Great food and drinks available till late. Excellent for working remotely with free wifi and nice working atmosphere with lots of sockets, but also tables for socialising.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    9.2
    Spent one night in a private room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent one night in a private room. Liked the atmosphere. 10 min walk from Utrecht Centraal, looked like if there are some nice restaurants in walking distance. Room very simple, but clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    9.6
    I loved this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit expensive for an hostel, but it's a Dutch issue, and not related with this structure. Compared with competition (aribnbs and other hotels) it's one of the cheapest solution.

    I loved this hostel. Perfect central location, good interior design. Very gentle staff. Room was very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    10
    The hostel is located just max.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it is located just in the heart of the city center, on Friday night, it was quite lively and noisy outside.

    The hostel is located just max. 10 minutes of walking from Utrecht Centraal. The hostel itself has a pretty pleasant environment inside. The personal was nice and helpful, the bar is available for the guests.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.5
    Felt like a college dorm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I mean, on the website it was written that we were not getting any towels except if we paid extra, so we brought some ourselves. Then we found towels, so it was kind of pointless to bring our own.. There was quite a bit of noise going on downstairs which continued well after midnight, so it disturbed our sleep a little.

    I liked that the room was big and the informative wall, as well as the big windows.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, modern and clean hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are like me, who likes to save money and to cook your own food, pay attention. The hostel doesn't offer a kitchen, nor a refrigerator for guests.

    The the mattress and the room space (size) are excellent. It's also nice that the shower, the toilet and the sink are separated, inside each room. The bar and the hostel atmosphere are wonderful. They offer wash/dry machine and a room to leave luggage (if you arrive before check in), for a good price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    6.3
    Possible but will look for alternatives for my next business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Talking for the two-person-room: The beds only provide minimal comfort. Too few tables/chairs to put anything on it. Lockers quite spartan. Breakfast is solid but nothing outstanding. will be boring after more than two days.

    Talking for the two-person-room: Showers are good and warm. Lockers quite spartan. Breakfast is solid but nothing outstanding

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is close to many cafes/restaurant, and 5minutes walk from Utrecht Central Station. If you are a solo traveller, dormitory room is enough for you to stay, choose the 6-8 dormitory bed because you have bathroom inside the bed room, and they provide a locker room with 2euro where you can keep your lugagge :) , and you also have your own drawer under the bed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    8.8
    The guy in the reception not very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff

    The guy in the reception not very helpful. I believe he was something like a guard. The real receptionist was a bit confused regarding my booking. So I had to go upstairs and downstairs 2 times. They didnt seem much organised. The hostel was perfect though. Great location just 2 minutes walking from the main canal, clean rooms and clean common spaces. There is also a chill - study - drink area in the first floor which was full of students. I highly recommend it mainly because of its central location and facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in the most convenient place to stroll...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in the most convenient place to stroll around the whole city! The premises where great to hang out and relax! Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.6
    Clean, close, cheap! :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff assigned the same bed to three different people, it is not so "yeah" to have to discuss that with roommates in the middle of the night..

    Clean, close to the center, cheap. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom(s) clean. I'll definitely recommend that! :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.2
    Good atmosphere and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was nice but didn't really care or give any explanation about anything.

    The atmosphere is young and the common space is amazing to chill at. Breakfast was pretty good, with lots of options (different breads, vegetarian options, even gluten-free) and for a very good price. The room and facilities were very clean. I liked also the eco-friendly approach and the general style of the hostel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay, right by the lovely old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expect a bit of street noise from the bars across the square at night.

    Brilliantly situated by the old town and all its lovely canals, shops, bars, restaurants and museums. Very secure but easy to come and go with a smart card. Nice, spacious cafe/bar for breakfast, drinks and wi fi. I'd happily stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    8.8
    Extremely pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have much complain to be honest. The staffs weren't the friendliest, but they were very decent and proper and not rude at all. The foods and options for drinks were limited but there were still quite a selection. So in short, there were rooms for improvements to be better, but for a youth hostel, it was really enjoyable

    There was a spacious common room with beer, wine, tea, and lunch/pizza/cake options, which was really comfortable. The room was reasonably large, with personal lamp and charging point. There were enough bathrooms and showers provided, and there was even a free luggage store and mandatory key to access the rooms. The location was also quite close to central station and centrum. And I got a 50% discount on my first drink upon my arrival (most likely a complimentary)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    8.3
    Good variant for your holiday in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have a kitchen and any cooking facilities. Although you can eat and drink in the cafe downstairs, prices are average. Beds are not ready on your arrival, it's necessary to make them on yourself, which is especially uncomfortable at night. Toilets and bathrooms (no soap or shampoo inside) are located right in the room, so that you will always be disturbed by the slamming doors. Several sinks are not separated from the dorm, you'll hate those shaving at 5am. Towels and locks are provided for an extra fee.

    Great hostel in the very center of Utrecht. Clean and spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Extremely helpful staff, cozy common area area on the 1st floor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice look/feel but no kitchen and cannot bring own food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was served until 10:30, sometimes staff were not respectful if it's 10:29 and you came to get a dessert. Probably depends on the person, sometimes I did not feel welcomed to take the food I paid for. This hostel also does not have any kitchen facilities but there is caffe on floor 1 where you are NOT ALLOWED to bring your own food. No fridge/freezer to use.

    Free earplugs, caffe/bar has different offers throughout the week, such as cocktail for 5 eur or any drinks 2-for-1 (depends on the day of the week). Toilet and shower are separate. As I understand, they have Female-only and Male-only rooms, have not seen mixed rooms myself (maybe they do exist). Nice good-looking facilities, comfy beds. Make sure to bring your own locker (like in a gym).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly its a very reserved hostel so don’t go...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine until the end, we opted for a late check out and overslept even then we rushed to get ready within 50 mins and they force charged us for an extra night, no hostel or hotel has every done this to me most are merciful as its an honest mistake, also another person in our room did the same and paid 0 so they are selective in punishing groups 2+ so be careful!!

    Staff were friendly its a very reserved hostel so don’t go there expecting to make friends as locals use the place and not everyone is up for going out...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Convenient hostel in very central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I had booked was for 4 people with bathroom and it indicated that toiletries and linen were included. There were no toiletries nor towels provided (bed sheets were available, though).

    Staff were extremely kind; hostel is in a very central location and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is very conveniently located in the city center,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a VERY NOISY place. The bar occupies the first floor and the rest of floors are open (there's like a patio) and give directly to that bar, so the noise is VERY, VERY high until 23h-23h45. I was there during weekdays, so I cannot imagine what's it like in the weekend. I even had a sign in my room saying "during the weekend, you either join the party or plug in. There's free ear plugs in the reception!". As if ear plugs were some sort of magic solution that completely eliminates noise. Ha! I do not think they've understood that it is fine to have a cool bar in the hotel, but you basically pay TO SLEEP, so in my opinion that was totally unacceptable (and if you consider the expensive price, even worse). I'm surely not going again.

    The hotel is very conveniently located in the city center, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.3
    Cosy atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located in the middle of the building and only had a window directly to the hallway, which meant that it was quite dark and that we had to have the curtains shut all the time, making it even darker in the room. For us it didn't matter too much, since we just needed a good night's sleep before moving on, but for a longer stay it would have been annoying.

    Cosy atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff! Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.5
    A easy hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were a lot of noisy children one night (maybe a school group) and no one seemed to be asking them to keep it down. They were running around and calling out until 11:30 at night and woke us up just after 6am the next morning.

    It was a nice hotel with easy access and a good location. Breakfast was very good for the price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    clean room, perfect structure, pleasant common areas,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    clean room, perfect structure, pleasant common areas, perfect wifi, perfect location for station and city centre I stayed in a private double room. Very good and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Spotless with expensive faults.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel did not have a share kitchen. The restaurant/cafe within the hostel was quite expensive and the food not really good. Just one washing machine to be share between hundreds of rooms.

    Rooms were really clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    The towels, shower gels and soap weren't included in the price (you can buy either of them from the
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The towels, shower gels and soap weren't included in the price (you can buy either of them from the reception); - You need to buy padlock for your locker (you can buy from the reception or nearest shop); - Mixed rooms (male and female); - You cannot open the windows (sometime there is not enough oxygen or is too hot and you want fresh air) - Two big ceiling lights in the room both controlled by one switch (absence of individual lights); Placement of electrical sockets (no electric outlets close to to top bunk of the dorm beds); - No kitchen for guest use.

    I am providing the same review as the last year :) Nothing is changed +Excellent location - supermarket (3 mins by walk); bars; restaurants; fast food; shops; train station (15 mins by walk); bus stop (1 min by walk); + The staff are super friendly and competent; + The rooms are clean; + Тhe bed is really comfortable; + Nice decorations and design; + Bathrooms and toilets in the rooms (the toilet is separate from the shower cabin); + Wi-Fi is accessible in the whole building; + Elevator; + You can rent a bike from the hostel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Value for the money was ok!
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roommates were really active till 3am ( not talking but slamming the doors, switching on the ligths, water running etc). Please include this in your house rules, not only the part with talking. Room doors do slam very loud when closing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    I liked the stay because there are smile and courteous staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the stay because there are smile and courteous staff, cleanliness, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, good location. The neighborhood is relaxed. The staff is helpful, there is the possibility of luggage storage. There are public transport stops, grocery stores and many restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    We booked a private double room, so it was like a room in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could not open the window in our room. We could not regulate (turn off) air conditioning (ventilation) in our room. Breakfast was not included in the room price.

    We booked a private double room, so it was like a room in the hotel. Everything in the room was simple but very useful and clean. Soap, shampoo and towels were included in the room price. Location was excellent (near to the center, near to the train station). Free wifi was stable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Improper rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were no soap and shampoo in bathroom, washroom and even on sink. The bunk beds were not properly arranged. My bed was in the very dark side of the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Best hostel I've ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was amazed at the size of the rooms and the privacy that you can get from each bunk bed in a dorm! Perfect for introverts like me, but without the means to pay for a separate room ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    My very first hostel experience & IT WAS GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive but worth it.

    Clean room, friendly staff, loved the bed t'was super comfy, great atmosphere. That was my very first stay in the hostel and I loved loved it!!! I wish i could have stayed longer. Definitely will go back to this hostel pretty soon!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff, Lotte, gave me a warm welcome chat while I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sleeping at the lower bunk bed. The only problem that I find it is I don't have a place to hand my clothes and towel. The nice from the restaurant can actually transfer up to the room.

    The staff, Lotte, gave me a warm welcome chat while I was having a short rest at the restaurant. The bed is comfortable. The hostel is quite new generally. The bathroom and toilet is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Dear Miss Red Haired Receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived close to midnight after a delayed flight and all I wanted was to crawl into my bunk. When I checked in with the receptionist she told me that I had accidentally booked the bunk for the next day and that they were now fully booked. She straight away looked for a way to help me and found just one room left available, a private family room of 2 bunks and a double bed, all empty. She let me stay there for the same price as a bunk in a shared dorm. The room was super comfy and clean. With an ensuite toilet and shower. Was also really quiet which I didn’t expect as it’s very central. I slept like a rock. The dorms are also all really well maintained. I’ve travelled to many countries and stayed in many hostels and I’d have to say this is the best one, not just cos the private room but the whole place in general. Thankyou lovely, kind receptionist lady, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Hip hostel with great facilities and open workspace on reception floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a ten person dorm I think it should be slightly cheaper than I paid, especially since Utrecht is supposed to be a more affordable town/city. However, I liked it so much I decided to stay an extra night so it didn't bother me enough to not stay another night.

    Rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable and linens provided were NEW and clean, bathrooms in dorms were excellent and I felt comfortable showering, I actually had space to move around without touching the sides of the shower stall which always bugs me of the other places. I loved the reception floor with the large open space and tables for you to work at or "chit-chat" at. This is one of the main reasons I decided to stay an extra night.. I needed to get things done on my laptop and this hostel provided that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Stayed in single room, has good sound-proofing, so was quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Freezing at night due to central AC running continuously which can't be turned off in the room, and the window can't be opened.

    Stayed in single room, has good sound-proofing, so was quiet despite a hostel full of young rowdies. Perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    The property was very well located, the staff were more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t at the property long enough to really not like anything. Would stay again if I stayed in Utrecht again.

    The property was very well located, the staff were more than helpful on so many occasions and the rooms and facilities were very very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, clean, spacious room, comfortable beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked another chair in the room. One chair for three people isn't really sufficient.

    Excellent location, clean, spacious room, comfortable beds, good cafe/bar on premises, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Twin private bedroom, comfortable for a couple with a 3year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin private bedroom, comfortable for a couple with a 3year old. Two single blankets and pillows. No extra pillow or sheet or kettle. Shampoo and body wash sachets provided and towels. 5 plug points. Two cupboards. Design is very well thought out. Good security. Small craft box in the common area to entertain small kids. Excellent view. Request floor 4 if possible, higher up and further from the square. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    The room did not have TV for children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no towels and shampoo in bothroom we have to pay for it, and no ketil to meak tea

    Nothing of it in very noisy area and no parking around the hotel .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator available to keep things I bought to bring back to my home (Dutch cheese, etc)

    The bed was very comfty, excellent in cleaniness, and the meals really tasty. The staff super kind and friendly (Gijs is great). The location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Best place for a one-night sleepover in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature of the shower fluctuated quite a bit but that is to be expected maybe with so many people showering at the same time in the morning.

    Beds are comfortable, every bed in the 6p room had a light and power socket so you can always charge your phone! No noise heard from the hallway and easy checkin/out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was what I was promised and what I was expecting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The people we stayed at the same room were not so respectful. They would bang the doors at 3 a.m. or they would make noise while others were sleeping. However, that's not Stayokay's fault, but a friendly reminder to respect your roomates at check-in could work.

    The staff was extra helpful and extra friendly. They even bothered to help me plan my next days walk and proposed me some bars and coffee places they liked. The whole culture of the hostel was laid back and casual which I also appreciated. Overall a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    our stay was ok after we borrowed a fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning, only one small washer and dryer for that amount of people , and the floors in various places (one in the entrance hallway before you get to the elevator)had an unexpected step that I saw lots of people trip on, myself included.

    The staff were great, there is an elevator, breakfast was good,beds were comfortable,nice eating gathering area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    They have elevator, big place, accesible and nice persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived to my bed, it was not done. I was assigned to other making sure my assigned bed will be fixed. I went out, and when i came back other person was sleeping in the bed i was assigned. No refrigerator for storage

    They have elevator, big place, accesible and nice persons. Rooms have bathroom and shower integrated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out is at 10:00. I 'accidentally' slept in and just got a friendly wake up call at 11:00, but still it would be nice to have check out a little later than 10:00.

    Location is perfect. It is in the center of Utrecht, close to sightseeing places like the dom tower. I used it because I was having a night out and it is next to a lot of bars, so perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location and the staff was keen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must put a ''slippery sign'' when you put useless water in the morning on your marble staircase so you can help protect your customers' coccyx. Everything is focused on making money which makes sense especially in the Netherlands but when it is too much, it is also too obvious and irritating.

    Perfect location and the staff was keen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ist quite basic but enough. If there are big groups near your room, it could be loud.

    Everything was great: clean,confortable, central,good atmosphere...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff and a nice room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor gripe, perhaps, but being encouraged - by signs - to turn down the heat of & duration of the bathroom shower for - admirable - environmental reasons ('Tomorrow will say thank you') while each person is given separate single-use plastic sachets of shower gel and shampoo: I'm not sure tomorrow will say thank you for all that plastic waste, which could be avoided by offering a dispenser in the shower like that beside the bathroom basin.

    Great location in Neude Square in the heart of the old city. Staff are young and very helpful. Rooms clean and (ours, at least) more hotel-like than the usual 'Stayokay-hostel functional'. Breakfast is standard issue Stayokay: a bit average and uninspiring (I always wonder what fruit the 'red' and 'yellow' jams on offer at all the hostels are actually made from) but you can eat as much as you like. Didn't eat supper there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    - Best location, center of Utrech where you can buy and eat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    - Best location, center of Utrech where you can buy and eat a lot easilly - Room are big and high so you can feel comfortable and take relax specially separated shower room and restroom are amazing - There are many other services - All staffs of Stayokay utrecht are warm-hearted at most. I'm so moved I strongly recommend next Vistors and 'Stayokay Utrecht' 's one of the best hostel in the world ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Very modern and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first floor is a bar so was noisy all night. It also bothered me that the toilet, sink and shower are all in the room which meant if someone went to the toilet in the middle of the night you could hear pretty much everything - may not bother some but I wouldn't stay here again because of it!

    Very modern and well equipped. Extremely clean at all times. Fantastic location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Clean, fun, friendly hostel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Clean room. Great location. Wish we had stayed longer than one night. Was delighted to find a game night in progress the night we stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hostel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water tap in the public lounge is apparently only included in the €6.50 breakfast and not to be used at any other time. Also you aren’t able to eat your own food in the public space as there is a restaurant attached. Our room was loud at night but was to be expected as the soccer World Cup was on.

    €6.50 breakfast was very reasonable and quite good. Location in the centre of Utrecht could not be better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back! 👍😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints... one issue was slightly annoying, but circumstantial due to the complexity of my booking, so I won't hold it against anyone... The staff were very helpful in resolving it and that's what counts!

    Staff were excellent... Very friendly and welcoming and very helpful Loved the breakfast... impressed with the choices and standards Beds were super comfy Location is superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Clean sheets were provided for you to make your own bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean sheets were provided for you to make your own bed. It felt like they were freshly washed, and they were sealed in a plastic bag. Plug right next to the bed. Toilet and shower right in the room. Location was good and easy to find. Walk to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Very clean, well designed and secure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, well designed and secure. Restaurant/Bar area is very nice. Super location. Many bars and restaurants right outside the door. Very lively town!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    It was one of the best hostel experiences Ve had.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having the bathroom and shower in the room could be a bit disruptive if people came back late or woke up early.

    The hostel is a clean and welcoming place to stay. While it's located on a very busy square, it's quiet and a good place to work or have low-key conversations with people

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Theirs bunk beds are bigger than usual size.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theirs bunk beds are bigger than usual size. Hence very comfortable, clean and great hostel Good vibes inside and iutside the hostel. 7-10mins from train station, a bus is advised incase you have heavy luggage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all. I was quite impressed with the place: nice, clean, green, friendly, well-located. I would definitely stay there again. I stayed in a twin room with private bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    I stayed in a private double room and, even though it was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a private double room and, even though it was basic, it was cosy and comfortable... Nice city view in a public square with many cafe-bars, and a lot of natural light from the huge window. The bathroom was brand new - really excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hostel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a 6-bed dorm. It would be better if they could provide female-only dorms as an option as there was a man in my dorm who made everyone uncomfortable speaking vague threats aloud to himself first thing in the morning... Perhaps it should be clearer what to do in a situation like that, how to contact the staff and such.

    The hostel is in a very good location and the staff are very friendly. Everything is very clean, the rooms are a good temperature (I was there during the heatwave and I was very comfortable), and they have good information about things to do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    clean bathroom inside rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast a little expensive for the options curtains not blocking the sun so light came in quite early in the morning

    clean bathroom inside rooms comfy beds super well located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Slick hostel accommodation with a fresh, youthful vibe in the centre of student Utrecht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying extra for breakfast. It's not expected, but I love a free breakfast!

    Amazing location, great staff, excellent communal spaces, and good room. The beds were super comfy, we liked the separate shower room, sink, and toilet, and quirky decor. The coffee, cookies, beer, and brekkie were tops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice standard place and would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom didn't have a floormat, so we sacrificed one of our hand towels to use for stepping out of the shower. It'd be nice to have another option. Ladies, there is no hair conditioner (common). It would also be nice to have another curtain that blocked more light.

    Better than I expected--I figured it was a cheap hostel-type place (we booked a room with our own bathroom), but it was nicer. Room was standard and basic, though it had all that I needed. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. I should note there is no TV in the room; we didn't care and didn't want one, but maybe someone reading this would. There is also no desk/work area except for the lobby. It was very comfy and relatively quiet (some street noise) and it secure. You need your keycard to get most places including the elevators. The lobby/eatery/general area is unexpectedly AWESOME and I'd go again just to make sure I spent some time there. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Good place in center Utrecht
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe I'm not used to this shared rooms. But cleanliness was missing sometimes in the room. You have to make your own bed and the sheets were the same the whole week. They do not change that. You have to pay for towels and the breakfast did not have the popular scramble eggs. Not sure if I could ask for that.

    The location is great and the staff is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A refrigerator is not available in the room. Also, the sound proof of the room is not so good. A little far from the Utrecht Hbf.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's very convenient to rent a bicycle from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meal menu is a bit limited.

    The hostel is great depending on what you want. I came here for business, the other hotels were expensive and I wanted to save money. I did and I got great service from friendly staff, always helpful and patient. The location is close to Utretch station and town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant, just the break I needed, just a shame I didn't stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't really displeased with anything... Slight issue with me having to move rooms a couple of times, and getting a different room to the one booked - but this was due to my booking and circumstances being a bit complicated. Still happy with the room I ended up in, so no worries anyway!

    Everything really! Staff were great, super friendly and helpful... Rooms/facilities and the hostel in general - all clean and well kept... Breakfast (and food choices) was excellent... I had a great stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Great, looking forward to the next time already!
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have some soap in the room, at least for the handbasin. You can get it easily at reception, though.

    The big breakfast buffet is excellent, lots of choice and not expensive at all! Very friendly and helpful staff, I felt very welcome and enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Definately stay again - perfect for my needs - note from staff to quieten down at a reasonable time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One night there was a lot of noise up through the central area didn't stop until midnight - it just echoed around.

    Location and no frills accommodation - everything I needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Good food and bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rented bikes for the day that seemed to have broken gear shifters, very annoying. Would recommend renting bikes elsewhere from my experience.

    Good food and bar area. Low key vibe, with great access to everything. Staff was helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Browse Stayokay Utrecht Centrum traveller photo gallery