Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Utrecht Province hotel reviews
  4. Utrecht hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Stayokay Utrecht Centrum

Reviews of Stayokay Utrecht Centrum

Neude 5, City Center, 3512 AD Utrecht, Netherlands

#11 of 35 hotels in Utrecht

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2778 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    10
    magical lol
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-Fi goes of and on when ever it wants.

    I have never been in a hostel for this price and had such good service. staff. bed. clean. poeple all fantastic. I hope not to stay again because I get my house soon but if I do I would do it with a smile. thank you stay ok Utrecht

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    10
    Well.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mmmm Nothing here - I like everything.

    Well.. I never stayed on a Shared Room accomodation.. and I must say that if it’s like this Hotel.. i will be more than a to stay Again! Clean and immaculate! I was in a 4B Female room and Love to see how carefully everything was delivered. clean clean and beautiful designs inside the simple layout but awesome and colourful.And adoreee the details with Miffy!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    9.6
    Cheap, in to the center by walk, great Staff. SUPERB.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly hostel, very well located. We just rent two bikes and ride the city in a couple of hours. Next to the center, and so good for the price. The staff was nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.6
    The breakfast was nice but could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no towels and it wasn't made clear enough (at least couldn't see any notification).

    The breakfast was nice but could be improved. The location is very good, in the center, close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    7.9
    The room was clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked for 3 adults and 2 kids, aged 4 and 6y old, and got a room with 4 beds only. I got proposed to pay more for a 5p room, which I refused. Their solution: dragging in an extra matress on the floor...

    The room was clean and modern. Furniture was nice.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.9
    Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bad odour in the room which never goes. May be they have to adjust the exhaust.

    Value for money. Comfortable bed, bathroom and location. Awesome.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect location, close to public transport and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A coffee vending machine in the hotel or a kettle in the room would be useful.

    Perfect location, close to public transport and restaurants/bars/shopping.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    8.8
    Great hostel, would stay again (for the 4h time :D)
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to complain about, I only wish there were more chairs in a dorm. One chair in a 6 bed dorm is a bit awkward. Thought you can roll out the lockers underneath the bunk beds and sit on them

    The central location is superb. Basically everything is within walking or bike distance. The staff was super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    10
    Very nice, clean, comfortable accomodation, near the city centre. Good breakfast, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice, clean, comfortable accomodation, near the city centre. Good breakfast, nice staff. I recommend and I hope I will come back soon. Utrecht si beautiful city.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, nice, modern and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bed wasn't ready and we had to cover the bed with bedding by ourselfs, even our friends had room completely ready.

    Good location, nice, modern and clean rooms. Tasty breakfast! :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    10
    Perfect and secured hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything indeed. Staff is professional and helpful. Room is clean and spacious and secured by access card. Bed and pillow are comfortable. Bathroom is clean with separate shower and toilet and the water tap is in the room so nobody is waiting for the other. The whole hostel is well designed and luxurious. It has a lobby room at floor 1 where u can meet other people and it is divided to different sections which is good and it is very quiet during the night which is good during sleeping and it has a perfect location and centralized from all Other attractions and easily accessed from the central train station. It has an in-room locker which is secured and big enough for a large hand bag although my suitcase didn't fit it but I put all my belongings in it and kept the suitcase empty near my bed. I didn't try their breakfast but I saw it. I think it's suitable and basic but the offering way was elegant.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    10
    Homey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mmm...can't think of anything tbh

    The resto on 1st floor, the "waiting room" on ground floor . Also, I like how thoughtful of them to prepare feminine hygine product on the women toilette.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    8.3
    Had a good time here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Everything (and more) I expected from a hostel. They're all about sustainability, serving organic food. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    9.2
    Happy, would definitely stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not told about check out time and got charged for leaving at 11 but it wasn't a lot so not too bothered

    It was quirky, liked it and wish I was staying longer

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    7.9
    Nice experience in a hotel-like hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no kitchen to cook or storage space to keep your food. It was more like a hotel than a hostel. Also they didn't provide towels for free (you could purchase towels for 2E) and they didn't have any info about that. In general I would say it is too expensive for what it provides!

    Great location, very clean and cool place. Especially if you want to meet new people! A lot of activities in the bar and nice (but expensive)food!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    9.2
    I`d definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold and we missed the breakfast, because it was not so obvious that it is only available until 10 AM.

    We really liked the central location of this modern, clean and environment-friendly place. The staff was also kind and friendly. They also have a luggage storage for 2 euros.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.2
    Cozy lounge Utrecht hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very clean and confy. The location was excellent. The toilet and the shower are inside the room, which is very convenient. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is also a place under the bed to put your luggage, but take a lock, because it costs 3€ to buy from there. The only small problem is the fact that it's a little bit expensive. But Iwould definitely go there again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    9.0
    great stay for short stay travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -had a problem with Booking.com as it took sometime (more than an hour in the lounge) before it entered their system -bed assignments (system error?)... two guests were assigned in one bed so one has to adjust, luckily there's still available bed in another room

    +good wifi +toilet/shower in the room +clean rooms +helpful staff +huge lounge

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    7.0
    The location is nice and the check-in process is fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink was in the the actual dorm room. It was my mistake, there was represented in the pictures but I find this very awkward. There was plenty of space to be put in the shower room. Room 413 for example is very noisy. I could not find the thermostat mentioned on a flyer and it was cold. The lack of privacy between beds. Like I said, I am only saying this about room #413, maybe others are cool.

    The location is nice and the check-in process is fast. The hostel itself looks very modern and clean. Overall it was ok.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    9.6
    A lot of fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A place with a great atmosphere. Many young people hanging around with their laptop, very kind staff, nice breakfast. Children friendly. Our daughter was all the time in the children’s corner.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    8.3
    Toilets and showers were especially clean, and everything...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food you could buy was good, but it would be nice to have a kitchen to prepare your own food.

    Toilets and showers were especially clean, and everything seemed relatively new and modern.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.2
    Comfy clean bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dorm room was a bit too cosy. Would have been good to have extra bathroom facilities on the corridor as the room bathroom got a bit crowded.

    Comfy clean bed! Friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    9.2
    Highly recommended n will stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toiletries were missing. Shampoo n body lotion could have been great

    Hospitality is great. Location was central n the bus stop just outside the hostel was very convenient

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    10
    Would recommend 100%
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought I would pay via card (the one I made the booking with.) But there they told me that they wouldn't charge the card and I had to pay at the reception. Thankfully I had extra cash with me. Not a big deal really, but it was the only negative.

    Excellent location, helpful staff, nice environment. Clean and warm room. Everything was above expectations really.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    Great accommodation and delicious breakfast, right in the center of town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not always easy to locate staff.

    The accommodation was much better than I expected. The room was adequate with a clean toilet and shower. The beds were comfortable with new bedding when necessary. The 5th was lovely with quiet areas for people studying and a Miffy area, that my granddaughter loved. Breakfast was really good value, with quality items. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much for them. We got a better service here than at many starred hotels, and we were right in the centre of town!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.2
    very good, above issues notwithstanding
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door slammed rather than closing gently (309). There was no outside window in the room so no fresh air. It was stiflingly warm on the top bunk. I reserved and paid for a breakfast table for 7. This wasn't organized. Binary loos. We are not all binary!

    Everything was of a very good standard

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.1
    worst workers who are not willing to help the customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no kitchen actually, so you have to buy their "expensive and normal" food. The food they sold is unbelievable expensive and not worthy.

    As a person who studies business, this hostel has a very successful business model. Namely, they know how to make money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.3
    The open plan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quite noisy inside and out. They do provide free earplugs, which helps.

    The open plan lobby/bar/restaurant/coworking/lounge space is really nice and comfortable. It is a very friendly feeling place.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.3
    Better with friends than alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found it hard to find other travellers as most people, who hang out in the cafe, were locals for studying or meeting friends rather than getting to know new people.

    The place was designed beautifully, the service was really attentive and friendly and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    Short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is super. Right in the city centre. The staff are super lovely and friendly. You couldn’t ask for more. The breakfast was very good, good bar and games to play if you wished. The beds were super comfortable. I stayed in a double private room and I everything was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice ho(s)tel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a mix between hostel and hotel. So a common area to prepare and eat your own food is missing, whist there are rooms with bunk beds. A little inconvenient.

    Room was of good size. Facilities modern. Bathroom and toilet efficient. Staff was mostly helpful, although one or two staff members to need to practice their customer services skills.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could hear the loud heavy metal music playing from our room on the 2nd floor until 2am. Sleeping was difficult to come by.

    Perfect location in the city center

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    5.8
    There is nothing wrong with it, but i would personally never go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of parking for bikes (specially when the staff tells you that the bikes easily gets stolen there), and not providing any solutions for the problem.

    The location and the facility has a great bar area

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, clean rooms, new hostel / hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel or hostel? Bunk beds, but no common place for preparing or eating your own food. This is slightly confusing and makes the guest feel uncomfortable. Also the parties going on in the restaurant downstairs can be heard up stairs where the rooms are.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, new hostel / hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.6
    Party hostel in Utrecht Centrum
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EUR2 left luggage charge was a bit of a surprise...

    This is deffo the place to party in Utrecht, would like to be back on a Vrijdag or Zaterdagavond for sure! Staf are all great and very friendly and happy to help the buitenlanders with their Nederlands! Welkom bier at EUR1,15 was also very nice, as was the late koffie en croissant in de morgen! Dank u wel!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't try the chocolate cheese cake. it is not tasty.

    Good location and clean room. This was my third time stay in stayokye. Staff is really nice. I think stayokye worth the money and is not expensive.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With the sink in the room it was hard to use the bathroom facilities without waking people up, and somehow i got a room where someone was sleeping at all times of day and night. So I used the bathroom next to reception to get ready for bed.

    staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great and everything is rather new. breakfast is also solid for that price.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    Cosy, safe place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If the toilet in the room could be much cleaner it would be perfect.

    There is an elevator up to the rooms as opposed to my experience in other parts of Europe. So that's great!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hostel. Would be nicer if it costed lesser.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price could have been lesser.

    Great place to stay in the centre of the city! The staff were like my friends. Open culture. Had the temperature marked on the shower valve. I have never seen this anywhere.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    stayokay is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything have an additional cost. No soap in the bedroom toilet.

    Really friendly and engaging staff! Clean room and comfortable bed. Amazing cafe area!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    Good Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a Hostel, so if you have party guests it might be quite loud during nights (ear plugs are provided). Check out at 10 am is quite early.

    Right in the Centre, very modern and clean. Good room with comfortable bed and big bathroom. Nice bar with Daily Specials. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was cold , there is a heater but it's not enough . I think because of the window its so big..

    Location is great.. next to main train station

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    10
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, modern new, run by young friendly staff. Great food and drinks available till late. Excellent for working remotely with free wifi and nice working atmosphere with lots of sockets, but also tables for socialising.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    Spent one night in a private room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent one night in a private room. Liked the atmosphere. 10 min walk from Utrecht Centraal, looked like if there are some nice restaurants in walking distance. Room very simple, but clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    I loved this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit expensive for an hostel, but it's a Dutch issue, and not related with this structure. Compared with competition (aribnbs and other hotels) it's one of the cheapest solution.

    I loved this hostel. Perfect central location, good interior design. Very gentle staff. Room was very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    The hostel is located just max.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it is located just in the heart of the city center, on Friday night, it was quite lively and noisy outside.

    The hostel is located just max. 10 minutes of walking from Utrecht Centraal. The hostel itself has a pretty pleasant environment inside. The personal was nice and helpful, the bar is available for the guests.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    Felt like a college dorm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I mean, on the website it was written that we were not getting any towels except if we paid extra, so we brought some ourselves. Then we found towels, so it was kind of pointless to bring our own.. There was quite a bit of noise going on downstairs which continued well after midnight, so it disturbed our sleep a little.

    I liked that the room was big and the informative wall, as well as the big windows.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, modern and clean hostel
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are like me, who likes to save money and to cook your own food, pay attention. The hostel doesn't offer a kitchen, nor a refrigerator for guests.

    The the mattress and the room space (size) are excellent. It's also nice that the shower, the toilet and the sink are separated, inside each room. The bar and the hostel atmosphere are wonderful. They offer wash/dry machine and a room to leave luggage (if you arrive before check in), for a good price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.3
    Possible but will look for alternatives for my next business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Talking for the two-person-room: The beds only provide minimal comfort. Too few tables/chairs to put anything on it. Lockers quite spartan. Breakfast is solid but nothing outstanding. will be boring after more than two days.

    Talking for the two-person-room: Showers are good and warm. Lockers quite spartan. Breakfast is solid but nothing outstanding

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is close to many cafes/restaurant, and 5minutes walk from Utrecht Central Station. If you are a solo traveller, dormitory room is enough for you to stay, choose the 6-8 dormitory bed because you have bathroom inside the bed room, and they provide a locker room with 2euro where you can keep your lugagge :) , and you also have your own drawer under the bed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.8
    The guy in the reception not very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff

    The guy in the reception not very helpful. I believe he was something like a guard. The real receptionist was a bit confused regarding my booking. So I had to go upstairs and downstairs 2 times. They didnt seem much organised. The hostel was perfect though. Great location just 2 minutes walking from the main canal, clean rooms and clean common spaces. There is also a chill - study - drink area in the first floor which was full of students. I highly recommend it mainly because of its central location and facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in the most convenient place to stroll...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in the most convenient place to stroll around the whole city! The premises where great to hang out and relax! Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, close, cheap! :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff assigned the same bed to three different people, it is not so "yeah" to have to discuss that with roommates in the middle of the night..

    Clean, close to the center, cheap. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom(s) clean. I'll definitely recommend that! :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    Good atmosphere and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was nice but didn't really care or give any explanation about anything.

    The atmosphere is young and the common space is amazing to chill at. Breakfast was pretty good, with lots of options (different breads, vegetarian options, even gluten-free) and for a very good price. The room and facilities were very clean. I liked also the eco-friendly approach and the general style of the hostel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay, right by the lovely old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expect a bit of street noise from the bars across the square at night.

    Brilliantly situated by the old town and all its lovely canals, shops, bars, restaurants and museums. Very secure but easy to come and go with a smart card. Nice, spacious cafe/bar for breakfast, drinks and wi fi. I'd happily stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.8
    Extremely pleasant
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have much complain to be honest. The staffs weren't the friendliest, but they were very decent and proper and not rude at all. The foods and options for drinks were limited but there were still quite a selection. So in short, there were rooms for improvements to be better, but for a youth hostel, it was really enjoyable

    There was a spacious common room with beer, wine, tea, and lunch/pizza/cake options, which was really comfortable. The room was reasonably large, with personal lamp and charging point. There were enough bathrooms and showers provided, and there was even a free luggage store and mandatory key to access the rooms. The location was also quite close to central station and centrum. And I got a 50% discount on my first drink upon my arrival (most likely a complimentary)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    Good variant for your holiday in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have a kitchen and any cooking facilities. Although you can eat and drink in the cafe downstairs, prices are average. Beds are not ready on your arrival, it's necessary to make them on yourself, which is especially uncomfortable at night. Toilets and bathrooms (no soap or shampoo inside) are located right in the room, so that you will always be disturbed by the slamming doors. Several sinks are not separated from the dorm, you'll hate those shaving at 5am. Towels and locks are provided for an extra fee.

    Great hostel in the very center of Utrecht. Clean and spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Extremely helpful staff, cozy common area area on the 1st floor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    Nice look/feel but no kitchen and cannot bring own food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was served until 10:30, sometimes staff were not respectful if it's 10:29 and you came to get a dessert. Probably depends on the person, sometimes I did not feel welcomed to take the food I paid for. This hostel also does not have any kitchen facilities but there is caffe on floor 1 where you are NOT ALLOWED to bring your own food. No fridge/freezer to use.

    Free earplugs, caffe/bar has different offers throughout the week, such as cocktail for 5 eur or any drinks 2-for-1 (depends on the day of the week). Toilet and shower are separate. As I understand, they have Female-only and Male-only rooms, have not seen mixed rooms myself (maybe they do exist). Nice good-looking facilities, comfy beds. Make sure to bring your own locker (like in a gym).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly its a very reserved hostel so don’t go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine until the end, we opted for a late check out and overslept even then we rushed to get ready within 50 mins and they force charged us for an extra night, no hostel or hotel has every done this to me most are merciful as its an honest mistake, also another person in our room did the same and paid 0 so they are selective in punishing groups 2+ so be careful!!

    Staff were friendly its a very reserved hostel so don’t go there expecting to make friends as locals use the place and not everyone is up for going out...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient hostel in very central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I had booked was for 4 people with bathroom and it indicated that toiletries and linen were included. There were no toiletries nor towels provided (bed sheets were available, though).

    Staff were extremely kind; hostel is in a very central location and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is very conveniently located in the city center,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a VERY NOISY place. The bar occupies the first floor and the rest of floors are open (there's like a patio) and give directly to that bar, so the noise is VERY, VERY high until 23h-23h45. I was there during weekdays, so I cannot imagine what's it like in the weekend. I even had a sign in my room saying "during the weekend, you either join the party or plug in. There's free ear plugs in the reception!". As if ear plugs were some sort of magic solution that completely eliminates noise. Ha! I do not think they've understood that it is fine to have a cool bar in the hotel, but you basically pay TO SLEEP, so in my opinion that was totally unacceptable (and if you consider the expensive price, even worse). I'm surely not going again.

    The hotel is very conveniently located in the city center, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.3
    Cosy atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located in the middle of the building and only had a window directly to the hallway, which meant that it was quite dark and that we had to have the curtains shut all the time, making it even darker in the room. For us it didn't matter too much, since we just needed a good night's sleep before moving on, but for a longer stay it would have been annoying.

    Cosy atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff! Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    7.5
    A easy hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were a lot of noisy children one night (maybe a school group) and no one seemed to be asking them to keep it down. They were running around and calling out until 11:30 at night and woke us up just after 6am the next morning.

    It was a nice hotel with easy access and a good location. Breakfast was very good for the price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    clean room, perfect structure, pleasant common areas,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    clean room, perfect structure, pleasant common areas, perfect wifi, perfect location for station and city centre I stayed in a private double room. Very good and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.3
    Spotless with expensive faults.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel did not have a share kitchen. The restaurant/cafe within the hostel was quite expensive and the food not really good. Just one washing machine to be share between hundreds of rooms.

    Rooms were really clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.2
    The towels, shower gels and soap weren't included in the price (you can buy either of them from the
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The towels, shower gels and soap weren't included in the price (you can buy either of them from the reception); - You need to buy padlock for your locker (you can buy from the reception or nearest shop); - Mixed rooms (male and female); - You cannot open the windows (sometime there is not enough oxygen or is too hot and you want fresh air) - Two big ceiling lights in the room both controlled by one switch (absence of individual lights); Placement of electrical sockets (no electric outlets close to to top bunk of the dorm beds); - No kitchen for guest use.

    I am providing the same review as the last year :) Nothing is changed +Excellent location - supermarket (3 mins by walk); bars; restaurants; fast food; shops; train station (15 mins by walk); bus stop (1 min by walk); + The staff are super friendly and competent; + The rooms are clean; + Тhe bed is really comfortable; + Nice decorations and design; + Bathrooms and toilets in the rooms (the toilet is separate from the shower cabin); + Wi-Fi is accessible in the whole building; + Elevator; + You can rent a bike from the hostel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    Value for the money was ok!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roommates were really active till 3am ( not talking but slamming the doors, switching on the ligths, water running etc). Please include this in your house rules, not only the part with talking. Room doors do slam very loud when closing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    I liked the stay because there are smile and courteous staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the stay because there are smile and courteous staff, cleanliness, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, good location. The neighborhood is relaxed. The staff is helpful, there is the possibility of luggage storage. There are public transport stops, grocery stores and many restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.8
    We booked a private double room, so it was like a room in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could not open the window in our room. We could not regulate (turn off) air conditioning (ventilation) in our room. Breakfast was not included in the room price.

    We booked a private double room, so it was like a room in the hotel. Everything in the room was simple but very useful and clean. Soap, shampoo and towels were included in the room price. Location was excellent (near to the center, near to the train station). Free wifi was stable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.0
    Improper rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were no soap and shampoo in bathroom, washroom and even on sink. The bunk beds were not properly arranged. My bed was in the very dark side of the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Best hostel I've ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was amazed at the size of the rooms and the privacy that you can get from each bunk bed in a dorm! Perfect for introverts like me, but without the means to pay for a separate room ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    My very first hostel experience & IT WAS GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive but worth it.

    Clean room, friendly staff, loved the bed t'was super comfy, great atmosphere. That was my very first stay in the hostel and I loved loved it!!! I wish i could have stayed longer. Definitely will go back to this hostel pretty soon!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    The staff, Lotte, gave me a warm welcome chat while I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was sleeping at the lower bunk bed. The only problem that I find it is I don't have a place to hand my clothes and towel. The nice from the restaurant can actually transfer up to the room.

    The staff, Lotte, gave me a warm welcome chat while I was having a short rest at the restaurant. The bed is comfortable. The hostel is quite new generally. The bathroom and toilet is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    Dear Miss Red Haired Receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived close to midnight after a delayed flight and all I wanted was to crawl into my bunk. When I checked in with the receptionist she told me that I had accidentally booked the bunk for the next day and that they were now fully booked. She straight away looked for a way to help me and found just one room left available, a private family room of 2 bunks and a double bed, all empty. She let me stay there for the same price as a bunk in a shared dorm. The room was super comfy and clean. With an ensuite toilet and shower. Was also really quiet which I didn’t expect as it’s very central. I slept like a rock. The dorms are also all really well maintained. I’ve travelled to many countries and stayed in many hostels and I’d have to say this is the best one, not just cos the private room but the whole place in general. Thankyou lovely, kind receptionist lady, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Hip hostel with great facilities and open workspace on reception floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a ten person dorm I think it should be slightly cheaper than I paid, especially since Utrecht is supposed to be a more affordable town/city. However, I liked it so much I decided to stay an extra night so it didn't bother me enough to not stay another night.

    Rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable and linens provided were NEW and clean, bathrooms in dorms were excellent and I felt comfortable showering, I actually had space to move around without touching the sides of the shower stall which always bugs me of the other places. I loved the reception floor with the large open space and tables for you to work at or "chit-chat" at. This is one of the main reasons I decided to stay an extra night.. I needed to get things done on my laptop and this hostel provided that.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Stayokay Utrecht Centrum Traveler Photo Gallery