Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Zandpad 5, Oud-West, 1054 GA Amsterdam, Netherlands

#168 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6496 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.9
    Nothing good if you are older than 18, it’s an over design,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s super expensive... we stayed in a privat room... they were bunks... so uncomfortable, I mean, I am 30 but I don’t want to arrive somewhere, when I am so tired, and still climb to my bed, and you have to make the bed as well!!! If one move the whole bunk moves, so you won’t get to much sleep. The don’t give you ANYTHING, you have a sink but no soap or towel even for your hands, they charge you for everything, I was surprised I didn’t have to buy the toilet paper as well

    Nothing good if you are older than 18, it’s an over design, shiny color place, I felt like in a kinder garden, they only taught about de “graphics”, but the furniture is very uncomfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Trendy hostel with plenty of common space to hang with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to buy towels when the amenities listed include towels. I purposely didn't pack a towel, because the listing said "amenities = towels." The shower also got water everywhere.

    Trendy hostel with plenty of common space to hang with friends. We rented bikes (great value) to explore the city, which I highly recommend. Great location. Good coffee. Wifi was fine. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Room, Great Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a set of towels at the beginning of our stay, which was great. However, when I went to the desk to ask for a clean set, the man there insisted I shouldn't have gotten free towels, and wanted me to pay for renting another set. I insisted he was wrong, though, and in the end he gave us a clean set to use for free.

    The room was a great size, clean, and comfortable. We really appreciated the large and economical breakfast, as well as the meals and the bar located in the hostel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The relaxed atmosphere in a beautiful location - Vondelpark...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem of cancelling one of my bookings with Booking.com. It seemed a never ending saga that couldn’t be resolved.

    The relaxed atmosphere in a beautiful location - Vondelpark Park - the friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    They did not have information about bus stop for the bus to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did not have information about bus stop for the bus to Schiphol. The bus from Schiphol stops at one bus stop at Leidseplein, but the bus stop to catch the bus to Schiphol is at a different location. Also the night bus to Schiphol has a different bus number at night than it has during the day. I watched one bus pass by the bus stop I was waiting at, and then I had to scramble to find the correct bus stop. It was at 4:30 in the morning and it was raining. A small map from the hostel showing the two bus stops would have been helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff on the desk were very helpful, polite etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above

    The staff on the desk were very helpful, polite etc. A credit to the company. The cleaning staff were not. They lied about cleaning our room, then said they hadn't...then didn't bother!!! It took several hours to sort out. The next day, the same chap was trying to clean our room and we asked for ten mins (we were not leaving that day) to get ready and he completely ignored us and carried on cleaning! He spoke very good English and may even have been American/Canadian. He was 'lurking', and it was 'lurking' outside the rooms for ages without cleaning them. To be fair, the management/front desk were most apologetic and tried the best they could-as I say, they deserve great credit. But the rooms (you have to make your own beds, and strip them!) and cleaner we had were awful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite far from Centraal station which was a bit awkward with a suitcase. Had to make the beds on arrival and strip the beds when leaving which is fine but a bit difficult on the top bunk!

    Beds were very comfortable. Ensuite in the room which was nice. Plug and night light beside each bunk. Each bunk is numbered and assigned and each bunk has a large corresponding locker - not common in hostels so really good to have a locker guaranteed! Staff were super helpful and had a staff member helping with the luggage storage room. Only stayed one night so didn't us any of the other facilities but there was a really nice cafe/bar and they were advertising for a pub quiz that night in the hostel. If I went back to Amsterdam would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Appalling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I seen a rat in the kitchen, Their are no facilities, You get a hand towel which is rough as nails to use for yourself after the shower, You have to rent a hairdryer which costs €50 (€20 deposit) Their is no television in the room The beds are so uncomfortable They should invest in more washing machines & dryers as I think it's unfair because when these are finished you have to wait for everyone to empty them which you may have to wait hours for This wasn't worth €405 for 4 nights It's not in the centre of Amsterdam You have crowds of people who stand outside until all hours of the morning playing music very loud which is annoying!

    I liked that their is a lift in the property, especially after you have to walk a long alley way to get to the property

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very nice and friendly. We booked 2 beds in dorm, and they have a locker under the bunk bed, which is good (you have to prepare your own lock, for sure). The bathroom and toilet are separated, a lit bit small but they were clean, that’s enough. The hostel is located in the city central => convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    The room and hostel is clean and offers a wide variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the breakfast there could be a toaster.

    The room and hostel is clean and offers a wide variety of tours and services for tourism. It is well connected through tram and still is within walking distance to the main activities. If not you can rent a bike for the day at a good price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    The common area are fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet light got glitches. No proper response was received.

    The common area are fancy. Location is good, yet so quiet at night when you walk back the alley next to the park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    TIME CHECK IN AND OUT MAYBE CAN FIX
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choices of food and internet coverage not really good.Also about check in time 2pm,I think not necessary because for check out to early 10am.mayb can fix about that.

    Nice place n location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tourist taxes, it should be warned in advance. Plus, I had to pay for the towels, so in general, what is usually said in the small font it should be clear from the beginning. Due to this in the end I had to pay more than I thought at first.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Short Stay at Stayokay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to share. Everything was ok.

    Even though I slept in a space with 20+ people. It did not seem like it because of the separation of the bed bunks. Overall good value for your money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Great little location, best hostel I’ve ever been in
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was great in the communal spaces, the room we had was perfect for our needs. The location next to the park was also ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful! Would repeat for sure!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The handwasher in the room was not inside the bathroom but in the room. The mattres is kinda unconfortable. They stop serving dinner at 20.45, but for the city schedule it's normal

    I loved the atmosphere, really calm and respectfull, it was so easy to meet new people and there was all kinds of groups, young people, and families also. The hostel is really pretty. The hall has sofas with where u can connect your phone and chill, the instalations were super pretty, the restaurant has also places to chill and really interesting books to read :). They have free water with real lemons to drink. The menu was super cheap (7,5€) and it offers a complete and cool meal! there were quizzes at night, and also free tours if u wanted to join. The staff was nice. The views from the room where into a street full of typical Amsterdam houses :). The location its wonderfull, 5 minutes from some canals, and near the museums, just 1 minute from a wonderful park with a lake and perfect to chill. Loved it, would come back for sure!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location beside Vondelpark. Near restaurants and pubs, bus & tram stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I stayed only for one night, I didn't have any problems in the hostel.

    Location was just beside Vondelpark and a short walk to the bus & tram stations and the museums. I was lucky to get a bed by the windows so did not have many people walking around near my bed. Room had very high ceilings so it wasn't stuffy, even for a room with more than 10 beds. I checked out early morning before touring the city, the staff helped me store my luggage at the hostel and I picked up my luggage in the afternoon with no extra charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, modern hostel, but comes with the expected disadvantages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is opposite a very large public park. We experienced a sleepless night due to our room facing the park, and after sundown is filled with noisy teenagers/ young adults drinking, smoking and playing loud music. It was very disturbing and unsettling. We asked to be moved the following morning to the opposite side of the hostel of which the staff arranged without issue. The rooms have no air conditioning, and get very warm/stuffy. Especially after someone has been in the shower. The beds and pillows are not the best. Could do with updating and replacing on a regular basis. All of the shower rooms are wet rooms, with little hanging space for clothes/toiletries. We found ourselves bringing in one of the chairs from the rooms to act as a shelf to keep towels from getting wet. The hostel is located about 10 minutes away by foot from the Amsterdam canals area. Watch out for locals on bikes...They do not stop.! They all insist on riding as fast as they can and do not anticipate unsuspecting visitors stepping out in front of them.

    The reception, breakfast and social areas were lovely and modern. The hostel staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were clean, and as described. They are very basic. (bunk beds, wardrobes/lockers, wet room, toilet) Great continental breakfast options available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    For a hostel it was great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hostel it was great... It is not a hotel.. and if you know that, and read their rules before you go there such as towels and lockers you will enjoy it because the other facilities were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall good place. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows are too soft! Too painful. People gathering outside the hostel talking and laughing loudly until 2 am! Windows don't open fully, in August the room was too hot and literally lacked ventilation. Toilet smells too bad clearly not cleaned very well.

    Excellent Location direct access by tram to Central station, few minutes walking to iamsterdam sign and restaurants and vondelpark just across the street. Great coffee and comfy seating area at the reception. Bike rental

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, the hostel looked very cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wad too hot, we have to make out own beds. The breakfast was only available until 10:30am (too early).

    Great location, the hostel looked very cool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect and the common areas are really nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no internet in the room and the lockers are to small (thin) to fit a backpack

    Location is perfect and the common areas are really nice, like the restaurant/bar and other places to relax.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    if you're coming to party this place is PERFECT!!! if not find somewhere else :P
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff really let the place down, they all seem slow, grumpy and high... I guess if weed is legal you can smoke it any time. Please exclude the cleaning team n dread man they were always friendly n said hello. in the morning rush, i waited over 10mins for that amazing latte! Remember to bring your own toilet paper theirs run out quick! also, they need to move the check-in desk from right in front of the main entrance! it's hard to get out with 20 guests blocking the way out...

    I can't fault the facilities or chilled vibe of the place. Well done on the refurb, the ground level looks completely different and 10x better than 2years ago. The shower n toilet facilities look good and are very clean. I also had the best latte I ever tasted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab hostel! Lovely staff even printed out my train ticket with no hassle or fuss! We even had a chat about next destination! Was offered a snack for free with my drink at the bar one of the days! Room was well appointed and excellent shower. It was also spotless and had an excellent nights sleep! Easy enough to get to and is just far enough away from the very touristy parts of Amsterdam that you can have a more authentic experience! Great bars and restaurants close by! I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Awful sleep for 4 nights. Good location and overall a decent hostel. Do not recommend in warm weathe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small. Rooms far too hot. Rooms were far too noisy. Maintenance work at 7:30 every morning outside could not close windows due to heat. Awful sleep

    Location to Vondelpark

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little too small and cramped especially toilets and showers.

    Very clean and modern. Friendly staff and helpful. The hostel has a cool environment filled with teenagers which creates a very comforting feeling being a teen myself.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Really well located!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing a kitchen. Bedrooms are a bit noisy because of the floor but nice though

    Really well located! Clean, nice place, good atmosphere. Garden just next door and close from all you need!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    GREAT PLACE,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    REALLY COOL FUN, HIPSTER PLACE TO STAY, OTHER GUESTS ARE FREINDLY. STAFF ARE AMAZING. BIKE HIRE IS EASY AND CHEAP. A LITTLE OUT OF THE WAY LOCATION BUT VALUE FOR MONEY. TOTALLY RECOMMENDED.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Nicely designed in a quiet area but relatively early check out time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing is its check out time: 10:30 a.m. Amsterdam is a city with a fascinating night life. Many tourists stay awake till late night or early morning, so it is very inconveniencing to check out that early.

    The design and atmosphere were excellent. The view to the park was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend the hostel and I would return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    .The breakfast could have been better (although this might just be a cultural thing). Some thicccccc bacon and eggs would have gone down lovely with a garnish of beans and a side of hash browns.

    .Very clean .Comfy beds .Reasonable price per night .Close to city centre .Aesthetically nice hostel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud construction first thing in the morning, right beside our window. It was brutal. In my opinion, if you're going to still rent out the room right beside construction you should offer a discount or be up front that there will be noise. As well, one of the bunk beds was broken and we felt it was unsafe to sleep on. As a couple was sharing a bed we were able to just not use the faulty one. I didn't report it as our stay was short and the reception area was always busy and required a wait.

    Excellent location. A pretty nice room for a hostel. Good value for price. If not for the construction issue and the broken bunk I would have nothing but good things to say.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff was nice, all the lobby section, bar, and common...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit hot inside the room. Also, we were 7 in a room for 6 (we asked for two rooms of 4). It was a bit uncofortable but in the overall, its a good hostel to stay at.

    Staff was nice, all the lobby section, bar, and common spotts were excelent too. Also, location is amazing, mainly during summer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member would not heat baby bottle for us one night. On our first night we had no milk and one staff member refused to give us some. However another staff member very kindly have us some and heated it. A little thing bit it meant slot on our first night.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    My short stay was an excellent one and I will never forget it as it had been my first to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As an early-riser, it would have been nice to have had an electrical socket in the WC to plug my hair-dryer into and use it there, as using it in room would have been too disruptive for sleeping fellow-guests, so I wasn't able to use it. Other than that, all was fine (except for one snoring-sleeper).

    The location is in an excellent part of the city- safe, green and next to the center. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere very calm and relaxing. The adjacent park is a must-see and excellent for strolling and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Virtually perfect - would reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff was ready to help, and welcoming, but we did encountered MINOR ANNOYANCES.

    The POSITION couldn't be anymore PERFECT... It's situated virtually inside the Vondelpark and a minute away from the canals. There is a bus stop and a tram stop nearby that can take you directly to Amsterdam Centraal and Amsterdaam Sloterdijk. You can RENT BIKES at the hostel which is perfect for visiting Amsterdam. The structure is VERY WELL KEPT and so are the rooms. Every one is given sheets which are sealed in plastic bags so you know they are definetly clean. The hostel is VERY ACTIVE and has a VIBRANT ATMOSPHERE perfect if you want to meet people during your travels. It's open 24 hours a day, so you are completely free in deciding when to exit and enter the hostel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Recommend hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key room stopped working once a day on average, and being on the 4th floor it was a nuisance to go down to get it reconfigured. It's not a big deal but it's actually the only bad thing I can think of.

    Very nice and helpful staff, good location, calm and full of life at the same time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast and dinner were yummy and well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air flow/ventilation in the room was quite poor so that made our stay very stuffy. A ceiling fan would help a lot. I didn't know when we booked that they would not provide towels.

    Breakfast and dinner were yummy and well priced. Staff was super friendly and location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was composed of two beds and it wasnt comfortable for me and my girlfreind .

    I liked the young atmosphere and the decoration. The hostel looks great . Its location is great .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Location (close to major museums!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too great choice for breakast, no hot meals (although breakast was generaly good). Upper floor of a bunk-bed quite hard to climb.

    Location (close to major museums!). Price/value ratio (considering prices in Amsterdam). Extremely nice and helpul staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect place, great location. Very clean rooms, and nice personal :) They helped with all I needed. Very familiar environment. I would definitely stay again there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    It was very basic, but met the expectations as advertised on the web.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been better if breafast was served a bit earlier, as we had to leave at 7.30am, so we were not able to book a breakfast.

    The staff were very helpful in sorting out a problem I had with my padlock on my bag. The room was quiet and cosy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms don't look like in the photos. Cleanliness of the room was very poor. No sound proof, you could hear the noise from other rooms.

    Location is close to the center and museums. The stuff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    very kind staff! clean beds, spacious, great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish there was some sort of facility to prepare your own food like a kitchenette as eating out in amsterdam is very expensive

    very clean, your beds have a bit of privacy which is nice and are spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    The is not a good stay and I will not come back again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the front desk were not nice and helpful. You have to always wait for long time if you need anything to talk to them. There is no air condition in the room so it is so humid and hot inside of the room during the hot weather. It is so hard for people from US who can only sleep in air conditioning when it is about 100 degree. Nobody help to deal with the garbage or change the toilet paper. The service in this hotel is not professional. When you put your luggage in storage, they do not give you any tag. All the luggage just are together in a mess and you have to push and looking for yours. I concern a lot somebody took wrong luggage by mistake since there is no tag at all, and anybody could just take whichever luggage they want, but the staff just stand there look and never help you.

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Satisfactory for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The common places were so clean like the bar but the rooms. And the room I stayed (C005) were so airless.

    The location of the hostel was great, there was a entry to Vondelpark directly. Also, it is close to touristic places like I Amsterdam Sign, Museumplein, Leidseplein. The bar was lively and and silent. You may hang out there if you are too tired to go outside. The room (mixed-8) I stayed was really large. The staff was so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    I didn't like having to wait until 2 pm to check in even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like having to wait until 2 pm to check in even though my room was ready. I was exhausted from travelling and I really wanted to shower and rest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    i like that it allowed our senior college son to meet other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the internet in the rooms barely worked and there was no air conditioning. the lounge was remodeled but the rooms and hallways need to be remodeled they looked very old. at 0100 on the first night my kids were so uncomfortable from the heat we almost went to the marriot next door until it rained at 0200 and made it bearable

    i like that it allowed our senior college son to meet other people his age but it was very sub par. don't stay here if you want to be comfortable its only for kids/young backpackers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend and stay again when I next come to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were boiling hot! Granted we were in the middle of a heatwave and it was 37c outside.. But it felt like 47c in the rooms sleeping on a plastic coated mattress on the top bunk. The windows don't open much so it was rather sticky!

    Very clean, trendy communal areas, good prices at the bar and nice comfy seats to lounge on. Staff were great and overall a really nice feel about the place! I booked for a hen do I organised and it was a perfect location with good links to all of oyr activities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    near the vondelpark wich is perfect for a picknick and near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    near the vondelpark wich is perfect for a picknick and near museumplein for some culture. very nice staff and international customers so you can easily make new friends. bikes and much more facilities to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.0
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ventilation in the room was not enough. Gets a little stuffy. Also, it was too warm when I visited (Aug 2018).

    The location is perfect. A short walk to the art museums and Dam Square. The lounge area was really nice too and people are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was perfect for everything (shopping, museums,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so hot in the room especially at night.couldn't sleep well.But everything else was great.

    The location was perfect for everything (shopping, museums, restaurants).Delighted to havestayed here for our mini break.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    2nd time staying at stayok and it was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2nd time staying at stayok and it was excellent. booked the private room which was big enough for two people with two single beds. the place was clean and staff were extremely helpful. Location was about a 5 mins walk from the main road but worth it for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Good sized rooms, we had 2 family rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst we were there Amsterdam was in a heatwave. Rooms were very hot and we did not know about the fans which we saw on the last day and presume you can hire whilst there.

    Good sized rooms, we had 2 family rooms. 1 four bed room and a six bed room. Good sized showers very clean and fairly spacious. Location close to museums and the park also close to shops and whole city easily reachable from this location. We would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    It's fairily clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to make bed when you arive all tired and you have to strip bed when you are leaving?! It's next to park so it gets very noisy sometimes at night.

    It's fairily clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, v.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room ventilation was poor for v hot weather meaning it was stuffy. no towels provided - although available to purchase st reasonable price, toilet clean but a bit smelly

    Great location, v. Good staff, good food, excellent atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    The bar and reception area are cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is NO KITCHEN, neither a shared fridge! The bedrooms are extremely hot (no AC). We just got slept cause on of the guests had a fan. It was impossible slept during the sun times. The doors (of the room and bathroom) are vey noise and woke me up ever time somebody came in or out. In the 2 last days the bathroom cleanness was not enough.

    The bar and reception area are cool. Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived too early to check in, so left our bags in secure room & went out. When we came back & went in the room it hadn’t been cleaned & last guests’ bedding still on beds. Very expensive for what it was, but it was Pride weekend & we’d left it late to book so everywhere was full, and no doubt prices had been pushed up. Very hot in the room (no air con) but not the hostel’s fault; summer heat in Europe this year has been very unusual!

    Very central location, basic accommodation but perfectly fine. Went with a friend, we had a room with bunk beds & en suite toilet & shower. Would probably be much better value for money on a less busy weekend. Nice looking bar, although we didn’t actually have a drink there!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff & fast Wi-Fi & good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's terrible for sleep in mix dormitory for 20 people. No air conditioner or fans in the room!

    Friendly staff & fast Wi-Fi & good location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff, breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are comfortable but the temperature of the city was very hot and the rooms had no ventilation, resulting in warm rooms.

    Staff, breakfast, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was big and spacious, with “private” shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot inside the room, specially during the night, there’s no air conditioning and it was impossible to open the windows.

    The room was big and spacious, with “private” shower and toilet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    I had to wait for check in till 3pm which was annoying.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 10+ Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait for check in till 3pm which was annoying. Also it would be good if booking.com could tell us how to reach the place from airport, central station and bus station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Dont't choose it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the worst hostel I hv been. I can only enter my room after 3pm but the luggage room was small. Meanwhile, the deadline of checking out is 1030am, i don't know why they need such a long time to clean the room. My room was far from the entrance and the road was under reconstruction, I was holding 2 big luggages which made me very difficult to arrive at my room. My room is just right next to the road and thus it was very noisy at night. Upper layer of the bed has very very little distance to the ceiling. You head will get hurt. Room has no air-con, so freaking hot at night.

    big room, very close to the I Amsterdam sign. Convenient transportation to airport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location and we were able to leave our luggage in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud construction work every morning at 8 am.

    Convenient location and we were able to leave our luggage in a safe room before check-in and after checkout.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Well located hostel and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds, mattresses uncomfortable but sort of to be expected in a hostel. Rooms got very hot, couldn't open windows far enough to let cool air in.

    Well located, staff were helpful, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hostel, but in summer ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there is no air-condition or fan in the entire building. As the temperatures were really high this July, it was almost imposible to sleep in the room, as it was really hot and we were sweating all the night. Sure though, that may not be a problem in days that aren't so hot...

    The staff were excellent, eager to help and answer all kind of questions, a traveller has. The hostel gives the opportunity to rent good bikes at a very nice price. The hostel has places to spend your time and eat or drink a coffee/beer etc. The food was delicious. In addition, the location is one of the best in Amsterdam, as it's near the center of the city and the most important museums are really close. Same goes for bus stops, restaurants etc. Last but not least, the hostel it's located almost inside vondelpark, a wonderful park to take a walk or a ride with the bike and also picnic, chill etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Short stay okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air conditioning and the windows only opened slightly it was 37 outside and the room stayed hot even throughout the night. Had to sleep on the floor one night to keep cool.

    Clean plenty of things to do inside hotel location is rights near bars, Hard Rock Cafe, canals and a park. Just a short tram ride for easier quicker central location if needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to make your own beds. No air conditioning in the bedroom.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good cafe selling drinks and light snacks. Breakfast was good. We were able to buy tickets for trams, museums, etc at reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    We love the location and the hostel 5th stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People who were staying in the Hostel being very loud outside until 4 am. I appreciate the weather contributed to people wanting to be outside. I think the staff should have asked them to keep it down. Very little sleep spoilt our stay.

    We love the location and the hostel 5th stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    The hostel, staff, the room and location everything is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel, staff, the room and location everything is perfect. I'm strongly recommend this hostel. But bare in your mind when u make a choice that this hostel has rooms only for women as well as mixed one. So make a right choice😉

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    It was out first time in Amsterdam and our first time to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was out first time in Amsterdam and our first time to live in sharing with other people, we were a little skeptical at first but we were thoroughly satified. The staff were great people, the place looked fantastic the room and bathroom were very clean which was of utmost importance to us.It is right beside vondelpark so you can visit the park whenever.. 5 mins walk to the tram and restaurants. Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    2 nights in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a way out of the centre. This can be good or bad, however.

    The room was pretty decent for a hostel. Staff were friendly, and the hostel seemed very secure. The facilities such as the cafe looked excellent, but I can't comment on the food as we did not use them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Very clean and it’s very spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and it’s very spacious! Facilities are very good too! Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam! 7 stops away from Amsterdam Central stn but it’s near to I Amsterdam sign, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and shopping district. Staffs are very friendly and there’s place for luggage storage!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Stayokay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haha... Everything was perfect for my stay

    Theme of the hostel is really nice... Especially the wordings on staff's t shirt like "don't ask questions to Google, ask me".... Especially i was stunned by experiencing the service when I was not able to connect to WiFi.... I just told the staff and suddenly administrator came to my place and fixed the issue(amazing service.. We will not get such service even during emergencies outside) . one thing which I really liked the most is that every staff is friendly and provided the information with smile on their face..... Of course as the name implies it is "stayokay".... Thanks a lot to the whole team of stayokay 👏👏🙏😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it wasn’t such a vibe

    Excellent location, friendly staff, the hostel itself ie the welcome area and general space is beautifully done. The room was adequate but mostly importantly clean. There is fresh linen in packets on the bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The facilities were not the best, but other than that I had a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom/shower could have been better. The bathroom smelled like old urine & the shower room had a few hooks to put your towel & clothes but the entire floor would get wet so if anything fell, it would get soaked.

    Not right in the center of the city, but great location! Everything was in walking distance! And the people were pretty friendly. One of the staff even helped me print my train ticket before I left.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: