Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Suitehotel Posthoorn 4 stars

Noordeinde 43, 1141 AG Monnickendam, Netherlands

#5 of 8 hotels in Monnickendam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of hiring bikes at the hotel was a little excessive.

    Cosy, comfy, clean and welcoming. The rooms and facilities were great. Everything was excellent and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff was great, the room was nice, and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint is that access to the hotel is weird, and there are restrictions on the hours that you can park there (you cant come in the parking lot after 11p). If you don't get in the parking lot, you have to find your own parking. Also, the parking lot leads you in through the back door. If you don't get in the parking lot by 11, you can't get in the back door either, so you have to walk around the block to come in the front door.

    The staff was great, the room was nice, and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    lovely hotel in a nice smalltown close to amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely short stay in this hotel. the staff was very friendly and always tried to answer our questions. we didnt have food in the hotel apart from breakfast. If you stay here you absolutely have to try the waffles in the morning! theyre brilliant! also the scrambled eggs! we were happy with our floris v suite just was a bit weird for us that the shower is next to the bed without walls and is see-through. it was a very nice posh shower though. the little town is very pretty and its only 20 mins by bus to visit amsterdam. ( where we highly recommend a boatstour called the dutch authentic boat and the icebar ;) ). we will certainly come back for a longer visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Good room, great food and wine. W'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be handy if the room had a safety deposit box.

    The room was small, but very comfortable. The beds and bedding are excellent. The bathroom has all the amenities needed. The restaurant is fantastic. We choose the 5 course surprise menu with an accompanying wine arrangement and it was absolutely great. The food was exquisite and Edwin, the sommelier, surprised us with excellent and very unusual wines. He is very knowledgable and enjoys to share his knowledge of wine with his guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    An out of Amsterdam winner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty perfect to me

    Outstanding service from a gem of a place Beautiful restaurant Michelin star The village of monnickendam is not a tourist trap and is lovely to just wander about A genuine Netherlands experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    A gem of a place in Monnickendam. Could not have asked for better!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely nothing I can find to complain about.

    The ambience was just perfect. Everyone was very helpful. My boarding pass for my return was printed off within a moment. Breakfast was best I have had for years. None of this buffet thing. Bathroom and items therein were wonderful. Loved the thick bathrobes. Bed so comfortable and loved the decor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.5
    Cosy gastronomic hotel in cute little village outside Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection unstable No bottled water in the room - no mini bar Room isolation (wooden floors)

    Very nice decoration Gorgeous bathroom Fine dining (Michelin star) Calm street, cute village

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    4.2
    Overpriced, tiny "deluxe" room with appalling bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (so-called deluxe room, and expensive) was situated up two VERY steep, cramped flights of stairs. Access was therefore difficult unless you happened to be carryng an ice-axe. The room was small, and had a tiny, slippery wooden terrace overlooking a car park and the backs and roofs of other buildings. NOT a place to sit and enjoy the view. The bathroom was the worst aspect of the experience of staying at this hotel. There was a completely see-through glass shower door opening directly from the bedroom, so the person using the toilet was in full view, with no privacy at all! I have never come across such a ridiculously designed bathroom.in all my life. We found the bed uncomfortably soft. The staff were friendly and helpful, though nobody enquired whether or not we had enjoyed our stay on check out. The breakfast was mediocre. For €200 a night, this was excessively overpriced for a very mediocre hotel experience. Will not stay again and cannot recommend it.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and wonderful Michelin restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing: perfect for us!

    Fantastic location and wonderful Michelin restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Love the location and rooms are beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location and rooms are beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    charming Monnickendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    fairly expensive for dinner ( we ate down rhe street), but excellent breakfast.

    charming village, very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Accomodations were great and staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodations were great and staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Chic boutique hotel in quaint village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was gorgeous. the decor was so cosy and chic and the quiet location is perfect for a night away from the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee facilities in room would be good

    Staff who went the extra mile

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Bicycle-Friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was modestly priced but very tiny.

    Secure bicycle storage. Right in the heart of town, with great Thai restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    For an expensive hotel whose restaurant boasts a Michelin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For an expensive hotel whose restaurant boasts a Michelin star,we found the breakfast very disappointing. Not much variety and not much to eat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    no inroom facility for making drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no inroom facility for making drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    Perfect hotel combined with dinner in their restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not very stable.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    great little hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    too far away from Amsterdam, we misjudged the distance

    great little hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The room was nice

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: