Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aston City Hotel 2 stars

Stadhouderskade 68, Oud Zuid, 1072 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#398 of 446 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1955 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    Great value for a great location, would highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt a little bit when we first entered, despite the room and bathroom being extremely clean.

    Arrived late, but 24hr check in meant we could check in without any hassle. Comparing the price to some of the other central hotels, this is absolutely phenomenal value for money. Location is only slightly out of the centre of amsterdam but a great location for visiting the museums etc. We only stayed 1 night but would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a place to crash :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hangers, no mirror other than bathroom.

    Was okay for a place to get some sleep, NO LIFT was a killer while two older ( 60’s ) family members. Can be a little loud from other guests but Overall was good. Balcony made it totally worth the stay beautiful view :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    4.6
    Cleaners started hoovering loudly really early in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners started hoovering loudly really early in the morning which woke us up. A lot of noise heard in the room from the corridor and other rooms throughout stay. Had music playing from somewhere for a lot of the night

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    3.3
    Lot of facilities nearby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with no view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled awful when I arrived and the temperature in the room was way too high (about 28C). There was no option to open a window, not to get in contact with fresh air, and there was no air conditioning at all. The room was poorly isolated (acoustic) so there was a lot of noise in the room.

    Lot of facilities nearby

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    3.8
    City was excellent, hotel was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pretty much everything inside the hotel. Rooms were extremely small / outdated and unclean. There was a wooden sliding door only to the bathroom which did not close properly. No external windows. Paper thin walls, you could hear every footstep, constant noise from all areas until the early hours of the morning. The shower after 5mins leaked through the bathroom floor and we then had the manager burst into our room at past midnight when asleep in bed to start an angry confrontation. All in all I have stayed in hotels around the world and this one was by far the worst I've seen. The location is good but I would strongly recommend finding another hotel.

    Location. There is nothing else positive I can say about the hotel itself.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    3.3
    The worst hotel experience ever with the worst staff i ever seen in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, no elevator with very very narrow stairs where u should carry ur bags to the 4th or 5th floor all by yourself and thats torture. The reception is in a different building with a tinny sign that. you will barely see it, and that makes lot of people get lost and i had to direct many of them by myself to the reception building to check in. The rooms are veryyyyyy small (2.8 x 2.8 m) with a toilet of (1.0 x 3.0m) where u cannot open your bags on the ground and walk around and NO closet and the TV is from ages ago. Probably you will take a view on the stairs where everybody going up or down can see u on your bed !!!!!! The STAFF is horrible, the guy of the reception is mean and not welcoming, not helpful, not professional, he gave us wrong information with cold face and he is irrespecutful and not gentle Conclusion, i dont recommend Aston City hotel ever. The experience was the worst among this beautiful trip in this beautiful country. Dont try it

    Well the hotel location is kinda okay, its close to the Heineken experience , 2 min walking from Rjk museum and 5 min from Holland Casino, and 2.0 km and more away from Dam square and all other attraction places. There are better location hotels near the Center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Easy to get around from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was broken, the shower pipe was leaking in all the wrong places. The "fresh" towels we got had human hair on them.

    Easy to get around from the hotel.. no public transportation needed to get around. Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Just for sleep but great location
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room have window but you can't use it normally. Too small WC. Just for sleep only.

    Best location for travel by any transit. They have a cute fluffy cat at the lobby ♡

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Economy hotel with bathroom best suited to students.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Window (only source of air flow) seemed to not be securely locked.... had a repair job done on the window lock that was unconvincing. 2. Very small room with very little space to put clothes so we had to live out of our luggage all week. 3. Breakfast, a 7 euro option, was really pathetic and I'm not a fussy eater. 4. Room was smaller than expected. 5. When I googled walking locations, the hotel kept popping up and showed a room rate of $59. I paid twice that!

    Good location to walk to many tourist sites. Tiny beds were surprisingly comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful and great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was far out of the main city area and lots of taxi drivers did not know where the hotel was. Made it tricky to get home.

    Staff were very helpful and great! Very large room size. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    The area was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were not clean, there were only two electric sockets in the room. It was super small and the only window was toward rhe corridor which made the room very hot

    The area was very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Location and accessibility to tram metro and bus stations,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size No lift

    Location and accessibility to tram metro and bus stations, clean, nice front view, helpful staff, small but comfy beds, fresh towels everyday, big room window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Bad! Because the room is very small!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad! Because the room is very small! Very very small! The staffs cleaning at 8 a.m.! In the room not have space! Very expensive for quality bad. I don’t liked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    3.3
    Poor Hotel Option in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price paid facilities were very poor. There was no hanging space at all, no shelves, no space for 2 people to move around the room. The 'hotel' is very dated and in fact all the facilities are at the sister hotel down the road. I have travelled for 40 years and this really was the worst hotel experience I have had. It should be rated 1 star and rooms should be no more than $60 per night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didnt had a mirror, maybe got broke or something. Also very few power outlets.

    Location is great!!! Close to metro and tram. Just a quick walk Rijkmuseum and Van Gohn museum. Appartment is small but all you need to visit this amazing city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds, good location, easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out very early had to wait around with cases for light flight, bathroom very small knees touch wall while sitting on toilet, staff nice but not overly friendly. Breakfast was 7 euros for just a bowl of cornflakes or a waffle out of the vending machine.

    Comfy beds, good location, easy to find

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a liitle break the hotel in all and amsterdam was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the room as we was on the top floor could do with a lift. My advice for the hotel though is get a room with a view as the other rooms you just a have a window facing the staircase and no freshair.

    Location was really good easy access around amsterdam with the tram stop just round the corner.. the hotel was next to the hieneken experiance and 5 min walk to liedsplien. we stayed in the family room 5 lads with 5 single beds in and with a private walk in bathroom and shower. we also had a balcony and garden view. Staff very helpfull with what we wanted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    It was close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude as there was an issue that had nothing to do with us and we got billed for this. When I rang them to try explain the staff member and manager were bother very rude to me and didn’t try to resolve the situation at all. Won’t be returning

    It was close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning early the hallways were hoovered whiched banged our door and woke us up everytime. Rooms are small

    Rooms were modern and clean always great location to all the sightseeing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    good position, 5 minutes walking from museum area, 6-7 from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good position, 5 minutes walking from museum area, 6-7 from Voldenpark, staff very polite and helpful, clean environment, room small but comfortable and clean, bathroom clean and working. very deal for the price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better room facilities

    Location was excellent but noisy. It was very warm we needed window open so little sleep. A fan would have been good we could have then closed the window. Room very small no where for clothes everything stayed in case. A small table and somewhere to empty your case is a must even in an economy hotel. Bathroom new and clean but very small. Bedroom carpet needs changing and bathroom door had a hole. Bedding and towels clean. Staff at reception very helpful. A good tidy up would make this a lovely place. We stayed 3 nights and its location has to be its best point. But we have to remember you get what you pay for. If you want 5* then pick a 5*

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    No Wifi on the rooms, unfriendly staff, no elevator (and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi on the rooms, unfriendly staff, no elevator (and we were on the 5th floor with luggage), check out was at 11:00 am and they came to the room at 10:00 am shouting it was time to do the check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean, fantastic location but very basic..
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay for 2-3 nights but starts to get a bit claustrophobic afterwards as nowhere to really put any luggage other than on the floor as no wardrobes etc due to size of room. Seems as if rooms used to be bigger but looks like have built 3 in the space of one (which makes financial sense as it does just about work). Staff were varied, some really lovely, some miserable but overall helpful.

    Good location with excellent links to/from Centraal. Very comfy single bed (twin room) and clean room and nice bathroom but basic and very small. Would stay again if the price was right, but location makes up for it overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Average Hotel, only good for sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are rude. Bikes to hire are hard to use and no instructions given. Go hire from elsewhere. Room curtains don’t close properly. Our room wasn’t numbered making it hard to find ok check in. Reception located further down street from actual hotel.

    Location was great. 20min walk to main area of Amsterdam (Red light, tourist shops) but we liked how close we were to De Pijp.m and museums like moco, I am Amsterdam sign

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with no view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was easy to find but you did not check in there you had to walk about 500yards to another Hotel to check in reception very helpful At City Hotel it seemed to give a feel of a block of bedsits and was very noisy

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    you cannot sleep there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we could not sleep, there were noises as people being in theroom. And the morning after someone came to the room to say that it was time for the check out in a very rude way

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will be confused with the reception it’s in the other building. Moreover there is No lift and our room was in 4th floor, can you imagine to carry your luggage there. One guy in the reception helped us but when we checked out the lad that was duty said it’s not his job so we have to carry it down. Linens were not changed.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    The location is not bar , just by the Heineken Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not bad , just by the Heineken experience For this price and tipe of bedrooms you should pay us to have breakfast , not the other way around Bedrooms are really small ! Not like the pictures , I had to use the toilet seats sideways The check in place is not on the same place where you stay

    The location is not bar , just by the Heineken Experience Very good view from the window Sheets clean Good shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a sleeping station. Would suit back packers not a room for a holiday maker.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny box room with no windows, mirrors, airflow, cupboards, clothes space, storage, just 2 wall plugs, cleaning staff quite aggressive and loud, let themselves into room whilst I showered. No lift, very hot room felt a little claustrophobic especially as there was no ventilation

    Comfy bed, good shower, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for this type of room but that's Amsterdam for you, no lift so stairs could be a problem if you have limited mobility.

    Solid clean and efficient, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    Dirty, small and extremely basic. Suitable for a stag party group who aren’t bothered about sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to check in at different hotel and walk round. Hotel was dark and dingy, looked very run down. Room was small and not well looked after- no basic facilities; no telephone, tv didn’t work, windows nailed shut. Rooms smelled of smoke/cannabis, carpets dirty, bathroom too small to sit on toilet with knees in front!

    Hotel near to tram stop and close to Heineken experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    The price is way too high for the size of the room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High price not fair for this kind of room

    The price is way too high for the size of the room and the fact that there was no view(a wall at 50cm, no air)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasantly surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was extortionate for the weekend we were there, however, booking was later than anticipated and Amsterdam isn’t a cheap city so was one of the cheaper options remaining.

    Location is perfect and facilities, although basic, suited our needs. Second floor, standard twin room with garden view was ideal (and surprisingly so after reading some of the reviews). No issue with WiFi and once we ensured the shower faced the right way and took a bit of extra care, no issues with the bathroom either.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Not bad for a short trip but not at the current price..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is cramped, no elevator but 5 floors, expensive for the type of property. Hallway and stairs are dirty.

    The bed was extremely comfy, good views of the canal, wet room is amazing. Not a huge walk to get to attractions. 20-30 minute walk ish to red light district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    10 minutes earlier to the time of the check out a men was knocking to the doors to remind us that We had to leave at 11, something that It seemed to me a little rude. We were in the bottom floor and We had to put some clothes under the curtains to avoid to be seen from the street. There was not door in the shower and the water spill out and flooded all the floor of the bathroom.

    The location and the price. We were allowed to leave the luggage there until the time of the flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Terrible staff, tiny room and very expensive pleace. Distant from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man that received us was VERY unpolite, he did't even answered my "good night" and started to talk about the payment. Very rude! The room was also very expensive, there was no elevator, the reception was in a different building of the room, and there was no parking, so we had to pay 50 euro per night to park our car in the private parking. Also the location was very bad, and the only turistic point close to this hotel is the Heineken factory.

    The view of the room (to the canal).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and the smoke from cigarettes came inside to our room somewhere. Walls were very thin so we heard everything what people talked in the corridor and the next room.

    The room was clean and nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, near to Leidseplein where you can find very nice restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Good location not far from centre, tram stop 2 non walk away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude Room wasn’t cleaned very well when we arrived, bins not emptied, rubbish under the beds etc

    Good location not far from centre, tram stop 2 non walk away, right next to Heineken museum

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    clean, newly refurbished, good location near Rijks Museum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stuffy- window opened into stairwell. 6 flights of steep stairs with no elevator. no coat hangers, no tissues, very small room, nice new bathroom but open shower stall meant room got very wet.

    clean, newly refurbished, good location near Rijks Museum and Albert Cuypstraat markets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    Sorry..will not recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Congested room in a very old building and could hardly breathe. - No 24 hr reception on the building as described on the property info. ( The reception is at Blossom city hotel which is a 5 min walk away from the hotel) - No tea/ coffee facilities in the building. - The fan was full of dust blowing all over the room. -Would not recommend and not value for money.

    - Staff was helpful -Good and ideal location to visit major attractions that are walkable distance from one to the other.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.0
    The room was ok as we just slept and showered there but I wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom were very small and sparsley furnished. Traffic noise was pretty bad.

    The view over the canal was good. The bed was comfortable. Walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Bed was comfy, requested an outside window and gotten it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    upon arrival although it was 10:30 am and we were aware check in was at 3pm we thought we’d go and ask if we could leave our bags there until 3. Guy at reception was very rude and rolled his eyes at me when I asked where can we leave them he pointed ‘over there’ and as I went he then said ‘eh hello keys??’ And slammed a set of keys on the desk. Thought this was very rude assuming we should know where to leave our bags and that were to know I needed a key.

    Bed was comfy, requested an outside window and gotten it which was brilliant. Perfect place to stay for a few nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went with the family. Our arrival was late. We have to go to another apartment where the actual reception was. Get the keys and than come back. Not a good idea. There was no elevator. The family room was at fifth floor. You have to take your luggage by the stairs. There was no remote for the tv. We went to ask the receptionist in the other building about the tv remote but there was no one. Definitely not a family hotel.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    I liked the room because it had a window i didn’t expect.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast... 7€ for a sad piece of bread and ham. Not even fruit... please change that!!!! None eated there! It was all the time empty.

    I liked the room because it had a window i didn’t expect. Service is OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Take ear pl8gs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with no view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls must be toilet paper thin as although the bed was comfy, I felt like a slept in the corridor. You hear every little thing throughout the hotel.

    Comfy bed and fairly clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is clean and staff are friendly, the room could be bigger for what they charge. Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, there was no wardrobe for clothes. I think what we were charged was over priced for the size of the room. There was also no lift only a stair case and we were on the 4th floor, it didn’t really affect us but it wouldn’t be useful for some people.

    Very central to everything in the city and close to a tram stop. Bathroom was very big.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, good location for culture and museums!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would’ve liked the information regarding check in to be clearer. There is no reception at Aston

    The Aston hotel was located very close to the museum district in Amsterdam which was brilliant for visiting the Van Gogh and Rijks museums. The room was very clean (sheets and towels changed daily) and modern, although it was a little on the small side. The hotel is a 2* but I would probably call it 3* as the service and facilities were both really good. It’s approximately a 20min walk from the station and only a 4min walk from the popular museums.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall good stay, staff were friendly and placed in a good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big towels could be provided without having to ask the room was a tad on the small size but not too bad!

    The bed is really comfortable and the toilet is really modern..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Enough to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not.I would put this accomodation in the hostel category. Windows do not leak, I felt like I was sleeping on the street. The wardrobe was missing in the room and there was no shelf. All old, worn out.

    Nice view, living in the center. In the bathroom everything is needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.2
    Good location, poor facilities (heating didnt work and shower flooded) over charged on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower flooded the bathroom whenever it was in use due to poor design. The heating didn't work on the first night and it was -7 outside. They also charged over €200 more than the booking.com confirmation link. Wouldnt stay here again.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Strange staff experience, no elevator, blood in the room. Only good thing was location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While checking in one of the women working there was complaining to the man behind the desk who was trying to check us in about some issue she had, which made things almost impossible for him to focus and her energy was very negative and disruptive, which was a bad first impression upon arrival. The reception was in a different building down the street from where the rooms were, and there were 4 flights of stairs to climb for us to get to our room and no elevator. Also we noticed some blood on the radiator in the room

    The room was in a good location in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.8
    BAD BAD BAD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HEATING NEVER WORKED AND THE TEMPERATURE WAS -10 OUTSIDE.THE AIR WAS COMING IN FROM THE WINDOWS.VERY SMALL ROOM THE ONLY PLACE THAT WE HAD WAS THE BEDS AND THE BATHROOM.

    HELPFULL STAFF ESPECIALLY THE ASIAN GIRL

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall pleasant place. Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chairs inside the room. Only place to sit in the room was on the beds. A draft could be felt standing near by the window. The TV had only five different channels that were repeating.

    Good location. Very warm room during the cold season. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were also changed daily. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.6
    The ocation was excellent though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were so tiny, not at all what is advertised. No wardrobe, no window to outside so room felt very claustrophic. Very noisy, no lift, bathroom/shower was right beside our bed. Just so so tiny & not what is advertised.

    The ocation was excellent though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    The room was small and compact and the beds were small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the room. House keeping were loud.

    The room was small and compact and the beds were small but comfy. We had a nice view. Again bathroom was small but had everything we needed, even a hair dryer and toiletries. Fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Can’t complain for the money but if you’re fussy you might want to spend a little mire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed separated as we laid on it because it was topped with 2 single mattresses rather than a double. No storage space in room at all

    Location and price were great. Bathroom also very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely up until the last morning which ruined our stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I have camped at festivals quieter than this. We were in room 404 and on Monday morning at 6:30AM a couple above us (I don't know if there is a flat above?) were arguing, screaming and shouting at the top of their voices at one another and stomping around. At one point I was worried there would be domestic violence. This is completely unacceptable and disgusting behaviour. We were travelling home Monday and so were extra tired due to being woken up at a ridiculous time by these inconsiderate people. We did not feel safe asking them to keep the noise down because they both sounded so aggrevated - the staff at the hotel should have dealt with this. There was no phone to ring reception to report this either (reception is in a different building). No one at reception asked us how our stay was otherwise we would have said - we wanted to just leave!!

    The bed was very comfy, small room but had everything we needed. Bathroom was perfect; clean, tidy, shower worked fine. Staff providing clean towels every day was great. Looks like it's on the edge of Amsterdam but the walk in was not that long so ideal location for city dwellers who like to walk a lot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Location ideal for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with one window overlooking the staircase. Wouldn't have been a problem if it wasn't for the smell of weed in the staircase

    Location ideal for this price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.0
    Good location Poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Realllly small. No where to store anything. No space to put anything down. Tiny bathroom. Tv was fuzzy. Sheets wernt changed. Staff came round really early bangin on stairs and shouting..

    Staff were friendly. Location was really good. Room was quite clean. Discount cards had some good deals.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing but you get what you pay for. Great location though.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a window which basically overlooked the inside of the under stairs cupboard, no natural light at all. The room was right next to the staircase, a lot of noise from people on the stairs and a vent which you could look out onto the stair case. Room was also very cold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.4
    Overall this stay would have been fine if it was cheap, but it was too much money for the quality of
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a bad smell of blocked drains the whole time we were there. While the room was clean, it was tiny and facilities very minimal. The WiFi was faulty so we had to rely on mobile signal.

    The room seemed quite clean and Staff at the reception (Different building along the road) were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a vile smell of sewers and realised that the room actually overlooked the sewers, the room was tiny and the bedding was not changed during our visit. The staff were rude and ignorant and not at all considerate.

    The room was cheap and modern

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. The staff were very friendly, especially the receptionist who went out of her way to help me out. Room was clean and great for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.8
    I loved Amsterdam but I would not stay at this hotel again even if I was paid too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. Literally couldn’t swing a cat. When we arrived the receptionist wasn’t the happiest person. A smile or a hello would have been nice. Clearly a drainage issue as the full hotel stunk. Outside and in. Our check out was 11am we had someone battering our door 3 times from 9am to 10:15 until he was told our check out was 11am and we wouldn’t be going till then as we had late flights. Overpriced vending machine. Hotel was too hot barely slept due to the heat.

    The view from our room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the fifth floor with no lift there were no mirrors in the room only one for the bath room. There were no facilities such as a kettle to boil water it was just poor

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    3.3
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. It's really noisy, you can hear people talking and laughing living next to you, and the door slamming. And you can hear people living upstairs walking. 2.The toilet constantly smells, maybe from the sink or the shower I don't know. 3.The sheet has holes and stains makes me feel it's dirty.

    Near to Rijksmuseum

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location, clean, fantastic value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bicycle service. The Hotel could provide better bicycles since they are the best way to travel around Amsterdam. Otherwise would be better not to offer this service so that the customers will rent the bicycles outside (there are plenty of places around)

    wonderful location, clean, fantastic value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little room to move. No lift. No food or drink allowed in room. Front door not being shut properly on property. Lack of plugs.

    Great location. Nice shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was tiny, less that 6ft wide. Nobody could sit down on the toilet as the bathroom wall was a couple of inches from the edge of the seat. Had to get changed and ready in our beds as there was no room to stand. The room was filthy throughout. As I say the worse hotel I have ever stayed at.

    Worse stay out of all hotels I have been to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Bed was perfect for sleeping in but other then that I wouldn’t be spending time in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with no View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very noisy. Staff cleaning rooms early in the morning with no consideration for other rooms nearby. Slamming off doors and wacking the hoover off the door wasn’t a pleasent start to the morning. Wifi hardly ever worked. We were given 3 hand towels and thats all, nothing bigger. The hair dryer also did not work.

    Location was perfect for site seeing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and clean, with a modern finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit confused when we arrived at the hotel as the reception was a different building down the street. Also the en-suite bathroom had a lovely spaceshious shower however the shower curtain didn’t cover enough resulting in the bathroom being flooded.

    Comfy beds, clean and modern room, basic but cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    The only good thing was the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was stinking of urine and it was disgusting. The room was either freezing cold or too warm to exist but nowhere inbetween. We supposed to pay £168 but have been charger £198, and they also took £60 preauthorisation with a different name and i did not see that back yet on my account. we got a room on ground floor in front of the vending machines and it was so loud. Staff was yelling in front of our rooms in early hrs (6am once) and several other occasions. All guest had drunken shouting matches in front of our door in the middle of the night. Bed was uncomfortable. Just dont book here!!!

    The only good thing was the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Was a lovely location for the major attractions but disappointed about sheet cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean bed sheets, not stained. Toilet seat was cracked at the back and was sharp when you sat down. No food or drink permitted in the room meant we could not come back and relax with snacks like we usually would.

    Location was perfect for attractions. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    4.6
    Not quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was lovely. the cleaners had no respect for people sleeping slamming doors talking loudly. All night because we were on the ground floor all we heard was people coming in and out shouting. We could hear every footstep. Not good x

    Close to amenities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Amsterdam is a beautiful, fun city with lots of great bars & restaurants. Great for a party weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel didn't actually have a proper reception, in that there was a second hotel down the street we had to go to in order to check-in/out. Felt more like a block of flats. No elevator (not wheelchair friendly). Purely just a place to sleep.

    Bed was very comfy! Location was pretty good. Walking distance to city center (15mins) or a short tram to most places. Located next to the Heineken factory (which if you like beer I highly recommend). There is also a pancake restaurant down the street if you're looking for a classic Dutch breakfast. For those likely to hire bikes I'll mention there was also add there's a bike rack out the front of the hotel (for locking bikes), however like all bike racks in Amsterdam it was pretty full.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aston City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: