Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center 3 stars

Tesselschadestraat 23, Oud-West, 1054 ET Amsterdam, Netherlands

#258 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1246 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    uncomplicated hotel - fairly centrally located - price on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are really noisy - you hear everything from the neighboring rooms as if they would be standing in your own room. Plus there is no ‚please do not disturb‘ sign so housekeeping is nocking on every door on sunday at 9 - just to make sure that literally everybody is standing in their beds ..

    uncomplicated hotel - fairly centrally located - price on the higher end for service pr

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    A good 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel only does breakfast no evening meals. It has no bar, asked to pay for bedroom in full when we checked in but room was not ready so we could not check room before payment ? has it was our first time to stay in this hotel, we left luggage and went into the city , came back later , checked room then paid for bedroom. A lot of different staff on reception ????????????

    Great staff and helpful, except they got the cost of the taxi wrong. The hotel has great location , in the city centre and in a quiet location. Bedroom had all you need bed, tea coffee and a easy to work shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    Europe trip - Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room. Bathroom not clean, as was the bathroom next to the dining room. Passage and entrance carpets very dirty. Payment query discussed with staff handled poorly. We are very unhappy with having to have made this extra payment! We had pre-paid a deposit and had to pay in full again. Staff stated we must take it up with Booking.com. We could not do so at the time due to travel constraints and time available.

    Position was close to canal and transport. The area was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Sandwiches at breakfast, very hard, as they are from from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sandwiches at breakfast, very hard, as they are from from the day before. My bathroom was not cleaned for 2 days, same for the towels. Towels is asked to get bigger shower towels, but not been delivered. Laundry you have to go and bring it downstairs yourself, after going down first, to collect the empty laundry bag, which was not available in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff are not friendly at al and hotel facilities are not good. They did not provide the rooms as per my bookings ( without AC) until unfriendly debate then they moved us to the AC room.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value, excellent quiet location, tiny room, staff- just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely cramped even compared with comparable hotels in large European cities- there was literally not enough space to fit a luggage rack in the room, just the beds. Service was so-so, not organized, and not responsive. I emailed the hotel several times in advance of arriving and received no response.

    Great value, good breakfast buffet, excellent location, beautiful neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, cute hotel in a good location near most of the museums with good transport links. There was an issue with our room not being cleaned and staff were very friendly and accommodating and offered us free breakfast to compensate. Great service overall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable if not for the toilet. Walking distance to the shopping areas & the museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet wash basin was almost up to the bust level. That is about 4 feet high. Bad construction. Rooms were just normal.

    Walking distance to Rijkes Museum, Boat Rides, P.C. & kalverstraat shopping areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so rude and unhelpful when we asked someone to help us with our luggage cause we had alot the front desk lady was like sorry help yourself and my mother had an operation done we couldnt carry anything, and they used my credit card to hold an amount without informing me while i have already paid the full payment for the room.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Central but quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with an odour coming from fhe shower drain for atleast 4 days. It seemed to be an issue with other people as well. Rooms very small had to book 3 seperate rooms for my wife and 4 kids.

    Location good, beautiful building and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Liked this place but the last day had to take a cold shower before leaving to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On day 2 I asked for room service. The bed was made but towels on the floor were not replaced. Dirty coffee glasses were just left there. On my last day I could not get hot water going at all in the shower and had to take a cold shower before leaving to the airport.

    Liked staying there as it was walking distance to most places that I was interested in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Perfect spot in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located right off of Vondelpark on a quiet street. I had easy access to museums as well as shopping and restaurants. It was nice to stay further outside the city center as it often feels like a tourist trap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    its convernient location to the city attraction make me ignore the above concerns
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the untidiness of the room, no daily cleaning of the room the sink was blocked i have to request several times for it to be fixed. too small room with a big bed hardly any place to move

    the people were helpful , the location of the hotel and its proximity to all sightseeing attarcations is very convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Good mid priced, mid quality, hotel which ranks higher due to location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of us felt that the beds in both rooms were very uncomfortable, the other didn't mind. The 1st floor room (155) got a lot of noise from slamming doors, so we moved rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful so it wasn't a big deal. The next room, 360, was nice and quiet.

    Brilliant location, next to the park. Easy access to the airport, and most of the city is within walking distance. Lots of amenities nearby. We didn't feel the need for hotel breakfast, there were more interesting options in every direction.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Location was on a quiet street within walking distance of...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location was on a quiet street within walking distance of the Reijksmuseum and the Leidseplein. Beds were very comfortable. Staff was helpful in answering questions and providing information.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Although disappointing in some areas, overall stay was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness of the room was not up to standard. Shower walls showed signs of previous guests use. Bed sheets were not changed during 4 night stay. Used glasses and tea cups were not replaced and bedside tables were dirty.

    Excellent staff. Good value breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toothbrush, toothpaste or shower cap so we had to go out and buy our own. Also we changed from a superior room to a regular double but no refund offered when asked.

    The location is very good. Staff are friendly. Very clean hotel with lovely decor. I especially liked the breakfast room where the staff were amazing! Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    The location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room in the basement and in the evening water from the shower did not drain. Tried to fix in the evening but without succes. In the morning the entire room was flooded.

    The location is very good. Breakfast fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Location was good, needed to be near city centre which it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room advertised 3 single beds, we got 2 and a couch and breakfast was extra for 3 adults paying nearly £80-00 each per night!!!!! Breakfast was app £15-00 pp extra per day! Very expensive

    Comfy beds, tea and coffee making facilities all day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor security Had purse stolen in dining room by person who ran outside to waiting car Ruined the whole stay for me Staff was courteous and called police etc

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Cmfortable hotel in a quiet neigboorhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little to far from the city center although if you are good at navigating the tram system you are right down the street from a stop.

    The breakfast buffet gave you a nice selection. The staff was very helpful. The beds were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    This hotel really made a difference in how wonderful our stay was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a little warning for friends traveling together who want 2 beds in a room. They basically take a queen and separate it into 2 twin beds. The rooms are comfy but small so the separation of beds is only by about 3 inches. You end up sleeping in your own bed right next to your friend. It worked fine for us.

    Best front desk staff I have meet in a long time. They gave maps and directions to all the activities we wanted to see. Also the breakfast on site was wonderful. The breakfast room has sunny windows in front and back. Location was great, a block from Vondell park and just 4 blocks from museum square. It is 2 blocks from tram stop but on a super quiet back street so no city noise at all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet (but small) room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So tiny bathroom and quite expensive for that kind of hotel. And since when two single beds can be called 'double'? Smart but so unfair device.

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet (but small) room, calm neighbourhood, good location (5 tram stops from Dam Square, +2 from Central Station; tram stop is 4 minutes on foot from hotel).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, comfy bed, room was big, great value for money. Fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn’t stay longer.

    Great location, staff friendliness, facilities, comfortable bed, a fridge was helpful to keep bottles of water cold, water and snacks available from reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    slightly outside the city center, but walking was fine with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms were slightly small; not much room for opening luggage. but I think this is Europe's style.

    slightly outside the city center, but walking was fine with Google Maps or a paper map. had to figure out the canals, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.0
    Airco not working, staff already put in place a fan instead...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airco not working, staff already put in place a fan instead of a decent repair, hotel price was high, skipped breakfast because this increased the price also. Hotel clearly benefits of people forced of late booking....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    A little less comfort and a little more money, but had a big, clean room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One bed in the room was a little uncomfortable, but we accepted that in order to have the bigger room with a better layout for our group. The price was a little bit more than we wanted to pay, but the location was great. We went with the higher price, so we could walk to all of the attractions we wanted to see.

    We did not find the layout of the room to be quite as we expected. We went back to the front desk and described what we had been expecting. The front desk staff found us a room that would suit us better that was supposed to be more expensive. They switched us to that room immediately, and at no extra charge! This was excellent customer service. The location is quite good, but you may end up doing a lot of walking. It is very close to the Museum Quarter, but a little further away from the Anne Frank house - walkable in comfortable shoes :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast room was bright and cheery, with the bonus of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have more seating in the lobby.

    The breakfast room was bright and cheery, with the bonus of an outside view. Loved watching the squirrels. And the food choices for breakfast were fresh and delicious, whether you wanted a multi-course meal or something light. I enjoyed being so close to the center of town but on a quiet street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff were generally very friendly and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a superior triple room, and when getting to our room it clearly wasn't one! It was 2 single beds pushed together and a camp bed shoved down a small, what I can only assume was meant to be a seating area (with only 1 chair!) At €350 a night, a camp bed was not what we were expecting, so clearly not a triple room! And definitely not superior by any means. We went down to reception and they confirmed they didn't have any superior triple rooms left, event though they just stood their and charged us for one! The woman was very nice and they moved our room the next day, but we didn't get a refund from them for the difference in room type. But they did include breakfast at no cost for the remainder of our stay.

    Staff were generally very friendly and really helpful. Breakfast was really good. And our room once we got the correct one was very spacious and clean. Exactly what we were after. It was in a really great location, and the neighbourhood was very lovely, with plenty of restaurants. Close to central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location close to museum district, shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 5 nights and they didn’t replace toiletries or tea bags during the stay.

    Great location close to museum district, shops and restaurants. Very friendly staff. Showers very good. Small but good size fridge. Although rooms were small, they were comfortable and recently renovated. Lobby had coffee and apples free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay and would definitely stay at the Leonardo again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was tidied everyday, but the carpets in the bedrooms were not vacuumed during our stay and the bathroom floor were not swept. The duvets were only pulled over the beds and the flat sheets beneath it were not pulled straight and made neat. We had two rooms for my family and we experienced this in both rooms.

    The hotel was is in a very good location and close to all attractions. Public transport is nearby and readily available. We arrived on Kings Day and managed to reach the hotel easily through the road closures. The hotel is modern and facilities are good. The staff are friendly and always ready to assist. The room had a kettle, tea, coffee and a small fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    adequate but not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was noisy - and in a pokey place, there was rattling around all night from upstairs . very expensive for a 3 star hotel - I booked it and thought I was paying for 2 nights .

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mobility access not the best. Pram needed to be carried up and down stairs to reach reception and my room.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Great location 5 minutes to rijksmuseum and less the 2 minutes to tram stop. Toiletries were lovey, breakfast fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.4
    Noisiest room ever !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this room (number 4)felt like it was under a staircase, or the corridor outside used as a thoroughfare. Very noisy throughout the day and night. Window opened up at floor level so unable to leave open at night. There was no kettle in the room for the drink making facilities, despite asking twice for a kettle there was none provided, we were told that they just didn’t have one !? .... The safety deposit box was free, but loose in the wardrobe ? Not attached to anything so perfectly easy for someone to take out if they wanted to. Overall a poor hotel in my opinion, wouldn’t return for another stay.

    Staff were friendly, not a bad location. Beds were comfy enough and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are excellent and so friendly communication was brilliant. Last minute change of room configuration but they kept us in the loop all the time and ensured we were happy with the changes. Decoration is lovely. Breakfast yummy and location just amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect base in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the hard floors we were woken up in the early hours by the room above coming in and banging about every night for a couple of hours!Our room was in the basement directly opposite the kitchen so then we were disturbed again by staff using stairs at the side of our room and going in and out of the kitchen at about 6am. The staff and location were fantastic so would stay again but not in that room.

    Excellent helpful staff and a great location. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing three days trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect. We didn't encounter any problems with the staff, building itself or its surroundings. Bathroom was a bit colder than the rest of the apartment due to air vent system. It is not such a big deal since in Amsterdam you can choose between this or humidity and mold.

    Very good localisation. No need to buy a tram or bus ticket. It is also convenient to get there from Schiphol Airport because bus stop at Leidesplein is few steps from the hotel. Also Vondelpark is quite near from the hotel. Neighbourhood was very quiet. Staff at the desk was very helpful and kind. You can leave you luggage if you can't check-in in the morning or if you had to check-out but still have plenty of time before flight. Very nice bathroom - clean, stylish, and you don't have to worry about hot water or water pressure under the shower. There is an elevator in the hotel, so if you can't walk up the stairs or have very heavy luggage - you're covered. Definitely will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Hotel in a central location and close to plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good central location. Bus stop for the airport just around the corner from the hotel. Return bus ticket for the airport only €10. Can purchase tickets for the trams at hotel reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of the staff at reception were not so nice and not very welcoming ...

    We had a great time at Leonardo. hotel. Things are exactly like on the picture. Perfect location if you want to visit and to go out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is bad , small room , small hotel , dirty , i even heared the fart and the cough even deep breath of my neighbor room , this is not a joke it is reality , at 10.00 in the morning room service hit the door which i have never aeen in any hotel in my life . I will not recommend this hotel for anyone. Over all big unlike for this hotel .

    Only the reception staff .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    Staff is really good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and some things in the room like coffee maker, glasses... etc. was really dirty. Coffee maker be full of some old coffee and stink.

    Staff is really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Decent place but overrated. Maybe a different room would have been nicer for the cost?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in girl was a little rude for no apparent reason..The tile on the shower floor was so dirty we both didn't feel we could use the shower. So we didn't. The door to our room was so thin we could easily hear other patrons outside so not a romantic getaway spot.

    The location was right outside the busy area so quiet at night. And it's right between the activities we planned to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I went away with my boyfriends and we had 2 separate beds even though we asked for one. Also, the snow canceled our flight and we missed 3 days with no money back AT ALL. Staff were not very helpful, and room service was not received because we liked to sleep in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small for 3 people, yet it would be very good for two.

    Location was great, staff was kind and the room was really clean. I would definitely prefer this Hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    The room heating was not working properly and with -5ºC...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room heating was not working properly and with -5ºC outside you can imagine how cold it got... we asked for solution but they did not have any, and just gave us extra blankets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.3
    City centre hotel a joke ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no bar at this hotel, they markets tripple room which ended up a double room and couch not acceptable for three adults Room was attached to stair well and constant traffic was not great nites sleep. Bathroom tiny no shelf but the flooor became Handy

    Nothing really wouldn’t book again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location, good facilities - tea/coffee in room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. The cleaning wasn't great, my daughter smashed a glass and it wasn't cleaned up properly.

    Great location, good facilities - tea/coffee in room, good TV with lots of English channels. Nice extra comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend, ticked off all the activities we planned, so easy to get around from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been nice to have a bar to relax in before retiring, we tended to have a drink in the Marriott next door

    Location was excellent for museums, airport transfer bus and generally getting around. Staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes I know that everybody in the world is going to Amsterdam, and business is business... But, dear management of Leonardo hotel, do you think it is ok — to charge almost 500 euros for two night (!) and to give for this money a dark room in the embasement (with very low ceiling) with a window which looks out to the garbage in the backyard (photo attached) I had no choice, because I needed to stay in this area, and there were almost no other rooms.. but.. could you at least clean the backyard for 250 euros pro night in a very simple budget hotel?? I say nothing about the fact that I booked a single room, but lived in a kind of family dormitory with 3 beds... I was alone of course, but the feeling is not very cosy... and it would be also ok for reasonable price...

    Location is very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.2
    Very cold room, rather old for the price paid, no bathcoat,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold room, rather old for the price paid, no bathcoat, no slippers; was very lound at night- i fully heard steps and talks in the neighboring room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location and comfy :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 5 nights and the sheets weren’t changed once, I also spilt a bottle of water on the bed one morning and asked for a fresh set of sheets and the bed to be flipped but when I arrived back to the room it was still the same sheets and still wet but bed made over to look like it was done, this is the only negative but it was kind off a big one as I had to sleep on a damp bed for my last night

    Comfy room, fridge, big telly, good shower, great location, in the middle of everything and only a ten min walk to Dam Square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    It was nice but the hotel couldve been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were polite but not very helpful. We stayed in a room right under the stairs so we could basically hear everyone walking up and down the stairs and talking at night. The parking was very expensive outside.

    Parking was right outside the door but with a fee of 36 euro per day. On booking.com it says there is parking but doesnt mention the fee which was a little disappointing for us when we got there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Booked for a friend, Friends's comments on their stay:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower stalls are small. One of our bed mattress sunk in. Safe does not lock. Desk to bed frame space is minimal.

    Location is great. Neighborhood is quiet. Handled well: Room was not ready upon our early arrival. Provided us different rooms options, one on the below street level, another on the 3rd floor. The lower level room was very gloomy, so we chose the 3rd floor room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Staff were happy to help us, and changed our room for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was drastically smaller than advertised on booking.com. Hit my head on the ceiling more than once as we were in an attic room and the ceiling went diagonal at parts of the room.

    Staff were happy to help us, and changed our room for a double bed as we’d requested it but we’re given two single beds pushed together.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and comfortable in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room on small side, though not problem as for me it was only for sleeping in! Could have done without the shoe "locker" which was crammed in between the bed and wall, leaving only a very narrow gap to squeeze through.

    Very quiet location adjacent to the lively Leidseplein. Within walking distance of the Museums. Good tram connections. Good and varied breakfast. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    Thief cleaning stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I spent in many countries a lot of nights in diffferent hotels in the last 15 years (app. 25% of my life), but this was the first time when the cleaning stuff has STOLEN my money from the luggage. We had safe box in the room but didnt use because low level of battery was indicated on the screen. And after many crazy countries in Asia, Afrika, South America, etc..., didnt expect thief in such a hotel like this in Europe. Maybe its my fault but totally unforgivable. Next morning we left the hotel early so not much to do in this case, not possible to prove. We also had problem with the check in. Paid for a superior room in advance but the receptionist gave us standard room without make it up. The previous guests just left the room behind with a bomb which exploded... But this could happen, maybe just a mistake. The first case is not. Highly not recommended hotel.

    Good location, fair accomodation in Amsterdam for the money, nothing special, but for couple of nights ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was overall a large disappointment and despite the good location and friendly staff i woul
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An awful smell came from the plug holes in the bathroom, if you left the door open whilst you were out you would come home to a room smelling foul. The safe often stopped working and at times i was unable to lock it. The stairs were so steep and hard to walk up/down. The toilet door was too close to the bed, we often knocked our knees or was squashing around eachother. Housekeeping would knock on our door still despite the 'do not disturb' sign. There was no bin in the bathroom, the room was freezing from the large non-insulated windows and the radiator was always too hot or not hot enough. The bed next to the window was as hard as concrete and looked like a sofa. there was no blankets for extra warmth and the bed sheets were extremely thin.

    There honestly is not much we particularly liked about the hotel, but the beds were comfy - except for the small bed next to the window. The room was some what spacious. the staff were friendly and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay in a high end neighborhood next to leodsplein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is supper tiny for a big guy but I managed to stay at a double room for an extra 10 Euros which was not necessarily bigger but the layout made a huge difference

    The reviews said the staff were friendly! It’s a lot more than that! They are super! Also I’ve stayed always in the center next to Dam square so to me that’s the center but staying in leidsplein was amazing. This is a very high end neighborhood

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.3
    Winter Bachelorette Party.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -I booked the rooms, (my friends came earlier and checked into one of the room) they didn’t review/make sure of my creditials and didn’t let me check in when I arrived, until my friends came back. It could have been a language barrier, but they thought we were visiting their guests (my friends). Also is a good thing, security reason, if I looked at it from a different view. -Partially my fault, I forgot nice expensive brussel chocolate and brussel meats in the fridge by accident. After I checked out, I emailed them, no response. So I called them, 2 hours later to ask if they can find it, offering to pay for shipping too. But they said they couldn’t find it... more sentimental for me that it’s gone. -Double rooms are a bit small with the desk in the way. -No laundry room. -No bathtubs, 3ft x 3ft stand up showers.

    -The shower water was hot and instant (Water repair was scheduled after we left, thank goodness). -Convenient location to center of entertainment, food, etc. Quiet neighborhood and right behind Marriott, easy to find. -They gave us a lot of new towels. -Closet, shoe bench, chairs in the room were very useful. -I booked a total of 3 rooms. They tried their best and located us across the hall from each other.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got cold from the windows not being very good and would often bang in the wind also allowing a lot of noise early in the morning The the hot water from the shower didn’t last long Not heating as it blew out cold air

    Most amazing bed Location Staff friendly and helpful Bathroom lovely and bright Very cleaned Big rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning-personal came quite early and if you were still in the room and said ”please come later”, they didnt come at all. Room was very small.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Breakfast was grate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    False advertising to the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee refills was given everyday. No new water everyday. Had to ask to vacuum the rooms. Had to ask to change our bed sheets. We stayed for 12 days. Then we had to pay in expected money after New Years. Me and my girlfriend had to sleep on single beds for 12 days where the picture showed a double bed and we could not get a refund as we went to Amsterdam for a romantic first trip. So we was very very disappointed in that. If I knew that I would not of taken the hotel at all.

    Diana was very very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    Location good! Hotel could be handled in a much better way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is not handled properly and it is not clean at all. The location is good, but it could be managed much better. We didn't receive the room we saw on booking. My son 20 years also had to sleept on a sofa! Not acceptable at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Perfect - Absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were amazing - very high spec for the price we paid The staff went out of their way to help us with any and everything Very clean - perfect hotel I Will 100% stay there again. Hopefully soon

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Short stay at Leonardo Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like.

    The location is in the best spot of Amsterdam. I must say that it is not my first time in Amsterdam and I always tend to choose this area as I find it convenient and easy for most of the attractions. Staff were really polite and welcoming. Property was well cleaned and everything was as mentioned in the details. This will definitely be in my mind for next vacation in Amsterdam. Highly recommended !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Pretty solid, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty expensive but that's Amsterdam. Cold room though they did get us extra blankets and we were fine after that.

    Close to tram stops, city centre and great pancake breakfast. Clean and good beds. Staff were great and very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are smaller and then presented in photos. We had 2 rooms- room 151 was ok size Room 153 was small and had a horrible smell! make sure you change it if you get it. the smell didn't pass!! room 151 was freezing cold at first and after a while heated.

    The hotel is located in a good area. Not crowded but close to everything. Friendly staff gave us good tips. The rooms have good beds, great bathroom with super hot shower, a Big flat tv, coffee & tea set. Room was cleaned every day. Overall -room 151 was good value for money, room 153 not so much! enjoy the city!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ok but for the price or a little more you could get better we stayed at a 4star afterwards and for not much more and got so much morr

    It did not look like the photo online we had a triple room and the third bed was pushed up into an alcove with windows all around. When we arrived Amsterdam was snowing and they hadn’t even put the heating on in the room. There were long cobwebs coming down from the ceiling and made it stand out when you put the tv on at night. The maids only made the beds and didn’t wash or replace cups daily. It’s not suitable if you have a physical disability as lots of tight stairs to your room and only 1 lift.Staff were pleasant but we only used it to sleep really.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    It would be unfair to suggest Leonardo Hotel in Amsterdam to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugh! Most of the staff who seemed either not bothered with the exception of the kind d lady indicated.

    I liked the kind lady who apologised for the misgivings we experienced and when the lady claimed "it should not happen"

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Very lovely house and neighbourhood, nice atmosphere and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything happening in the hallway was pretty clearly heard.

    Very lovely house and neighbourhood, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. The room was perfectly clean and tidy. Unfortunately didn't have time to try the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing maybe just us but the noise outside was bad at night with motorcyclists racing up and down the street you could not have windows open at night in our room. Maybe different in other rooms so dont be put off.

    The staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy and the hotel was in a good location not far from all the action and transport would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtain hanging off rail! Didn't matter but looked a bit shabby in an otherwise spotless and very comfortable room.

    Staff were fantastic! Breakfast had extensive selection and was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location, comfy/cosy room and very reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed not being able to put on a bath robe after my shower. I was also apprehensive to leave my case in the luggage room after check out as all guests had access to this room and potentially anyone could have taken our luggage

    Great location and friendly staff. Modern reception area and rooms were cosy. Comfy pillows and bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Very close to Leidseplein only a 5 minute walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 253 - noise coming from the housekeeping room next door early in the morning and people walking on the wooden floors upstairs also drainage smell in bathroom

    Very close to Leidseplein only a 5 minute walk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Good and central hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit hidden - should prepare in advance exactly how to get there. Veeeeeeeeery slow elevators. Room heating did not work, and when I told them they had no alternative solution until the next morning. I got really cold at night.

    The location is really central - you have it all around you. Room was small but had exactly what I needed. Staff was cooperative and really wanted to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: