Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Hoxton, Amsterdam

Reviews of The Hoxton, Amsterdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Herengracht 255, Amsterdam City Center, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#12 of 443 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 636 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful room and great location but very busy in communal areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The communal areas become extremely busy. This became an issue when we couldn’t find anywhere to sit down after coming back to our hotel on an evening or late afternoon - the entire bar, seating and restaurant areas always seemed to be packed, with people also wandering around waiting for tables. It would be great if there was a small area just for guests of the hotel only, considering the cost of our stay - just somewhere you can be other than your room. This kind of took the shine off our stay especially when we had to find a space on the reception floor just swap a few thing from our suitcase before we left. Also we had a very long wait for service, and our food at the restaurant. We enjoyed our stay but the overcrowding made us feel like we just had a room rather than a hotel to enjoy.

    We loved the room, the location and the staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, good external gym, Hoxton staff as always very trendy but a bit unprofessional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always, the reception statt at the Hoxton (same in Paris) is quite young and "trendy" but at the same time often a bit unprofessional. When one arrives for check-in they do not even say hello until they finish a chat with another guest - no sense of urgency. Same things when I once asked in Paris for a late check-out by an hour - the staff rejected it without even looking at his booking system.

    The location is very nice and the reception area is nicely decorated. They have a partnership with a very good gym just around the corner. (need to pay €10, takes only credit card)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    OK but underwhelmed by the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communal areas not very relaxing. Too much like being in a busy, noisy bar/ restaurant all the time. I rather resented having to eat the 'free' breakfast on the edge of the bed out of a plastic tub - this was neither cool nor stylish. Couldn't this have been possible in the dining area downstairs even if in a limited time period before outside business entered? No heated towel rail in bathroom :-( and no dressing gowns; gloomy lighting in bedroom

    good service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay, would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk staff very helpful. Have great suggestions. Also I recommend using their service to get to the airport. Pre negotiated rate of 37,50 euro to get to airport for a car. Cabs usually double that.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pay euro 570,- and you get a room which has a value which is less than half the price - compair to the market for room´s in this price category. They excuse the high price, told me in the further to book rooms direct. Then they give discount!!??

    The staff was very kind, even I was not a happy customer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.5
    Pillows quilt are very comfortable, good internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room small even difficult to pass through and open totally the room door, noisy from hotel bar dj music, much light come from bathroom window which cannot be fully covered. Breakfast included are only yogurt banana and orange juice from a bag delivered to room. Much time waiting at hotel bar and restaurant. Hotel building is covered for construction, no view.

    Pillows quilt are very comfortable, good internet. Staffs are very kind.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved the mini breakfast bags in the morning, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing

    Absolutely loved the mini breakfast bags in the morning, we just had to fill them out and leave it out by our door and you get fresh oj, granola yogurt, and bananas to hold us over before we were fully awake! The hotel was very vintage sleek, loved every little detail they had here, and it definitely reflects the rooms. I would 100% always come back here and recommend this hotel to anyone that's visiting Amsterdam. Also, we were visiting Amsterdam on our honeymoon, and the the staff decorated our room with a cute Love balloon, champagne, and a lovely note. Love this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. Wish we stayed there longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We LOVED everything!

    The Hoxton is in a perfect area and we were welcomed to the hotel, at check in, as if they knew us. They even wrote a personal note welcoming us that we found in our room. Our "cozy" room was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    We loved everything about our stay at the Hoxton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We loved everything about our stay at the Hoxton. The location was perfect. We had the most incredible room and enjoyed the meals and cocktails from the restaurant and bar. The staff was attentive and always eager to help and go above and beyond. At one point we needed to call our airlines and one of the staff let us use her cell phone to call them which was incredibly helpful. They gave us tons of recommendations for places in town to eat and explore and the boat tour they offer through the hotel was fantastic. Overall it was the best hotel experience on our two week trip and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone and stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    Great trending hotel and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel design is very creative and makes for a lovely experience. Definitely the trending place to be. The service and food was also fantastic. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    Could not ask for a better hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not ask for a better hotel. It was great. Beautiful location, cool room, lots of nice touches like free breakfast food bags etc. Really couldn't ask for a better hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, relaxing lobby, great restaurant, outstanding staff.j
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could be done better

    The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful., in he dining room and at reception. I needed to find a doctor for one of my grandchildren and the staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel - great location, extremely friendly staff, wonderful decor and little touches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was all excellent

    Would highly recommend a stay at The Hoxton Amsterdam - the hotel is lovely, set in a great location and the staff are really friendly. Loved the breakfast bags that were provided in the morning and we were luckily enough to arrive as they were starting their canal boat tours which was a lovely afternoon out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I can think is that there was no gym.

    The interiors are gorgeous, the food and coffee in the restaurant was of amazing quality. The staff were all absolutely amazing, the standard of service was above any I have experienced. Every employee seemed genuinely happy to work there and was interested in what you had to say. They also all looked really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great location , great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room design is nice but for the price , the rooms and bathrooms are not that luxurious . The pillows and bed were not very comfortable

    Friendly staff , great location in a charming neighbourhood along the herengracht canal with interesting cafes , stores , boutiques . The restaurant and bar is beautiful and energetic . Guests get Complimentary granola and orange juice in the room in the morning . Check in and check out were really fast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My breakfast order in the restaurant was mixed up- and so I had to wait (while my partner finished hers) then- when I was offered something- I had an extra coffee- but was charged for it. That was the only ‘not good’ thing.

    Staff- water- breakfast- ease

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    Fun and vibrant place to stay in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really wonderful staff who happily arranged an early check in for us and made our stay super comfortable. The bed was super comfortable and the room of a great size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    The perfect for a short break in our travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    Such a fun atmosphere! Everyone at the reception desk was a concierge - extremely helpful and had great suggestions for dining and getting around. Perfect location. Loved Lottie's restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient fun place to stay. They could notch it up a bit easily with a little more attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little cramped. Bed was a little soft. They didn't clean the room.

    I really liked the vibrant atmosphere and the mixed clientele- young to old. Felt really hip!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    we just had the best time: highly recommend the Hoxton and will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    best hotel we've stayed in, anywhere, for ages - super trendy, friendly, amazing vibe, best location; every detail anticipated. the reception/bar/lounge area was flowing, cohesive and so enjoyable to hang out in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.5
    I have little, if any tolerance, for a Hotel which uses...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have little, if any tolerance, for a Hotel which uses "well, you booked on booking.com" as a default excuse for any issues encountered. THis was their immediate reaction when trying to resolve a room issue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Location , relaxed buzz atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only tiny gripe restaurant Lottie draughty but the wind chill when we stayed was -10

    Location , relaxed buzz atmosphere Free optional small breakfast hanging outside your room Beds really comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    All in all, it was a great place to stay and the staff were excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast bag... it's ok for the first day but when you stay there for more than 2 days it gets very boring. Especially in the colder season, it would be nice to get something other than the same banana + yogurt granola + orange juice.

    Amazing location. Just step out and stroll the streets. Especially amazing if you love shopping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    We booked the King Size room with Canal View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We booked the King Size room with Canal View. The room was clean, cosy, stylish, spacious...perfect! Staff is very helpful and friendly. Hotel is very nice, the restaurant/bar area in the entrance is lovely, very lively and cosy. Location of the hotel is perfect, central, by the canals, near some of the best restaurants in town. Will come back there for sure!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pictures in the lifts!

    Little breakfast bags, free bike hire, milk and water replaced for free all extras that were not advertised- that make it a pleasant stay. Atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Decor beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel ! location was good, staff were helpful. Clean, the concept are beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room is quite little than u expected, but actually it's big enough, but I don't think it have quite big store for my luggages

    location was good, staff were helpful. Clean, the concept are beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent, the decoration was amazing, the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent, the decoration was amazing, the location is spot on for access to everything. Lotti's restaurant serves incredible food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed three nights at the Hoxton, centrally located it was a great base for exploring the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An indoor pool or spa facilities would've been the icing on the cake.

    The bed was exceptionally comfy...and big! The staff were great,especially those on reception - friendly and professional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.7
    Free breakfast service was a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Real lack of amenities in the room, considering the price paid. The bar area was heaving with outside guests the whole time we were there so we couldn't have a drink at the bar.

    Free breakfast service was a nice touch. Amazing location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    Great, great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great, great staff. Super engaged and friendly. I love staying here - it's the experience you would normally expect from a hotel 3x the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable room with great "breakfast bag"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bath in bathroom, just a shower, but I am sure the more spacious rooms do.

    Very comfortable room with great "breakfast bag" in the morning delivered outside our room, at a time which you can choose between 6-9am. Rather than a mini bar in each room, can buy drinks & snacks from reception at very reasonable prices. Great location to get to main attractions. Great food & drinks in bar & restaurant, very busy though so need to book a table at peak times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely comfy, shower was very spacious and powerful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast bag was a nice start to the day. Great selection of places to eat close by. A great place for a one night stay. We'd definitely stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    Modern hotel within a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing we could fault was Our bed was two single beds pushed together to make a double bed and unfortunately we could feel this gap during the night

    The lobby and bar of the hotel are really well designed and finished, the building is awesome and our attic style room was very authentic with a stunning view. The staff were more than friendly and went above and beyond during our stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, modern hotel with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Beautiful interiors and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Also, the bar and restaurant downstairs were great and always busy. Staff were wonderful and helped us get the most out of our short stay in Amsterdam with fabulous restaurant and activity recommendations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    10
    The Hoxton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi didn't seem to work properly, but not an issue for us as we had data anyway.

    Great location and a great hotel. Rooms were spacious enough and had a comfortable bed! Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    10
    Great stay-cation in the heart of my own city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not really a critique, just a preference, but the bed was actually a little too soft for my taste but in the end still comfy and not a big deal!

    The staff at check-in was very friendly and informative. The breakfast bag was a very nice touch. I loved all the cups, mugs, coffee and tea that was provided in the room, it was very useful. Overall it was a very pleasant stay, and great value for the price. The bar and lobby area is great, I love the cocktails.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    fantastic accomodation, we will be visiting there other hotels in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was perfect!

    Fantastic service, very personal experience from the reception staff, quirky décor, free breakfast bags left outside the room in the morning was a nice touch! very laid back environment which instantly makes you feel at home. The location was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    Trendy and cozy stay in a great location - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    The hotel was fantastic! We had a "cozy king room with canal view" and it was just the most beautiful, comfortable, welcoming room with two floor-to-ceiling windows providing a killer view, and the most charming slanted roof and exposed beams. So quiet, too - absolutely no street or hotel noise noticeable. The bed, pillows and linens were so soft and comfy, we slept perfectly. Bathroom had a lovely rain shower. Complimentary bottles of water and milk, plus a variety of coffee and tea in the room with a kettle, and a continental breakfast (yogurt, banana, oj) delivered to your room at a pre-designated time daily. So close to great restaurants and shops - we walked everywhere. We just loved this place and wished we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    The Hoxton hotels have become a guarantee for excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The downstairs area is also open to non hotel guests which makes it very lively but also pretty crowded and busy. A separate check-in space for hotel guests or a quieter guest area would be appreciated.

    The Hoxton hotels have become a guarantee for excellent eating & sleeping in an architecturally sound environment. The Hoxton in Amsterdam is no different and fully delivers up to expectations. Staff is extremely enthusiastic and friendly and willing to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.6
    Will recommend this place to all my friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom - shower head needed some maintenance and an increase in hot water pressure.

    Cooooool hotel, super-efficient and accommodating staff in a great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    Can’t wait to come back and stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant had good food although service was a bit slow. The offered go-bags of a fruit, yogurt and juice each morning (included in your stay) which was really wonderful! Hotel was clean, very centrally located and easy to find.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, cosy, high quality and perfectly located hotel where you can really relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us not important but hotel does not have a pool or gym.

    The choice of music and comfortable armchairs in the lobby and Mezzanine we liked best. This makes a very relaxed setting for chatting together but also for reading a book or surfing on the iPad. Food is also nice. Furthermore the international staff is friendly and professional. Everything in the Hoxton breaths quality. The location is in the heart of the '9 streets' so perfect for shopping and is very close to the most famous tourist attractions like Anne Frank House, Dam Square etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    Cozy place in the heart of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could be bit bigger and the shower door left a gap when closed, which resulted in water on the bathroom tiles.

    This hotel is awesome! It is modern with a bit of a cozy retro look. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. We missed our flight from Canada due to a winter storm and could only fly the next day. They agreed to simply push our reservation forward by one day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    The best thing about the Hoxton is the staff, they make you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best thing about the Hoxton is the staff, they make you feel so welcome and always happy to help with outstanding service. The location is also brilliant, located 5 min from the main shopping area and still placed within the canels with shops, bars and restaurants. Lastly the cocktails are a must try, you can't stay at the Hoxton and not try them. We worked out way through the menu and each one was such a different experience, amazing! We loved our stay at the Hoxton Amsterdam and we will definitely be back soon thanks!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Perfect birthday surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a trip to Amsterdam as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. Before I arrived I asked if I could get a bottle of cava for the room and my sister organised a cake. The staff were so friendly when we were emailing them. When we arrive the hotel was beautiful. The room was perfect. Small but enough for what we needed. There was a bit of a mix up with the cake but it was rectified within minutes and was a delicious cake! Everyone was so lovely and helpful and my boyfriends had a great birthday. Will definitely stay again and have recommended to others to come stay here. Check out the cocktails in the bar. Yum!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    10
    Exceeded expectations, will definitely stay again in Hoxton next time in amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to detract from my stay loved the vibe and that’s from my daughter and me.

    Exceeded expectations! Cosy lounge especially with Xmas lights, hip, excellent location by canal. Most attractions are within 15-20 min walk. Bed super comfy , loved the free morning breakfast bag . Free water and drip coffee. Friendly and helpful staff. Lottis avocado toast yum and coffee just right.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    5.4
    Love Amsterdam but won’t be returning to the hoxton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast very poor value Lacked lots of touches - no robes or slippers in the room. Hallways smelt like drains. No body lotion in bathroom Really lacked a luxury feel Not worth the money Pulitzer has the edge by far!!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    9.2
    Great rooms and location - hipster paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They provide free breakfast bags hung outside your door in the mornings. Like the idea but it's just a little snack and to be honest the sour plain yoghurt and granola cup is too 'healthy' for me - maybe add a croissant?

    Stayed in one of the larger rooms with a canal view. Really lovely room with a big comfy bed. It's in a perfect location, close to the centre but a couple of streets away from the busiest roads. The bar downstairs is really popular all day but we were on the 3rd floor so no noise. It is insanely hipster.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    8.8
    Cool hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just as good as the original Hoxton hotel in London and with the added bonus of being on a brilliant location on the canals. Restaurant and bar are great places where locals hang out too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few draws to put clothes in /finding somewhere to sit when bar and restaurant are busy

    We love the Hoxton hotels staff are fantastic restaurant and bar excellent beds are so comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    A beautiful place with very friendly staff, couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautiful place with very friendly staff, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.8
    Execellant. Will defiantly recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a bit too minimal, no where to hang hand towels, no dressing gowns and not enough bathrooms shelves.

    The lobby/bar/ restaurant had a fantastic vibe. Great for coffee, cocktails or dinner. The staff where really helpful and gave us excellent tips and helped us plan our trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    10
    My absolute favorite place to stay in Amsterdam - heaven
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is ideal, the staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful, the place is charming and comfy, the restaurant is exquisite - by far, my favorite place to stay in Amsterdam. Affordable luxury.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.8
    Very recommendable Hotel with cool design and a mixed crowd of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food wasn't what I expected from the Hoxton. Too heavy. No light meal choices. Waiting between seating ordering desert and paying possibility was too long. Once we finished the meal we waitrd and waited u til someone came for deserts and the same with the bill. Restaurant was only half full at that time.

    Very good location directly at the 9 Streets. Short distance to Central station and short walk to Hop on Hop Off Boats at anne Frank House. Nice design and a little off the normal. In House Restaurant, nice for breakfast. Mixed Crowd. Staff at reception is attentative and knows Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect trip away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have limited mobility due to MS, so some of my answers reflect my circumstances. Breakfast was a little unusual, as a small brown bag appeared at the door every morning, and provided only a very limited option, including fruit, drink and yogurt. There were also no robes provided in the bedroom, and we were left, alas, to roam the room naked.

    The hotel was exceptional. The service impeccable. The experience perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    8.3
    Central, fancy... but client service to be improved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communicating doors between the rooms let too much noise go through. During the night my neighbour went back in his room : it was as if he entered my own room : really painful. The AC is too noisy too. The staff is "cool and fancy" which is nice but I'd love that they also say properly hello or goodbye. While doing the check-out the man at the desk gave me my receipt and went to serve another client without saying thank you or goodbye. This is revolting. Moreover we paid a lot of money for the room but we had to pay another 40 euros for a breakfast for 2 people. There is no menu, everything is a la carte, and be prepared to pay a lot (and accept an untasty unstrong 'black coffee') : the prices are aligned to the standard of the hotel ; it can therefore become very expensive if you're hungry in the morning.

    Super trendy hotel, the staff seems to have been selected by a model agency (hence the laid-back behaviour maybe). The 50s style is really great, from the floor to the ceiling : lighting, furniture, carpets... Everything is decorated accordingly. The bed and sheets are really comfortable. Lovely little room. Lovely neighbourhood : central and fancy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Quirky hotel with great charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Very quirky and so cool. Rooms are gorgeously decorated and have super comfy bed. Staff go out of their way to ensure you are happy. They even decorated our room on finding out it was our honeymoon (see pics). Added bonus was the free breakfast bag each morning with an orange juice, banana, yoghurt and muesli. If you want a more filling breakfast you can eat at the restaurant downstairs, the pancakes were to die for and my husband loved the bacon and eggs. Fantastic location too, walking distance from Anne Frank house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Beautifully designed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower had no door so leaked over floor.

    This hotel is amazing. Staff very helpful and caring. Room was immaculate. Nice honeymoon suprise. Bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hotel and definitely we will stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friday night DJ to short only until 1am. Need more longer.

    Fab location, water are free, breakfast are free, extra bed are free, are staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect nothing but to say about this hotel or there staff . Just nothing

    One of the best hotel i ever stay in europe. Very friendly and helpfull staff. THE most conford bed i ever sleep on. Evelent location. A big security (no one can access to the room unless they stay there) to go up to the rooms you should oused the keycard of the room to call the elevetor. Free batles of water at eny time. And there were a small bag to our room and if you put it out of the door room in the mornig it was full of a small breakfast free from the hotel (banana , yogart and fresh orange juice). Free coffee or tea in the room. The two persons (staff) that i remeber there names that they help as were to go how to go and what to do in Amsterdam were Mark and Stehpani. Thanks a lot. All the staff was very helpfull but i don't remebmer there names sorryyyyyy 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗 AAAAA and alsow Marina our roomcleaner. I hope i will see them again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room needed a couple of small chairs to sit and eat breakfast bag.

    Hotel was situated in a great part of the city and had a friendly atmosphere serving great coffee.Breakfast bag was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A really cool ambiance, modern, the opposite of stuffy. Staff were really helpful & knowledgeable. DJ played in the bar in the evening. It was clear from the clientele that this was a place to be. Food was great too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    9.6
    Hip and vibrant hotel, located along a canal in the heart of Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight glitch at check-in, but that was more a technology fail more than anything. Quickly resolved.

    Hip and vibrant hotel, located along a canal in the heart of Amsterdam. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, very down to earth and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely Lovely but the room could have been bigger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Cosy room should be a little bigger in relation to the price

    gorgeous design ,comfy bed , cute perks , very clean , sense of humor and warmth in the staff , central location on the canal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, amazing staff and cool design
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff, nice decoration, coll place to stay, appreciated the wifi radio and the cool music in the room (selection internet radio channels on the radio)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    10
    Cool, classy, comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon was much too high; adjustable but still on cold side when I returned at night

    Very good atmosphere, buzzy and busy. Friendly staff, laid-back but efficient. Fabulous room, very well thought-through

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    A very hip, chic hotel with all the comforts home. Great cool decor. Fabulous food and a great bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not one thing!

    Very chic and hip! Like NY Chelsea area hotel. Food is outstanding! Staff went out of their way to help us extend our stay. I will refer everyone I know to stay at this hotel!!! A friend who lives in Amsterdam and had never been to the Hoxton also said he would refer anyone visiting to the hotel. A very cool place! Loved our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    8.3
    For a friendly, conveniently located vintage hotel with great staff book the Hoxton!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little small, but comfortably appointed in a retro sort of way. Early morning street noise was inconvenient for those of us who do not like to wake up at 5:30AM - ear plugs mostly took care of this problem

    Great location - convenient to public transportation. Smiling, helpful staff. In-hotel restaurant had a varied, excellent menu. One hour per day international calling was a wonderful and useful surprise. Complementary "bag" breakfast was a great, healthy way to start the day. Bed was soft, but worked fine for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.2
    The best hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was beautiful and every recommendation was thought out and brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble, I will definitely be coming again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2017

    10
    My home in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel feels like home, and the staff are my best friends. My time there is filled with Joy, and my 5 year old girl wants to live there forever 😀😁😇

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms located on the 1st floor were a bit noisy, disturbing sleep. Moved to 4th floor on second night and had a great sleep. Although food was good, the Food menu at evening could do with having more choice.

    Bed was superb comfortable. Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.2
    Fab location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our king river room was on the ground floor and had an emergency exit door rather than all windows...whilst the room was nice I would have preferred to be higher up to get a better view of the canal. I did ask to move but it wasn't possible. Next time I would request this upon booking.

    Location and staff were fab!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are amazing here, super friendly and went above & beyond to help us. This really made a difference for our stay and as a result I will always book The Hoxton when travelling on business in the future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    8.8
    Canal-side hotel with a definite cool factor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thumping sounds of the DJ on a Saturday night

    The canal-view room, bath products, comfy bed, helpful staff, the free bottles of water, the free granola and fruit juice for breakfast, the location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a few odd steps up and down when winding to our room, can imagine coming back to the room slightly intoxicated would not be fun! No tables available at the restaurant and had to go elsewhere, which was a shame! Room was on bottom floor by the canal and was pretty loud in the morning with people talking outside.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms. Nice staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: