Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Reviews of The Student Hotel Amsterdam City This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Wibautstraat 129, Oost, 1091 GL Amsterdam, Netherlands

#93 of 443 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 8618 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed 3 nights. Spilled coffee on the bed sheets but the cleaners never changed the sheets just made the bed and pit out clothes on top to cover the stain. That's the only one thing we can complain about because everything else was great.

    Perfect location. Been to Amsterdam a couple of times and this hotel is the best. Bed and pillows super comfortable. Nespresso coffee in the the room. Staff super friendly. It's just a really great hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great facilities with lots of side activities. Great value for your money. Will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the greatest location as is located outside of city centre, building feels a little concrete like old office spaces renovated into hotel

    The staff are really friendly, the rooms are well sized with free Nespresso capsules and tea, 2 desks to work from if needed, nice bathroom, clean room, lots of extra activity spaces, good restaurant, interesting conversations with people

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Makes you feel young again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower glass was designed too short so water can get to the sink area after shower.

    - Perfect blackouts, not a single light comes in, so you can sleep in all you want. - Courteous staffs - Large rooms with very confortable beds - Such cool design around the whole hotel - Clean - 1 min. walk to metro. 4 stops from Central Station, very convenient. Also you can find good food in the area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but far away from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold. You can not increase the temperature. The staff brought us an extra blanket, howevere it was still freezing. I would recommend to visit only in warm months otherwise it is very unconfortable. Far away from the city center and from the museums.

    Spacious rooms with nice design. Very nice staff. Supermarket and metro just in front.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apart from the expensive breakfast, everything was perfect.

    The hotel is 10 minutes from downtown by metro. Hotel is really nice and inspiring with a real personality. I am always difficult with noise, but there insonorisation was perfect and I slept like a baby. The (young) atmosphere is just fantastic, and I felt at home. I was there for work, and it was just ideal. Do not hesitate!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and friendly. it is what every stay should be
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it exceeded my expectations but I have stayed here before and will again.

    Clean, nice rooms with books to read as a nice extra touch. Friendly staff and nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.3
    Nice modern hotel with very lifely vibe!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee machine and the table were a little bit dusty through out my 4 days stay. Half of the bathroom floor was wet after each shower.

    The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room I had is quiet, beautiful and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great vibe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cons: - Pillows too soft for my liking. - Bathroom had a glass partition for the shower but it didn’t do the job, you will get the toilet wet. Which is uncomfortable if you want to go to the toilet later on. - You cannot call other rooms and the reception cannot help you connect either. Overall it was amazing. I would definitely stay at the TSH again!

    Location & Property: - 2 stops away from the center. Minute walk to the metro. - There’s a huge supermarket across the road. - The hotel had a lovely uni vibe, the copy all over their branding and the hotel is smart, witty and funny; I loved the little sign that says students of a different era are welcome to reminisce their student days. It was amazing! Food: - Commons downstairs serves drinks and amazing pizza. They have a basic breakfast buffet. - We preferred going to a small cafe called Stek that was a stone throw away from the hotel. They serve amazing breakfast and accommodate vegans. - You can order food on Deliveroo/Uber Eats, etc and pick it up from the lobby. Cleanliness: - Rooms cleaned thoroughly everyday. - Cleaning staff really friendly and not noisy. - Beds in the suites were all big and spacious. Super comfortable, had a really good sleep whilst there (zero traffic noise).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    A stylish and cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower had a damaged crane, so that there was some unwanted flow of water.

    Location very close to metro station, the room was equipped with everything you need, very stylish interior, hospitable staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    I might come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in the twelve floor I don’t like heights.

    Staffs were very nice. Facility of metro and supermarket. Metro close. My plane was @ 19:30 and our check out was 12:00pm. We had plenty of time staffs stored our luggages in a safe place and tagged them. They told us “you can pick them any time “ so we went for a site visit and came back around 16:00 to pick our luggages.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    6.3
    A hotel claiming to be special but not up to classic hotel standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors was not very clean, nor was the elevator, the room was clean though but it is the first time that a hotel which such a standing lack of freshness, time for a little maintenance I guess. I felt the value for money was not great. Felt like it was overrated

    Hotel design is really nice as well as the location, design of the room has a lot of pattern. Staff was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, metro station outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, metro station outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room looked like every students dream room. Can’t wait for our return!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great helpful staff, excellent location handy to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The corridors echo, so you end up getting noise from people as they are walking past.

    Great helpful staff, excellent location handy to all transport and shops etc. Breakfast was great. Bed was a little hard for me, but workable. Room was generous size! Staff were really quick to rectify a constantly running toilet. Great experience staying here- highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could have been a little politer, but that’s the only fault!

    Interior design was amazing - really inspiring and modern. Room was lovely and bed was huge and super comfy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed the hotel and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Servicing could have been better, dirty glasses were left in the room after servicing, tea and coffee weren’t replaced, and we had to ask for toilet roll at reception. Small gripes really, overall a great stay.

    Great, modern decor, clean and well kept, great value for money. Twenty minute walk into town.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar fridge smelt a bit funky. The tv took over 2 minutes to turn on, a note or instructions would have been good I thought I was going crazy and thought it didn't work. Was advertised as soundproof, it was not.

    Great decor and an interesting atmosphere. Great facilities and furnishings. Larger than most rooms in Amsterdam at this price range.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Really unusual but amazing hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to dislike, but no robe or iron in the room are the only things I can think of... and the staff are so nice I’m sure they’d arrange both if you asked.

    Really unusual but amazing hotel. Great location... few minutes by metro to the centre, or a few minutes walk to all great bars and restaurants in the east. (I mean really great. Two meals I had, I felt compelled to meet and compliment the chef) The hotel and rooms are impeccably designed, especially the lighting, and the facilities are great. As were the staff. Couldn’t quite work out what was happening with it being a (well deserved) 4 star called the Student Hotel, and most of its guests seeming to be of student age, but maybe I’m out of touch with student budgets. Shower ventilation made a really weird noise which sounded like an alien language.... but I’m treating this as a positive, being a musician. Overall, great hotel, and great value for money compared to central hotels. I’ll definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great Concept with spacious rooms, conveniently sitting over a Metro station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The experience was great - nothing really negative. It's just a matter of understanding the concept which is basically keeping things nice and simple.

    I liked the concept of having a student accommodation place combined with general public accommodation. The hotel has basically two wings - the student and the traveler wing. The traveler wing is modeled as with student life in mind though quite comfortable, clean and very spacious - in fact, huge rooms! Elevator was room-key activated which was an added security feature I liked. The restaurant was great and happy faces taking care of you. People of all ages and for all reasons are in this nice area. Food quality is great and reasonably priced. (tried the burger, once). Common spaces were also interesting though more populated with students hanging out rather than business people - at the times I was in which was mostly after business hours. Having said that, nothing was prohibitive in having any business meeting there. What was also convenient for me having to stay for 4 nights on business, was the fact that it was over a Metro station which made transportation to/from RAI a breeze. Going to city center was also a matter of minutes. Supermarket across the street too makes things nice though the hotel has good vending machines.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.9
    It's a clean hotel with an efficient staff and really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a place strongly targeted on 18-25 years old costumers. The name of the hotel does not hide it but the price it does. No mini bar in the room neither a bottle of water.

    It's a clean hotel with an efficient staff and really good breakfast, well connected with centrum .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    6.7
    I've been coming to this hotel for quite a while.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Think green" is a great concept, but freezing in your hotel rooms for an hour before it gets warm isn't. Sheets were stained (never experienced that before). Breakfast quality is on a downwards trend. I mean, scrambled eggs from powder? Really?

    I've been coming to this hotel for quite a while. It offers a convenient location right next to a metro stop, staff is really friendly and cheerful, youthful ambiance, the gym is rather on the small side but good enough for a day or two.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    I would like to come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The glass "wall" at the bathtub is so small that the floor gets flooded, when taking a shower. Even being careful! The restaurant was rather noisy in the evening

    Very nice staff Very clean Spacious room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can hear the other rooms.

    The rooms are pretty nice, there is a really great tv and the WiFi is really good. Also the lobby, the gym and the common area are comfortable and pretty cool. The bed was cozy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Facilities at this hotel are great and great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning team, one of the days came to clean but they didn't do a very good job. It needed hovering and adding toilet paper mainly but they didn't do any of these.

    Facilities at this hotel are great and great location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.0
    Student-like modern stay next to subway station
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For this student-like character quiet expensive compared to other countries

    Breakfast was fine, rooms very clean, friendly staff, perfect location for taking the subway to city center, subway station just a few steps away from the hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Funky, diverse and active hotel i would highly recommend and return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From my experience there is nothing i could say i didn't like with the hotel. If i was to nit pick on anything it would be that the subway at the time (nothing to do with the hotel itself) was under some reconstruction which meant some entrances were blocked. Not much of a problem as there is always another around 2 minutes walk away

    Amazing hotel with the best staff and guests. The room was beyond expectations with the comfiest bed i have ever experienced. Highly recommend to people of all ages and backgrounds. Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.1
    staff is great, location is few stops from central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't like that i get woken up by the noise coming from next door late night front desk only tells me to call them when it happens and all they say is they will check which nothing happens. so if you're looking for a good night rest, its not the best.

    staff is great, location is few stops from central.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    The interior designing was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were alot of teenagers hanging outside of the entrance at night (10-ish). Didnt disturb those inside but its kinda annoying (Im in my 20s btw)

    The interior designing was superb! We also got free strop waffles upon checking in which is great so all’s good :) its across a large Albert Heijn (a famous supermarket) and near a metro station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.8
    Room: Bed was comfortable, bathroom all fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Distance to the city but the metro station is nearby and you can easily walk around the city as well!

    Room: Bed was comfortable, bathroom all fine. Negative that I needed to go down to the laundry room in the basement to iron my shirt. But I’d guess no one uses shirts in Amsterdam anyway! Hotel facilities: great to use the pool table and ping pong tables. Good restaurant as well food wise!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Great great great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Literally had no complaints!

    From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of the stay. Staff were friendly, room was clean, bed was comfy, restaurant was delicious and all round atmosphere was welcoming. Loved it!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.8
    The space environment facilities and rooms and service were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basic Cleaning was very poor from. Sheets and towels and rubbish were ignored.

    The space environment facilities and rooms and service were all pleasant and safe. Location is also good to be close but far from. The center.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing Hotel in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Amazing hotel in Amsterdam! Staff was very helpful and friendly... room was extremely nice. Hotel located in a quiet area but very close to the center. We will surely go back to this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice hotel design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was a little slow (had to ask for a blanket 4 times before I got it). Also turning on the heating was challenging (which is why I has to ask for the extra blanket)!

    Very nice hotel design. Nice and clean rooms. Easy access to transportation. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.5
    Excellent location a short walk from great places for brunch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower didn’t drain well and flooded the bathroom.

    Excellent location a short walk from great places for brunch and metro/tram links. Friendly staff, decent gym, nice room, good bar and on site restaurant with great pizza.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel only 10 mins from Amsterdam central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing we could complain about and it didn’t even bother us that much was the soundproofing of the room. It was quite loud at night and there was a series of loud odd noises throughout the night coming above and outside in the hall.

    We loved the hotel’s interior and design. The bedroom was huge and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, clean and stylish. The hotel restaurant and bar was great. Great value overall!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent hotel. Designed in a cool and young atmosphere. Large room, comfortable mattress. Restaurants and bars are nearby. A great supermarket for shopping for food. Metro is close to the hotel and a short drive to the city center. The hotel's service is excellent. Help us with any questions. And the price is good for hotels in Amsterdam, which has become more expensive in the last decade. recommended Designed in a cool and young atmosphere. Large room, comfortable mattress. Restaurants and bars are nearby. A great supermarket for shopping for food. Metro is close to the hotel and a short drive to the city center. The hotel's service is excellent. Help us with any questions. And the price is good for hotels in Amsterdam, which has become more expensive in the last decade. recommended

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location and kitchen facilities. Albert Heijn supermarket across the street. 1/4 mile walking distance to NS Amstelstation. Great Hartog bakery nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.5
    Fab room!! Great sleep nice staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar closed too early and you could not take drinks you bought from the bar to your room

    The room was fab really big and nice decor, quiet too ! And the tram was close by 10mins to central station. Food was nice in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    Great place and very easy to get to by public transport. Definitely a good place for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view I had wasn't amazing, but that's honestly a small thing

    It says student hotel, but it's just a great hotel with good facilities and everything looks amazing. Bed is comfortable, room was huge and the restaurant and bar are great. The co working spaces looked amazing as well, great for some quick meetups. Public transport is also around the corner!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel for a reasonable price, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TSH is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. It located a bit outside, but the city center and other sights are easily reached by TRAM or METRO. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the staff was very nice. The breakfast, in my opinion, was a bit overpriced but overall good. We also rented some bikes, which was very uncomplicated and easy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    Great stay would definitely reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I rang reception to see if the had an adapter and I would come down to collect it and the lovely lady at reception came all the way up to the room with one.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with interesting design concept
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym was ok but equipment (Spin bikes and concept 2 rower) quite worn out

    Cool design, very relaxed atmosphere. Nice lounge area with table tennis and pool billiard. Room was spacious and well designed. Breakfast buffet was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot fault the hotel, excellent value for money. Hotel was clean, staff were helpful and in a great location, a minutes walk away from the metro. We chilled out in the bar on our last night, drinks and food were great, and the atmosphere was so chilled out. We’ll definitely use this hotel when we visit this great city again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great concept hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit further out of the city than I expected. Housekeeping came knocking very early on our 2nd day looking to clean the room and woke us. They should be cleaning occupied rooms later in the day. Would have liked information on recycling for waste in our room or a recycling bin in the kitchenette. Didn't like that you had to ask for utensils for the kitchen.

    Great concept hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved the water everyday in our room. the metro station was very close and we got a 3 day pass that made it very easy and cost effective to go in and out as needed. Supermarket nearby for bits n pieces

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    I have visited at least 5 times before
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed isnt as good as before. (Matress ?) The sound isolation between the rooms isnt good The reception ... Some of them not pro enough

    I have visited at least 5 times before 2-3 yeats ago The atmosphere The people Students and staff. Visitors Bar restaurant Ted..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel in a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no mugs in the room and when we asked for some they didn’t have any.

    The staff were very friendly, the facilities in the hotel we’re great and it had a student feel to it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    Quiet large room, comfortable bed, nice decor, shower room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet large room, comfortable bed, nice decor, shower room, good coffee , soap, etc. Staff are great. Access to pool etc. Next to Metro so close to city. Range of great breakfast options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor draining shower so often flooded the floor. No cups for coffee.

    Style, colour’s. comfy mattress, dimming lights. Excellent friendly staff, accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Very stylish and clean rooms! Perfect for trip with friends.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing Hotel. Doesn't look like it from the outside! The rooms are spacious and very stylish. Loved the decoration and the high ceilings. Also: the light concept was amazing. Something not all hotels in that price category consider. Loved th king size bed. Very comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.9
    Great location right next to the Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We hadn’t been informed that the weekend of our stay coincided with a DJ event that was loud and going into the early hours. On arrival we were placed in a room a couple of doors down from one of the event rooms. Fortunately we noticed early and the staff moved us to a quieter room. However, this could have potentially been awful had we arrived later. Some prior warning before booking would have been appreciated

    Great location right next to the Metro. Clean, stylish and quirky rooms with a large comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.2
    Don’t be put off by the word ‘student’ in the name! Highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I maybe being picky, but the mattress was slightly too hard for my liking.

    Excellent location for the tram and metro services, friendly staff and nice rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.9
    Would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a bigger duvet! We were fighting over it! Is the hotel near a hospital? Sirens are a constant at night

    Spacious room, comfortable bed. Blackout blinds/curtains were good. Bathroom clean, clean towels daily

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.1
    over priced, too loud of music
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a dance party event until late in the morning and I couldn't get to sleep with the noise. I wasn't there for the dance event, but I would of like to have known that there was an event on and I wouldn't have chosen the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Really lovely people working at this hotel! The bar and restaurant had a good selection of food, in a relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Quirky signage /art work and a very comfortable bed. Our room had a kitchen which was great as there is a supermarket right across the street, handy if you want to cook your own breakfast etc. Location is so easy to reach from the city, by metro or tram, both stop very nearby. Excellent hotel, we had a great trip!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Amsterdam in a modern way
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great concept: "mixture of student home and hotel", while the hotel still felt like it! Breakfast was okay, but could have been better with really good coffee and some more choices. Loved the bike - though had to exchange several times, as the light in the back was not working.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel served a purpose, enjoyed Amsterdam Dance Event and seeing the live broadcast from 538
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely expensive for what is essentially basic student accommodation. There’s plenty of 4-5 star hotels in Amsterdam offering luxury for the same price, maybe a fraction more.

    Location four stops away from central’s station via metro.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    A fun hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred an iron in the room

    A very different hotel experience, with a great vibe. This was down to the DJs playing music from early morning in the reception area, and the radio station being broadcast and filmed. Restaurant was also good value for money, for breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good student vibes!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a welcome card at our room, but this was unfortunately directed to someone els. There was a tissue box which still has some used tissues in.. A bit gross.

    The room was great, a lot of space, comfortable bed. Very nice interior. The hotel is very well designed. There is a relative cheap parking facility at the hotel. A personal approach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant, the location, facilities and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely brilliant, the location, facilities and staff were amazing. Huge rooms with very classy interiors, ginormous comfortable bed, eco friendly air conditioning and black out curtains. Could not recommend this enough!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time and the hotel exceeded both but of our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Huge bed, clean and modern bathroom facilities, cool decor and furniture around all of the hotel. Great travel connections to central Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.6
    Can’t recommend this hotel enough, the staff are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Can’t recommend this hotel enough, the staff are so welcoming and polite and are at the reception 24/7 to help. Our room was such a good size we were really impressed, it was really clean and has so many small details that really make you feel at home. Large bottles of shampoo and shower gel were provided and also a hairdryer. The hotel is about a 30-40 minute walk from Amsterdam central but it’s a nice walk and it’s basically just one straight road there with lots of nice things to see on the way, there is also a metro station right outside the hotel if you don’t want to walk. Can’t fault anything at this hotel we will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Good modern hotel that likes a bit of word play.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk was a bit slow when I tried to check in. Not helped by an UberEats cyclist trying to get them to ring up to a room.

    The rooms are spacious and very clean. They are a bit soulless and look to make up for this with endless wordplay and slogans on the walls of the room, shampoo bottles (Dirty Hairy). The communal parts are good and made for community socializing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.4
    Vibrant hotel spoilt by poor upkeep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a corner room with bed adjoining the wall. Didn’t like since it gave on one side access to get off the bed. Beds were uncomfortable to our liking. Poor cleaning services of the room. Smell in the corridor area outside the rooms on the 2nd floor. Away from city centre though quickly accessible by metro.

    Large rooms, very colourful vibrant and a hip hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.5
    That you send me an email where I'm supposed to rate the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That you send me an email where I'm supposed to rate the trip with one click and then send me to a page with a giant form to fill out. Very misleading and unprofessional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    The entire place was full of good vibes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little more attention to detail. Like the glasses for the coffee and water was not replenished twice in a row

    The entire place was full of good vibes. The staff was very friendly. To point out Lotte at the reception who was a star and gave us a nice picture of amsterdam, the places to visit, eat and more. I would certainly recommend friends and colleagues to stay at the student hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doors Into rooms were loud when closing causing big bangs and waking you up. Tv didn't work well kept goung off

    Quirky decor. Attention to detail.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.7
    Teure Unterkunft für mäßige Qualität
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty sheets and towel, dusk everywhere, old smelly water in the water boiler, worn out matrace.

    Friendly staff, good location near metro and tram stops, spacious room with large bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the style, decor and amenities of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the style, decor and amenities of the hotel. The location was great with easy connectivity with the rest of the city. The staff of the hotel were wonderful and the restaurant served great good. Amazed by the thoughtful touches in the rooms. Loved the overall vibe of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    Superb hotel, felt at home!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridor smelt a bit of damp but I was barely in the corridor so that didn't matter. Conspiracy that there's a Scientology building opposite a state of the art student facility...

    I love this hotel and everything about it! The fun student theme takes me back to my university days and it feels so new and clean. The bathroom was superb with nice fittings and didn't feel like a hotel bathroom! The TV had a lot of channels and the free wifi was superb 50Mbps up and down!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    6.3
    A place for youngsters, not so much for business people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating system did not work very well and it was quite cold in the room. There is no nightstand and to charge the cell phone you needed to leave it by the TV. The hotel is designed to host mostly students, so the atmosphere was not really "adequate" for "older business" hosts.

    The room was small but had everything you needed. There was a Nespresso machine and free water. It was quiet (12th floor). The bed was confortable. Wifi was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    Light and compact
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was super, right next to the Metro. Lovely area with shopping center across the road. Lovely cafes near by. Hotel was very modern with very friendly helpful staff. Would certainly recommend to others.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    The high sealing, smart tv, great wifi l, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a bit noisy, could almost follow the conversation in the next room. The shower was perfectly cleam but the pressure wasn't that great. Mij room also the drain wasn't working but I guess that is a temporary thing.

    The high sealing, smart tv, great wifi l, the "buzz" in the public areas.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel! Comfortable with young vibe. Well decorated with nice facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    Excellent hotel! Comfortable with young vibe. Well decorated with nice facilities. The check-in and check-out were very fast and easy. You can also rent a bike with them which make your stay much more pleasant. Although the location is not close to the downtown area, there's easy access to public transportation (tram and metro). Actually, the fact of not being downtown (crowded and noisy) is an asset.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.2
    IF YOU GET THE CHANCE STAY HERE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location as it was a new area, saying that it was extremely easy to get to the city centre about 5 minutes away, the Metro is literally 1 minute from the front of the hotel just turn left.

    Friendly staff Clean rooms Quirky design Complimentary water Very quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    Common spaces are cool, good location with the metro next to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No room service, no iron board, no side table, small closet, very basic room.

    Common spaces are cool, good location with the metro next to it. Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel with functional details
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a bit soft. I had difficulties handling the blinds on the window. My shower drain was no draining, but they fixed it for the next day. At the laundry room, only 1 of the irons was working.

    Cool design in the hotel. Comfortable room and bathroom. Nespresso machine is great in the room, I was happy for that. My room was quiet and I could rest well. Staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is better than I expected.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Student Hotel Amsterdam City Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: