Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The College Hotel 4 stars

Roelof Hartstraat 1, Oud Zuid, 1071 VE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#129 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean comfortable, excellent beds, design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had limited knowledge of entertainment, logistics, and tourism around the area.

    Clean comfortable, excellent beds, design. Well located. Well distributed rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service level way below what can be expected. It was our honeymoon and despite several emails, calls and contact during the day it was too damn difficult for the staff to arrange for Champagne in our room.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel in lovely building, good spot unless you want to be in the centre of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit too out of the town centre for us but we did enjoy the local area too.

    Nice building with high ceilings - trainee staff on check-in who was doing a fabulous job.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Short trip to Amsterdam was amazing during June 2018
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day I came after 12 at night and I had to ring the bill to get in the hotel. I guess it's a safety rule. However, they should have mentioned it to me when I checked in.

    Everything else is great. Thanks for the hospitality College Hotel :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Very nice and stylish stay in a period building close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was nice and friendly but appeared inexperienced, eg when it comes to simple questions like getting to the airport or the service during breakfast. Overall in terms of value for money, I’d say this was at the upper end of pricing even though Amsterdam in general is quite expensive.

    Stylish and well designed hotel, although the furniture in the room seems starting wearing off. Breakfast good and in a nice atmosphere (no feeling of a big hotel); however the buffet deserves more attention by staff. Location very conveniently connected with various tram lines in all directions, and of course by bicycle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym facility is charged. Phone was not working. Not enough lights in the room.

    Amazing location. Spacious and clean room. Refill of tea bags, with notes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Daily management needs attention
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Light knobs en electric outlet, placed en functioning chaotically. -One room was not cleaned at all from former guest, when arriving at 19.00 in the room. -Lack of Wifi , more than half a day. -Very difficult to load or unload luggage in/out car, no personal assistance from hotel at all. -Use of umbrella for two hours: 25 Euro. ( Refund after complaint.) -At one room toilet didn't flush, smelled awfully.

    -Beautiful old restored building. -Beautiful rooms -Good location, ( but difficult to reach by car en pick up the luggage) -Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Was a home away from home for those the nights that I stayed there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    House Keeping services can improve

    I liked the overall ambience of the hotel and its rustic look. The rooms are creatively designed and the location of the hotel is good within the city.Overall good stay !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We really en
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting int he dressing room area was poor, made worse by the black interior of the wardrobes. The shower rose was difficult to direct appropriately and tended to flood the bathroom.

    A lovely boutique hotel, great staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    An oasis of class and comfort in an often vulgar city
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no real lobby

    The traditional brick-built exterior hides an ultra-classy interior, the room was obviously done by an upmarket interior designer,the bed and mattress showed no sign of wear and tear,and as a crowning point: a shower big enough to hold a party in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    nice comfortable hotel in nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    meal at hotel had lots of items not available on the menu and was told bar closed but then others were served but the hotel were very apologetic and made amends promptly when notified.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Rooms are indeed too dark as some reviews mentioned.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are indeed too dark as some reviews mentioned. Should have more light. The cleaning folks forgot to replace water at the room for two consecutive days, but overall it was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    All of the above could be solved with better attention to detail by management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seemed there were not enough staff presiding over breakfast. It is self service and there are a variety of items to choose from. However they ran out of certain items particularly on our last day - a Sunday. It looked like no-one was in charge. We booked a superior twin bedroom believing that superior is one grade up. However we were informed at Reception that in this hotel Superior is actually the most basic room. On arrival at the room it was missing items eg only one glass, no cups even though a kettle and coffee maker were provided! When asked for they were provided. There was one bottle of water the cap of which was already open. The room had a few shortcomings in relation to cleanliness but nothing major and the ensuite had no window or circulation fan. The interesting interiors are let down by some scratched furniture and last weekend by two dead looking cactus plants!

    We found the location very good. Transfer from the airport by public transport took no more than 30 minutes. Train from Schiphol to South Station and number 5 tram - just 4 stops - to the hotel. It's about a 15 minute stroll to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. We were happy to walk into central Amsterdam so didn't experience any other public transport. The staff were very nice, helpful and friendly. The building has attractive architecture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Stylish hotel for the museum area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we has asked for a bath we had to change rooms to get one, but the staff could not have been more helpful when we did. The new room lacked various items such as cups but again the staff were brilliant at sorting that.

    The room was stylish and comfortable. We changed room to have a bath and the staff could not have been more helpful or lovely. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall our stay was comfortable and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was very good on the front of the hotel with fairly busy suburban street below but not noisy enough to disturb sleeping.Our friends room of the same category was smaller,frosted out windows and after using shower pungent smell of drains.

    Fantastic building,great location away from bustle of the city,excellent transport position for trams all over the districts.Great position for the museum quarter and no difficulty from here in reaching most parts of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Wow factor for short time, it doesn’t stay with you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows - very uncomfortable; the first day at the breakfast there wasn’t enough room for two of us and we had to assemble our own space... everything is in the detail, which this hotel missed

    Lovely building with great location. Tasty breakfast. Bathroom - spacious bath, absolute winner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Well worth it and will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience was amazing, staff where extremely friendly and polite and a great relaxing break

    The heritage and interior of the property was beautiful, rooms where very cosy and comfy Only thing I would add is a bit more light in the room otherwise amazing facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay, luxury surroundings, comfortable room and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was dusty but otherwise clean, modern and well equipped. Room had most things you'd need for your stay except ironing board and steam iron.

    Checked in 2 hours early with no fuss or charges as room was cleaned, ready and waiting. Five star service from all staff we encountered. Superb location, close to museums,de Pijp and Leidseplein.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good teaching hotel with enthusiastic stuff, it only needs a bit of common sense to be excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received "welcome drink of your choice" vouchers redeemable at the hotel bar, only to find out "one drink" means Gin or tonic and €12 supplement for a mixer (for two of us). Note to f&b manager: if your property can't afford to serve a G&T don't give out free drinks vouchers. Inc. breakfast is OK but coffee servings really small, perhaps it's a Dutch thing. When my partner asked for a little more coffee at the end of the breakfast this was billed at €3.20 on the grounds that breakfast finished at 10:00 and it was 10:02. To make things worse, I had to stay behind and wait until barmen returned to print off the bill. This is overzealous and unnecessary for a 4* hotel to do - again, if things are tough add €10 to room price, this is acceptable, charging for a coffee with inclusive breakfast is not.

    Great location for Amsterdam museums, imposing building, welcoming and enthusiastic staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    The College Hotel helped to make our visit so enjoyable and we would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff had a habit of leaving our room unlocked after cleaning. Evening meals at the restaurant, although of good quality, a bit over-priced and lacking quantity.

    Large room and bathroom. Friendly & helpful staff; always happy to give attention and information. Very good and wide range breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mechanical fan in bathroom, no hooks to hang towels. Bar was closed at 2330 already.

    Great location and very nice staff. Building is very classy and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big thermal coffe pot for breakfast to put on the table instead of just a cup to order, which is inadequate. More variety of bread like rolls, butter in open chunks rather than little closed packets.

    Very nice,helpful staff Delicious dinner, compliments to the kitchen Good room and bathroom. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite dusty. Room itself was fine but the shower room was comically tiny - barely room to move.

    Excellent staff - very welcoming and efficient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Defo return to this hotel which all round is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    View from room was not really nice as was situtated to the rear of hotel. Scrambled eggs could have been better. Hot chocolate was luke warm and not hot esp how I like. No porter to take suitcases to rooms.

    Breakfast were great in particular the croissants. The room was lovely. Staff were great. Hotel lobby area was nice cosy by the fire. Restaurant meals were nice and the staff accommodating as we requested sides which were not in the menu. Room service was prompt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    3.8
    great location, not so great to lay back and enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    snobbish, unprofessional staff af the reception. room was dirty/not well taking care of. bicycle rent costs additional and is only possible for at least 24 hours. the high-time of this place is over and needs some fresh inputs. the handles at shelves are incredebly loud and disturbing. the bath tub needs some serious cleaning and so does the shower curtain (mold).

    the location is perfect, the building looks picture perfect and the fireplace in the bar/lobby is perfectly cozy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    An elegant hotel in a beautiful building in an ecxellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some design ideas have aged badly: light switches are not easy to read. Lighting system has it negative points.

    Breakfast super, Design and architecture very refined. Atmosphere in the hotel excellent. Very young crowd.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some details about the room, the light switches are a bit difficult to figure out how they work, and the shower booths need some decalcifying at the bottom. And there was very little breakfast left (prosciutto, ham and greens) though we went half an hour before closing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel for a good price
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited variety of food for breakfast. We had to move out early in the morning and we were refused to pack simple sandwiches instead of missed breakfast.

    Room was very spacious and stylish Staff friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    The style and atmosphere of the hotel is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark in the bedrooms, not enough lighting

    The style and atmosphere of the hotel is very nice. Beautiful building and lovely staff. Location is great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no sound proofing in the room and we could hear everything happening in the room next to us and outside. Also the pillows were too big and there were no small ones in the room.

    Property itself was nice, bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the hotel room was a bit dull. Also we found the light switches a bit difficult to operate.

    Our stay was perfect. Staff were extremely helpful when we asked for our room to be changed (we were on the side of the hotel closest to the trams and traffic). After our room was changed, everything was just right. Loved the Nespresso machine. Also the extra attention in the evening (tea delivered to rooms) was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Greta quality hotel, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m very disappointed that the hotel felt it necessary to charge me for the first night when my flight (as with all flights in Amsterdam that afternoon) was cancelled due to the closure of Schiphol due to snow and I was stuck in London. I think it does not put the customer first. I understand it is the hotel’s prerogative but it disappoints me given I was certainly going to be there for the second and the third night.

    Greta quality hotel, nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was so dark and I could not find any way of turning on the two standard lamps at one end of the room. The chair by the desk was so low it would have been impossible to make it a work station. The only plug socket by the bed was underneath a table which made access difficult for plugging in a phone for the alarm and the shower had a curtain which resulted in the bathroom floor being wet through. At breakfast I had to ask a member of staff who happened to be walking through to find someone to serve me a coffee. I was there purely because the airport was on lock down due to weather. The price I paid was not value for money

    The building was attractive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Very comfy, but final maintenance before check-in of the guest would complete it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was not heated at arrival. No breakfast-list for room-service order in the room. Internal room phone to contact room service or reception was not working. Several light bulbs not working.

    Staff was very nice and performing. Hotel is very comfy and stylish. Very good Restaurant. Very quick and good room service. Mini Bar excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Hôtel has good potential but half of the staff is not up to the level at all .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the staff was able to upgrade us and give us another rio

    When arrive room looked like occupied by someone else . Bed not clean with stains , some private items in the bathroom . The next day , booking a taxi at reception was a challenge .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay and really loved the hospitality . All staff that I encountered should be praised !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I noticed that the bedrooms were just a little dark perhaps some more light but not too bright! Also a light was out in the bathroom for the whole time and that should have been picked up by housekeeping.

    The staff were excellent. I though breakfast very good and plenty of it and whatever you asked for was brought. Reception extremely helpful directed us to fabulous eating places. They were also very helpful in giving us directions to places and informing us of the correct trams to take.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    Very comfortable hotel with nice bar and restaurant. Tram stops right outside the front to centraal that can take you back to airport. Was close to the activities I went there for such as Van Gogh. The staff was great as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful building and decor let down by House keeping and indifferent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty unkept room , very dark from black chipped paint work made worse because three out of four lamps were broken ( we nicely alerted reception but nothing was done ! The blind was broken and the curtains had become unhitched ! There were no bathrobes and no bottled water as per discription ( so we had to ask reception again! ) The literature in the room said breakfast at the weekend ended at 11am but they cleared it away at 10:30 causing some discruntaled residence who argued about the room notice and eventually had to go and bring it down from the room Extremely noisy .... from road and trams outside so we didn’t have a great night sleep The restaurant was a nice area but the service was a little indifferent and the food was average

    Stunning building Beautiful court yard nice sitting areas First impression was really good But then

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    Lovely building and location very good for the art galleries...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The meal and service on the day of arrival was very very poor and we later found out that the head chief was off duty and no one was supervising the kitchen staff and it showed. The head waiter was so sorry about the poor meal he did refund the value of the food. The service was extremely slow for our drink orders too although there seemed to be plenty of barmen on duty they took over 10 minutes to bring drinks to our table, with no one else at the bar to explain their delay and the barmen were stood around talking and wiping glasses. On getting some cups out of the cabinet in our room to have coffee one of the cups was completely dirty inside although it looked clean on the outside.

    Lovely building and location very good for the art galleries and lots of interesting restaurants for breakfast. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    We will definitely come here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is a beautiful building and very quiet [as in restful]. It is within easy walking distance of the Van Gogh, Rijks and Stedelijk art museums and a half hour's walk gets you to the Old Town. There is a good selection of bars and cafes around and excellent public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My request for a twin room was apparently not received despite two confirmations from booking.com. There was no bath. Staff very abrupt when I checked in.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortablw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basin in the bathroom had a nasty black fungal layer under the rim of the basin and the outflow was slow and dirty.

    Lovely building and room well appointed. Confortable bed and very friendly staff with excelkent service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Amsterdam very good ,hotel could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms we’re dark poor lighting, switches for the lights unfathmable ,the room had a very dangerous steps half way in the room,the shower was not able to point as one would have liked Genraly the room needed upgrading .very noisey from the trams.

    It was in a very good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully decorated hotel, exceptional staff, wonderful room. Not one negative thing to say about my stay! Location is excellent with easy access to museums, public transport, and other neighborhoods. Bikes and Vespas for rent as well! Cannot wait to come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Very good location & quiet room!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast: Breakfast tables near own breakfast table should be cleared and cleaned. Paper table cloth would help protecting the white linen table cloth and could easily be changed / replaced for new guests.

    Good location; room was very nice and quiet. Room cleaning was very professional and cleaners were considerate. Great lunches served in the Italian restaurant downstairs, nicely and kindly served. Welcome at Reception very nice & Reception kindly and rapidly helped solving any issues during our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful building, price is quite high but reasonable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building, price is quite high but reasonable compared to other hotels of similar quality in Europe, staff was friendly and helpful, really nothing but nice things to say here, decor is incredible, and creates a dark but intimate atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better lighting n the bedroom - especially for the bathroom mirror!

    Excellent restaurant. Hotel itself full of style and sophistication. The staff are all hotel trainees so sometimes you need to bear with them - but they are polite, enthusiastic and very well meaning,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sent the hotel a room preference via booking.com however didn't get a response and consequently the room we wanted was not available. Perhaps they didn't get the message?

    Lovely high ceilings, great block-out curtains, fab smelling toiletries. Also liked the turn-down service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Always impressive, nice atmosphere, quiet with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room although described as extra spacious was small. I stayed here about 4 years ago, since then it doesn't look as good, the carpet and reception desk are a bit scruffy and the furniture in the room was chipped in various places. We had a bath with shower curtains which I wasn't impresssed with.

    The staff were really friendly, there is a good atmosphere, love the look of the hotel. The bed was really comfy and the hotel is quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, immaculate hotel in amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hire bikes at hotel were expensive and couldn't be hired for half-day...full day only??

    Bed, loft-style room and bathroom. Reception staff were friendly & efficient and hotel was impeccably clean and well maintained, in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay at the College!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room right next to elevator, but was not loud.

    Very comfortable bed, high ceilings, a shower that gets nice and hot with a lot of steam, nice bar downstairs, friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Stay was excellent! I will recommend to anybody visiting Amsterdam to stay there with confidence.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, no problem. The one and only thing that was not so nice and not so nice to mention as well, but good for the staff to know to attend to. The toilet brush canister had too much water inside, not sure if it was clean water or water from not properly cleaning the canister. When pulling the brush out the water splashed on my feet which was a little creepy 😖 Hahaha... I'm not complaining, just suggesting the cleaning staff should make a note of this.

    As mentioned above, the room was comfortable and quiet. The music in the hotel lobby and public areas was nice/relaxing, good ambiance 😎

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, not quite delivering consistency, but still a treat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi went down for the whole of my first evening and night. I did alert them to it, and they acknowledged, but only got to resolve the next morning. The breakfast (which my rate did not include) is expensive unless you are particularly hungry and take full advantage. Inevitably for a couple of pieces of bread and jam, and a coffee and juice for €22 seems expensive. Perhaps they should offer a light breakfast at a cheaper rate. Nice touch, but slightly odd, was that the upgrade entitled me to have free use of the 'mini-bar', but there was only a couple of soft drinks in there - so slightly empty generosity. (A bit mean to complain though.) And they also provided a turndown service (which included some camomile tea) on the first night but not on the second. Didn't mind - but if you aspire to high quality I guess you need to be consistent.

    The time I went was obviously not a particularly busy time for the hotel and so was very pleasantly surprised to be staying in such a high quality hotel for my money. Also got upgraded which was positive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    enjoyable stay in a fine city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little tired

    The location is very good if you use the tram or bus, just a few metres away and you can travel in three directions. The room was fine, but not luxury perhaps a little tired, the very large window blind was broken so we propped it open with a bottle of water to let the day light in. Bathroom was showing its age wall paper above the toilet dirty and pealing away, the shower controls a little dangerous trying to turn off the water was hit and miss, last complaint was the bed softer than I would like. Didn't try the breakfast after reading previous reviews and the inflated price. Lovely building, very fetching reception and ground floor area, pleasant and what seems safe and quite part of the city, probably would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    I can't imagine a better place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room seemed complicated to use, and I would have liked at least one 120v outlet or a converter.

    We like the atmosphere of the hotel and the location. The staff is amazing and can give us all of the help and directions we need. We love having an excellent restaurant in the hotel. It's also a great hotel when you have children with you. My only suggestion for change is that you have at least 120v electrical outlet or provide at least one converter for each room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel and super relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff are in training and I don't think they should be allowed to check guests in unsupervised

    Gorgeous property, great location, lovely restaurant and bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and quite stay in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small problem caused by unexperienced staff at breakfast was professionaly overcome next day. Otherwise, all smooth but expensive.

    An old building, very nicely renovated and decorated like an historical stage. Location is very close to city centre, near Concertgebouw and museum district. Rooms are spacey and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    The breakfasts were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were many faults in the room itself. Poor lighting, bedside lamps didn't work. They didn't replace our coffee/milk/cups/water etc

    The breakfasts were good. The hotel location is excellent and the staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in nice area close to museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rather inefficient for the quality and price of the hotel e.g. forgot to restock the room tea/coffee more than once and forgot to order a taxi. Although the food in the restaurant was very good quality it was overpriced and the service was extremely slow.

    Very friendly staff. Very nice hotel well situated for the museums in a nice area. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Very nice breakfast. Comfy bed, nice well stocked bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel with lack of attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of detail: i.e. Room not cleaned before 3.00 pm, miscommunication as to dervices to room, chackout with broken creditcard machine (2).

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in nicely decorated spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No built-in airconditioning (only portable), music playing late at night on terrace below my room while terrace was empty.

    Atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff, nice, spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful, stylish hotel to chill in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as above

    All very good. Only problem - we had planned our day around eating at the hotel in the evening. The wedding event meant that the restaurant was closed to guests that night. It would help to put a notice for people if this is the case so that they can plan accordingly. After being out all day we had really wanted to relax and eat at the hotel that night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is relaxing and the stylish environment and ambience are fab.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.0
    Beds were comfy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On thing which was very annoying was the light system . As you turned one off others would come & the other way round . Not much tea & milk but on requesting more it was supplied with a smile .

    Beds were comfy . Good location. Staff very helpful & polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    great staff & customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need maintaining (peeling paintwork, peeling plaster, torn window blinds and broken air conditioning system). House keeping could improve their services by checking that all items are in the room such as a shower curtain for the bath, refreshments and crockery to drink them with. Luggage racks for suitcases would also be nice.

    Comfortable bed, clean hotel, great location, fantastic staff and customer services. Our first room had a host of problems which couldn't be resolved quickly - so the staff gave us a new room immediately which was a lot better. They dealt with the matter efficiently, effectively and with a lot of care and attention. They were really helpful with advice on how to get around the city and other daily touristic queries. 10/10 for the staff training as they are a credit to the hotel and a huge jewel in the crown.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay - with an occasional squeeze.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom-toilet arrangement in my room (217) was a little tight - one almost had to slide onto the toilet seat.

    Comfortable beds; welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast with dust
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During breakfast EVERY morning there is floor cleaning- wet or with vaccum cleaner. So - with breakfast you will get dust as well. 1st room which was given to us was small and with small window by ceiling - like wardrobe. Dare to ask for better room. In both rooms some light bulbs was burned out.

    Great and ellegantly served breakfast; beautiful and safe location- museum area, residential area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.5
    Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms but no real response to our genuine complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two twin rooms as we were four family members. However we were given two double bedrooms also one room was being refurbished and the window was taken out during our stay in the room. We were not advised this would happen.

    Beautifil building and good accomodation

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Staff, Good Location, Wonderful Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival, the staff mentioned there wasn't much to do aside from the museums and park to the north of the hotel. Everything else was in Centraal. However, De Pijp, a mere 5 to 10 minute walk ended up being great. Due to the staffs suggestion we didn't end up exploring the area until later on in our visit. Very minor gripe, but add De Pijp to your recommended neighborhoods!

    Excellent service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Great stay, would return, although a few small niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was in a cupboard and the shower was either lookwarm or scalding as the lever wouldn't hold in the preferred place.

    The location of the hotel was great, so close to the tram stop but away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Amsterdam. The bed was extremely comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.2
    The room left open while we are away and come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room left open while we are away and come back. Should not happened for the 4 stars hotel. The maid forgot to close the door while they were cleaning the room.what a surprised!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    3.3
    avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Read my other reviews which many people have, I always look for the positive and give the benefit of the doubt. However I must warn you NOT TO BOOK this hotel. We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and stayed on 6th April to 9th April 2017. Arrived at 10:00 registered and booked in luggage. Came back at 15:00 as agreed to be told there was a mistake with our room. we had been allocated 117 when we registered in the morning. At 17:00 we were shown to our room 123. we found out that there was a housekeeping issue, no one told us or kept us up to date or offered any refreshment while we waited. We went to the terrace and a had a drink, nice staff great drinks. we booked in the restaurant for 19:30 and were told that we would be given a free drink for our room cleaning problem. Arrived in restaurant at 19:30 nice waiter engaged us in conversation only to be removed from our table (physically removed) by a man in a white suit and bow tie who then allocated someone else to take our order. 45 minutes later after asking on a number of occasions our drinks had still not arrived and there was no sign of any food, not even bread for the table. At 20:30 we complained and left, we still had not had a drink and there was still no food. The following evening we sat outside ordered a drink and again waited for 45 minutes. Decided to not eat in the restaurant but ordered room service instead which was ok. The room was tired, with the shower door off its hinges and more importantly the electics where dangerous. two bathroom lights on the mirror did not work and on closer inspection had burnt out and where loos in the fitting. All lamps in the room where unplugged and when we plugged them in plugs ejected across the room with sparks flying. We paid in total just over 900 euros for two nights with food and drinks, I feel completely ripped off. I am so angry that I paid them money and they couldn't offer me a basic service and a bit of civility.

    do not book this hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.0
    Much overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite informing the staff that many things were not in order, nothing happened. The bathroom light was broken, the sink did not empty easily, there was no shower door, .... Upon complaining about this during checkout, the manager confirmed that she would make things "right " however unto today, I have received no communication from anybody. A pity that such a nice hotel was such a disappointment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    One of the best options in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection very poor

    Wonderful staff willing to help and do their best for the customer. Beautiful hotel, beautiful room, very comfortable room and bed! Will come back! (however wifi is very poor, so it was hard to get work done)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    Characterful boutique hotel, galleries a short walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned properly - black clumps of hair in the shower drain from (presumably) the previous guest. Hotel staff were apologetic and sorted the problem once we explained.

    Interesting architecture, the room had character - we had a chaise lounge in the room, huge ceilings. Colourful psychedelic chocolates.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    What a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a beautiful hotel. The beds are very comfortable, the pillows are amazing. Excellent service and facilities, always a truly enjoyable experience. Location is perfect for exploring different areas of the city, especially de Pijp with its lovely atmosphere. A short walk away from Museumplein, but also right next to tram stops if you prefer taking public transport. Plenty of cafés and restaurants around representing all types of different cuisines. Was upgraded to a more luxurious room during my last visit and really enjoyed the additional amenities. Will definitely keep returning.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: