Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of New West Inn Amsterdam 3 stars

Reimerswaalstraat 5, Osdorp, 1069 AE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#295 of 449 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6566 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing and smelly! Definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel. How is it a 3 star!?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As soon as we walked in to our room the smell of stale tobacco smoke hit us like a brick wall. Alongside this, the bed sheets smelt like cooking oil and the net curtains were dirty. The bathroom was also not cleaned to a good standard. There was dirt and hair in the shower and the bathroom in general smelt strongly of urine, to the point that I felt nauseous when I entered. When I went down to speak to the staff on reception, they didn't seem to care at all. The first receptionist did nothing so I had to speak with a second member of staff later on, who came across as quite sarcastic but said that they would send someone up to change the bed. When we returned later, the bed had been changed, but the sheets still smelt horrible and certainly not clean. We found the bed lumpy and uncomfortable, we were provided with one hard 'pillow' each which resembled a square scatter cushion that you would have on a sofa. Finally, the location was very far out. We cycled every day so that wasn't a huge issue, but it was a trek.

    To be honest, there wasn't much that I liked about this hotel. All I can say for this part is that the price was reasonable compared to the rest of the accommodation available for our dates in Amsterdam and the hotel was quiet during the night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.5
    It was a great trip and good for the price we wanted to pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smell on the sixth floor was kind of musty/mildew mixed with something else but bearable. You couldn't get coffee without purchasing the breakfast so you have to get it from the vending machine.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was not that far from the tram which was nice to get downtown. Neighborhood was nice enough to feel comfortable walking around to get places.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    The staff were courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed too early and the pillows were too soft to have just the one, could do with an extra one for better support for people sleeping.

    The staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Wifi was on and off and that was my only complain.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Wifi service

    Wifi was on and off and that was my only complain. Otherwise, excellent hotel. Internet access is very important to business travelers. I had to spend so much money to go to Holendrecht AMC to use the universities internet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.7
    Love Amsterdam. This hotel was a clean, quiet, and economical bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was about 8km (5 miles) from Riksmuseum, so you get an idea of the distance. It really wasn't a deal breaker at all. We walked. Amsterdam is a beautiful city, and if you enjoy walking, the entire trip is a pleasure. Pedestrians rule in Amsterdam. The only thing to watch is bicycles. They sort of rule equally with pedestrians, so watch out when crossing bike paths.

    The only downside issue was the room smelled a little musty when we first arrived. We opened the windows and that cleared things up. Everything was clean, the bathroom was top rate. The staff were very friendly. Internet was a little slow, but we weren't there for the internet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible location, not safe for the car in the street in front of the hotel ( confirmed by staff), terrible wifi, poor soap etc Cheap but for a reason , average food at the restaurant

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    4.6
    business
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service at check- in was really bad, they did not find one of my colleagues in their system and charged for a no show, even though my colleague had to stay in a hostel as a consequence ( It was during IBC 2018 a big exhibition in Amsterdam so all hotels where fully booked). In this hotel you get the impression that if something goes wrong it is always the mistake of the guest, not the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    Good location, nice size room, comfortable but very basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd recommend they get ice machines on each floor. There's no fridges in the rooms. Cold beer is a must when we go away😁

    Really comfy bed. Nice big room. Location is good. Only a five min walk to the tram stop and 30 mins from Centraal plus the airport is only 20 mins away

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    3.8
    Terrible experience, poor cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a terrible experience about the cleanliness in our room. 1) We received the towels with an unknown bug on our second day. 2) My friend has flea bites on her left leg. 3) The clean lady didn't clean the room properly. She forgot to give us the fresh towels and just provided 1 bottle of shampoo on our 3rd day. We felt very disappointed with this hotel and won't revisit anymore.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel pretty close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was alright, the bed was a bit too soft but nothing extraordinary. The staff was very kind and polite and I loved free candy at the reception!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Free parking was nice on the street next to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far away from city center. 10 minutes walking distance for a tram station and then 35 minutes by tram untill city center.

    Free parking was nice on the street next to hotel. I booked two separate rooms and hotel provided them next to each other.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.4
    Basic clean but a bit far from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are not very warm welcoming the guests. It happened that there were 2 receptionists but only one was working and the other one didn't bother helping the waiting guests. I find it a bit pricy relative to the basic facilities they have but probably that's Amsterdam hotel rates.

    The hotel is clean, suitable for a one night stay (as the one we had). Direct connection from the airport and direct connection to the city centre (but to city centre you need ~15 mins walk then 30 mins in transit). The bed is comfortable, the bathroom is good but very tiny.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Western comfort at a high price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price. I've heard staying in Amsterdam in never cheap, so they may just have been competitive, but the price was high. And you were not in downtown Amsterdam. You were an 15 minute walk from a 40 minute tramway ride to get to downtown Amsterdam. The neighborhood is residential, more for locals than anything. The place has an on site restaurant and bar. Priced according to that convenience. Also, their most expensive beer available was a Corona, the joke of Mexican beers. Watch out for tourist schemes like that there.

    This is a large, comfortable western style hotel. The room was large and comfortable. You could order food from the room if you liked. The staff was friendly in that generic professional sort of way.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    A good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we used the hotel for was to sleep and shower, and I can't fault them for that. The bed was comfy and the shower was clean with everything provided (shampoo, body wash, hair dryer etc.). The hotel is only a few minutes walk away from the tram station which we caught into the center. The staff were friendly and helped us find out which tram to catch. On the last day there was a storage room where we were allowed to keep our bags after check out when we went out. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    Friandly Staff, poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks like it needed a serious renovation. Carpets and walls are dirty. Furnitures are old and used.

    Friendly Staff, good location, well communicated with city centre. One tram no. 17 takes you to Amsterdam biggest atractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.0
    I had an excellent first-time visit to Holland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a very light sleeper, and need a very quiet room. Room 407 was not too bad, but could hear the main water tank hissing as it filled up with water. But, for me, background noises are always a problem!

    A nice, spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.5
    It was a very strange interaction with the front office...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a very strange interaction with the front office staff, the lady at the reception informed informed several times that i needed to be seated and not to walk around ?? does'nt lobbies and reception are meant to be seen around ?? It was strange that as i was talking to the receptionist, the manager was very rude and kept interfering and supported her (receptionist) that i be seated and don't move around in the lobby, having traveled to several countries on business, I found this extremely strange !! I also wanted to made a call from my room telephone and I informed I am willing to pay for it since my prepaid card was running low on balance but when i called reception, i was informed I cannot make any calls from my room... Very strange behaviour...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay somehow spoiled by attitude of duty manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast quality vs price was disappointing. Fried eggs not available. The worst was the attitude of the night manager when we reported the air conditioner mal functioning on the night of 27 September when he blatantly told me to "live with it" as there was nothing that he could do. He also made it clear that he can do as he likes since it is his hotel.

    We loved the friendliness of the staff as well as the close proximity to public transport. Reception staff have been very helpful with advice on how to explore the city and surrounds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    It was okay but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -breakfast was overpriced and had a very poor selection of vegan options. -coffee machine swallowed my coin and no coffee -staff were not forthcoming with information about the hotel facilities; it was only on my last day that I accidentally discovered it had a gym! - tea and coffee bags in our room not replenished

    -public transport information and being able to get travel passes from the reception -information about tourist attractions available at the reception -staff spoke good English

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Value for Money. Friendly Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea making facilities in room.

    Friendly staff. Warm reception. Comfortable room. Close to central Amsterdam by tram / bus. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    3.3
    The hotel is so far from the center and also so far from any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so far from the center and also so far from any transportation it’s more than 15 min walk to the tram. The tram close at 12:00 am and you don’t have transportation to go back to the hotel from the center. The room is very poor comparing by other hotels with same price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    Helpful friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too far out of the city for me. Aircon minimal so didn't cool rooms. A fan helped. Unable to open windows to allow sufficient cool air in

    Helpful friendly staff. Quiet position

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    Do not recommend staying here unless you like wasting time and money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, needs pest control, vacuumed a few of times in an 8 day stay, very, very far from the center. Overall horrible stay / experience.

    Price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Love Amsterdam and loved the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room ! Please change this British people love to be able have cup of tea on holiday when every the won't at no extra charge . For me travel 20 min on the tram not big problem because won't get better value for money anywhere else.

    Staff very friendly hotel very clean room also like how you can buy travel pass from reception . Also hotel was nice location short tram stop many shops already looking to book up in same hotel next trip to amsterdam...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing, staff out of this world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small thing and not really important, but I would have liked tea / coffee facilities in the room. But that did not impact my stay

    The staff were th best I’ve seen anywhere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.5
    Good for a couple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location; a bit old and not well maintained. Bathroom was smelling ugly. Breakfast was from cans and packages, nothing was fresh.

    Even though breakfast was not fresh it had a lot of variety. Free parking in front of the hotel, very near airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Fair stay - would not return due to several shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a 15 minute walk from the nearest tram stop. The food served at the restaurant was of a very poor standard. Pillows on the bed were much smaller than average. When extra pillows were requested - staff member was very rude and told us the hotel had no spare pillows and were waiting on an order to come in. Shower had no shower tray or front door and water leaked all over the bathroom. Overpriced for a hotel so far outside the city centre and with so many shortcomings!

    The bed was large and comfortable. The room was clean and regularly cleaned and towels replaced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Not Good were exhausted from walking everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do. The staff not very helpful. With information they hand you leaflets. The bar closes at 11pm. Too Early. We had to walk everywhere. Hotel in middle of Flats and houses.

    Drinks and food priced fairly compared to most places

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Next time the same hotel will be my choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Providing a kettle in the room with tea bags.

    A nicely located peaceful place to rest and relax after visiting central part of the city and places of tourist's attraction. Tramp is just eight minutes walk away that takes you to Dam Square in 30 minutes through the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Didnt feel safe
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door wouldn't lock from the inside We were beside a balcony that no one was aloud on and every night at 4 5am men were standing outside our room door shouting going onto the balcony.

    The beds were comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The room is very spacious and well decorated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast didn't worth the money...

    The room is very spacious and well decorated. There's parking lot in front of the Hotel. You can buy public transportation cards at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole house and the room, everything was worn out and unclean, the room smelled of pesticides. We did not like at all, we dont recomend.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Gone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleanliness, the place smells very bad to say the last. The breakfast would have more fruits and juice. And the STAFF would have been better trained, not all but some.

    Well localized and quiet at night. A little bit far away from downtown, but there is TRAM and BUS at a block of distance. Some of the STAFF are friendly. But the ups finish there. It smells like....., well use your creativity. The people do not care of the room, no cleaning at all, just doing the bed and changing the towels. By this price I would expect some more. The breakfast is over charged for the quality. You better walk two blocks and go to HEMA and have it for half the price. The bikes for rent would go more expensive than renting at the street shop too. Ask for better prices and combos.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel exceeded our expectations considering the low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of other reviews say the air conditioning doesn't work but in our room it seemed like it did work, but only for cold air. This wasn't an issue for us as we were staying in the summer and only needed cold A/C but I can imagine it being a bit chilly in the winter. Also the Wi-Fi wasn't that reliable and I kept loosing connection - it is free Wi-Fi though and sometimes did work fine

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the beds were very comfortable and the room came with more than we were expecting in terms of facilities and toiletries. The room was also bigger than we expected and although it took 30 min to get to the city centre, public transport ran late into the night and there are several stops for the bus and tram near to the hotel. There is also a bus to Schiphol airport that stops nearby and takes 30 min.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t find some of the staff we dealt with particularly friendly. The lifts were slow. The lobby areas upstairs were dated and uninviting. The rooms could’ve had a kettle or a fridge, maybe some face clothes and more toiletries.

    The paid breakfast and restaurant was really good. The room was clean and comfortable. 5/10 minute walk to the tram into the town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.3
    Avoid if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wif was not working on 3rd floor. Pillow was a nightmare and there were no alternative pillows to exchange it, the area is not very tourist friendly, the rooms was having an odd smell when we entered first time.

    Close to tram 17 which takes you to city center in 30 minutes. Staff was friendly and helped us book tickets for some attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Our room was very comfortable and had lots of space!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not so great, it is a 50 minute tram ride into Amsterdam city centre.

    Our room was very comfortable and had lots of space! The breakfasts are lovely and had a nice variety.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, bit far from centre but not as bad as I thought it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the centre. However, public transport was excellent so it was ok.

    Large room, comfy beds, very good air conditioning, helpful staff, can buy travel cards from reception and rent bikes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Just about right
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no facilities for coffee in room. A bit far from centre.

    Room was adequate, and fairly clean Restaurant served good quality food Staff, nice and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice personal, explained everything with a big smile in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit far away from centrum, but still okay, u can get to city centre by tram in 30 minutes

    Very nice personal, explained everything with a big smile in a good way. Breakfest was really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff helps you with all your needs when your...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although or car got stolen, the hotel really helped with everything we had to do, we could stay longer in the lobby and stuff, Would definitely reccomend ! Just be careful with leaving stuff in your car !

    Very friendly staff helps you with all your needs when your in trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Fam vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ridiculously expensive for 10€ pp, our kids don't even eat for the quarter. The beds were unfortunately too soft for me but the kids loved it.

    The service ladies were very friendly, rooms and bathroom was always very clean. Every day got clean towels, and beds clean done. Always got information friendly when needed. I would give 100 stars for the service. The 🚋 stations isn't far at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    place to park in front of the hotel, the room is comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is about 45 min from the center including about 15 min walk to the tram station, the breakfast is not included and the bathroom needs to be renewed

    place to park in front of the hotel, the room is comfortable, spacious and well equipped and friendly and helpful personnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Hotel stuff was nice, helpful and provided all necessary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very noisy because of the air conditioner running all night and the water pipes made noise, when somebody took a shower or used the toilet during night. Unbelievable but almost 3 days straight, the gargabe bin infront of the hotel was brimful, it was a disgusting sight. To make it worse, some birds were picking around in the trash in the mornings, who made a hell of a noise. So, i couldn't get a healthy sleep during last few days. The bed wasnt comfortable either. And just be aware, that it can almost take 30-40min to the central station. The hotel is located at the outskirt of the city.

    Hotel stuff was nice, helpful and provided all necessary information. The rooms were clean, but the carpets were really dirty. Overall, the hotel was ok for the price. The breakfast was ok, but same stuff for everyday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Too far out of central Amsterdam for us to return. But as a hotel would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not be put off by the outside of the hotel - looks like an old office/council block

    deluxe room was a great size with everything we needed for the stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about the place was marvelous, rooms are super clean, vending machines working, bar and bar tender (Samira) are simply amazing and willing to go the extra mile. It was just right all the way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    as it was for two nights only it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty carpets in room breakfast was not a lot of selection,bedding may have been changed but under the top mattress cover it was very dirty

    Hotel was close to where my grandson was staying also room had a safe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    A very good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have really nothing to complain about.

    Very nice place to stay for a good value of money! The room was really big, with a comfortable bed and beautiful panorama picture of Amsterdam on the wall. The hotel is very clean and staff was really friendly. You can reach Schiphol airport with direct bus which is very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    - Lovelly staff and reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room service is basic - bed is not very confotable

    - Lovelly staff and reception. - Very nice breakfast specialy it s possible to have breakfast without booking before. - locality, calm with nice walking space around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Cheap & cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to check in after 3pm but they have a luggage room which was suitable. Bonus is they have a bike rental service (50 euro deposit); and away you go on your adventure. Unfortunately, my adventure brought me back 2am and I had to catch a 6.30am airport bus but from what I seen - it was clean and I had my own bathroom and two beds so what is not to like for 40 euros. Bargain. A bit out of the way in Niew West but a pleasant cycle ride to town and there is a large sports facility nearby should you have the urge to do a swim or cardio. Recommended for budget travellers and people travelling in groups.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Best value/money ratio in Amsterdam, but far away from city center (30min by tram).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is far away from city center, but anyway you can reach city center by tram or even rent a bike in this hotel.

    Big room and bathroom, comfortable bed, good air conditioning. Fast WIFI.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is not in the city, but the city centre can be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The general look of the rooms is less attractive than on the pictures. The cleaning is a little bit hectic, sometimes we had to say that the staff failed to clean our room. There was no refrigerator. However the description of the room mentioned the airconditioing, from our 2 rooms only 1 has airconditioining.

    The hotel is not in the city, but the city centre can be reached easily by tram (30-40 min.) Parking is free and there are a lot of space. The price is good in comaprison the Amsterdam standard price level. Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    To be perfectly honest there wasn’t to much to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was way to far from the action. Was about 40/45 mins by bus & tram as so many road & constructions happening. To hard to find. In a very uncomfortable area it seemed. Had absolutely nothing going for it. A waste of money in my opinion. I would never recommend this property. Everything was tired & felt like it needed a total refurbishment. Staff were quite unapproachable & only did what they had to & nothing more. There was a cement ledge between room & bathroom which was hazardous, I think I tripped on it at least 10 x & I had my 75 Year old mother with me who nearly had a fall... a total disappointment & I’m slightly disappointed with the reviews I read as they were totally inaccurate, on many levels.

    To be perfectly honest there wasn’t to much to like. Maybe the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Big room, huge bed, a bit too big, great location, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too big, the garden closes at night and no places to sit in front of the hotel. We had chips under the bed - delicious! :D The toilet paper is not toilet paper, just tiny tissues, wifi doesn't cover the entire garden, but that is normal

    Big room, huge bed, a bit too big, great location, nice garden to hang out, very quiet. Good TV, English channels, stuff is friendly, old people bingo nights! :D Very close to parks and pubic transportation, local stores

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall good stay but not ideal location wise for purpose of my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location wise, it is a nice area, but not where I needed to be. It is quite far away from central and from where my friends were staying. I booked this property by mistake as I had wanted to book at their sister hotel, West Side Inn, so I did find the information on booking.com a bit misleading and confusing (pictures were similar, logo was similar, descriptions similar) but they did help resolve it and let me alter my booking upon arrival to stay my last two nights at West Side Inn (which in comparison is nowhere near as nice as New West Inn admittedly)

    I was pleased with my overall stay at this hotel - the bed was nice and comfy, cold A/C, good size room, room was bright. Reception were friendly at the desk. Surrounding area was quite suburban and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.8
    Clean it up !
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it's the wrong side at Amsterdam, maybe that's what I get for what I paid (wasn't that much and it was summer) but an unclean hotel is not good at all. Even bugs in the room. My girlfriend has bites like when you go to a farm.

    The people is very nice, they want to help you and you to be as comfy as possible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    very good price value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good price value! The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night. It took us about 10 Minutes to walk to the tram station and about half an hour to get into the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't overly helpful regarding getting to the city from the hotel. Basically just told us to get ourselves a map and follow it. A little bit far out from Amsterdam city.

    The room had really good air conditioning. The room was clean and tidy. The shower was powerful with plenty of hot water and fresh towels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Decent value comes at a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite a distance from the center of town. 45 minutes tram ride, around the same time on bike.

    Clean room, very good service from all the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    very pleasant, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very clean, spacious and comfortable,the air conditioning was a must during the heatwave. There were no tea & coffee facilities in the room but the machine in the lobby was excellent. The surrounding area is not great,but we went to see the centre; who cares about the suburbs! The hotel is a fair distance from the centre, but the trams provide an excellent service, the station is a fair walk but buses are close. The staff were really helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Not very hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - location is quite remote and away from any convenient transport to central. There is a tram that takes 50 minutes - No nearby restaurants or grocery shops that stays open at night. Even the Hotel restaurant closes after 11 am. And they close the sitting area as well! I wonder why. - hotel is pretty old, the AC was dripping water during the full duration of our stay. We call e d the reception and their reply was they couldnt do anything at the moment. The day after apparently they send someone who came and cleaned the AC but threw all dirt into the toilet. They did not even clean the bathroom afterwards.

    Bed was okay and comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Expected something more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not so nice, view was terrible, area not so "Amsterdamish", needed to walk 10 minutes to take a tram to the city which is 30 minutes!

    Almost nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff was nice especially at restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn’t work most of times. Location is too far from city centre but it’s near to airport. You can reach airport with single bus from nearby stop. Not many options to eat nearby.

    Staff was nice especially at restaurant. Location is peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    best inn for who wants to sleep with ants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -There is bugs and ants in the room. when i told the reception about the ants, he told me that they won't bite :) i ask if he can change the room, but he replied "you can only complain if you want " and next morning when i took a shower, i notice there is a dead ant inside my ear ! -wifi is not working. it just connects but not working faster than 56k if it works. -you must walk nearly 7-10 minutes , then wait 5-10 minutes then with the tram you will be at center 30 minutes.. it takes nearly 45-55 minutes to go city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a short walk from public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My cell phone died on my last day so I requested a wake up call that never came. Luckily I woke up on time for my train without it.

    The hotel is a short walk from public transportation. Check in went smoothly. The room was quiet and comfortable and quiet with air conditioning. The WiFi worked well. The cable tv had a wide variety of channels. There were several grocery/convenience stores nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Bad hotel in dodgy part of Amsterdam. Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area around hotel looked dodgy. The whole hotel looked awful, tired, carpets in corridor was loose and had gaps, the room was also looking tired, could do with a lick of paint. Awful pillows, air conditioning not working properly so room was very hot. We had to keep curtains closed so that the room didn't get even hotter! One of the worst hotels we've stayed in. And too far out from centre of Amsterdam. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful though!

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud air conditioner, too far away from the city. Bad coffee at breakfast. Really bad view from the room

    Nice staff and bathroom. Breakfast is good and enough for a day. Room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    So relaxed. The service is amazing the staff are lovely and just the vibe in the hotel is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I had to leave

    The stay in this hotel is just what you need when you go Amsterdam. We've stayed there 5 times now in the past 2years and we will continue to come here due to the amazing place and staff. Also the location is really nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell coming from one of the drains in the bathroom and the internet was very temperamental.

    The bed was super comfy and the room was nice, clean and big. Staff were very nice and had no problem with us checking in early.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    If you are in need of internet, then this hotels internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are in need of internet, then this hotels internet suck Big time, If you tell the staff they say that they are working on it, which they aint, check other reviews on this issue as well, internet ONLY works in the lobby. Rest of the Hotel is fine, nice rooms and bath, a small fitness room, cafeteria, restaurant all good. Important: You dont have anything in your car a theif can use, seen a few cars at my stay that they got their window broken.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    It is all together ok for the price, but.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is just not working. This I found very annoying as according to the information provided by the hotel it should work everywhere in the promises. These days a hotel with a stable internet connection (when advertised) is not acceptable.

    It is all together ok for the price, but... Good walking distance to the tram no 17

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, the rooms are really clean and spacious, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the hotel's fault but in the park right outside the hotel were some guys of different ages, when we went outside to look for a grocery store they started throwing water balloons at us and yell insults in different languages, because of this my younger sister didn't feel safe and didn't want to leave the hotel after that. Maybe the security could improve a bit in the area.

    Nice hotel, the rooms are really clean and spacious, the staff is really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    2.9
    Worst hotel we ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easily the worst hotel I've stayed in anywhere in the world. Didn't live up to expectations on a single thing. It's overpriced, unhelpful staff, terrible location, nothing works. We paid more than 100€/night and room, with no working air conditioning and a wifi connection that makes you feel nostalgic about the connections of the 90's. We heard other guests complain about the same issues. The bathroom is tiny, and the faucets in the shower will leave you either scalded or with frostburns. Unless you're willing to spend 30 or so minutes desperately trying to find a somewhat bearable temperature. Normaly I would feel that 100€ was a good price, but when you get absolutely nothing for it... then no. It's way overpriced. If you pay more than 45-50€/night per room for a stay here, you've been duped. The outside of the hotel is dreary, and the inside is just slightly better. It was a bad neighborhood, where the kids/youth of the area would throw things on people passing by, which left our kids feeling unsafe and scared. And why shouldn't they be? Being attacked by water baloons and metal objects when going out for dinner isn't what one expects on what should be a lovely holiday trip. The first thing the receptionist pointed out while we were checking in was that it was a public parking so they took no responsibility if someone broke into our car. A fairly random and unsetteling comment, as the only thing we asked was if the parking outside was the one mentioned when we made the reservation to make sure we were parked in the right location. The tram station is fairly close, but it's a 37 min ride into the Central station, so this hotel is by no means well located. The staff was unhelpful, borderline rude. We were left with the impression that we should be grateful that they had time for us. We were from the first moment talked down to, almost aggressively.

    The food in the hotel was ok. I'll give them that. Nothing special in anyway, but not bad either. Apart from that, the only thing I can say that is somewhat positive is that the rooms where clean. Which isn't saying much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Good price in comparison with other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much. Just the WiFi connection. It was weak and slow.

    The price was okay. The receptionist was very helpful and nice. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Not so expensive... regular!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, bathroom seems like dirty. Expensive Breakfast for what was provided. 35 minutes by bus far from downtown.

    Hotel not so expensive. Employees give good attention and help when necessary. Rooms with good space.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse New West Inn Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: