Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Dam Square Inn 3 stars

Gravenstraat 12 - 16, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 NM Amsterdam, Netherlands

#189 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1148 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Electric Kettle a plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like all the Hotels in Europe I stayed in they use only a comforter with no top bed sheets. Comforter is too warm in the summer causing me to over heat at night.

    Electric Kettle a plus

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Very spacious room with comfortable bed and a usable desk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow check in. Breakfast was disappointing in terms of the quality of the food and the feel of the place. The shower was substandard: the shower head was not adjustable, and it pointed the wrong way; water pressure was too low.

    Very spacious room with comfortable bed and a usable desk. Once the scaffolding in front of the window was taken away (rather noisy experience in the early morning) the room had a nice view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    The room was small but clean and comfortable,possibly could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved upon for the price.

    The room was small but clean and comfortable,possibly could do with a bit of updating.breakfast was a little dissapointing...no hot food,no fresh pastries, I expected croissants maybe too.hotel location excellent,receptionists brilliant help and very secure hotel which I loved,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Location, location, location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is tired, in need of a major modernisation programme. Also the design of the shower/basin is ridiculous. I couldn't shave or even wash my hands.

    Location, location, location.......

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one person looking after reception and breakfast in the morning so sometimes dont get ur coffee before u finish breakfast

    Location is excellent, just off dam square but you dont hear any noise at night. very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance work going on on the hotel the whole time we were there right outside our window. Quite noisy from very early in the morning so no chance of a lie in Manager was very rude Dated rooms in need of some tlc No option for a hot breakfast

    Reception staff were very friendly Clean room Very comfy bed Fantastic central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Fairly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Room nice and clean but bathroom light and light as you came in the room on a timer. This was a problem as if your partner went to the toilet in the night the light came on.....also while you were in the shower the light went off. This is a health and safety risk and frightened me the first time it happened. Had to open shower door to activate the light. Breakfast was good and hotel staff friendly. Good location too. While we there they put scaffolding up to paint and we were told minimum disruption. However 2 mornings woken by men at 7 o'clock banging and talking outside my window.....not good when on holiday

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Reception service was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrived nearly midnight. Our 3-bed room was a bit dusty but well equipped. While going to bed, gave a shock seeing a living insect running on bed, a centipede, but not long about 7cm. Arranged to change another room but already spoilt our next day's morning trip to countryside. No sleep that night.

    Reception service was nice. Chose this hotel because it's with air-con and lift service. No much selection and hot dishes for breakfast but good enough with comfortable environment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing specially

    The best of this hotel is its location around the corner of Dam square. Considering the size of properties in Amsterdam, my room was pretty enough and it was clean. The breakfast was normal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great value for the heart of Amsterdam; awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of view from our room.

    Staff were exceptional. Bed was great, although pillows not so much, but this is typical throughout Europe we've found. Only one night here, so was given a no-view room; but was nice and quiet! Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all.

    This Hotel is very well situated just behind the Cathedral in the Dam square, and a very short walk from the Palace. I have stayed here many times before and always look forward to going back. All the staff are pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Short and fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought we were ripped off a bit price wise because of the time of year it was. The hotel was not worth that amount and the most I’ve paid for a long weekend in Europe for a couple of years (including Copenhagen)

    I like the location it’s literally the best thing about this hotel right in front of Dam square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Can’t fault the location but cleanliness is not kept on top of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room - somebody else’s underwear under the bed, dirty bathroom - someone else’s pubic hair on the shower floor and walls - asked reception to clean it simply cleaned the floor, embarrassing to ask once let alone to have to ask again by that point we all needed showers so cleaned it ourselves - complained at check out and when settling the bill, was simply asked whether the underwear was male or female... a simple apology and no discount off the already incredibly inflated daily rate!

    It’s Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Best Western Dam Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is conveniently located in a central position just off Dam Square. Just a short walk down Damrak from Amsterdam central station Clean rooms, lovely breakfast and friendly, helpful staff! This was our third stay and we will definitely be staying again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Close to central train station within walking 10mins. Shops, department store also local attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like.

    The staff were excellent,beds very comfy, room also had everything we needed. The breakfast was good serving from 6.30am until 10.30am. There was no rushing for the breakfast as you had within 4 hours to decide when to eat. Overall excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Mr Metal Head
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff could do a better job.. And signs of wear and tear " only cosmetic. Easley fixed

    Brilliant location. Being so close to Dam Sq , yet the location in a narrow street ment less noise at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent and central located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located in Adam Square. You can walk everywhere!! Shopping, bars, restaurants are all close by. The breakfast is good and staff are extremely nice!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great value for Amsterdam!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located in Adam Square. You can walk everywhere!! Shopping, bars, restaurants are all close by. The breakfast is good and staff are extremely nice!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Centrol location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a good size but needed to be updated Breakfast was at best a continental breakfast Asked for tea got coffee Air conditioner had a controller in the room but adjusting it appeared to have no effect

    Position was central Tea and coffee making available in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not luxurious, but comfortable.

    The staff was wonderful. We had a friend with us staying at a nearby hotel. The desk clerk talked her out of switching hotels to the Best Western because she would have lost money doing so. He could have easily just taken her money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    I've found the ideal hotel to recommend to friends and, hopefully, return myself one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The public areas, including the Dining room were spotless but the cleanliness of my room lacked attention to detail. That is the only area they need to up their game.

    Location was excellent - could not be better!! Right in the centre but so very quiet being on a little pedestrianised lane. Everything one could need was within walking distance. Plenty of cereals, toast and spreads as well as a cold selection available for breakfast. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Terrific location and great breakfast! Staff pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head points right out the doors of the tiny shower so always a mess unless you get in first and get blasted with cold water. Tiny bathroom/shower/sink area but to be expected in a mid range European hotel. Beds were comfortable enough once in them, although very very soft mattresses. When you sat on the edge you just about fall off because they were so soft. Carpets didn't seem to be very clean. Cleaning staff only made the beds and replaced towels & shampoo. Didn't even clean the bathroom or toilet. Didn't look like it was vacuumed either. Cool old building from outside (I think it was an old distillery) but definitely time for an overhaul inside. Not a hotel for picky people, but if you want a great location, and don't spend much time in room it was good for the 3 nights we stayed.

    Very good European breakfast included. Don't expect an omelet bar. This is a European breakfast, several types of bread available, with a variety of spreads, cheese, sliced meats, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. Good quality and fresh. Our room was very quiet considering the area we were staying in. Request a room in the back. Our first night we arrived very late due to airport closure, but the front desk guy was friends with the chef from the restaurant 2 doors down who offered to go back in (they were closing) and cook us dinner so long as we liked steaks and didn't order off the menu! One of the best meals we had that trip! Special cudos to the chef!! Love the location, very easy to walk most anywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed far too soft. Like sleeping on a sponge. Dim lighting in room. No bedside drawers.

    Central location to tourist attractions. Only 15 minutes walk from the main train station. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet room of a reasonable size. Generous continental breakfast. Secure access to rooms. Good stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, friendly staff and comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room wasn’t very nice as we could just see air vents, and for two nights it was a bit pricey. Overall though we can’t fault it.

    The bed was extremely comfy and the location was perfect. The lady at reception was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Hotel relying on its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed way to soft. Bathroom dirty,smelly and mouldy. Tea and coffee facitities were in the bathroom??? Very little light in room. Pillows smelt like someone else. Breakfast very basic. Over all the room needed upgrading and a good clean

    The power of the shower was great and lots of hot water. The heating was very good. The location was perfect. No more than 20 minutes from anything. Staff on desk were very friendly. Towels in the bathroom and bed linen clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good 3star hotel in the center of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are much too soft. I do not like hard beds but the beds in our room were too soft.

    Really nice and helpful staff. Good sized room. Very good shower. Breakfast was simple but ok. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady on the reception for check out on the 2nd of April was very rude, I had presumed check out was 12 so we came down about half eleven to find out check out was 11, she spoke to us like children asking why we didn’t answer the phone even tho it never rang. She was impolite and condescending when speaking to threee adults. My only fault in this hotel was her attitude

    Hotel was in a great location rooms were very comfortable and was exactly what you needed for a city break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, very central, very nice staff and very quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast tables and chairs were a bit sticky, they didn't have a very clean feeling.

    Although the location was very central, the rooms very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside with our room (apart from being a bit on the small side) was the cafe nearby noisily setting out their metal chairs at 7.30am.

    Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Very good breakfast. Absolutely excellent location in the centre of Amsterdam and near bars and restaurants. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Experience was adequate for the money paid. The hotel is a bit faded and could do with a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic cleaning.The shower room would benefit from a thorough deep clean.

    The location - so convenient for all the sights. The staff were friendly and worked hard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Good located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More selection of food for breakfast would have been good. Also would have been nice to have draught beer in the bar... Nitpicking here really on this question but honestly can fault it

    Bed was very comfortable and slept well, also in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed after spending so much on a special trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little sleep due to noise. As room looked out on to the street we got noise during the night from passers by. This was expected being a city. BUT somewhere was decorating and a sander/drill was in use from 7am. This was after other residents shouted down the corridor at 3am and then lots of door knocking and shouting just before 7am. The room was tired and needed a good clean and refurb. Plastic cups for hot drinks. One man on reception didn't seem to like customers, he could'nt be bothered to speak even during check in! We paid a lot of money for this stay and would have got a better rest in a hostel.

    Location just off Dam Square was great for access to all sights and easy to get to. Allowed us to leave luggage prior to check in and after check out. Lady on reception was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Convienant location, very friendly staff, quick check-in, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The showers and rooms were a little small, and the water didn't get quite as hot as I would like, but overall my room was decent.

    This property is in as good a location you could ask for. Very convenient. The Breakfast was good, a variety of cereals, breads, and continentals meats. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. There is a very good restaurant next door, and a "Coffee shop" located literally across the alley way. Anytime I am in Amsterdam, I am almost guaranteed to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we were checking in the receptionist was unhelpful, didn't provide a wifi code, started to check me in under the wrong name

    Staff friendly, breakfast was good, room was warm, room was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    4.2
    Very little
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty in urgent need of a revamp. Carpet in our bedroom was very frayed and a very real trip hazard . Plastic cups in room for coffee , plastic soon which melted . Breakfast ok but very basic . Disappointed considering the price

    Very little

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    We moved to another hotel after the first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very dark, there was little lighting - two bedside lamps, one of which was very low. The general air was dingy, run-down and dismal. When we walked too far down the stairs, we came face to face with paint peeling off a wall.

    The room was a reasonable size, there were coffee/tea making facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was perfect. It’s the best location near to everything . lovely staff and very comfy beds with windows that open wide if needed . Defiantly recommend people to stay here and we will be staying again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Very close to Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to Central Station. Took a 15 minute train ride to and from the airport and walked a few blocks to hotel. Walking distance or a bike ride away to anything you may want to see or do! Staff were very nice!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.2
    A waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely rude and sarcastic. They made us feel very uncomfortable during our stay and clearly don’t like tourists. It really tainted our holiday.

    The Location is the only positive thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Basic hotel in excellent location. Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic and need updating. Small, but this is to be expected in Amsterdam. No in room movies, however advertised on booking.com. Wardrobe was very small and very limited storage for clothes etc.

    The breakfast was good. Limited choice, but good quality. Staff were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't the cleanest. I arrived at 9am and they told me my room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. I asked if i could have the breakfast that was included in my stay and they told me not until the following day. After walking around the city for a few hours I decided to check back at noon and was allowed into the room.

    Can't beat the location. You could walk literally anywhere within the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance to the main places
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is near to the Dam Square so you can walk to touristic places and train station. Its breakfast was also good besides to other Europe hotels. Room was cleaned and also the towels were changed on every day. Also all hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Only the price was high because of the new year time, but compare to the others, it was also on average. Especially thanks to lady on reception:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    If you're lazy and give a *** for humans - go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I entered the room, first time, I noticed the cleaning level when an faulse eyelash was on the floor in the bathroom!! Wasn't mine. And as well under the toilet seat was dirt. Yuck! The staff was cold. And as we were passing by, there was no human contact what so ever. Only if we started a conversation. "Nice". Poor selection of breakfast. Boiled egg, 1 type of cheese, and 3 types of pastrami, 5 types of butter, and some cornflakes. No vegies! No salat! What is happening?? And for the cherry on top - I mentioned in the reservation it is OUR HONEYMOON!!! But was no complimentry for us choosing this hotel over a 5 stars hotel, right across the corner. Spend the money elsewhere, where you are greeted with respect as a tourist and as a costumer. Better go to the Kampinsky, or any other hotel.

    Location. Only

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    We had an amazing time there
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather ☔️

    It was for my Mrs 50th Birthday and the manager/owner of the hotel upgraded the room for us to the suite- absolutely beautiful! The lady in charge plus her staff were amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all except for the heavy rain during my visit but you can’t blame the weather if you’re travelling there in November 😆

    Perfect location just off Dam Square. Second time here at the hotel and it doesn’t disappoint. Easy check-in with excellent staff. Double room was ideal for my 3 night stay and the comfy bed made sure I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast involved coffee, tea, cereals, cold meats and bread. Would recommend staying here and will do so again next time I’m in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    made the best of it enjoyed Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough staff receptionist did the bar and waiter we was going to have a drink but no one came.the cups in the room were a cheap plastic unfit for the purpose and the spoons also plastic not up to standard of Best Western I think for the money we paid it was a big let down.

    It was central perfect for exploring Amsterdam

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't worth paying for. Nothing Hot for breakfast apart from the toast lol

    Location perfect. Rooms very clean. Bathroom very clean. Beds super cosy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    I travel all over the world and the receptionist was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel all over the world and the receptionist was the nicest women I ever met in a hotel sorry I didn’t get her name she had black hair and glasses and she was working 28th oct she even printed off tickets for icebar as I forgot I would book here again just because how friendly she was thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff were lovely and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV switches off by itself and it is not easy to get a stable signal sometimes. The shower can be a little bigger. There wasn't a mini fridge in the room, so it was not easy to keep some food in the room.

    The staff were lovely and friendly. Checking out was very prompt and hassle-free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Sonny was at the desk when we arrived, and he made us feel welcome every time we returned to the hotel from our adventures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The hotel staff were fantastic. Especially Sonny, he was very welcoming and helpful. The room was a decent size, comfortable bed and bathroom was ok. The breakfast was very basic. No hot food and not a lot of options. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Less than impressive for the price paid. Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast was awful. The toilet was so close to the shower you could only sit sideways. Someone put a rancid dirty nappy in the bin beside the lift and it stayed there till the next day.

    Nothing for the price paid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Great Dam Square experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was soft

    Near Dam Square and walking distance from everything we wanted to do. Day and evening staff were very helpful and entertaining conversationalists.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    location and price people at breakfast were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My double bed was two singles pushed together. The mattresses were like sponges. Every time I turned to the middle of the bed, it was like falling an abyss the wy the spongy pieces sank inward. Also, the room was very dark.

    location and price people at breakfast were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location but needs improvement to make guests comfortable during their stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very very old and was not cleaned very well upon arrival. The toilet bowl lid was lined with dust and stray hair. The two beds being pushed together was very inconvenient for my husband and I but the beds itself were more comfortable than standard European firm beds. The worst was the constant noise you would hear on the street starting at 3am all the way to about 8am! It was very difficult to get good sleep!!! Better windows or asking for a room on a higher floor would have probably helped with this problem.

    Great location! It was very close to great shopping and cafes and other great places to eat! Also, easy to access different areas in the center of town!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Fun experience with many sights to see.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As i'm a typical young adult and constantly on my phone, free wifi would have been the icing on the cake.

    Once I arrived at Amsterdam Centraal Train Station the hotel was maximum a 10 minute walk. It's location is perfect to walk to so many tourist attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Quiet and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked like a nursing home. Wasn't the cleanest the room door didn't dead bolt walls had stains all over them. The cups in the room are horrible plastic things and the kettle smelled when it boiled.

    Quiet and comfortable beds. Very friendly staff and it's a great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Amsterdam is a great ,HOTEL IS CENTRALLY LOCATED TO CANAL TOUR BOATS AND THE RESTAURANT PRECINCT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    INCLUDED IN ABOVE COMMENTS

    NO AVAILABLE ADAPTER FOR AUSTRALIAN APPLIANCES, NO ONE TO CARRY LUGGAGE TO ROOM ON 3RD FLOOR.[LIFT WAS AVAILABLE LUCKILY]. DRIVER DROPPED US DISTANT TO HOTEL AS STREET WAS NO VEHICULAR WHICH MADE IT DIFFICULT TO FIND, DUE TO LACK OF SIGNAGE[ EVEN SMALL RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES COULDN`T IDENTIFY THE LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY.....CONVENIENCE OF LOCATION WAS THE HIGHLITE OF THE HOTEL PROPERTY EVENTHOUGH IT HAD PRETTY DATED DECOR. WOULD RATE AS 3 STAR PREMISES.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Small hotel nice and clean central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a cooked breakfast and a view. Alarger room..as i booked a standard room.quite small

    Close to everything.eg..Dam square shops..coffee shops etc..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    The location was good, staff helpful but hotel very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor. Very basic. The coffee was just diabolical and did not improve over the time we were there. The room was dark and poor lighting system. The wardrobe was only able to be opened on one side and the hangers kept falling off and it was impossible or see to operation the system which kept falling to pieces.

    The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    The BEST LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets could have been more nicely. Adding a lock on the door.

    The location is THE BEST things about the hotel. It's just behind the dam square, 1 min walking to the tram and bus stations. The room was clean and comfortable. Had enough space for two people, two large suitcases, 2 small ones and a clarinet case. The bathroom facility was the most basic bathroom. Had no lock on the bathroom door though. Breakfast was also basic but we had anything we needed. All kind of Breads, one kind of cheese, 3 kind of hams, yogurt, some granola and fruits. The breakfast crew was really kind, always smiled, offering coffee and tea nicely, helpful with everything we needed. The check in and out was easy going. The staff was really nice, always with a smile. And the luggage storage was really convenient for who comes early before check in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location and I'd stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was expensive but Amsterdam is in general. And the room had an odd smell.

    Amazing location. Can walk to Hotel from train station. bed was so comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    If I have to come back to Amsterdam again I would not hesitate to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is good , but does not include any hot food ( except boiled eggs )

    Superbly located - Right in the centre of things and just a ten minute walk from the station. Surprisingly quiet considering how central it is. Staff very friendly and helpful. I particularly liked that the fact that single accommodation was spacious. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, decent breakfast choices and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    answered above

    The location is great. It's near but not on Dam Square. This is a good thing because the hotel is on a pretty quiet street but everything is in easy walking distance.. The breakfast was decent and the bed comfortable. A few things I didn't like. There were little flies in my room, we call them midges where I come from. I told them them at the desk and they did get on the phone to maintenance right away but I didn't really like the tone of voice. There were still some thee when I got back later in the day. The T.V. was a bit of a nightmare. It took forever to start and turned itself off for some reason which I couldn't figure out. All in all because of the location I would probably stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    3.3
    Great location but horrible overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really dirty. The bathroon wasn't cleaned properly. There was pooh around the toilet. Disgusting. The breakfast was poor and the quality of the food was awfull. Not enough variety, old bread served. The bed was extremely uncomfortable.

    The location is the only good thing about this hotel but I would never return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.2
    Left a clothing item in room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left a clothing item in room; was told that if item was not new ( with price tag ), they would discard the item. This was a beautiful vest and I have never heard of such lost and found policy . Te person I was asking to, hung up on me. Totally unacceptable !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect if you only need a bed and a cup of coffee near the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room on the top floor with only a skylight felt a bit like a dungeon. Layout of the bathroom was terrible - I couldn't sit properly on the toilet seat because my knees were against the shower cubicle, I just did not fit and I'm not even a particularly tall person! Breakfast was quite poor, plates were empty. The waiter brought some boiled eggs and they were gone before you could get there. Then the bowl was empty again and stayed that way until we left. "Fast people eat, slower ones do not."

    The location of the hotel is just perfect in walking distance from all the main attractions, restaurants etc. Also an easy and short distance to the railway station by a tram and a tram stop is just around the corner. I could stay here again just for the location and for the reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice staff, good breakfast , Local Tax not mentioned by Booking .Com + 6% per person staying ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a double bed , we got 2 single bed pushed together The sink in the bathroom you needed a stepladder to get to it The hotel was full

    Location to the centre very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location, average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for an extra pillow to three separate staff members, request ignored by all. As a result has very poor sleep throughout.

    Very good location, easy to get to from train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception members work in the restaurant too. The room is hot and the AC is not american one so you don't even know if it is working or not. Not value for money because it has nothing to offer than the location which is enough anyway. That is the prices in Amsterdam.

    Good breakfast and Convenient location. Good price compared to location and other properties prices in amsterdam

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Localization of the hotel is perfect! You are in the middle o f the main attractions. Staff is very kind and the breakfast is what you need to start a day. I really recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Grubby round the edges, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't very clean, the mattresses are made of some weird foam which I found uncomfortably soft, it was a little bit noisy (not too bad), the decor is a bit grim.

    It is on a good street which is very close to everywhere you would ever want to go. The windows are big, the bed is big with nice sheets, you have everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Ideal hotel for a short stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very very soft, not to my taste. Also, the air con wasn't as good in my room as it was in others.

    Excellent location, friendly & helpful staff, clean room. Room came with a safe which is helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.8
    Ok but wouldnt book here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is looking a little dated. We had a ground floor room with no outlook as the room faced onto an alleyway, with the bottom half of a rather tall window 'blacked out'. We could only see the side of the building opposite, through the top half of the window. Felt EUR 170 for a room like this represented very poor value for money.

    Central location just around the corner from Dam Square and a 5 minute walk from the central station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets in the room and hallways. The hallways have a bad smell of humidity and cigarrettes but once you get into the room that smell dissapears. I would like tile floors instead of carpet.

    The location is perfect in downtown Amsterdam. Liked the complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: