Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Tiel 4 stars

Laan van Westroyen 10, 4003 AZ Tiel, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Tiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We saw no signs pointing to the hotel and finished up on the motorway going in the wrong direction. Our room number 410 did not feature in the list of rooms opposite the exit of the lift as it started at 411 which was confusing. The air conditioning was noisy and the room too warm.

    The breakfast was the best feature because of the choices available. It was good to have BBC tv enabling us to watch the Royal wedding and Chelsea beating Manchester United in the F.A.Cup. We didn't have time to use the fitness equipment. The receptionist took note of our few complaints.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No attractions within a quick walking distance. Nearest bars, pubs, restaurants are 1,5km away.

    Great hotel. Big rooms, great breakfasts, good wifi, very good restaurant. Very, I mean _VERY_ helpful staff. Thanks for the lift to the trainstation!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was directly under the sky bar. Excellent if you are partying in your room, not so excellent if you want to sleep.

    Great view from the room and almost the perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of staff are rude and very unhelpful , just asking if it’s possible to take some ice to my room became a major problem !! And to start with I was told I was not aloud. Needing to Get some euros front desk told me no they cannot help. That’s it sorry can’t do ! It took a guest to over hear me to say they do it for you in the casino, transaction taken by same gentleman on desk and then casino gave me the cash . Just a bit more being human and not black and white would make your stay much more pleasant !

    The hotel is a lovely place comfortable and lots on site .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no towel for welnes I have booked one large double bed but i got another room I have asked that is there hot tube and they answered yes but there was nothing. The room was too cold. I have paid 260 euro for a good hotel but it was as a bed and breakfast. Totaly I am not happy with that hotel

    De bad

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an excellent hotel. Rooms are modern and comfortable. The service is outstanding. This is my third stay at Van der Valk Tiel and I will certainly be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not possible to have a breakfast or order something at 6 am

    Clean hotel. Strange lay out to get to the room. Had to leave hotel at 6 and no possibility to order early breakfast. They did have apple for free at the reception desk so better than nothing. Located not to far from the train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The in room tea selection was poor as they left 2 flavoured tea each day instead of having a wider selection available including Earl Grey or English Breakfast. The room also had webs in the corners.

    The hotel had a few dining options and the staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, huge car park, excellent food and friendly staff. I actually couldn't fault the room or anything else.. This is the first time I have stayed and I seen no signs of building going on so maybe its finished. Re: another review left on the site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was no hot water for two days and only when we complained they said they were trying to solve the problem and sent a notice to the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two single beds keep moving apart, at the end i slept on 1 single bed. There should be a little more beverage in the small fridge for the price paid.

    Room cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit overpriced. Check-out would be better at noon in stead at 11AM.

    I loved this hotel and the service they offered. Looking forward to staying there again. Great rooms and fantastic shower. Really quiet sleep and good insulation. Free coffee, tea and even water!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a special theme dinner (29/4) and lunch (30/4) organised by the Hollandse Bulldoggen Club. Both were below expectations. To little variation in taste, some things were plain tasteless. During the lunch the bread was not fresh enough, dry taste / no butter. No drinks at all, not even coffee. And also here the main problem was taste. Overall it is sufficient, but not as well as expected. For instance our last Visit to Hotel de Valk Nootdorp, was exceeding expectations in all ways. And someting is wrong with the beds/pillows. It is a long while back that I had so much difficulty with sleeping.

    This hotel is modern with lot of facilities. The room was clean and well equiped. The form of the room is not pleasant (pizza point). The staff was overall good, but the staff for the eating area were not all very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The city center, St. Martinskerk, as well as the train station are all quite a walk. Taxis were easy to obtain at the hotel and train station. However, a taxi to return to the hotel was impossible to obtain.

    The facility ranks with some of the finest. The rooms are large and very nicely furnished. The food is extraordinary!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV channels seelction was very poor. Only a few dutch and german channels. No english channels like the BBC, while they did appear on the overview.

    The bath with a view. the bar with outside terrace was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great health and fitness facilities. Nice social spaces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, clean, good value for money, the restaurant was perfect with moderate prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish more time to stay

    Room was very good spacious every thing you needed Sky bar was good top floor well set out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Rooms and Food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome view, amazing staff, great facilities and epic breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice bar on top of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None!

    Nice spacious rooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was to late on Saturday and Sunday at 8.00 as we had to be out before 8.00 ?,

    Staff very helpfully

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast over-priced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air condition was not on heat. Only cooling was possible. So it was switched off. After that temperutere was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water for shower in the morning, for a businesshotel a major no-no.

    Good Bed and bathroom, great restaurant too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, spacious, well equipped, the bedding and linens were of high quality. We felt we had great value from this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wine glasses in rooms

    Good bed and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only convenient if you go by car, otherwise a bit difficult to reach it.

    Perfect all around .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good but expensive.

    The Room was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar and cafetería closed in the evening. nothing around to have a bite.

    Very new hotel with very nice romos, nice staff. Big assorted breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were very very nice and competent!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Always a delight to stay in the Van der Valk Tiel. Modern, clean and comfortable with great facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, spacious and very comfortable, a very clean and modern hotel. Beautifully decorated and very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms. Great facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better pillow would be great

    Very nice room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff helped me when my luggage lock broke, I was in full panic mode and they were great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi kept cutting out, breakfast was very limited for cooked options

    Lovely view from the room on the 9th floor, south facing. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance was geweldig

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini-bar and an new hotel with all facilities in the room special toilets had to have better equipment shower was damage and no small paper tauls

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast foods.

    Will stay in during next trip.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room - Friendly Staff - Food - Parking facilities - Cleaness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View over building site not very pleasant

    Very nice evening meal and huge range of choice at breakfast buffet. Room very modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is of good portions and good with good staff .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super nice hotel. Great breakfast, Nice, clean room. Excelent dinner restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niets

    Alles was perfect

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room described as having balcony with river views. Didn't mention, building materials, rubbish and metal containers alongside river. Room rate should include breakfast.

    Large room,modern hotel,chefs table where he cooks for you and brings to your table.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    20 min by foot from railway station. After 6 pm the public transport is scheduled only once an hour. No sweets (except of jams) for breakfast.

    Absolute cleanliness. Only one waitress did not speak English but basically she understood the order. Excellent wifi everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service at the restaurant and the bar was horrible. Had to wait a long time to order dinner and even longer to order drinks at the bar

    Good location and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pleasant surprise to see the hotel completed and only 3 weeks old loved the fitness center. great food great staff like the fewer rooms per floor for being quiet liked the key to room safety feature

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I just don't think the hotel was finished and not ready to accept paying guests. My room had a hole where the minibar would be and no tea or coffee making facilities the lighting inside the room was inadequate making the bedroom too dark.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wandering round for 20 mins looking for Reception (which has moved since new part opened, and signs only in Dutch). Restaurant dinner menu needs refreshing - has been the same for many years

    Good breakfast - omelettes cooked to order

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was first offered a room in the old part which is not rennovated. I was missing lightbulbs so a transfer to the new tower was done. A friend reserved through the hotel website and got a much better rate at 70-80 EUR/ night which I was not pleased to hear as I paid around 93/night on average and was initially supposed to stay at the older part of the hotel at that price...

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are dated and could do with upgrading. No plug in bathroom sink.

    Location was good and Bar and Restaurant were very nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place, rooms are big, really beautiful architecture and style. Breakfast was rich of everything. Food in the restaurant was also great.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No information regarding hotel, available facilities, timings etc. is available in room. Mostly documents, instructions are not in English.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Facility. No sauna for that price

    Staff and room

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The newness of the hotel

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Tiel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: