Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel ten Cate Emmen 4 stars

Noordbargerstraat 44-48, 7812 AB Emmen, Netherlands

#5 of 9 hotels in Emmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 812 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is a bit older and I have seen rooms that have been decorated better in hotels. All by all, though, I had a comfortable stay in this hotel.

    The staff was super friendly and the bar was really nice to sit in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 201 is oddly shaped and the twin bed doesn't quite fit in ergonomically. I didn't like the exit from the bath/shower - shower screen Kettle

    Restaurant was v gd & more up-market than I was expecting. Nice big car park with plenty of spaces. Parked motorcycles in front of the entrance & that felt very secure. V pleasant 10 min walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is family friendly yet an elegant place. The staff is super friendly while still being professional and efficient. It is located near Wildlands Zoo which was our main destination. City centre and train station easily reachable by bus (3,4 & 44). There is a good buffet breakfast and a restaurant available,with kids play corner available all day long. Family room is spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like a snazzy place from the pictures but that is deceiving when you get there. You go around back where you are confronted with a 80s style building. The same applies to the rooms, they are decent size but they appear from the 80s as well with old style furnishing which I would not expect based on the pictures of the colorful front side of the building. The bathroom was refurbished so it left us wondering if they ran out of money half way through. While it wasn't a bad experience I would not stay again.

    The staff was very friendly. They redid the bathroom, while small it is at least modern and small now. We took this hotel as it was close to the zoo, it's only a 15 minute easy walk to the entrance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived and told we booked with 3 persons but no bed for child. Never had this issue before with booking.com. Was told I had to pay EUR 15 for a child bed which I refused. Next price dropped to EUR 5. Toilet had nor been cleaned befor arrival. Dust packages in the halway to room. Hotel seems dated according to modern standards.

    Restaurant is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheets not cleaned properly, very bright lights from parkinglot in the room, expensive restaurant.

    Central, very big room, nice size bathroom, close to supermaked, comfortable beds, good internet and AC, very polite and nice reseptionists, Modern lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was warm when I came in due to direct sunlight. But nothing the open door couldn't fix.

    This is a nice Art Hotel and I enjoyed a nice Art Room. Parking is great just outside my room. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the breakfast wasn't of the same standard as the evening meal. The bacon was unpleasant and the scrambled egg smelt off.

    The evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little less rain would have been nice

    Friendly and helpful staff. Top quality evening meal . Rooms were spacious and well equipped and the place just has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design rooms are awesome. Standard rooms are outdated though. We booked an average room initially, however bought an upgrade to a design room! Fantastic and my 7-years old enjoyed the drawings very much!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not sound proof, you can here all people around you very clearly, facilities inside room are very poor ( there no electrical plugs close to the bed, there is no refrigerator, WC chair is very high ).

    Staff are very nice, rooms are very clean, location is very close of Emmen center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a very frustrating area with a broken wash-hand basin's waterstop, very very irritating ! Moreover, there was NO handy simple tissue box in the bathroom. For a hotel with this possible ambition, I'm sorry to say that the failures of the bathroom ruins the atmosphere.

    restaurant and restaurant staff and restaurant food and wine were all very nice and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed: they have put a blanket to hide 2 separate mattresses - was very uncomfortable Breakfast: at 9 am the items were not repleted - so little choice in toppings bread

    Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was brilliant everything was within walking distance and you always spotted the hotel with its bright colors. The staff were always ready with a smile and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    32 degrees room a little hot Second time I stayed Ian from Australia and enjoyed both times, will c One again .

    The staff very friendly and helpful Excellent location Great choice for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant in the hotel only has 1 menu for vegetarian.

    I like the ambience of the restaurant. The hotel is located in a quiet area which is good if you want to have a good rest. The staff in the hotel is very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed wasn't remade for the second night with new sheets. Shower wasn't very powerful and the water was warm not hot Hotel room was very hot, had to keep balcony door open at all times to keep room temperature to an executable level

    Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked a room with a bath, but were given (as a special deal.....) a room on the ground floor without a bath............ The room was very OK

    friendlyness of the staff, athmosphere of the hotel close to Wildlands

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room too small. Towels could be bigger

    Friendly, helpful staff who obviously enjoy their job. Family run hotel and the owner (Hans) was also helpful and friendly. Restaurant was very good and well presented

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is excellent! They really take the extra step to make you (and the children especially) happy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and no refrigetor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The art work as well as the personal involvement from the owner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is situated in an industrial area and no nice walk to the city.

    Rooms are funny painted

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the city center has friendly staff we had a nice clean room. Large parking with 2 charging points for electric vehicles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot food was only warm, bordering on cold

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent dinner in the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant served quality food!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant and friendly people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed 1 night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    The breakfast was really good with a lot of choice. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4 star hotel - My smallest TV screen ever - Ask a room towards the parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No power socket near the bed. TV too small and/or too far away from bed.

    Very nice staff, also in restaurant. Great food. Room as expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel for a reasonable price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant customer service - all the staff went the extra mile to ensure I had a comfortable stay. The hotel is a little gem in Emmen.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, ideal place for business travel, will return when visiting the area again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Artworks, nette en zeer hoge kamer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good free parking, close to zoo, great fitness room, very friendly staff, stylisch

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was good, nice room!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design

    Nice warm room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We came for Wildparks, the Emmen Zoo. From the hotel to the entrance is only a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not for health

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, attentive, very helpful staff, very good restaurant, room comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant. Fantastic food and service. A great find.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Somehow we missed exactly how close it was to the park so we parked there and drove back - could have saved the parking fee. Entrance was hard to find. No real complaints!

    Staff were personable and really seemed to like what they did. The restaurant was lovely and very accommodating, even for difficult diets and picky eaters.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toyism; one of the playful and strangest forms of art I have seen.... It is all a matter of taste

    Toyism; one of the playful and strangest forms of art I have seen.... It is all a matter of taste

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Couple

    No coffee/tea facilities in room No phone

    Stayed shorter than planned, due to death in family. Received refund for 1 night. Thank you. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first entry in our room; - a dirty towel in the bathroom, our water cooker was broken and one of the wall outlets was broken giving direct access to the underlying TV antenna connections. (Not 220 Volt)

    The staff is really friendly and providing the feeling of being a welcome guest. Our room , and Art Room was provided with an excellent and brandnew bathroom, the bed was very good (however a bit soft). Diner was served by, again a very friendly staff in a very nice - inhouse- restaurant. The breakfast, very good again.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, felt really welcome in a natural and not fake way which you mostly experience in other hotels around the globe. Really surprising and really good.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed in one of the Art double rooms - In summer season it is impossible even with doors wide open through night, to have the room somehow cooled down or ventilated as there is no air condition in the room - the room was very very hot and lacked air circulation, made it difficult to rest and feel safe with door wide open on the ground floor through the night. The ventilator fixed to the wall in bathroom is always on while lights on and it was quite dirty - not a nice though of what you are forced to breathe in. Also bathroom totally lacks some sweeper for water pools which are inevitably created in bathroom when you shower, as there is no curtain or door to the shower and unless you use the towel to wipe the floor, there is not much you can do. No wardrobe or drawers - just an open rack with hangers. IMHO Not a good value for money. For 85EUR per room (+1,75 EUR per person City tax, +9EUR per pet)/per night (double room) without breakfast it is quite expensive considering the equipment, location and comfort/safety level. No more than 2-3* facility in hot summer months.

    The artsy rooms have lovely decorations, for those who are not color-shy (like me.. :-)). By travelling with pet I was happy to stay on ground floor and the flooring was easy to maintain with easy access to the parking lot via small "terrace". Friendly and helpfull stuff.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC made weird gurgling noises. Facade of building made loud cracking noises as it heated up in the morning sunshine.

    Very friendly staff, very nice breakfast, clean room, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My booking price didn't match what I actually paid which wasn't adequately explained.

    Picasso - style murals in the rooms and the hotel exterior. Very comfy beds, friendly staff and clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Well I am not happy that I am deaf n asked staff for some more tea n milk but next day they charge me 45 euro rip off n they never told me about free or charge without me know. That why they re not aware about me deaf. I upset true

    Well I am not happy that I am deaf n asked staff for some more tea n milk but next day they charge me 45 euro rip off n they never told me about free or charge without me know. That why they re not aware about me deaf. I upset true

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff and a good restaurant. Foolishly left an item behind and the hotel arranged to send it onto another hotel on our tour. Excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Goedkope ingezakte matras. Kamers zijn te warm, (helaas lawaaierige) airco helpt, maar niet alle executive kamers hebben dit. 'Op steenworp afstand van dierentuin' betekent de NIEUWE, momenteel nog niet in gebruik genomen locatie van deze dierentuin.

    Het grote bad bij de executive kamer, absoluut 'value for money' - mooie ruime kamer en fijne badkamer voor een kleine prijs. Vriendelijk personeel. Ondanks genoemde minpuntjes valt oordeel over het geheel genomen positief uit.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Family with older children

    WIFI upstairs was poor. Bicycle hire was expensive.

    All of the staff were first rate. To use the computer was a bonus to print off our boarding passes. The blonde English receptionist was fantastic. She took the time to help me find my uncle's house. For this I am very grateful.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, convenient location walking distance to the town, free parking and wifi, nice bars, and fitness area. Thanks for the quiet room and upgrade!

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I couldn't ask for more comfort than that. Providing what we need when we need is what I appreciated. Free WiFi connection and Not just WiFi it's the ultimate wifi i could find in emmen. Also staff was very helpful. Provided me all the information I needed.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, friendly staff, clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was Excellent. Staff. Evening Meal, Breakfast, Atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The whole experience

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Art everywhere was great. Staff was extremely friendly!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The TV set is to small. The bed matrass is very soft!!

    Friendly personal, tasty and good breakfast. Not far from Emmen center and close to main roads.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    geen tissues in de badkamer, sloom internet en douchen in bad

    Ligging, bedden, kamer

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good no complaints .

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room was a little bit outdated, no fridge and small tv instead of promised big screen

    nice new bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, Staff, comfort.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heating did not work even when I got my room changed, was very cold all night, never stay there again. Breakfast pretty average.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet is sometimes poor.

    The staff and the restaurant for dinner are great!

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Hotel ten Cate Emmen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: