Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hoogeveen 3 stars

Mathijsenstraat 1, 7909 AP Hoogeveen, Netherlands

#3 of 3 hotels in Hoogeveen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 580 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean, cost effective, safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty beer, broken window latch, chewy eggs at breakfast, location not suitable without car, poor information regarding local services, noisy people in hallway at 5am and again at 7am having long conversations.

    Property, terrace, reception, cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    I left an important folder at the breakfast table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left an important folder at the breakfast table. One of the staff members went out of her way to personally deliver it to me at Hoogeveen Airport. Thanks so much!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Cool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for a bussines trip. Nice ribs in the restaurant. Also try the sushi part of the hotel nice food. The hotel is also right next to the highway so you can't miss it. Gas station accross the street also Mcdonalds and stores. The staff is friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    Room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single bed was not really adequate, with a very thin mattress on top, which moved. I actually fell out when turning over in the morning. As an older person, I'm fortunate I did not hurt myself. As I was in a twin room, I pushed the two beds together and slept in the middle - which was better, but not ideal.

    The staff were really great and breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    6.7
    The reception and the dining area are already renovated and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs some renovation. The hotel is located next to a busy road and the room was quite noisy.

    The reception and the dining area are already renovated and look very nice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant sleep-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Very nice breakfast the decor of the Hotel is trendy amd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast the decor of the Hotel is trendy amd modern the rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Location and price was okay, only too hot
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, it was 37 C degree and such a small window ☹️ At least provide a fan in the room

    Location was good, near to center/city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    The restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    pleasant, better hotel services than expected
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not everybody will appreciate the location, at the eadge of town

    nice room, nice buidling, friendly service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Beds were great as was breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son’s bed had a sheet with questionable spots. Floor wasn’t very clean.

    Beds were great as was breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, comfortable and welcoming stay😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would benefit from tea tray in room ☕

    Lovely, helpful friendly staff, fab location, comfortable rooms 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    The bar and restaurant area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old and needs to be refurbished.

    The bar and restaurant area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    The restuarant and bar area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old, need to be refurbished.

    The restuarant and bar area. Very nice Sushi restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost everything is good, especially the beds were comfy!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Free parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far by feet from the towncenter, breakfast could be better, rooms are not nice

    Free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Bad smell in the hallway outside the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in the hallway outside the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. But it's only two floors 🤣. No Outlets near bed.

    Free parking. Nice bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    location location location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location location location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, great breakfast, very nice people.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    rooms were not up to date but they are renovating..

    Breakfast was good, love the suikerbrood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.8
    Easily accesable, good price, good service clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort, price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    2.5
    Grim
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty smell and grim atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    5.0
    Been to better hostels!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price really did reflect the quality. Noisy rooms and poor decor.

    It was cheap

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    4.2
    awfull
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was like abuilding site. people smoking dope. smashed window in room overcharged

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    3.8
    Location
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are very rude. On two different days with different staff, I had to complain before they even took notice that I was waiting at the desk; one was taking a personal phone call; the other refused [!] to help open a problem window in my room. Also room sparse, matress poor and and no kettle.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    5.8
    WiFi is free & easy to use!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very old!!! Oldfashioned hotelroom locks with actual keys. Very noisy hallways. Dirty & old carpet in all the hallways! Breakfast was ok, but they ran out of yoghurt really quickly (none for us and we were even early). No soap in the bathroom.

    WiFi is free & easy to use! The Restaurant is excellent. Great food! Parking is free and nearby.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first morning going in for breakfast..the gentle man greeted us and showed us where we could pick a table to eat. Not so the rest of our stay. One morning the lady barely looked up from the paper she was reading and did not tell us where we could sit..so as we headed down to the area from the previous morning..it was closed. so we looked around where to find some table with cutlery on them. Reception staff never talked to us. No one would be at desk when we dropped off our key to head out for the day..(it was too big to carry in our pocket which we was not an Issue) No one said anything when we returned..just looked at us when we asked for key and gave us our key. Maybe it was not regular day and night staff since it was Easter. I do not know. Our issue was that the staff were not very friendly towards us and did not make us feel welcome. With the exception of the lady on the day we left and the gentleman on our first morning there.

    Location was good. we were never more than an hour away from the family we went to visit or to the sights we wanted to see. Breakfast was good and plentiful. On our last day the lady at reception was first person at the reception desk who was very pleasant and talked to us.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    The 'older' gentleman steward - he was an absolute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cannot think of anything !

    The 'older' gentleman steward - he was an absolute star. Very good food in the restaurant and of course the bike hire :)

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff...good location ideal for a short stay ..rooms are clean basic great for an overnight stay..the hotel has a bowling alley attached with a good bar

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    7.5
    the restaurant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and especially the bed.. Room was too small and the bed was uncomfortably soft... almost sinking to the floor... and very narrow. Very bad.

    the restaurant area..

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.1
    Good value with a basic breakfast included in price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Mainly the location for us because we'd come in by train. Got to station, no taxis and not clear where buses stopped. Did find one but had long walk to the hotel and because no signage to indicate where hotel was, we ended up going in the back way through the gardens. Signage however very clear from motorway. Beds were a bit too narrow for my friend and the mattress kept sliding off hers!

    Good value with a basic breakfast included in price. Staff were extremely helpful. Room was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    2 mins off the motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    2 mins off the motorway.Excellent food in the restaurant.Good choice at breakfast. Rooms were very quiet.Large car park

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    6.7
    Price is okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A tad rundown; beds are old and saggy.

    Price is okay.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff extremely helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not applicable

    Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Staff went out of their way to source a taxi.restaurant excellent food .

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Easy to get to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to get to

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Location, food and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds too soft for our tastes!

    Location, food and price.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Solo traveller

    Good location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Waiter at dinner inexperienced.

    Location

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: