Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Titus City Centre 2 stars

Leidsekade 74, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 PM Amsterdam, Netherlands

#375 of 447 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1065 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.6
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an awful smell for somewhere in the room since day one and just got worse, made it very difficult to get comfortable. Luckily I did not spend much time in the room as I had a great time in Amsterdam but it was pretty disappointing landing back to that.

    The location was great. The facilites were fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy doors banging in corridor

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location and in a quiet area. Clean bathroom and plenty of space in the room. Good value for money with adequate facilties for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal. it’s less than a 5 minute walk to Leidseplein and tram stops nearby. If coming with a group I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Not bad, close to Leidseplein
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room #6 is by the front door where guests hang out and smoke. If the windows are open, and it had to be due to the temperature during this visit, you get loud conversations on top of the noise from the trams, traffic and occasional emergency vehicles, and secondhand smoke. Also, the hotel sign plugs into the room; it was very bright through the shower-curtain-like curtains. There are three beds in this room. For specious reasons, Booking.com doesn't give info on the cheapest way to get to Hotel Titus (or anywhere else in Amsterdam). If arriving from Schipol, you can buy GVB city transportation tickets for different lengths of time up to six days that give you unlimited transport. You can buy the multiday tickets at the tourism shop in the airport or just spend about 2.50 euro for a one-hour pass from the bus driver. Exit the airport and take city bus 69, transferring to tram 5, which will take you almost in front of the hotel at the Leidseplein stop. If you buy a one-hour ticket from the bus 69 driver, it's card only, no cash. Same drill from Amsterdam Centraal--buy a ticket from a machine or cross the tram tracks to the city transportation GVB ticket office, take a number and buy your ticket. You can buy mulit-day passes on the trams from the attendant toward the back of the tram. These options are much less expensive than the ones Booking.com suggest.

    The manager was nice, thoughtful and switched us to a bigger room at no additional charge. First room was like a college dorm room, tiny, with private bath slightly larger than an old school phone booth down the hall. Second room had bath en suite and no stairs to climb, which my broken leg appreciated. The second room is suitable for young partiers, but not for families or older couples--bring earplugs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, clean room, great view of canal -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and external bathroom was at times annoying

    Excellent location, clean room, great view of canal - perfect hotel for a solo traveller

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great little hotel:))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing which I would say was bad, was that the real is about 90 degrees at night!! Was constantly waking up sitting outside the window and it's really noisy outside too.

    I liked that we had an amazing view of the canal and the beds were comfy, cleaners would come in daily and bathroom was clean too. Really good for price and location is so close to everthing, we hired bikes for the 3 days we were there also, which was great for getting everywhere. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    We booked 3 nights but only stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs so steep they were dangerous the beds were filthy and stained with what can only be described as urnine the staff are rude and it’s full of people smoking weed when it’s stated as a non smoking hotel.

    There was nothing to like absolutely awful place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location, basic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phisical situation of the room. Stairs! Unbelievable stairs, not suitable for elderly people, no elevator. Very expensive as all Amsterdam hotels but....

    Location, stuff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like the location of the hotel which is close to everything. the room for three was spacious for us exactly what we needed just a bed to sleep in. We barely sat in the room and we kept the windows open for some fresh air. If you have big luggage you should always watch out the steep stairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Mice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My family and I found a mouse inside the bedroom and we informed the staff. The day after they told us that everything was fine and we shouldn't worry anymore. However, the next night was even worse. We slept with more than one mouse inside. The day after I asked the staff the refund about the last night and I was informed that they couldn't refund me because I should have seen the mouse earlier (in the second night).

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved the location! Clean room, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 4th floor and it was very warm up there with no air-conditioning, just a small table top fan. The shower flooded the whole bathroom which didn’t bother us too much, it wasn’t great stepping out on to a cold wet bath mat but if you stayed for a longer amount of time it wouldn’t be great.

    The location was great! Right on the canal (we had a great view from our window) in a fairly quiet area but on a very short walk to restaurants and shops. All the staff were very nice. The room was quite large and had comfortable single beds. The bathroom was very new, very clean with a hot shower with good pressure. The WiFi worked well. The hotel has bikes to hire which was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Handy location and good view in a very basic room, just ruined by disturbances on ground floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on street level by front door so noisy and had people smoking outside our window which could be smelt in room, not good to give to family group with a child.

    The location had view of a canal. Easy for airport bus stop. Let us check in early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Super close to the melkweg and nice soft beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear the upper and side neighbours very good. So when you want to sleep and you are a light sleeper, be prepared to be woken by other people in the hotel. The curtains had burnholes from cigarettes.

    I liked that there were 4 single beds and a small bathroom. It is so close to the Leidseplein and thus the melkweg and paradiso. That makes it great for a stay after a concert or something like that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    Simple, comfy place to stay that's really close to main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a hostel and as such the facilities are very minimal. The rooms don't have double glazed windows so you do get noise from the city but this didn't stop me from sleeping fine. The rooms are sparse, as is the decor, as are the bathroom facilities but you have all the basics that you'll need and generally the rooms are clean too. I had no issues with this hotel what so ever as I was simply using it as a place to sleep - but it's not a hotel, it's a hostel, so as long as you have your expectations in the right place you will enjoy your stay here.

    Staff were friendly and tried their best to help within language constraints (I was fine as they spoke English). Location is great and a short walk to lots of sights. Very simple setup so you can come and go as you please. Fresh towels were provided each day and they would give the room a bit of a tidy up as well (I don't believe sheets were changed though but that wasn't a problem as far as I was concerned). Being close to the centre of the city was a big plus for me, but not so close that you couldn't sleep from the noise - the perfect balance. To give you an idea, It's a 30min walk from Amsterdam Central station, it's about a 15min walk from the Van Gogh museum, 12min walk from the Rijskmuseum, 12min walk from Madamn Tussauds/Grand Palace, 15min walk from Body World.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Its comfortable to stay, clean but very steep and narrow stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts or elevator. The stairs are steep and narrow, really difficult to go up with luggages and it is up to 4th floor. Could be ok for hand carry suitcases only to carry upstairs. Stairs are dangerous. When its summer no fans or aircondition

    Bathroom is nice, looks contemporary. Staffs at front desk are accomodating and helpful. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    2.9
    I spent three sleepless nights due to no control of noise level at a high cost hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The level of noise needed to be controlled, spent 3 sleepless nights at hotel in which I paid over $1,200 USD which is over the top high price and not worth it.

    The noise level was out of control, felt I was staying at a hostel full of college students instead of a hotel with normal levels of noise. The room was not very clean, linens not clean either...overall the biggest issue was the constant amount of noise level after hours of people shouting, loud music, dancing and music and nothing was done to correct issue after many attempts contacting front desk. My rating is POOr and DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in, I think, the smallest room (2 beds) and it was a bit small.

    Great location just inside the old city. Quiet area but just a short and very picturesque walk into the centre. Freindly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been overcharged they charged me for 2 separate days and then charged me again for a 3rd I only stayed for 2 days The stairs are a a death trap Very steep My partner is pregnant and we were on the top floor with no lift Staff did not advise of WiFi code Soap in bathroom didn’t work and neither did the tv

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with relatively good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very steep and narrow stairs (4 floors, no elevator).

    Kind and helpful staff. Heating wasn't working well on our room so they moved us to another with better view. Big rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have clean and nice room on the 4th floor of the hotel the location was OK and beds also comfortable but a little bit tiny. Their staff also really kind, helpfull and so nice people! Thank you very much Dear Jonathan!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Room is very packed and compact.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just A bit dark

    Room is very packed and compact. Location is good with walking distance to everywhere. But if you come by train, you need to walk 30 minutes to reach out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    We stayed in the family room just above the hotel's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a smell of cigarettes in the room. There was some unpleasant smell in the bathroom.

    We stayed in the family room just above the hotel's entrance. The view was magnificent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    It was fantastic as mentioned - We had a better room than requested for the first night :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A -

    We arrived at the hotel to find our rooms not cleaned from the prior visit! We told Johnathan on Reception and he immediately upgraded us for a night to a higher-quality room - Great customer service and excellent care

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    A delightful hotel perfectly situated for visiting sites,museums etc .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror in bedroom Didn't realise coffee was available till last day ,my fault

    Really comfortable beds Great view Very helpful staff Pristine bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Good property for sightseeing and night life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a mouse in a room. We got the other room without nice view.

    The position is nice among museums and centre. The view is wonderfull on the nearest channel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly located, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the third floor and there was no lift, stairs were very steep and we had our elderly Nan with us.

    More English channels on the tv, hotel was perfectly located and vending machine on ground floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but incomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms, very very very small bathroom (we had room n°6), avoid having ground rooms, it's noisy and too close to the street (you hear people steps), very unconfortable beds

    Clean hotel, clean rooms, good location (30 minutes walking from central station), the hotel location is in old Amsterdam and most of the rooms have view on the canals. Hotel staff is nice and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice place close to museums and other things also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were a bit too soft for me.

    Warm and dry. Clean and practical. Hotel is in quiet place, and it's easy to get to any part of the city. Steep stairs are everywhere, in other places too, and are not really a problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Way better than expected will 100% return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs

    Most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. Tv with a good few channels. Nice bathroom with very good shower. Everyday room was cleaned and we got fresh towels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was slightly too soft to my liking and noises from the outside can easily be heard from the inside.

    We were lucky to not get the rooms in the upper floors so we didn't have to brave the steep stairs. Our room was also positioned by a canal so we enjoyed quite a view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Best value in some time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need to oil that bathroom door, otherwise, no complaints.

    Outstanding value for location and what you get. Very small, basic room with toilet, but one doesn't come to A-dam to stay in his room. Convenient 2 euro beer and snack machine. Beds very narrow, like a cot, but very cushy. I had no trouble sleeping. Far away enough from street traffic noise but a stroll to Leidseplein.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    We do the best , and trust the rest is handled for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com rate out of 10 but that's not logistical when hotel ratings are out of 5... Which is not the best rating system

    That it has a private bathroom vs a hostel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Very basic accommodation but not unreasonable for rate paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room was not non-smoking, but after first day I was moved to a much larger, better room. The gentleman at the front desk was very kind and helped improve my stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.6
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and needed to be redecorated. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to a friend, it was totally over priced. The stairs we're extremely dangerous too. An unpleasant experience

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Our stay at Hotel Titus was great. Can't fault it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if we were informed about the breakfast available in the hotel at a low cost! However there is many restaurants within a 2 minute walk that offer lovely breakfasts!

    The bed was ridiculously comfortable! My friends and I were genuinely amazed by the comfort of the beds. Staff were very helpful and helped with anything we needed. A 397 bus from outside the airport takes you a minute walk away from the hotel for 5 euro pp which is much cheaper than the taxis! WIFI is very strong and there is discount cards for many attractions and events around the city located at the desk of the hotel. We are already planning our next trip to Amsterdam and are definitely returning to this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Broken windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing I was extremely disappointed with this trip is that we had 2 rooms booked, a room of 2 (Room 1) and a room of 3 (Room 6) the window in Room 1 was broken, it would not full close and with it being the middle of December with below zero temperatures at night this caused a shivering draught during the night. Room 6’s windows opened and closed as normal, but also let a cold draught in at night, as a result of this 3 members of our 5 man party had fallen ill by the time we had to check out on the Sunday. After consulting with a doctor upon arrival home, it seems that we have all contracted the Influenza virus. I feel sad writing this review as in the past I’ve had nothing but good things to say about the staff and Hotel Titus it’s self, but hoping that this review will cause concern and alleviate the problem for future guests.

    This is the third time I have resided in Titus when I have been in the city. The location is excellent for me personally, a short 10/15 minute walk to the nearest street of bars, restaurants, fast food restaurants and coffeeshops (if that’s what you are looking for, there’s also a small local one 50 yards across the street which opens quite late).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was not the best when you shower water and floor will be wet! no place to charge closer the bed hard steps to get the room

    the position and the quality of the staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    4.6
    For the money I paid I expected a hotel. Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the money I paid I expected a hotel, instead I a got converted townhouse / hostel. I would expect to pay no more than £60 for these rooms not £115+tax.

    For the money I paid I expected a hotel, instead I a got converted townhouse / hostel. I would expect to pay no more than £60 for these rooms not £115+tax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    Only stayed one night as flight was cancelled, was ok, very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a very basic hotel, you get what you pay for. Tv didn't work. Good for groups of friends as you get three beds, even though me and my partner only requested one

    Was close to restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    2.9
    DESASTER. DO NOT BOOK !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    DO NOT GO ! Tiny rooms, no towel exchange, matrace old and worn out. loud party crowd, pot smelling place, for 140 Euros a night !!! Nightmare and total cheek !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location and fair confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean but not perfectly clean (dust under beds, that kind of details).

    Very good location (lots of restaurants and bars, close to public transportation, downtown by foot not very far). Very friendly and helpfull staff. Quadruple room is large, has a view. Beds are confortable. Fair quality/price taking into account that Amsterdam hotels are very expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was basic yet it was great value for money and it was in a perfect location, it cost us 10£ for an uber into the very centre. I would definitely stay here for my next trip to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Good stay at titus
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, bit over priced for what it was, but is still ideal for 2 night stay for two people in a twin room

    Good location, comfortable bed, decent shower, friendly guy at the desk showed us around. the rooms were cleaned beds were made. great tram connection or 25min walk to central station, lots nearby aswell in this wonderful city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Great Location, near everything. Clean, spacious room. Good value for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one outlet in the enter room -- I suggest you bring an extension cord with multiple outlets if you need to plug more than one thing in at a time (phone chargers, hair dryer etc..) There was a safe in the room, but it wasn't bolted in to the wall -- not secure. The noise level from our "neighbors" was very loud...but that was more the fault of the guests than the hotel. The neighbors on the other side of us were much more respectful and we heard nothing from them. No street noise at all. But, all this being said, even though it was a bit pricey for a 2 star hotel it was much less expensive for the location (center of town) than other hotels in the area and I would stay here again -- and hope for better neighbors next time. :-) Location and spacious, clean rooms, and good price for the area make this hotel a good choice.

    Great location -- near everything. View from our family room was amazing -- canals and quaint buildings. The room was spacious with 4 twin beds for our family of 4. Our room had a little "sun room" window area which we really enjoyed. Hotel staff were helpful and spoke good English. Warm rooms for a cold winter stay. Clean rooms, good hot water in shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Upon arrival check in was very smooth and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival check in was very smooth and easy. I was offered to either use the 100 Euro (£92) deposit as payment or was also offered a refund and the option to pay the total with cash. The holding deposit was refunded instantly when I opted to pay the booking in local currency with cash Bed was extremely soft... maybe a little too soft but not too much of a concern. The room was presentable and clean and the staff were also helpful enough to let us choose 1 our of 2 rooms and also carried our bags up the 3 long flights of stairs. Staff were also kind enough to extend the check out period by an hour and also offer to hold our bags while we enojeyed our last moments in the city bag free

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Would recommend if you want to visit all attractions as all within less than 30 minutes walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The steep stairs but we expected that and when offered a choice of bottom or top room we opted for the top one so was our choosing.

    I had a few queries before we travelled about the hotel securing a deposit authorisation on my card and they replied very quickly and was very helpful. The room we had was kept very clean with towels renewed each day. A lovely view over the canal from the room. The 197 bus from the airport was very convenient, only costing 5 euros each way, and very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Great Hotel, Fantasic Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isn’t as close to the city centre as I would have liked.. although there’s some lovely shops around the hotel

    The staff were fantastic and so friendly! Rooms were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    This was ideal for our short stay. I would certainly book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Titus is a fairly basic hotel with limited facilities, but this was reflected in the price. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was basic too, but it was clean and comfortable with windows opening onto a courtyard. The location was perfect-nice and quiet yet close to cafés, restaurants and galleries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle and tea/ coffee making facilities in the room would have been a bonus.

    Staff were very helpful. Iron available if you ask. Bed was VERY comfortable. Bathroom was new and everything was spotlessly clean. Easy walking distance to all the sights. Would definately go back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location, walking distance to all the sightseeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many steep stairs over 4 floors; wouldn't be suitable for people with limited mobility.

    Great location, walking distance to all the sightseeing spots in the centre. Good cafés, bakeries and coffee shops nearby :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    Never again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know where to start!! Twin room was freaking small, too small, sheets were dirty, full of yellow and greasy stains, towels were the same, walls are thin as paper so you can hear everything. Asian guy at the reception is the worst receptionist ever. He is rude and doesn't have any manners. He is not interested in anything guests have to ask and doesn't take his face off his phone, not even when talking, if he even hears what you have to ask! And imagine, they even have the nerve to charge 1€/1.50€ for a paper cup coffee after taking more then 380€ for 3 nights!! Who is crazy here? Plus, be careful about your stuff! They enter the room when you leave the hotel and please, dont't tell me you're bringing CLEAN towels!!! Location is not what makes your hotel great and expensive! Go educate yourself if you have no clue about hospitality!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Best Location for Bachelors can stay who do not think value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For disliking - Smell was there in room. Noise was there from the other rooms. Stairs are very steep very difficult to take luggage with out any help. Not a single water bottle as complementary.

    For liking is only and only the location is very near to city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    This is an incredibly over-priced hotel, with very steep...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an incredibly over-priced hotel, with very steep stairs, no lift, extremely difficult to manoeuvre luggage up and down. Very lumpy beds. It's central and it's in Amsterdam, but it's really no value for money at all - stay somewhere else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Was a pleasent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep

    Was a little walk from the central station but was good for traveling with friends well located right by bull dog cafe and many other attractions/shops

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.8
    Overall the location makes it expensive but its great for a night out in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light wiring in the room was hanging off the wall (Roon 12 if you want to put this right), only one plug socket half way up the wall so you had to balance your mobile phone on the charger (or bring a long cable), the beds were marshmallow soft and you can hear every conversation in the rooms next to you. Overall the location makes it expensive and if you going to have a night out in Amsterdam and you don't mind a bit of noise (as it was only talking after all) then it's a great choice.

    It's clean and the staff were super nice, allowing us to check in early at no extra cost. The location is fantastic and I think that is where the price comes in as this (in my opinion) is not a £130 per night hotel. The shower and toilet facilities were really clean which is always a good point to mention. Lots of bars and food nearby and we walked there from the Central Station in about 25 mins and I would use it again as, for the area, it is probably quite cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    overpriced, very expensive for a tiny, dark and uncleaned room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I contacted the hotel after booking and asked to pay in cash. the told me it is not a problem and they need the card just for garauntee. eventualy the charged my card v...

    the location is great but the room is very small and overpriced

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Ok. If we wanted a romantic stay, we probably would have searched for another place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So tiny wc that it did fit just that - the wc. Noise every night just outside our room. The room was facing a backyard which was used by potsmoking angry englishmen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    We payed cash and the receptionist was very patient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was alot of stairs, steep ones at that

    We payed cash and the receptionist was very patient and thorough with the counting process being in a foreign country and being quite skeptical this was very reassuring

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Im not sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First we booked a room for two for over 110 euro per night. When we arrived we were shocked - the toilet was in a closet, I could not close the door staying inside. I'm a girl of 60 kilos so i dont know how a grown man can even enter. The shower was separated from the room by a door made from glass still being in a closet. Yep. We stayed 4 nights and for 3 of them we had problems with towels. First time after cleaning we noticed that there were just 2 of 5 towels left. I went to reseption and asked about it. We were given what we needed. Next day there was same story but after mentioning they forgot to bring it. Finally the last night we went to sleep early as we needed to leave early at the morning. And... there was a party in the yard. There is no condition in the room so we had either listen to the music, biological sounds and smelling weed or enjoying 26+ degrees with a closet window. And we were on the 3 floor so each time you go to reseption you go down a narrow amsterdam-style staircase.

    You can reach any place in the city centre by foot. When we asked our was changed. So choose the room from the photo and contact the hotel first to avoid such situations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    Loud, dirty, wet ... way too expensive ... not with kids!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a so called family room, we payed 549,-€ for two nights - in advance - ... no breakfast! But it was more or less a cellar room with small (20 sm) windows pointing right to the street, dirty walls, cable hanging from the ceiling, tiny bathroom. Whenever someone was talking on the street, you could hear it. It took the kids (5,9,12) till 23.00 to fall asleep. At around midnight water was dripping from the ceiling on our faces, beds and blankets ... the kids woke up and were really scared ... they man at the reception called the owner of the hotel that told him he can only arrange something the next morning. In the meantime, we should pull the beds to a side where no water is dripping. No other room no other hotel was offered ...! The kids didn't want to sleep anymore ... scared ... the next morning, we said that we leave the hotel and the owner wanted to charge us 180,-€ as we booked for two days! After a longer discussion we got a refund of 449,- what left us with 100,-€ for the worst night ever!!!

    ... gute Lage!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor value for money. Room had dangerous electrics (no back cover on plug, see photo).Very noisy, with shouting and doors banging all night. Avoid at all costs

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.8
    Do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It was loud, unsafe, smelled like weed, men were yelling at 6 am below us getting in a fight & our kids were afraid. We almost called the police.

    That we were able to cancel and get a refund.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.2
    Expensive with no positives inside
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid an excessive amount of money for 2 nights. I think it was well over €400 to be put in the basement. Im over 6ft and i could not fit in the bathroom without having the door open its that small. The rooms are tiny for the money you pay and the walls were covered in dirt and other stuff i cant even explain. I was refused entry when i came back late one night even though i had all the details of where i was sleeping and which room. Luckily the guy i went with left the door open a jar. I know its 2 star but they should charge 2 star prices. Only good things is the vending machine for beer and location thats it.

    Location but thats it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Stuffed in the Basement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the room in the basement with a view of the street at sidewalk level. The room wasn't advertised that way and it made us feel like unwanted guests stuffed in the basement with the hotel storage and laundry.

    We're a family of five, so being able to sleep in one room was ideal and less expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    great location. clean. but quite the opposite of luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite a lot of stairs to climb. no elevator. which was fine by us, but not for some people.. the room was tiny. again, fine by us, but not for most (adult) people, I think.

    great location. clean room and bathroom. nice people at the front desk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.5
    Very good experience
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's no elevator. Didn't miss it, for old people it's maybe a challenge to get up the very very steep stairs!

    The location is just on point! If you wanna go eat something the Leidseplein plaza is just 2 min away by foot. There are streets full of restaurants. Steakhouse, Pizza, etc. If you get a room that has the window on the street side, you just won, because the view is just amazing and you get sunlight in the evenings! The beds were VERY comfortable. You can rent a bike from the hotel and just in front of the hotel you can park it. I highly recommend getting around town with a bike. You get to feel like a local and you're faster wherever you'll go. There's a big park near the hotel. It's called Vondelpark and I highly recommend you to go for a ride through it. You can relax in the nature and you get some exercise after a lot of amazing food ;-) Yeah and pretty much all the museums are within 5 to 8 min of bike ride, since the hotel is very good located. If you want to go to clubs there are a few in the street full of restaurants with is like already said very nearby. We loved them. A great idea for spending an evening would be to go to the bulldog restaurant/coffeshop when they have a karaoke event going on.They are also in the Leidseplein Plaza, just go ask when they have the karaoke. I experienced an amazing atmosphere! So if you dont mind some people smoking weed there, you can have a decent burger with fries and enjoy all the passioned and some very fun singers. Pretty much every museum we visited was no problem for the ticket except the anne frank we didnt get to see because the were just to many people waiting in line. for the anne frank i recommend buying the ticket online at an earlier time, because online ticket buyers can see the museum in the mornings till 15:30 I think and the ones buying the ticket at the location can just go after 15:30, but because pretty much everyone buys them there you'll be waiting for hours and hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Good location, not for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft. The room was too small for 4 single beds. There was no room for 4 bags of luggage. It's a party hotel, not for families, the other guests were very noisy and came back very late and made lots of noise.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.8
    Crap hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing put us in an attic and the rain came in as we had to keep the window as it was clostaphobic. They conned us for more money the last night we had to pay as they were going to put us out.

    The shower that's about it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Terrific desk man
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had paid for ensuite facilities but my bathroom was down the hall.

    Dennis the evening desk man was a great ambassador of the hotel and Amsterdam. He was always cheerful, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Great location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was so small, lack of storage space, we found bugs in our beds and the shower drain didn't work properly it would flood our bathroom.

    The view and the location was great, the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    perfect for one/two days trip to Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small, but enough for a one night stay

    It´s right in the center of the city; a good choice if you want to visit the city without using public means

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Amazing view of the canal and the most comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but not the worst thing, huge windows with lovely views which can cool it down

    Amazing view of the canal and the most comfortable beds!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is located next to the train and bus sations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs are really narrow. I do not recommend the hotel for families with big baggage. There is no elevator in the hotel. The facilities inside the room is not new.

    The hotel is located next to the train and bus sations. Also tou can get to/from airport by direct bus. the city center is easily accessible by trains near the hotel. There are several restaurants and cafe as well as supermarket around the hotel. the neighborhood is really vibrant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Everything you need, very steep stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are very steep, plus our room was on the top floor (4th) so very tiring if running up and down to the room

    Everything was about 20 mins walk away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.0
    Good location but you need to have the agility of a mountain goat to get to your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm 70 and were given a room at the top of 65 very steep and narrow stairs (there's no lift ) - no help was offered with our luggage. No tea-making facility in the room The hand basin was unusable because the tap was much too big

    Location was close to tram stop and easy walking to bars/restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Titus City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: