Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Torenzicht 1 stars

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 DD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#294 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1650 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I always enjoy staying at the Hotel Torenzicht, it's just a great hotel and great value for money. If I have to say one thing I didn't like is the heat. The rooms are so hot. That's fine in December or January, but in the middle of June it can get real warm. Thank goodness the hotel provide you with a room fan, without it I'd be cooked.

    I really do love this hotel. I think my visit just now 21st June - 24th June to attend the Roger Waters concert at the Ziggo Dome (what an unbelievable show he put on) will be my 5th time staying at the Hotel Torenzicht. It's so central, the staff are always chatty and friendly (a big hello to Pascal and Anna) from the Irish lad who always sat up the stairs in the corner of the bar, cheers for making my stay just that bit more relaxing. Also a big hello to the night time barman (never caught his name) red head guy. Cheers for the chilled vibe up in the corner, even if it was way after 4am. I just want to say Hotel Torenzicht is just great. It maybe a 1 * hotel, but I'll give it 5 *****.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin can hear everything at night, fine if you're young

    In a perfect location, staff are very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers are clean and always available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As this is an old style property it does not have a lift and is accessed by steep stairs so not suitable for people with large bags or mobility issues. As it’s in the busy red light district can be quite noisy late into the night

    Located in the middle of the vibrant red light district in a traditional style building. Walking district to everything Amsterdam has to offer. Easy walk from the train station and Includes a continental breakfast which is a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was noisy until quite late on weekends Lights shining through the net curtains

    Breakfast was good value Staff really nice Location excellent if you want to be amongst it all as on red light district which also makes it close to all main attractions and near to central station Room was basic but a good size and tv with bbc channels The shared bathrooms there were plenty of them so no queue and were clean I would stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fit two suite cases in the room with re arranging or tripping overvthem

    For two people with suit cases and travellinf for a month ir more the room had little or no storage for suitcases otherwise hood Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation was possible just by window to the noisy street. Showers where a bit dirty (but clean if you take into account,that they were shared). Breakfast was simple, missed there fruits or vegetables. They should be more eco-friendly with dish and packiging on the breakfast. Stairs are a bit steap,be carreful with heavy luggage.

    Staff was great, let us to leave our baggage in the hotel before check-in . Location in the red light district,but actually it was positive point-exactly in the city center, REALLY safe with many cameras in whole hotel and check in the reception before entering the hotel. Room was nice, beds were comfortable. Breakfast was simple,but good. Can just recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could do with an upgrade

    Absolute culture shock, but it was fun. The hotel is situated in the Red Light District which for some might be exactly what they are looking for and then it is perfectly located. We've had fun and the people are really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the top floor were incredibly steep. We are fit and reasonably young however there was no process in booking to establish that. My mother would not have been able to get to the room full stop. No disabled provision or warning. Shared bathroom was minute and I am only 6’1”

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the window curtains lay on the floor and the shelf above the sink was broken. Apart from that the room is quite ok, nothing special but definitely clean and good enough.

    The hotel is only a 10 min walk from Central Station and in the middle of the Red Light district. We arrived in the middle of the night which was no problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The house is typically Dutch which means narrow and steep staircases. Being in the Red Light district, it is quite noisy at night and coloured lights flash through the windows. This was no problem for us as we expected it, but can be annoying for more "sensitive" travellers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there when the weather was very hot, my room was on the top floor and there was know air con in the room I had to have the window open all night and got bitten.

    The location was good only a 15 min walk from Centraal train station, the breakfast was nice too the usual continental breakfast bread, meats, cheese, boiled eggs and scrambled eggs, tea, coffee etc. The location of the hotel is right in heart of the red light district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was poor, the rooms and the hall of the hotel were so small with narrow stairs. The staff was ok, but the cleaning ladies did not change the sheets.

    The location was pretty good and very near to the city center and central station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are thin so if you don't like noise then you may not enjoy this location.

    This property was fantastic. The location couldn't have been better, we were right in the middle of it all. The staff were helpful and friendly, ensuring we felt comfortable at all times. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathrooms were the same! The breakfast was brilliant and included in the price. We would happily stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot at night making it difficult to sleep - some fans would have easily solved this.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming and the price we paid was excellent. I wasn't expecting the world when I booked this hotel and it certainly exceeded expectations. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift....no facility for an early breakfast nor a take away option....small rooms....too noisy at night.....

    Close proximity to the train station and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cramped up and I could hear noises till late night from the bar just outside. The toilet seat was broken and shower wasnt too comfortable either. Location on booking.com says 3 mins from red loght distruct but the hotel was in red light district

    Breakfast was good and so were the hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep, but that is to be expected in that type of building. It was loud at nighttime but OFCOURSE it would be in such a prime location.

    The location was perfect, the beds were super comfy, the facilities look like they've only just been installed, the staff were lovely, it was super safe and great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs are a bit crazy, good exercise though

    Staff were friendly, location was near everything, breakfast was free and decent, great value for money, beds were comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not in room, although plenty to choose from up and down the hallways so am being real picky.

    Great location if you want to be in the heart of it all, staff are amazing, friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's in a great location if you want to be in the middle of the action, it was my first time in Amsterdam and I loved it, there is so much to see and do and the hotel sits right in the middle of all the action especially at night time. The rooms are simple and clean, would have been nice to have an ensuite but it wasn't really an issue the toilets and shower rooms where also very clean every time I used them. If your a light sleeper I would recommend some earplugs as the street outside doesn't sleep till very early in the morning again that didn't bother us it was fun just watching from the window all the hussle and bussel. If you want to get the feel of the red light district and the business of Amsterdam this hotel is the perfect location. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is one word one to describe our 3 night staying: BEDBUGS I couldn’t manage to sleep properly not even one night. My body is full of bedbugs bites and as a result that destroyed my holidays. Not even one night of peaceful sleep. It is appalling that Booking.com doesn’t care and doesn’t set standards that a hotel should meet in order to be able to have access in their platform. We Spend so much money do a hotel from hell!!!!

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was quite loud at an evening, but if you are booking so central its kinda to be expected.

    The staff were all super friendly. The hotel bar was pleasant and served a good range of drinks at reasonable prices. The rooms were fairly basic but all the facilities were clean and very usable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seats in the bar are a little uncomfortable.

    The staff are so chilled The room was exactly what we wanted They have vending machines on each floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found bed bug on the last day and I got many bites. Steely steps hard to carry luggage. Smell people smoke from other rooms. Noisy area right in the Center of Red light district, can’t sleep from 11-3am. Wall too thin can even heard TV sound from next door.

    Breakfast included only from 9-10am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no lift. Even though it says as much in the description. The stairs are horrendous (no really) trying to haul your luggage in and out. This hotel is in the heart of the red-light district. If want any sleep at all it will only come between 5 am and 8 am in the morning. It's ironic that they specifically tell you that there is no smoking in the rooms and yet the hotel is and sits over a bar. I would really call this a dressed up hostel sitting over an all-night rave carrying on outside. To be fare, this was my first time coming to Amsterdam and I was looking at price of a room and location from the central train station more than specifically trying to stay in the red-light district. I now know better.

    The rooms are clean and they were good about dropping off new towels daily. It is a great value comparatively for the area and if you are on a budget, which I was. Breakfast is included and quite nice for the price, however, be aware it is specifically only served between 9:00 and 10:00 am. Don't worry though, there are plenty of restaurants close by to find a good meal to eat. It is a great location if you are specifically wanting to stay in the red-light district of Amsterdam and plan on staying up all night drinking and going carousing with your buds. The staff were friendly, professional and the hotel was easy enough to find. A good value for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have a bad word against the property at all

    Excellent security to the rooms and the main building the rooms are what you pay for although room 11 has a great view of the streets clean comfy beds ..fresh towels soaps etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window needs noise and weather isolation, wc may be cleaner (there wasnt soap for 2 days)

    Friendly stuff, good location, well breakfast, safe entrance, clean sheets and towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is more suitable for young people due to its location and very steep stairs up to the rooms.

    Locates in the red light district, very central, but nevertheless felt very safe. Extremely friendly stuff. Perfect for a short stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside the hotel is very noisy at night time, and this noise travels. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Located in the heart of the red light district Staff were very friendly and helpful Shared bathrooms were very clean and room towels replaced daily Breakfast is 9am-10am each morning. A self service buffet of bread, jams, chocolate spread, peanut butter, cold meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, orange juice and hot drinks. The hotel lets you leave your luggage after you check out The bar/reception is open 24hours, and they take security very seriously. You can’t get upstairs to the rooms without everyone showing their room key. This is very reassuring and you felt safe sleeping in the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roome is very small and they give us roome there is no shower and wc inside it it was sharing wc with anthor room we stay at room 18 and we booked for 2 night but we left the hotel after one night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny very little to offer for the price payed, no air conditioning at all and not easy to access.

    Staff were pleasant and the location is central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible. The stairs are a bit crazy and steep but we found it quite fun. Not good if you have a suitcase though I imagine.

    The staff were friendly, ideal central location, the breakfast was great. I would stay again, as it was good value for money. Especially when you compare the price to other central hotels. It is a basic hotel, but that was fine for us as we were out most of the day and night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit loud at night due to being in the Red Light District but I never struggled to sleep.

    The room was very spacious even though we asked for an extra bed. The staff were very friendly and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not problem for us, but for someone with motion problems steep (and I mean really steep) and narrow stairs might be an obstacle.

    Friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was quite rich - everyday the same but no problem for couple of days. Rooms and facilities were equiped rather economicaly (corresponding price), but everything was clean. Hotel is right in the Red light district, so be prapared for some noise from the street, but that is no problem if you go to sleep after midnight :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the men who worked in the hotel was very cheeky! As I had asked if he could print something off for me and he was really rude/ cheeky about it.

    Room was more than just one star. Comfy, clean and great location. Also had a tv with British channels. Food in the hotels restaurant was really nice aswell and good prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Hotel smelly, room smelly, washroom worst ever. We cant sleep properly as the room is too smelly. We dont mind to stay at an old hotel but the room given to us is too old and smelly. They need to renovate their washroom.

    Nothing, only good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilet are in one small little room, almost like a cupboard, the shower was blocked and so was our sink in our room.

    The bed was comfy, right in the heart of the red light district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay. Excellent location. Friendly staff. Able to leave suitcases before and after checkout which was fab. Clean and good size rooms with comfy beds. Shared bathroom though but was clean and just outside room. Breakfast times good was self service and continental. 24/7 bar downstairs 😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the red light district the room was very noisy from people walking past the hotel. There are also flashing lights that go all night across the alleyway and can be a bit annoying. Inconsiderate guests in the room next door to us talked loudly all of our first night until 6 a.m. We thought they were on the street outside until they opened and closed their door and their talking continued. Thankfully they moved on the next day and things were a bit quieter after that. We used ear plugs though to sleep after our first night and this helped. The narrow staircase to get up to the room would be a challenge for some people and awkward if you had a large suitcase.

    Central location was handy to a number of places of interest. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was great! The room was clean and tidy and the shower and toilet worked well and were kept clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs and the outside noise but was the expected when you are in the best location possible

    The staff very friend. Good breakfast . And amazing location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    That rude lady manning the reception / bar between 1800hrs to 0030hrs. The RUDEST person I've ever came across with. It won't hurt to show a bit of politeness even if you're having a bad day or not happy being at work. There were also bed bugs on the bed to make my stay from worse to worst!

    I like its location, in the heart of the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staffs both male and female workers at the reception! Really cocky and unhelpful. Also my item worth £150 went missing that i left it in the room and went back to get it a couple hours later. The cleaner prob took it, but the receptionist was being suspicious like he knew that the cleaner took it. Really disappointed finding a reasonable price hotel but. Worst service ever as well as as item being stolen.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the hotel and from the outside of the hotel kept us awake.

    I like the location as it was in the centre of the red light district and had everything at your door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were more like snake pit! You can hear the next room they can hear you,it was like a basement! Shared bathroom was so small that you can not fit it was impossible to sit and close the door! The shower was in the same place it was so small even for one person! And it wasnt cheap so ı definetely will not stay in this hotel ever again! Even most of the hostels are way better! And ı am not talking about the stairs ı have never seen that small and steep stairs in my life you literally have to climb to your room! Worst experience ever!

    Location,breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 toilet in out floor for 4 rooms with up to 3 peoole per room. There was an older guy working the bar night shift who out straight told us he doesn't like taking card payments late night/early morning and we had to pay cash, it was a 24hr bar. Wasn't a big selection for breakfast

    The location was right in the center, the staff we met during the day were great and the bar was 24hr so after everywhere else shut down we could still get a drink

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold weekend and the room was not warm enough. Small botles of shampoofor everything .. we didnt have soap for hands

    Great location, great hospitality especially from the barmen Pasqual, great bar, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy at night but that’s expected being in the heart of the red light.

    Great location, staff really friendly and helpful would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms, but definitely can put up with it cosidering it's the only downfall.

    Good location, good staff. Perfect for a weekend away to experience the real amsterdam

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds were so hard but so comfy location was amazing staff so polite theres a door that they have to buzz you through and at 1 point must have come back and forth about 10 times in a hour and every time they had a smile and said hello were most people would get annoyed . the heating was so warm wen required the showers were cramped but had hot water and were clean defiantly recommend this hotel if you wanna be were all the action 5 mins from train station 25 mins to museum district and 0 secs to the red lights all in all made mine and the wifes trip to amsterdam amazing thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hope you like stairs xD but really if I can make it up three flights after dancing until 5 am at Techno Tuesday you can too!

    The location is unbeatable if you want to stay in De Wallen, rooms are very well kept and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small amd a bit overpriced. Forgot to tell us to always carry all keys with us and one of us ended up staying outside in the cold until I went for the key on the first night. Didnt even bother to atleast welcome the other person to the bar until I get the key.

    Location is excellent, enough shared bathrooms and showers. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Busy street right beside the infamous red light district, I wouldn't recommend it for families but for our lads holiday it was grand.

    Super friendly staff and secure property, it suited out stay perfectly. Right in the center of the action in Amsterdam, clean, cozy and great value for money. Will be booking again when it comes to my next Amsterdam Trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is great, we stayed for 1 night and it was so easy to move around during the night. The room was okay, just as I expected, the beds were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast times as it’s only 9/10 should be till 11 as most people are probably up late

    Over slept for bfast so can’t comment room was clean and comfortable I had a twin to myself the bathroom was shared with only one other twin room so was clean and free all of the time it’s in a perfect location fab for money even without food will definitely go again my room was on the first floor with only one other room all the others was upstairs didn’t see any of them I did see some bad reviews but my stay was 8/10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor decor/cleanliness of the stairs and the steepness of them were tricky to get up with a cabin sized case and the 'shared' bathroom was basically a cupboard with a toilet and very dated shower. The room had twin beds but 1* would be a generous grade for this hotel. We knew it wouldn't be great for the price we paid and didn't expect much however it was pretty grim and we were glad we only stayed for the one night. The continental breakfast was also disappointing. The staff were friendly and we could leave our cases with them in the bar.

    The Location was in the heart of the Red light district.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i had a red light view but not the one i wanted as i had a room in view of lady boy alley

    staff were all friendly bar one of the female staff members, she was rude to other females i traveled with. all for them using there apps on there phones that had noise playing off them. everything else was as expected from my point of view, toilets and showers ( Shared ) were very clean.. thumbs up from me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor cosmetic issues, but nothing important.

    Very central. Unbelievably close to everything. Plenty of shower rooms and toilets on my floor. Very accommodating staff. Breakfast more than adequate for the price. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms and hallways are looking a little tired and were rather messy. Breakfast is a little inconvenient being only for an hour - 9-10am from memory so you might need to adjust your itinerary

    Bathrooms are of high standard and location is great if you want to be near the city centre and red light district if you like that sort of thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were cold. We had no toilet roll. When they gave us clean towels. Still no toilet roll. The guy on at the bar at night was very rude.

    It was right in the city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom could be warmer, and smoking in the rooms could be seen as an improvement, considering the destination.

    i enjoyed the quirkiness of the building the sounds coming from the streets in morning, the bedroom private sink and the location. It was close to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The breakfast was poor, sour(gone off) meats And rubbery scrambled eggs. But no problem, there's lots of places to eat for breakfast close to hotel. - The bed wasn't the most comfortable. The pillows need to be replaced, they're very 'lumpy'.

    -Location is great, right in the center of RLD, so close to all the attractions, bars restaurants etc...bting ear plugs if you want a peaceful slrep though! -Very friendly and helpful staff. -Secure. I felt safe here as a solo female traveller.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One persone from the reception was kind of rude once, but nothing serious.

    It is close to everything, central station, red light district, damn square, Anne Frank’s House, supermarkets, subway, everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs, stairs, stairs...

    Location is perfect,in the middle of Red Light District. Great location for walking around and exploring this part of Amsterdam, especially during the night :) Really nice breakfast, and I really enjoyed unusual check in the bar...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The communal bathroom was OK, but it would be nice if they cleaned it more often. Also the mold in the shower was too much.

    The hotel is in the heart of Amsterdam and everything is within walking distance. Plus our room was very warm!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints 😊

    Second time we’ve stayed at this hotel, placed litterly in the heart of the red light area. Great bar, very friendly staff. There updated restaurant is reasonably priced. Breakfast included, Shared bathroom but this wasn’t a problem... definitely going back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady worker. Got to the hotel and instead of checking us in she played with her friends dog. I asked her could she check us in an I got the reply don't rush me.. we then went to say we have just been on a plane then a train I got the comment back "oh walked from the trains station have yes" regardless how short or far we walked we wanted to relax... An then she said if I want to fight then I could wait till tomorrow. I explained I don't want to argue or fight I just want to put me bags in my room and relax. Not a good start to the journey like!

    You can smoke indoors after 1pm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility did not meet my expectations at all. The bathroom were small and the stairs carpets were ripped. Steps were steep. Breakfast hours could be extended and the menu could be similar to the one at St Christopher-Winston

    Staff was excellent, polite, and had a good amount of knowledge for sightseeing/places to go around Amsterdam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty with old carpets. My friends and I found a tiny insect on the bed which we think may be bed bug. Got sign of bites on my hand after staying. Narrow stairs and hard to carry luggage up to the room.

    Nice staff and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom was slightly inconvenient, especially if caught short, however you could nip downstairs to bar toilets.

    7 guys on a trip, £40 each a night including breakfast, what more do you want, a 24 hour bar? Well it had one 😀

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast but they said would be served only from 9am which was something strange for me. I missed it as I had to check out early. Mostly they are served from 6/7 am in other hotels. Old rooms and stairs. Shared bathroom and shower were in pathetic condition.

    Location: Right in the middle of the red light District.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lecturing receptionist, reception area stinks of nicotin smoke, staircase of urin. Filthy, rundown carpit and walls in a dreary room, unconfortable beds, suspicious spots on the sheets and cushions (swapped on request) not a single nightstand to put your belongings. No way to sleep because of the street noise (single glased windows). Worst ever hotel room I've seen, huge disappoinment in booking.com.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One particular member of staff was a little abrupt when challenging my ID

    Location is great for many attractions. Only downside of location is lack of tram lines in that part of town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shared bathroom is very tiny, no elevators and the leaders are soooo tiny to the extend you can't even move with your leagues, you can slip very easily, breakfast was only one hour from 9-10 and you can't have earlier

    location is perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were steep ( typical of Dutch houses). Walls are a little thin so I could hear my neighbours and also the windows. My room had bedbugs!!! Got bitten twice, HOWEVER the staff were really nice and moved me to another hotel free of charge.

    Rooms was a good size, location is in the city centre. Staff were attentive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite steep stairs but it's amsterdam so every reasonable priced hotel around the red light district will be the same

    Rooms were nice and warm, staff are friendly and helpful, location was amazing and central to everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haha the stairs.

    Fantastic location for anyone who wants to be right in the thick of it. A lil rundown but very clean. Best hotel in RDL. stayed before, would defiantly stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Torenzicht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: