Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Trianon Hotel 2 stars

J.W. Brouwersstraat 3, Oud Zuid, 1071 LH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#405 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2324 hotel reviews

5.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.9

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    4.8

  • Staff

    5.8

  • Value for money

    5.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing to stay in bad hotel when Amsterdam was a great and enjoyable place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were very small wash hand basin was in room toilet seat was slack room was dated and shabby. Hallway was smelly and carpet looked dirty.

    Nice quiet area close to trams easy to get anywhere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Good value considering location and price. However the rooms and the hotel in general are not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the carpet is everywhere and it is not the best for cleanliness -Sloppy room

    - The hotel is in a very good location. Near the museums area. - It is cheap enough compared to the prices in the area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Really good location, right near the museums and a tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little bit dirty but really nothing too bad.

    Really good location, right near the museums and a tram station. For a reasonably cheap two star hotel, the room was pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.8
    I felt tricked by what this site show and what the place actually was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about this place doesn't match what is described on booking.com There is no TV on the room, there is no car park at the hotel, the pictures displayed at the website are not accurate. Onto the room one of the beds got a broken leg thankfully we stayed in a 6 bed room and only needed 4, the room was dirty and the toilet is disgusting specially the water flush cord which once was white and now is brow and hold by a cable tie. The price for it is extremely expensive but it not stopped 2 people on my party from leaving the hotel after the first night and look for something better elsewhere. Unfortunately I forgot to take some pictures to add on this review.

    Nothing, I came to the room slept and left as soon I woke up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a big bed bug problem! And a lot of flies were in the room as we entered, possibly due to the window being wide open. The room wasn't cleaned properly before our arrival.

    The location is very good. Close to museums and good distance from the centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.5
    Worst stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was infested with bed bugs. And when we checked out and told the receptionist he made it seem like it was out fault. He never apologized for the situation nor tried to to anything to fix it. As we left he said “it’s Europe everywhere has bed bugs”

    The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.5
    Bed bugs are true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -bed bugs is true -dirty bathroom - needs renovation -not worth 240€ for 2 nights without breakfast - made us pay at check in rather than check out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squashed room, like on a ship. Breakfast gets removed at 10am, with no regard for the fact that the breakfast was paid for before 10am. Very stuffy smell in the bedroom.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, small and hot rooms. Granted, there was a heat wave... but it didn't even cool off much overnight.

    The beds were comfortable and the room seemed clean. And the location was amazing! A few minutes from the museums and a grocery store a couole hundred metres away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't particular helpful, the rooms smelt terrible and the top bunk beds didn't have anything to stop you talking off the side.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Cleaner than expected after reading some of the reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But of a trek from the station but does have direct tram to the station just outside the hotel.

    Cleaner than expected after reading some of the reviews. Very basic room (as expected) a kettle would have been nice though. Good location for site seeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    Definitely will come back to Amsterdam in the future but will not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a BED BUG on our first night which was not pleasant and resulted in us sleeping on top of the beds with our trousers tucked into our socks and long sleeved shirts on so we wouldn’t get bit!!! It was a bit noisy at night but not too bad. I would not recommend this hotel if you have children it seemed to have more of a hostel vibe.

    Good location, there is two tram stops right outside the hotel which were great for traveling to the train station and on to the airport. Don’t bother wasting money on transfers and taxis, the tram and train is the cheapest way to get around and they are very regular! If you’re into art etc, the Museumplein is two minutes away over the road. There wasn’t much to say about the hotel other than it’s location was great. It was very basic and small. Fresh towels and toilet roll everyday. Was just somewhere to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant experience. The room was dirty-especially the wc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty-especially the bathroom. When I first entered in my room I called the staff because the bathroom had not been cleaned! Someone came to clean it up but he used a small quantity of toiler cleaner and toilette paper!!! I stayed 3 nights and only one time someone entered only to change the towels. In the room and in the corridor there was a smell like coming from the drainage

    The only advantage of this hotel is the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom weren't clean. No AC so it was hot during the night.

    Good location! Tram station in the corner so very easy to move around the city! Perfect for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    The 8 bed room was clean and spatious, location was amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was the size of a portaloo and the walls were a bit grungey but for the price can’t complain.

    The 8 bed room was clean and spatious, location was amazing, close to tram stop into centre, open 24/7 so no worry about how late you got back, right next to the IAMSTERDAM sign and park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location with friendly staff, however he facilities were certainly not adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire bathroom constantly stank of urine, the bath was clogged with hair causing the water level to rise to ankle height when having a shower. The room was unbearably hot at times with no option to use the outside balcony due to it being chained shut. The beds contained bed bugs, one of my companions being bitten upwards of 27 times in a single night. The hallway leading to our room also stank of pickled sewage.

    The location was very central, close to the Rijks museum and central Amsterdam only a 15 minutes bike ride.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Perfect, except for bedbugs abd poor response to this from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually, everything was good until we found bedbugs on our third night. A quick check by a staff member. Way more bed bugs next night, and absolutely no response from Francis at Reception. Said he would tell manager when he came in after our check out time.

    The location was wonderful - close to the museums and lovely little restaurants, and far quieter than if we had been in the central area. We loved the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn’t stay here again if Rembrandt was reincarnated and giving out free art lessons😂
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress of the bed was too wide for whatever base was underneath...I almost woke up on the floor a few times. Could only sleep face upwards as whatever the hell was happening with the room or the building, if you slept with your ears to mattress nothing but a ruttling vibration in your ears. The bed made me itch from head to toe and the room was dirty and dusty. Terrible hotel, and I’ve stayed in some horrible places in Amsterdam.

    The location and staff were all good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Not far from the centre and easy access to teams and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room is standard for a budget hotel, nothing amazing, only good if you’re going away with a group of mates

    Not far from the centre and easy access to teams and bicycles. Would definitely recommend the bicycles!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    A place sufficient for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby corridors and lift. Room too small and too hot, nothing to cool it down. No fridge in the room. Poor entry hall/waiting place. Terribly weak light for the evening/night. Extra pay for breakfast which was meagre.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was great, close to the city centre and all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bunk bed and in a very limited space so it wasn't very comfortable to get in or out of it. The room was quite clean but it didn't feel fresh. There was supposed to be a shower gel but the bottle was empty and the towels weren't too clean either. Overall too expensive and could do with some improvements but ok for one night if you're not planning to spend much time in your room.

    The location was great, close to the city centre and all the most interesting places and yet very nice and quiet. The staff was very nice and friendly. The room was a bit small but ok for one person if you don't need much space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Fab district to while away a day or two or three.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the 3rd floor way..way..to hot no air conditioning and no fans available, the air doesn't circulate hence it smells a bit. A cup of tea/coffee device would be nice. Don't expect your sheets and towels to be changed everyday every third. So if your fussy you ain't gonna like it.

    Location.. location.. location..next to the concert hall.. airport shuttle a 3min walk..and a 3min walk to all the best museums...the cheapest souvenir shop in Amsterdam I should know it's my 4th time and the best burgers at the food crib all there. A fifteen minutes walk to the best coffeeshops in DAM.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.5
    Wouldn’t even bother
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, always far too hot, no lock on the Bathroom, housekeepers just seemed to walk in when ever they please, staff weren’t interested in giving guest any information. Would have rather stayed in a tent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    Amsterdam is good but not the hotel we have chosen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, we took the 8 people dormitory room, it's too small for 8 people, shower and toilet are together, no air condition in a hot weather , the lift is very small and old, only up to third floor and we stayed on the 4th floor.

    Location is good near the tram station a d good supermarket and museums

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a mirror in the room would have been nice.

    its a budget hotel , thus its small with small rooms but location is good, was clean and it has all the basic amenities. if some one doesnt want to spend alot on lodging, its a good place to choose. staff was nice and helpful. has a resturant. many of the bus and tram stops are very near.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy to find. Tram stop 1min away. Easy going, helpful staff. Open all night. Check out time 11am, really convenient. The place is a good value for money. No extras, no disappointments. Will book it again next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    its not a hotel is a hostel with a great location
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed bugs, flyes really poor cleaning. sheets were dirty and the room smells

    the location was the best thing about this hotel, great location. walking distance from museums, and all the publics transports.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Good place for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NIL

    Cooperative staffs but other guests were smoking at the balcony despite no smoking within hotel area including balcony. Hotel staff gave warning to those concern but to no effect...those Spanish young guests were still smoking day n night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    + localization, localization, localization :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well for a rather competitive price for A'dam you cannot expect much, do you :) - there was a bit of a stink in the bathroom - beds are quite small (narrow) - breakfast - have it only if you really need it otherwise go out and have a decent breakfast

    + localization, localization, localization :) + reception staff is really nice & helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    A good location, but a disappointing room, especially considering the rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small, cramped room. Hanging space minimal. Just enough room between the bed and the wall for a suitcase parallel to the bed, no other storage space. Some guests a bit noisy late at night. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Location is great. Next to concert hall, across the road to van Gough museum and Contemporary Arts Museum. Ten minute walk across the park to the Riljksmuseum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    The room is clean and the location is actually very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of the room has a very strong odor that is so disgusting. We can even smell it inside of the room sometime.

    The room is clean and the location is actually very good. It is near to Van Gogh museum and Rijkmeseum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Really great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It really was a fantastic hostel

    Great location, right beside a load of museums and a tram right outside that'll bring you everywhere you'd want to go in the Dam Super comfortable for a party of 6 friends Great privacy for a group of this size REALLY GOOD VALUE, great bargain for what you get Bathroom facilities we're great too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a budget hotel/hostel it was a lot better then I expected and a lot better that other have stayed in will be staying again

    Location was great to get in and out if the centre easy tram stop on the door step

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Good price for Amsterdam and perfect location for museums...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old decor could do with repainting and new flooring.

    Good price for Amsterdam and perfect location for museums and a few steps from airport bus 397 Museumplein stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.3
    Dirty tiny room, for a big price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was the most terrible place on my memory, dirty tiny numbers, the number without repairs and does not fit the description and photographs. Also, the hotel is not in the center, the main streets with coffeeshops, shops and restaurants will have to get another 20 minutes on the transport. for such services I am ready to pay the price both at the hostel, but not at the hotel!

    not far from Van Gogh Museum

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    I was looking forward to go back home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is less expensive than other hotels in Amsterdam, but I am not sure this is really a criterion anylonger. I was sleeping in a very small room sharing the small backyards balcony with another room so that was not even safe to keep the door open for the hot night in Amsterdam, given that there was no other option to ventilate or cool the room. I had to pay immediately just arrived without even have the chance to see my room, and I was told this was the policy of the hotel while in front of me there was somebody paying after 7 days stay! The room was without the chair (I took it from the balcony probably from the other room) and the table to work was hardly supporting the laptop.

    Only the position close to the Museum area with trams crossing by few meters far, and the toilet, which was surprisingly as big as the space to sleep (in a double vertical bed)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    I stay only one night, because no payment was done to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com promise may stay but at that hotel is not usual that people can stay more than a week. No parking available.

    I stay only one night, because no payment was done to the hotel and I was forse to leave because I can’t not pay at that moment. At that hotel no body can stay more than a week. No free parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice location but that is about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place provides extremely basic amenities. It felt like the availability of an attached shower was princely!

    Location was really convenient to visit the major museums. Access to transport is good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.5
    Wouldn’t come here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff come into your room whilst your in there and do maintenance work. They just walk in. The staff were rude and accused us of smoking in the balcony when we couldn’t get out there. We literally walked into our room and someone was in there. Rude. They could have been going though our things. We wouldn’t have known.

    All that I liked was that the beds were comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    It is really really a budget hotel, I am not even sure if you can call it a hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not clean, No papper in the bathroom, We asked everyday ro get one No room service Smelled tribble in the room Very low standard

    Friendly personal, Location, Bagage room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Terrible place to stay, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The review is automatically having me give the hotel a 2.5 review (with all the choices set to the lowest possible satisfaction. I booked a double room but was given a twin room instead, and was not even told this when checking in. The staff was rude the entire trip, which surprised me as some reviews mentioned the staff being nice. The elevator is extremely unsafe, the room was not cleaned once during the trip, there was underwear of the previous customer in the trashcan as soon as we walked in. There was a strong smell of humidity in the bathroom which was very disturbing as I am allergic to mold. The hotel is extremely expensive for being such a bad hotel, and there is a tourist tax which is absurd for the quality of this place, which I would not even call a "budget hotel". The value for the price was extremely disappointing and I would not recommend this hotel whatsoever. If you have no place to stay in Amsterdam, it is better not to go than to book a room at this hotel.

    The beds were clean and comfortable, but that

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    The location only
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk guy was really rude with me and almost bit because I was sick and sneeze on the lobby . So disrespectful to me .... don’t stay there cuz if you are sick he will invite u to go out of the property

    The location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Was clean and tidy and he room was well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very small and broke down on our 2nd day

    Was clean and tidy and he room was well maintained. Good breakfast served and the Chinese restaurant was very good if a little expensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rather tatty finish to surroundings although all the details were correct and I wanted for nothing. It was all clean and my bunk was very comfortable

    No croissants. Terrible bread. Freshly boiled eggs. Good coffee. Decent cheese. Only margarine. No butter option. Plenty of jam/honey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Its location puts this hotel in a very nice spot in...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Positioning of the beds was not so good but acceptable

    Its location puts this hotel in a very nice spot in Amsterdam. Close to the museumplein and all the main museums. Recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.9
    I’d not recommend to anyone to stay there and I’d never stay there myself again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -My room was just above the kitchen and I could hear the noise all the time! - smell from the kitchen - bad smell in the shower tray - the room was very expensive as for a budget hotel so I’d at least expect to have a kettle and teas/coffees in the room and even that wasn’t provided what would be done in any other self-respected hotel that would charge as much as that hotel - the room service person seemed very ignorant and hasn’t done anything in the room

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, near museums, public transports and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window did not close properly, so sometimes we coulfd feel cool air coming in, which was not pleasant.

    Excellent location, near museums, public transports and a supermarket (where we have to pay in cash); it is also near Corner Bakery a lovely place to have a healthy and delicious breakfast or lunch. The hotel is near the bus stop where you can get number 397 to the airport. It's also a very quiet zone. It's also possible to leave your luggage at the hotel after check-out time. Staff members were very kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Location was great, walking distance to the Reijksmuseum, easy to reach from the airport too. The front desk is open 24 hours which is very helpful. There's an elevator (not so common for budget hotels in Amsterdam), and even though the room was small, it was cozy and we had a nice balcony too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.3
    The unhappy icon is not a low enough rating. Place is a disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. I started with a lower expectation because it was a budget hotel. However issues of safety and guest well being were never a priority. I will take it up with customer service.

    Nothing. The hotel is a discredit to Booking.com

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room carpet was stinking, no daily room cleaning service, no phone in the room, washroom fittings are very old, dirty curtains, not at ideal for families. Horrible stay

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    I liked nothing about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like the last renovation was more than 30 years ago, it's not clean and it smells bad.

    I liked nothing about the hotel. Quality is much lower than the price. Location is comparatively good for those who'd like to visit museums but that's the only positive thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    The place was not really clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The place was not really clean. I was expecting cleaner place for such a price. Some of the staff are nice, other don't even bother in saying hello.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.2
    The position near some tram stops, Vondelpark and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, hairs everywhere: on the floor, in the bathroom and on the sheets. The radiator for two nights out of three didn't work. They never cleaned the room in the morning, just replaced the two big towels for the shower wherever they were, while those left on the floor were not replaced ever. Bad smell of moquette in the whole building.

    The position near some tram stops, Vondelpark and Museumplein is not bad at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I had to tuck my shirt into my pants and my pants into my socks so that I wouldn't get bitten by the treacherous bed bugs. I also had to buy a sleeping bag to ensure that none of my skin was touching the bed.

    It was nice to get new towels every day. Location was good. The 8 bed dorm was good and we had a balcony which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location, price isn't final
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is very bad. It feels like household internet for a whole hotel. Didn't need it to much as we were gone most of the time. Also, like the rest of Amsterdam, hidden charges. They don't clearly disclose city tax information to make it look like they're cheaper than they are. I turned up with the fare advertised on booking.com to discover I hadn't got enough. I'm sure they're not the only ones though.

    Location and they provide plug adapters for just a little deposit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Clean hotel, close to the City Center!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good localization - 20 min by walk to the City Center:) It looks like a hostel, not a hotel. But for this price, you'll not able to find better hostel. recommended !!! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    I dont think i would stay here if travelling with family
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The heating in the room was poor and rooms were really too small for dual occupancy. Good for single occupancy.

    The location is excellent, and very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    If you plan to only sleep and wash in the room then go for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell from the restaurant next door filled our room, then lingered. Room was tiny and very outdated, a lick of paint would do wonders! I'm pretty sure the lift is from the 1900's.

    Close to tram/bus stop. Close to museums. Room was clean and fresh towels everyday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.8
    The room was warm and comfy staff were disrespectful and unwelcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude and there was one girl in particular who worked a night shift when we arrived.. she made no effort to be welcoming and was on the phone to her friend chatting to them while booking 8 of us in! Very unprofessional and disrespectful not helpful with any questions we had and continued talking to her friend on loud speaker as we were trying to communicate with her. A disgrace.

    The bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.0
    Clean, but never again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rude , not experienced . Ongoing works on hotel and they do not serve breakfast !!! Its cheese ,toast and ham with some fruit and corn flakes with tea and coffee !

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfriendly staff, lack of cleaning (they did not clean our room in three days), the room was in a poor maintenance condition, kitchen smell in the room....NOT RECOMMENDABLE HOTEL

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.6
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DO NOT STAY HERE! I came for 2 nights with a group of 4 other friends, we stayed in the room with 3 bunk beds, though out our time here we came to realize there were bed bugs! we were bitten all over and we were made to feel very very uncomfortable and itchy. When we spoke to the lady at reception she gave me the managers email and said that they're trying to work on it! WORK ON IT! this is basic hygiene and they should not allow people to stay until it has been sorted. Completely put a downer on the whole trip.

    good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.4
    It was a very ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the hotel seemed strict on no smoking it’s literally all you can smell throughout the hotel. The shower curtain and bathroom smelt extremely strong of smoke it was almost unbearable

    It was a very ideal location. Comfy bed and room was kept warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.5
    dont go to this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff discriminate people and they are racist. the booking should change this hotel from hotel to hostel.

    the property uses a lot of fake photo to present his hotel. this trend shall be stopped. booking shall send inspector to double check the photos on the website and the reality of this hotel. the staff are absolutely racist. this property is not hotel, rather it is hostel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Very cheap, very clean, pleasant staff, 15 minute tram from central and 3mins away from Van Gogh Mus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were informed the restaurant would provide breakfast for €5 however it was literally bread, sliced meat and corn flakes that were included in the breakfast ‘buffet’. We were not informed of the available choices until after we paid; however, the staff refunded us the amount when we explained we would rather eat somewhere with more options.

    It was very clean considering the room rate was only €70 for 4 nights per person. I was afraid of bed bugs due to previous reviews I read but I was extremely happy with the cleanliness of the room, as were the 4 other occupants. Housekeeping came round every second day and renewed towels etc. for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Don't believe all these negative reviews. Was a very good place especially for being so cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top bunk was ridiculously high and had no sides. Constantly feared I was going to fall off!

    Very close to Amsterdam centre Excellent price, pleasantly surprised for the amount paid

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    Simple hotel really close to Rijksmuseum, but it could be cleaner and with better facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room and they gave us a room with 6 beds which was really cold. We asked the staff if it was a mistake and they told us that for that night we had to sleep there. Then, we insist on our double booked room and at the end they gave us a double room which was pretty warmer.

    It was really close to Rijksmuseum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, definitely be back..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps on the stairs were very narrow.. We had a leak from the floor above us, we were moved very quickly to the top floor so more sets of stairs.. No fire escape..

    Hot running water & the beds were comfortable..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    3.3
    Location was close to transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms smelt like sewage, the Windows didn't close properly so water and cold came in. It just looked dirty overall, peeling paint and mildew.you could hear everyone outside the rooms, so super noisy.

    Location was close to transport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    I saw girl on the front desk fighting with customer while they explained the situation of bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Bunk Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Hotel had bed bugs issue although we didn't suffer from it but other people did.

    Location is very good, tram stop and a super market just on the corner. Van Gogh and Risjks is at 5 mins walk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.3
    Horrible. Bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for 3 nights got home yesterday. I woke up every single night with more than 5 bits my foot is still swelled up now and itching like mad. Bed bugs deffently!!!! Basic value for money rooms small bathroom small and smells like the sewers! Was so loud at night you could here the room above you walking back and to opening and shutting there draws. Alarm going of in there room! All night. Also a man think he was Dutch walking up and down th corridor about 1am on the phone talking loud not arsed if he woke anybody up I was about to go out untill I hear my neighbour to tell him to shhh. Bed was never changed or room cleaned just clean towels brought in! Stunk of Chinese but there was one next door with a access door from tnthe hotel to it so not sure if they own It to never ate there didn’t want to after learning the hotel has bed bugs! We landed at 9am I had already requested a earlier check in when I booked but still had to walk around and sit in lounge till 2pm for the room. Never stay here again added photos ken foot and arms. I always have 2 large on my face

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, great rooms for groups of friends, easy to get to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear everything going on in other rooms and below us

    Comfy bed, great rooms for groups of friends, easy to get to Leidseplein and Central Amsterdam by Tram

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Great and calm location close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our mattress on the bed was too soft and not comfortable at all.

    Great and calm location close to the city centre. Breakfast wasn't very variable but it was sufficient and good. Room was very small (14 m2 including bathroom) but clean. Personnel was also kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this room for granddaughters. They were very disappointed. There were bugs in the bed in two different rooms. Staff was not very concerned about this. The rooms & bathrooms were quite run down. Other than great location would not recommend this hotel.

    Location was excellent, within walking distance of many attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    2.9
    niente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is not really a hotel. There are about 30 3x2meter rooms that are inadequately heated, dirty and have mildew. The window didn’t shut correctly in our room so there was a draft of 4c air coming in. My companion went to request service, and the receptionist said, “is there rain coming again?”. Obviously one of the many rooms was, let me say, problematic. The receptionist’s justification was that it was cold outside and was not the hotel’s responsibility for the weather. Eventually we moved to a new room. It was dirty and the curtains had mildew or some rot. Incredibly small for two people. There is no service, rooms were not visited during our stay. Even though the adjoining restaurant is where you have breakfast (in theory, we didn’t since there was almost no food for 15euro), twice there was no receptionist since he was at the bar in the restaurant. “Hey get out! This is not the hotel” I was told when I pointed out that there was no one in the reception and the guy working there was at the bar. On the plus side, there is hot water in the shower. I have been to Amsterdam for work / pleasure many times. I realize that hotel prices go up based on demand, but this was really ridiculous the price they ask for this since its more like a one room hostel. Quality price 0/10. Never go to this hotel

    niente

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Budget Trianon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: