Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 't Waepen van Veere 3 stars

Markt 23-27, 4351 AG Veere, Netherlands

#6 of 14 hotels in Veere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    A very good hotel, as long as you can cope with fairly minor access problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best to avoid Tuesday, which is market day. No fault of the hotel of course, but it makes access even more restricted.

    A most enjoyable start to our recent trip, a very good hotel in a delightful and scenic small Dutch town, and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The only slight problem, almost inevitably given the fact that the hotel is in an old building, was the fact that stairs were steep and narrow, and corridors small, as was our room, though we knew all this when we booked, and it was never really a problem. Car parking wasn't easy, it was possible to park briefly near the door to load and unload, but overnight the only real option was about half a mile away, though the walk there and back through the old town was interesting, which made up for this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay.......and would come again......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We found the bed was a little harder than we are used to....but okay, bit surprised no English TV, except for BBC1 but all we needed....Breakfast could have had choice of cereals and the Toaster was very slow but then that is a problem with most Hotels.....Staff very pleasant and helpful

    Superb Bathroom, Very Very Clean and Lovely Shower, Great Towels....very friendly staff in spite of the language problem....Perfect spot in the lovely little town, so pretty and just a step away from the canal and water, couldn't be better.....lovely little shops......

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    bar and restaurant area was superb and the staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was like staff quarters rather than the luxurious room depicted at the top of the advert. And although there was a reasonable picture of this room buried at the bottom of the advert, that i found after my stay to see if there was false advertising, who looks through loads of pictures to get to it? Bathroom was adequate, but not pleasant,Sink in bedroom not bathroom. and the door wasn't even a whole door! TV didn't work and was a box from 1995. Carpet terrible. Furniture from the same period as the tv and looked cheap. If i had been travelling with my partner i would have refused to stay in this room. Tiny room with twin beds in and no room for anything...useless as a twin..make it a small double. no iron. no place to put luggage. This section of the property is in dire need of refurbishment. It was a €50 room not €95 Its a shame to write this, however if I don't they will never know whats wrong and make it better!

    bar and restaurant area was superb and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful stay in a nice hotel in Zeeland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window could not be opened competly (but room on the groundfloor, therefore reasonable).

    A family-run hotel with friendly and helpful staff in the georgous town of Veere. Parking is within walking distance. Very clean and renovated room. A small, but very tasty breakfast buffet and the meals in the reataurant are marvellous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Little Gem , well located for cycling holidays .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs are very steep not easy for elderly people, room 14 excellent !

    Boiled eggs fresh , breakfast a little limited, could do with more fruit , otherwise excellent !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    Good situated hotel for sportive and fit people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steps to the rooms in the upper floor are a joke. For people with reduced mobility almost not to tackle. No lift available. Very old fashioned and small room with old funiture. WiFi is extremely poor. Room is a bit to expensive for what you get.

    The restaurant of the hotel is amazing. Great situated in the middle of Veere. Breakfast is very good. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    We were upgraded from small room to large room, without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No screens in windows. Lack of reserved parking space to unload luggage.

    We were upgraded from small room to large room, without requesting it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is great, nice staff, breakfast disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foood at the breakfast breakfast was insufficient. For example at 9.00 AM the yogurt was gone

    Location, atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    very pleasant staff, always willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have prepared fresh fruit, and maybe omlettes

    very central to a wonderful part of the country

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast.
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast. Friendly Staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Cycling in veere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.2
    Owner very helpful and lovely person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff on duty in the morning seemed a bit unexperienced in delivering a friendly service atmosphere.

    Owner very helpful and lovely person. Nice ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Excellent restaurant and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only some of the rooms have been renovated. The main issue however is the softness of the beds. Stairs are extremely steeply angled, which causes difficulty with young children and / or luggage. Wifi does not reach the bedrooms.

    Excellent restaurant and very good breakfast. Central location. Rooms well cleaned. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.9
    Very good restaurant to go with the fine hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is the main problem as it is expensive to park anywhere near the hotel.Also,the town is overrun by day trippers.

    Very good restaurant to go with the fine hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    - friendly staff, easy check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - WIFI didn't reach our room (number 1) - we hoped that the bells from the town hall would stop earlier, but part of the charm of an old city center

    - friendly staff, easy check-in - location of hotel - room more spacious than we expected, nicely decorated - fruit available in the room - great breakfast, not a huge selection but compensated by the freshness of the bread and croissants

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The upgrade was a lovely surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None

    The upgrade was a lovely surprise Staff were very helpful and friendly Room was lovely and spacious and warm - after a windy cold day. Refreshments were very welcome Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and well presented The view on the little square was so pretty

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    A very quiet location, except for the hourly chimes of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have liked a kettle and tea making facilities in our room - we do like an early morning cup of tea as we wash and get dressed

    A very quiet location, except for the hourly chimes of the local church bell.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    The location and the food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing !

    The location and the food was excellent. We had a room with a garden view and was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly, good service, nice location in center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, good service, nice location in center of Veere. Discount for parking through the reception, parking at short walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.5
    The Lokation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Lokation.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    The luxury room was really nice, clean and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The luxury room was really nice, clean and quite. Food was great, not cheap but hood value for money.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse 't Waepen van Veere traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: