Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre 4 stars

Vredenburg 14, City Centre, 3511 BA Utrecht, Netherlands

#26 of 30 hotels in Utrecht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2644 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony hand railings were on the low side.

    We were in one of the two rooms on the room (516 & 517). It was a huge room, very clean and mini balcony was very nice. Staff helpful and friendly, the location is very close to the train station and local restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Who Cared about the Room? It was all about Music!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was absurdly expensive.

    We were in Utrecht for one reason, to attend the concerts of the Festival Oude Muziek. The Apollo was just a block from the Festival headquarters, and convenient for most the the concert venues. Many of the guests at the hotel were also concert-goers. We spent hardly more than moments in the room except while sleeping. We slept well enough, given that the weather was temperate and the street noise minimal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed in Utrecht Apollo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to reception were steep and difficult for travellers with cases. The allocated room was hot. No air-conditioning. The only way to get fresh air was to leave door open onto a shared terrace which we did not feel comfortable doing through the night. After showering the floor in bathroom was awash with water due to poorly fitted shower screens. The bath was also slippery and would have posed a risk to less able or older people. The overpriced breakfast (19.50 euros per person) offered a poor array of good quality cooked food for travellers embarking on a long trip that day. Cleaning staff need to be told to wear deodorant and to wash uniforms regularly so that personal odours do not linger in narrow hallways.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.2
    Never staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to the bathroom was very difficult to close and open. Floor was dirty. Very noisy. They even leave your door open when the cleaning lady walks away to get something. Elevator extremely small and rocking

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Good for the price, and perfect if you are looking for a brief stay after a night out in Utrecht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was facing out the front of the building, and so was exposed to street noise - late night revellers, the odd bit of traffic. The noiseproofing could be better, perhaps replacing the old windows/frames with something more soundproof?

    Staff were very willing to be helpful at every opportunity. The hotel is conveniently located in the old town, and a 2min walk to the Tivoli, so is useful for overnighting after a night out in the Tivoli. Also, some nice restaurants within a min or two walk away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to lug my suitcase up a flight of stairs to get to the hotel lobby. I had to go through basement corridor to get to the room. The design of the room does not match the image from lobby. The room doesn’t look like the same hotel and is old.

    Close to train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Loved our stay there and the staff on the desk were very helpful and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of the breakfast and could have been a higher standard. Breakfast Layout and presentation needed improvement.

    Location is its main strength. Close to the station through the up market mall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Basic rooms at a prime location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor finishing on the rooms (especially for the price per night tgat is charged). Tab was leaking. Damages to the wall were fixed in a hasty manner. Weird smell in the hallway. Breakfast was ok. Cheese was old. Could not find water to have a drink during breakfast. Didn't find anu spoons, which makes eaying the delicious yogurt difficult. Rooms are not very noise canceling. Entrance is with steps, so not an option for people in a wheelchair or strollers for that matter. Glamour of the reception is a big contrast with the rest of the hotel.

    Location. Smack in the middle of the centre. Walking distance of the central station. Staff was super friendly at the reception desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Weekend in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like, it was a fair price for a fair room.

    It may not have been most luxurious or up to date hotel room, but I was very comfortable there, and for the price great value for money, staff were very pleasant, location excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    A bit shabby hotel in central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really expensive- so I went to Starbucks opposite door. Rooms were not renovated for a long time- and even avanteguard posters are not able to hide this...

    Central location is the main advantage of the hotel. Rooms are reasonable size and having balcony was good. Water pressure in bathroom was delightfully high.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Staff was very friendly, but hotel equipment maintenance is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly, but hotel equipment maintenance is very poor. Old carpets on the floor, curtains in the room were old, a bit destroyed and not very clean. I did not feel comfortable.Never more thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Stay OK. Was clean but did not feel clean. Give some thought to better use of space/energy efficienc
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for price charged. Bathroom poorly designed. Wash basin and counter could be much lower. Toilet blocked path to shower. Bathroom needs more towel racks and clothes hooks Bed was too narrow. Hostel rooms and bathrooms show better use of space. Copy IBIS lighting model. Was creamer supposed to be supplied with coffee and tea?

    There was water dispenser in the dining room and a fridge for guests at reception that I discovered when leaving. I got a crate to stand on quickly because the wash basis is much too high. I got an iron and ironing board when I asked for one. Bed linen and Towels were good quality. Several power points were useful and placed at waist level so not crawling under furniture to plug in stuff. Floor was clean if I walked barefoot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Fab location, no air circulation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot! No air conditioning in the rooms and as there were patio doors not windows, you couldn’t really sleep or go out with them open as others could then access your room. We were there in the height of summer and it was 36c, but were told we’d have to pay 25€ and move room if we wanted air con! Even a window that could be left open would’ve been fine!!! The hotel is also very dated inside, clean, but just old.

    Great location. Liked the fact there was a small kitchen area so you could buy food and put it together there. Beds were comfy and the rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were really thin and so were the walls could hear everything. The toilet was also in a very weird places and it I would have been taller would not have been able to use it, and in order to get the the shower you had to edge past the toilet.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was right in the centre of everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very welcoming, check-in was quick and smooth,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a let down, it flooded every time you showered and it needs a good deep clean, the noise from the road was annoying at night- but that’s the down fall of a great central location

    Staff were very welcoming, check-in was quick and smooth, location was fantastic, the rooms them selves were large as we did triple share.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Apollo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in the deluxe rooms struggle in the summer heat .. but its better than none. Sometimes the front door is locked if you have a quite late evening and you have to wait a few mins to get in etc

    Good location, clean, friendly, good price, always books up quickly - the sign of a good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insufficient insulation from the busy street- very noisy. Poor ventilation in the room. Not possible to open the window. Noise from the technical equipment somewhere in the hotel is heard in the room. Uncomfortable bed-sagging matrass. Too expensive for what it provides.

    Good location! Easy access from the rail station and good transport connection to the rest of the city. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a four star hotel, the rooms are ‘tiered’, the shower head could not be fixed in position, a gap at the bottom of shower screen meant the bathroom floor flooded when taking a shower, the coffee machine did not work properly, the room we were first allocated had no bathroom door, had to move room after we complained. Not asked how was our stay upon leaving, I guess the staff may not like the answers they get. As I say not a four star hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in the middle of the city - can't get a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are equipped with heaters which is nice but do not have air-conditioning. In hot weather, you need to keep the windows open to get some cool air. Being the city centre however, expect a moderate degree of noise throughout the night. The fantastic central location means that parking is difficult as there is no parking on-site. They give a little discount for parking in a parking structure nearby. Would recommend coming by train to Utrecht Central Station or bus instead.

    The hotel is in the middle of the city - can't get a better location! Friendly, helpful staff. Good facilities with breakfast area and small lounge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfy room for a good price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I heard a lot of noise from the outside, but it's understandable since the hotel is in the centre.

    Bed was very comfortable. The location was great, very close to the train station, right in the city centre. Staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, relaxing stay in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really obvious.

    Decent, reasonably priced hotel close to Utrecht Central Station and the canal area with its tourist attractions. The check in process was very easy and the staff accommodating and helpful regarding advice about train travel back to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Location - and the rest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though weirdly comfortable, that bed was very very soft & squishy.

    So much to like. Great location - so close to the main train station and even closer to the Tivoli concert venue (what brought me to Utrecht) Air Conditioning - which works! Big bonus in the highest temperature this Irish girl ever experienced (35°) Coffee and Tea making facilities in room - even though the nearby coffee lounge was a great addition and all so well kept and maintained. The shower gel is really nice and fresh. TV is superior quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Air conditioning works well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit expensive for the rooms with A/C.

    Nice staffs, nice location and rooms were clean and quiet. Air conditioning works well (that's basically all we need on that day). Good cafe machine in the room. There are some good restaurants in the small alley beside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel, Kind Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better if the window could be kept open with some latch equipment, it was too easy to be blowed to closed if I let it open.

    This summer is so warm! The standard room have no A/C, but there is an air-fan which could somehow help, and room is cool if I let the windows open in the night. Hotel is near the centraal station, and I didn't hear any noise from the trains even if I let the windows open.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    A whistlestop tour of Utrecht - very hot but very cool and comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy in the street but it is very central.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is handy for shops and visiting the canal banks for restaurants and the city centre. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay on a very hot day, the room was well air conditioned and had a balcony too, overlooking the busy street. The canal and centre is a short walk. Breakfast was good. We loved the coffee machine and tea making facilities in the room. Thank you... not all hotels do that. It's very appreciated. Good for shopping and good for nearby restaurants. Good value for 3 adults.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Well-located hotel in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't much negative to point out. It's a simple hotel and it fit our needs.

    This was a nice spot for the two of us. A quick walk from central station and to the town center. We felt comfortable in the hotel room, which was basic but exactly what we needed. We didn't book this spot to stay in the room much; we wanted to explore Utrecht and come back at night to sleep. We did just that. I'd recommend this location to others. There was one morning where the wifi stopped working for a couple of hours but other than that, no issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot during my visit, I wish there was an AC in the room. There was a balcony , I kept it open.

    Perfect location. Staff was very helpful ,smiling and kind. Bed was soft and good, clean rooms and bath. There is kettle and some coffee& tea variations that you can prepare. Also internet access of TV (netflix, youtube) was awesome! I didn't have the energy, but I could easily catch up with Netflix series that I use to watch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    A great view and a nice place to stay, whatever the day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, friendly multi-lingual staff, the front desk ladies are particularly attractive and helpful. Simply anice place at a great price. Many rooms have air conditioning and/or a fridge, ask! During a recent rare super-hot day in Utrecht we stayed nice 'n cool and our deck overlooked the city (!) WOW.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    No Air Conditioning~! :(
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard room had no air-conditioning- and it was sweltering in the room. The staff gave me a small fan which was useless. The next day they gave me a "deluxe room" where there was air-con but it was so weak that after 6 hours the room was still 26 degrees! Finally they moved me to a "club room" on the 2nd floor with a new air-conditioning unit that did work. The hotel gets a lot of street noise also, so it's very hard to sleep. I would not stay here again.

    Staff tried their best to be helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The best hotel to put up friends and family when visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Elevator should be bigger and faster

    I live in Utrecht and locals know this is the best hotel in town. View of the city, AC, great TV and wi-fi. Clean lounge, free tea/coffee/paper.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Friendly and supportive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean. No air conditioning available in standard rooms. the way to the rooms is a labyrint. Very aged rooms.

    Friendly and supportive staff. One can not stay more central in Utrecht.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Would look for alternative accommodation if travelling to Utrecht again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had mouse in bathroom of original booked room, but was moved to alternate room upon informing staff of this. Unfortunately very stained mattress in "new" room (I have a habit of checking before getting into a bed) no mattress protector, just a thin sheet on top of mattress, so I ended up sleeping on top of duvet with second bed's duvet on top, not wishing to put the staff out by moving room AGAIN. No air con, but room did have a desk fan.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel location very good for arrival by train and touring around Utrecht. Close to bike hire (Black Bikes). Plenty of local eateries within walking distance, as is oudegracht itself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    I would stay again but only if no where else was available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely no sound proofing. Very noisy from people out on the streets and particularly the traffic. The room walls are paper thin. So you hear whatever your neighbour is doing. Blowing their nose and sneezing, plugging a device into the wall, listening to the TV etc. You also hear the cleaner cleaning their room. Do not stay here unless your are hard of hearing, a very heavy sleeper or have good ear plugs to block out the noise. There's no mini fridge or air conditioning. The room gets very warm and opening the window will let in even more noise. The bed is awful. The worst ever. The mattress has sunk in the middle so if you sleep on your stomach you'll wake up with back ache. I would stay again but only if no where else was available.

    Close to the center and a short walk to the train station. Big bathroom with plenty of towels and a good shower. Smart TV with netflix and YouTube. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.5
    Nice hotel in the centre of Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    every thing was fine & as advertised - but a fridge in the room would have been good .

    Room was clean with comfortable beds. Location was perfect - centre of town near the station and canals. Staff very pleasant & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel in the heart of Utrecht
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the essentials were perfectly adequate, there are some details were not perfect. The TV reception in the room was not very good. Channels would keep freezing. The toiletries are very very basic (bring your own shampoo if you have sensitive skin).

    Nice, spacious, very clean, comfortable room. Check-in was very speedy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Small room but you get a balcony and it's very, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think i stayed in the old bit but it was quiet so sufficient..

    Small room but you get a balcony and it's very, very central. For more than one person it might get annoying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    The position near the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was adjacent to the lift. We had to climb a flight of steps for the last floor as the lift does not arrive on the top most floor.It was hot and we only had a small fan. We couldn't open the windows as there was the kitchen chimney 3 floors down which was emanating a terrible smell.

    The position near the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location, very nice room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wooden floors were a bit noisy

    Large room, comfortable beds, clean and well equipped bathroom. Very good self service breakfast. Tea and coffee available in the room. Excellent location in city centre. Staff attentive and spoke English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Very peaceful here and enjoyable
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was clean and comfortable The facility to have coffee or tea all day was a bonus Hotel is definately in the centre perfectly placed for everything you are doing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    clean and otherwise quiet room was very annoying because toilet flushed all night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at midnight, I had checked in before, but was in town before. The toilet flushed every 3 minutes for the entire night because it was broken, which basically kept me awake all night.

    the room was clean and very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location. Very central Utrecht downtown shops nightlife nearby. Very friendly service and nice rooms esoeciaaly the one with balcony. Tv: enough channels to choose from

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    The location is really close to the station, which is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink is a little bit too small.

    The location is really close to the station, which is really nice. We can have our meat and do shopping just near by the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for a short stay in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an old building, general decor should be improved a bit.

    The location is perfect, just a 5 min walk to the main train station (across a huge shopping mall) and another 5 mins in the opposite direction to the center of town. Free nespresso capsules in the room, good coffe and beverages in the lounge area in the second floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location, but not a 4* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel wasn't a 4* hotel. Two individual beds while a big bed was booked. Small, open shower which makes the bathroom floor wetter than it has to be. Price was too high for what we got.

    The location is absolutely fantastic. Right in the center and close to the shops, bars, restaurants and Dom. No noise from outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location but don't pay for breakfast - there's a Starbucks opposite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very very overpriced for what was offered. At 19€50 I was expecting something very special. This was at best average with scrambled eggs like rubber and cold bacon.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    When we arrived there was nobody at the reception desk, We...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived there was nobody at the reception desk, We had to wait for 10 minutes ringing the bell and then the guy came to open and explained that he was doing the dishes. He also explained that the heating is broken in the room and that they cannot do anything until the next morning. We were at 28°C for the whole night. The next day the girl on the front desk was quite impolite when I asked to solve the problem with heating. In the end we got another room, but on the check-out date we were bothered for 2 hours before the check-out deadline to leave the room from the cleaning staff - every 15 minutes. Incredible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.0
    Central location, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine. WIFI a bit slow.

    Very close to the city centre and the railway station, just 5 minutes by foot; Good breakfast; clean room; windows that can be opened for fresh air.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Location is perfect, next to the central station and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has almost no facilities, apart the elevator to bring you to the room. Our room was on the last floor of the building, and it was insanely hot with no air conditioning available.

    Location is perfect, next to the central station and all convenient attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    OK for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looks very tired and could do with a refurbishment. Must have been two buildings as you have to connect down stairs and a corridor from one part to another. Bed and pillows were not very comfortable.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Functional but not a great night's sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor soundproofing - room was noisy: the plumbing in neighbouring rooms was noisy; doors banging outside were clearly audible in the room; the window didn't provide isolation from street noise. Also, the room seemed stuffy and airless.

    Good location for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel needs updating and although very clean the room was rather drab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower soap was horrible and I don’t expect to be given paper drink cups in a four star hotel. Quite a lot of noise from the bar restaurant downstairs. I have stayed in many four star hotels and this one was not really at their level.

    Comfortable bed. Great location. Room very clean. The shower was good but some proper toiletries would have been nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in at the basement with balcony doors to some back aisle. There ware not any window which could be opened except these doors and you do not want to sleep with doors opened to the street. So I had to sleep with no opened window and my sleep was not good.

    Great place in the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    It was ok for a 2-night stay, but I'm glad I wasn't there for longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small (even for a single room) and a strange shape (the head of the bed was not against a wall) and the bathroom was tiny. The position of the showerhead made it difficult to shower without constantly hitting the taps and the shower could've been improved with a better showerhead and a glass door instead of a shower curtain. The walls were thin and I could hear voices from the next room. I was given a room at the back of the hotel, which was a separate building connected by a tunnel that I assume went under the building in between. This wasn't a major problem except that twice my room keycard stopped working and I had to traipse back to reception to get it fixed. Also, the lifts were slow and clunky.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    see above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light kept switching on and off all evening. This was quite annoying as I had some work to do for an important meeting the next day.

    The cleanless of the room, the location and the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Functional, relatively economical hotel in a great location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom had an issue with a water-feedback-loop that had the toilet gurgling whenever one used the shower!!

    Great location and a functional residence. Rooms old but the bed was comfortable. Very steep spiral stairs in the event the elevator is U/S. Great location in the canal district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Good position close to the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a single room that was somewhat tatty and clearly had been created from a larger room, but in a rather inexpert way. Old fashioned shower without a mixer tap so that one could easily has been burned by the extremely hot water. The safe in the room relied on a mechanical key that would have been easy copied and therefore items in the safe were not secure. Lift was very small.

    Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Well positioned on the edge of the old town and very near to the Tivoli Concert Hall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful city and beautiful Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive.

    The location was perfect. Right in the centrum and close to the big shopping mal. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable. We had also a big balcony with a nice view! Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    No worries - all fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility and comfort of the bed is fair and ok. But within this or next year, they should renew. The elevators are a bit tight.

    The breakfast menu is sufficient. But if you want to have something special like a fresh hot waffle you will need some time to do it for yourself. Coffee and Tee is for free in the Lounge all day long.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Hope to be back. It was good to have the taxi rank righy outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for our next visit.

    we arrived at 2-30am due to a 5 hour flight delay. there was a member of staff there to greet us. He then made us both a drink. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    great location if travelling for business
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for what you are getting and breakfast was not included in the rate of the room. walls were very thin. I could hear noise from outside and the rooms beside me despite being told that a room in the back of the hotel would be quieter than one in the front. It wouldn't be great if you are a light sleeper.

    The location to the central train station, exhibition centre and local pubs/restaurants was great. each room had its own personal balcony which was a lovely touch. Room facilities were standard and the shower is very powerful. I was given a choice to stay in a room at the front/back of the hotel, double or twin bed and balcony or no balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our pillows could have been better...they were either too hard or lumpy.

    Loved making our own waffles at breakfast and the complimentary tea and coffee available at all times in the lounge area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Because of the down town location it was a little noisy at night.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice extra´s , like the easterbread and chocolate and help with printing out a paper. Very good location, close to the station and the attractive old city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.2
    Very noisy terrible night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noice at night outside... it was really terrible even when the room was on the 5th floor. They should make these rooms cheaper, warn the visitors or place a fan to create white noise to neutralize the noice (drunk people screaming in the middle of the night).

    Closeness to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location, friendly staff, terribly old run down hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old run down facilities with a fresh lick of paint. Terribly sparse breakfast. Definitely not value for money and undeserving of its 4 stars. At most a 3 star budget hotel.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    I think the place is much older than it looks on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the place is much older than it looks on the pictures. I do not think this is a 3-star place. The hotel is a collection of connected old buildings. The way to the restaurant is a maze, I'm afraid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the centre of Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could've been bigger, but it wasn't a big issue

    The bed was very comfortable and the view I had of the Dom Tower was great! The staff was very nice and the hotel is close to everything in the centre!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Room and people were good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beverage or small bites available in hotel, no shampoo/conditioner exept all in one tube attached to wall. TV takes 7 seconds to switch channel.

    Room and people were good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    The place is perfectly located very close to Utrecht Centrum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. The table, chair and the bed pretty much took the whole space.

    The place is perfectly located very close to Utrecht Centrum. The breakfast service in the morning is excellent and a lot of variety to choose from. I found the staff very friendly and cooperative. Our stay in Utrecht was during one of the coldest weekends of winter. The heating in the room was excellent. No complaints. The room had a smart TV to surf youtube and Netflix. One fact that I absolutely loved about this place is the option to 'Go Green' and choose to opt out of room cleaning services. The room had a small balcony that had a view of the Dom Tower. All in all it was a perfect getaway place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, quite closed to Central Station and all shopping stores in downtown. I highly appreciated to get a quiet room in the backyard and be upgraded for free due to this change. Wifi and heating worked pretty well on the 5th floor and bed was pretty comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Better beds needed in this very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was horrible, some weird contraption where two beds were moved together, with a large 2-person duvet and bed linen covering both beds, but we found ourselfs in the middle of the night screaming with back pain because we were going down in the middle of the bed.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, but some menus at the entrance seemed to promise omelettes, but these menus were from a neighbouring restaurant, confusing, so we did with scrambled eggs. Room was big, but a bit spartan on the furniture. View from room is nice. Good location close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and a decent place to stay if you need somewhere to crash
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were ok, but not well-lit. Our glass bathroom door was shattered, but held together for the night we were there. The staff informed us of this, but gave us the room anyway. I would've given my guest a different room or offered other accommodations.

    The location of the property is perfect since it is right next to the main bus line. There is a Starbucks across the street for coffee in the morning and there are many restaurants nearby to grab a bite to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall very nice and pleasant and Utrecht is a lovely City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little small for the Price

    The Room was fine although a little small with little space around the bed/room. Otherwise it was functionally fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the room had a fridge - other than that it had everything else.

    Excellent staff - very friendly and accommodating. Super location - so close to the train station and shops and restaurants. Cute little balcony to view the Dom. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location, good coffee in room (Nespresso).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh milk for coffee and charged for breakfast after saying we were not needing it.

    Convenient location, good coffee in room (Nespresso). Nice firm mattress.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive for the medium quality and dated rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After taking the stairs up to the reception with our suitcases, the friendly staff told us to take a first elevator to the basement to subsequently take a second (equally wobbly) elevator to our floor, where, after two turns and twice more steps, we finally arrived in our very small, outdated room. The door to the bathroom banged against the entrance door, and the separated warm and cold water turning nobs activated the decent shower, closed of with a shower curtain reaching about to my shoulders. The stains on de walls and the furniture were nicely suited with the worn out mattress. We had a really nice little balcony and breakfast was basic, but enough choice and enough to eat. For half the price I would give five stars, but with this price the location only makes up for half the inconveniences.

    Very friendly staff and great location. Hotel was basic but, aside the clear signs of usage, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: