Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel V Frederiksplein 3 stars

Weteringschans 136, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 XV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#182 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1355 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I would expect a lot more! The bedsheets were ripped, no kettle in the room and the room itself was tiny and noisy.

    The location was brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    OK for short stays but overpriced. Rooms small but OK. Corridors need an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right now there were unfortunately roadworks near the hotel which meant noise when I needed an afternoon nap. If you want to rent bikes, do it early. None left when I needed one. Rear building staircase and hall had black paint.. looked a bit dodgy. Really bad soundproofing - had an annoyingly noisy neighbour. Bathroom... as others have pointed out - great for size of room but water splashed everywhere from shower. Breakfast selection a little disappointing. Having to return key every time you went in and out was a hassle. OK for the discounted price I paid but full rates are far too high for this hotel.

    Staff were all lovely. Main entrance hall is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't complain about the size of the rooms as it was expected, however whether it was bad luck or not, the lack of AC in the room caused a bit of discomfort considering that you can't always keep the windows opened (noise from outside and dust). But overall, it did not ruin our vacation, just an inconvenience to deal with and considering the reasonable price, it was acceptable.

    Location was good (close to tram), quite, cool design, very helpful staff, clean, breakfast was good considering it was complementary. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Basic Hotel Close To Public Transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Standard rooms are very cramped. Not enough wardrobe space. Uncomfortable mattress (room 206). Overpriced for the accommodation. Small lift that needed maintenance.

    The location of the hotel next to two tram routes into the city. Close to main museums and the Heineken Experience. Good breakfast selection. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    I was assigned basement, which was pretty small room so that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was assigned basement, which was pretty small room so that I requested to change my room. Basement room is with small window and small space. I do not recommend basement room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    You can rent bikes from the reception, it was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot so we have to sleep windows open. Some guests slept their door open to cool it down.

    You can rent bikes from the reception, it was nice. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Personnel was great, always had lots of tolerance helping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the smell of my room, had a bit disturbed about that. But for sure it was not due to dirt. The room was clean. And I asked for my missing 'Do not Disturb' sign but couldn't get it for three days so cleaners had to wake me up for cleaning.

    Personnel was great, always had lots of tolerance helping others, great appearance and high quality. Thank you so much guys!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great area of Amsterdam. Very easy to get everywhere from here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband kept stubbing his toe on the bed post. Room is small and the bed leg stuck out in a way that it was easy to bang into.

    As expected, the room is pretty small, but we lucked out and scored one of the two balconies in the hotel and that really made a huge difference. Not sure you can request one though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like about the property, I’m sitting here try to think of something negative, the elevator was very small? but seriously can’t fault the place.

    We had a fantastic time at Hotel V, the location was perfect, not as busy as in the centre so felt so much more chilled out yet only a small walk or 5 min tram ride away. The staff are great and room though small was very clean and modern, would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice experience, we will probably go back there for the next bank holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of noice as there was the tram just in front of us and the room has no air conditioning

    We spent one night there. The location is great, close to the city centre but in a quieter place with nice restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel, really comfy, good staff and service, would 100% recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfy! Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast, inviting reception area. Room was definitely worth the money, clean, tidy, stylish and very comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Loved the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing we didn't understand was the necessity of returning the key each time we left the building. Apart from this, it was great!

    Loved the room. Looked out over the main street. Just beautiful! Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly. So close to the museums, and canals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Terrific staff, location, and breakfast make this hotel a delightful place despite the small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our small room (102) had large windows which would have greatly helped to dispel the sense of closeness and minimal space, but unfortunately the windows opened directly onto a frequently used walkway and for the sake of privacy had to be kept shuttered throughout our stay. Other rooms might not have this problem.

    All the staff without exception were friendly and helpful, the included breakfast was excellent, and one simply cannot do better for location in Amsterdam, with tram lines close by and walking distance from many nice neighborhoods and restaurants. Our room was the absolute minimum size to contain everything one needed (desk, chair, two beds, nightstands, suitcase space, closet, shower, toilet) with not a bit of space to spare. Not really a problem, in fact rather clever the way they managed to fit everything in there, but if you have claustrophobia issues this is not the place to stay. Recommended for all others, though! A bit pricey considering the room size, but balanced out by all of the other lovely amenities of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a great location, everything is really close with the number 4 tram you are in 10 minutes at the main train station and in the midlle of the city. The hotel is clean, the rooms are small but very modern and quiet. Breakfest menu was small but wery good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good breakfast and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom looks trendy, but does not function in use. No shower screen means that the floor floods every time you use the shower. The hotel makes a statement about being green and encourages you to reuse your towels to cut down on laundry, but in practice you use all the towels to mop up the soaked bathroom floor.

    Good location, good breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.2
    Really overpriced and poor quality accommodation. Try something else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smallest room ever, terrible bed, underwhelming decoration, noise from adjacent rooms, overpriced.

    Not much. The only positive I would say was the decent breakfast. Staff were somewhat friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good and staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were very small even by European standards. The king size bed literally filled the room. My friends paid extra for a "large room". It was not but they did have a bit of space on each side of the bed. Lots of water in the shower, actually all over the tiny bathroom.

    Breakfast was good and staff was friendly and helpful. There is a comfortable sofa and fireplace for lounging. The bar has snacks and wine later in the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    I wish i could have a permanent reservation at V Fredriksplein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's my favorite place to stay in Amsterdam , breakfast is delicious, the vibe is always pleasant and even though i always stay in the tiny rooms, the lobby makes a great lounging area in between outings. I've even had business meetings by the fireplace in a couple of occasions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel has good location.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really small. But its almost everywhere in Amsterdam. Also the breakfast is like regular continental breakfast in average hotel. But the breakfast was included, so it was okay.

    Hotel has good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and interior hotel which is near to many indonesian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i enter the room, the floor near the door was uneven. In bathroom shower area has no door or curtain that can cover therefore the floor outside the shower area will be very wet after take a shower. Also lift is very small (only 2 person with 1 very big suitcase

    Location is near tram which only few stops away to amsterdam centraal and also near the hotel many indonesian restaurant. The interior in reception and restaurant is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A very nice hotel to compliment an amazing town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are not sound proof, but this is admittedly too critical for an older building.

    Great value. Friendly and accommodating staff (food recommendations, special requests, easy checkin & checkout process). Would stay here again. Nice & fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive for star rating of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so small and if your room is outside the hotel the stairs are narrow esp on third floor. It’s so dangerous.

    Great location. Close to Rijksmuseum, Heineken tour and canal cruises. Breakfast buffet is small but nice to start off ur day. Everything is fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was poor, the room really small, I called the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, the room really small, I called the staff for the room for adaptator (I’ve been charged and in addition it wasn’t working) and they didn’t have anyone to bring it to me at the Room. Really poor customer service and low value for the money I have spent for only two nights. Happy only with cleaning + location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great location, amazing bed and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in room but once we asked reception for a fan, it was in our room by the time we got back that evening :-) amazing service!

    Great location, amazing bed and lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.8
    Me and my husband prepaid a large double room for 4 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my husband prepaid a large double room for 4 nights. My husband arrived 1 day before me and he could get a small double room with twin beds. He informed the hosts, nothing changed. The day after I arrived and told them the large double room again, they managed to put the twin beds together to make a double bed at the same room. They said that this is a double room too, but a small one. I showed them our booking information with a "large double room" then they managed to move us to the room we booked at the 3rd day. I neither asked for a refund nor a discount during our stay. Before our arrival a staff came and gave me a the hotel card and told me that they are sorry for that days, if I email them they could do something about this unfortunate event. I emailed them and everytime I had a response from different person, saying the things you write are not true. This is such a shame, I was very dissapointed for those days, and the price we paid for that room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and helpful staff for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom itself couldn't fit much more than a bed although we were prepared for it to be small (basement room!) - we were also woken up repeatedly one morning due to work taking place on the ground above us right outside our window.

    The location was very central which meant the city centre was walking distance. We were able to rent bikes directly from the hotel and they also booked a tram day pass for us. The staff were always willing to help!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Not badly stituated between old town and Museum quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very nice just a bit noisy in the Street facing rooms due to the very convenient location of the tram line.

    Not badly stituated between old town and Museum quarter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.3
    not pleasant at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were given which i paid a lot for, looked like a prison, had a net as a curtain and people could see in. the room had one bed and that was it including an en-suite. it was awful!! you could here the other guests speaking and the staff shouting down the corridors. i felt unsafe and so did my partner. i had to pay to upgrade and even then i got given a two twin bed when i was away with my partner. the walls were filthy and looked unclean. the heating did not work so it was cold. the lobby room is beautiful and looks to impress but and unfortunately the hotel pictures are deceiving and falsely advertised. i will not be coming back or recommending this hotel.

    the breakfast provided was overall good, and the bathroom was lovely and big. bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    I do recommend it and I do plan on going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen bed is really 2 twins pushed together. The beds got apart while sleeping so we couldnt get comfy unless each stayed on separate bed.

    The staff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/bathroom too small. Bathroom was 1m x 3m shoe box. Room accessories looked like bought from a flea market...cheap and few. Room needs a facelift... More a hostel than a hotel? At 210euros per night off season, quite disappointed.

    Bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely place to stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but we had seen the pictures! Some visitors could have a problem with accessing the double bed as it is pushed up against the wall. We English love our tea/coffee and there are no tea making facilities in the bedrooms.

    Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and fresh modern decor. The breakfasts were amazing! Good selection of bread, rolls and warm pastries. Homemade fruit salad and freshly made orange juice, just excellent! The staff were all so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel's location is quite convenient - with tram No.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no minibar in the room and the hotel bar is closed during the night. My particular room was on the last floor, which lead to a poor bathroom layout. The bathroom is poorly lit and shaving was not an easy job. The elevator does not stop on the last floor, you'll have to use the stairs.

    Hotel's location is quite convenient - with tram No. 4 you can easily reach the central part of the city. There is also a metro station at a walking distance (8-10 minutes). The hotel has a nice lobby and a really friendly staff! Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in quiet but interesting area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few little things were annoying but the property is really nice and I enjoyed my stay. The bathroom door is weighted so it always closes, which I found annoying and the plugs look close to the bed but are too far away for your average phone charger to easily reach.

    My loft style room was lovely and modern with a great big comfy bed and nice lounge to relax on. Breakfast had plentiful cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, pastries, breads, spreads and fruit and it wasn't til I finished that I realised there was no hot food or bacon so would still rate this as a great breakfast. While the location is a bit further from the main station than I would have liked, it turned out to be perfect for the Rijksmuseum, Heineken Experience and dinner around Leidseplein.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel, staff, and location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing.

    Great location, tram just over the road to anywhere in the city centre. Friendly staff on reception and at the bar. Lovely breakfast, and amazing cocktails made by Eva. Comfortable room, clean and tidy. Perfect stay. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    For the money paid for 1 night stay, the hotel does not provide good value.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in toilet. Hence, tiled floor makes it very cold to walk on esp. no bedroom slippers provided. Also room & hotel facilities quite basic. No hot food for breakfast.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No vacuum on the floor and the bed was make in half, with some dust inside; I had to remake it.

    Very nice location 10 min walking from the city center, beatifull hotel, and the people very nice. We receive an upgrade when we arrived and we stayed in a beautiful Loft, very recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    really pleasant (if slightly cramped) experience in the nicest, chicest part of Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was very small, and even though we didn't really need any more space per se, it would have been nice in such a small space to have some shelving - the ceilings were nice and high, so instead of some of the decorative elements, even to have some floating shelves etc would have been really effective at maximizing space. The lift in the hotel will only fit one person and suitcase (barely) - so just be aware of this if you're coming with a lot of luggage! it was quite noisy at night in the hotel with banging etc from up above, but some of that is to be expected in an older building with a nightlife scene as vibrant as it is in Amsterdam (it wasn't unusual to see folks stumbling home at 4 in the morning!) so just be aware if you're a light sleeper.

    the location was incredible - right in the De Pijp neighborhood, we loved exploring around the hotel and it was incredibly walkable. The lobby/bar area was really fun as well with a huge fire pit and big circular leather couch with tons of design magazines, and happy hour with 2 for 1 cocktails. the washroom was small but it had an INCREDIBLE shower. beds and pillows really comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Good experience but I would not like to book again a room in the basement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem was the unexpected size of the room, very small with the bedroom so close to the bathroom door that it was impossible to easily move to the bathroom especially at night. For such a small room in the basement, the value for money is not good at all.

    Location. The bus to the station and downtown is in front of the hotel. Good breakfast Kind staff Cleanness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the particularly small basement room and it was nice but very dark..perhaps a shelf would be good to put more stuff on and a nice lamp with a warmer light.

    The hotel was nice and warm. The lobby was beautifully decorated and the breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Average would not stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above being charged extra for no clear reason and the noise in the store room next to our room and the reception team on the last days.

    The trip was for my birthday. I booked a small room which was clean and warm however I was disappointed because the room was next to the cleaning cupboard so staff was in and out all the time including 5am and speaking loudly and banging so it would wake us up. It was very inconsiderate as it is clearly a guest room so that was not pleasurable for us. On top of that I paid in advance for the room and breakfast but did not get breakfast on the last morning and when we checked out I was charged an additional €4 why I am still not clear thought was told it was because I paid via debit card at point of booking which made no sense The receptionist on day one and two were great but Day 3 and four very poor. Both did not know how to direct us to where we wanted to go and seemed put out if we asked too many questions which was very different to the first days where they could not do enough to help us. The contrast was disappointing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    The noise insulation was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise insulation was not good. The occupants upstairs was making a lot noise in the wee hours of night. I could hear the floor boards creaking loudly and could not sleep the entire night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs could be little more comfortable when having breakfast.

    Staff were excellent. Breakfast very good a lot of choice. Location for us was excellent, especially as it's near excellent transport facilities. We have stayed here twice in the last 2 months and will stay hear next time we visit Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff was super friendly, helpful and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were aware of the mini size of the rooms so it wasn't a problem for us. Indeed, if you have a lot of luggage you may encounter space problems in the small (9 square meters) or standard rooms (12 square meters). But for 1 or 2 nights it's absolutely fine.

    The staff was super friendly, helpful and welcoming! Thank you again :) Thank you also for the upgrade from a small to a standard double room. Much appreciated! :) The breakfast was amazing and gave us energy to start our day. Again, the staff at breakfast was very nice as well. :) The location of the hotel was very good, we could walk everywhere we wanted to and didn't need to use public transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location but not somewhere to spend a lot of time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the rooms were very small, also maybe a bit more choice for breakfasts (toasting facilities instead of having to ask, more choice of yoghurt). Bed was extremely soft and also didn't like the different levels in the reception. Felt like I was always going to fall down a step. Definitely not disabled friendly. Also if you rely on a lift it doesn't go up to the top so mention that when booking and I don't think you could fit a push chair or wheelchair in there.

    I thought the location wasn't bad as it took 5min on the tram to get to dam square or even less to other busy areas. I liked the bathroom and the hotel was generally quite quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    the fireplace in the lobby
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cold air in the shower the bathroom was very dark no glass on the shower corner - the water was everywhere

    the fireplace in the lobby helpful staff great breakfast good location clean and cosy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Very nice, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived at 2pm for check in and had to wait an hour as the room wasn't ready. We were given a very nice room out of our room category but the wait was a bit of a pain. The room was on a main road and was extremely noisy. If you are a light sleeper get a room at the back of the hotel. When breakfast is very busy you can struggle to get a table and things can run out quite quickly. Although the staff do work hard to try and cook and replenish things as quickly as possible.

    The hotel was in a good area with lots of restaurants around. It was easy to find and we walked everywhere during our trip due to the good location. The room was nice and had everything you needed. The hotel was very modern and we liked the communal area. The breakfast was very nice. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    All you need in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the basement rooms, it was small but perfect! All reviews warned the room is tiny however it’s all you really need in Amsterdam. Staff were lovely, food was great and will certainly be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service didn't knock or announce it's room service before walking into the room. They took away dirty towels but did not leave fresh ones. The room is not just tiny, it's lacking basics like a kettle or a table. For the price I expected a real hotel room.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of insulation: the ”upgraded” corner room was so cold that it actually woke us up. Sounds of maintenance and people on the street were oveepowering.

    Friendly staff, comfortable lounge and beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed with room, staff, food and location much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was TINY and NOT for 2 people....ensuite smelled, shower head was so encrusted with limescale the water squirted sideways instead of down. Curtains ripped. No working remote for TV. Walls were paper thin so you can hear everything next doors are doing including toileting.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff were great. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    The hall, it was very nice and comfortable to take a rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no sockets beside the beds and I hit my head all the time in the lamps in the top of the bed

    The hall, it was very nice and comfortable to take a rest and have a coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.8
    No good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It feels like this hotel is a cut corner hotels. Reception looks good but the rooms are very small. Not very clean at all. The window was one new one old that cold kept coming in from the old window. We left the pillow cover out side from the pillow to be replaced as it was dirty, and cleaners put that back. Breakfast was average minus and it feels that things are missing without filling it. I feel that the money I paid for this hotel doesn't justify it at all.

    Location was convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel close to the Amsterdam RAI and city center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit small, some more hanging possibilities for suits would be nice.

    Ask for a room in the main building, otherwise you have to leave the second building to have breakfaste. It is only 10 meters, but when its rainy or cold you prefer the main building. Some rooms are really small but in Amsterdam you won't stay long in your room :) Breakfast is excellent, the staff is friendly, and the public transport connection is super. The RAI can be reached easily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable defiantly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small but couldn’t really complain as only used to sleep & shower first thing in the morning

    I thought our hotel was well situated within the area tram stops straight outside the building super market eateries pubic house all capable of walking distance staff where very helpful breakfast area was adequate serving continental everything freshly made

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    The hotel was lovely, it had a very boutique style to it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, it had a very boutique style to it.The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was of good quality. Can not fault the hotel, the reception staff were very helpful too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    When we arrived we were given an upgrade which was unexpected but extremely kind! The bed was huge and so comfy! Breakfast cannot be faulted at all and would definitely stay again for a third time if we go back to Amsterdam

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous friendly beautiful convenient hotel, just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was fabulous and the staff were so friendly and kind. You could arrive early to the hotel and leave you luggage there and go off immediately to site see. Also when you checked out, again you can leave your luggage and pick it up later. They also supplied umbrellas if need be free of charge. The breakfast was just right. The beds were the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The tram was right outside the hotel and only 2 shops to the museum quarter. There was an excellent bar across the road serving excellent food also. A fabulous base for all excursions around Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Hotel V was the perfect place for our vacation in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, but that is to be expected in a hotel in a European city.

    The bed was a dream - comfy and just the right size. The pillows were perfect. The room was very clean. Front desk service staff were professional and very friendly. The breakfast staff were excellent. Location was ideal - within walking distance or a short tram ride to everything we wanted to see and do in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    superb location to reach restaurants, typical Amsterdam pubs...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • XL Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the security guard at night - very unfriendly - even got into a fight with us - took our bottle of water away while we were quietly sitting in the foyer- we had to go to our rooms.. very strange

    superb location to reach restaurants, typical Amsterdam pubs and museums

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was up two flights of very steep stairs. To get to room you had to leave the main reception and go outside and into a different building. Shower was average and water not so hot. The room we had had a slight smell of damp.

    Nice reception area. Breakfast is simple but fine. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    It was nice entering the hotel as the lobby was very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely small and very dark which made it feel very claustrophobic. The bed also caved in the centre which made it very uncomfortable (shared the bed with my partner, so we kept rolling to the middle). Toilets was very small too and it just felt like we were staying in a hostel!

    It was nice entering the hotel as the lobby was very well decorated, with an extremely cosy fireplace in the middle! The breakfast also had a decent spread, although coffee wasn’t great. But the best part about the hotel is how friendly the staff at the front desk was - they were happy to give recommendations of places nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Great appreciation for hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small rooms but, as far as we understand, it is common size of the apartments.

    Hotel's location is good, we were in walking distans to Museum Square and city center. Very friendly and helpful people are working in this hotel. We would like to thank again for the great hospitality!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    A dream country with magnificent views and a lovely hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar foods and nibble selection is a little limited. Nachos and the dutch platter where the only "Good" options.

    Our stay at Hotel V was an amazing one. We stayed in the basement rooms, my first expectation from other reviews was that this would be really small. To my surprise the room was quite spacious for it's size and had all the necessities and was exceptionally clean and the cleaning was done daily at the same time so it was easy for us not to be there. On another note the staff was super nice and extremely helpful, especially the guys working at the reception (especially to the lady who booked an Indian take out for us :) ). Breakfast was good with the small croissants being the best and would recommend, eggs and bread where warm and fresh. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very good hotel in excellent localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room which we booked it was very small, but the hotel's staff sent us an email reinforcing that so it was not a problem for us. But you are going to travel around europe and have large bags or a lot of bags please book a bigger room in that hotel. Besides that, no additional points. Everything was great.

    The hotel is really good and it has an excellent localization in Ams (near from a lot of places as heineken experience - 10 min walking, I Amsterdam sign, Vondelpark etc. even from downtown it's about 15 minutes by train). Breakfast it's ok, it doesn't have so many options but attended our expectations. The staff is very attentive, speaking english and other languages as portuguese.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you plan experiencing the city over the weekend :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic staff! Great location - walking distance to all major places. Very good breakfast, diversity of choice. Great lobby and bar. And surprisingly comfortable bed (even if 1,40m in width in a small room!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Good bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was overfull with a double bed in it ie no space around the bed and only a tiny bedside table. It would have been better with a single bed and more room to manoeuvre. Nowhere to put suitcase except on the floor! Little hanging space.

    Good bathroom. Nice breakfast. Helpful & friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, just don't choose basement room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too small. In fairness we were warned by the hotel that it was small, it was still much smaller than expected. Two people can not move in the room without bumping into each other. It fits the bed and nothing else. We asked for a double bed with the request of no single beds pushed together, however, that's exactly what we got. This was a basement room - DO NOT SELECT A BASEMENT ROOM!

    The staff, the lobby and bar were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Croissants were incredibly fresh, bit unfortunately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny compact rooms, not what I was expecting for the price.

    Croissants were incredibly fresh, bit unfortunately that's the only positive thing I can say about the breakfast. Not a great selection.The bed was incredibly.comfortable and staff ever so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Basement room was small but cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement room was small but cozy. Girlfriend and I had no problems over 4 days in it. Staff was very pleasant and helpful with tram/train and general info about the city. Bar was great at night - very chill and quiet vibe just outside of the craziness of downtown!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Awesome! Great location and rooms, and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I loved everything!

    I love everything about Hotel V Frederiksplien! Check-in was a breeze, the staff spoke English very well, they were polite and courteous and very helpful. They assisted with settling in, recommendations and directions to locations around the city; and ensuring that all was well and that I enjoyed my stay. A bonus... they will keep your luggage after you check out, if you need to move around the city until your departure, and they do this with ease and make you feel appreciated and not feel like it is a bother. The room was just perfect, nice comfy bed, clean space and a sense of being at home once you step through the door. (Bonus points if you get a room with a street view). I must say that the breakfast exceeded my expectations - the freshly baked croissants were delicious; and the combination of beverages, cheeses etc. was just perfect - as you sit and watch the streets come alive. Love the fireplace in the lobby, nice space where you can sit, warm up and unwind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Trendy hotel in a great area, comfy beds and very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was small, even though it was meant to be a large twin. I think it could've been a bigger room if they had designed it a bit better.

    The location was good for what we wanted. Staff extremely helpful. Fairly quiet room considering in a city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Correct
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really small (as in other hotels in the neiborhood) and there were too many and too narrow stairs to get the third floor without elevator.

    Bed and pillows were very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    Friendly and welcoming. Lovely staff who would go out if their way to assist. Breakfast nice and fresh and great selection. Room comfortable and lovely and clean. Would highly recommend. A great plus for Amsterdam is that the have a lift for tired feet 😊 Had a lovely little balcony attached to our room to get a bit of fresh air or just a peek of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Perfect spot in an amazing city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alarm went off twice one night, so we had to evacuate after midnight.

    The room was tiny but womb-like and the bed was so comfortable. The staff was exceptionally friendly at every turn. The delicious breakfast was something to look forward to after a great night's sleep. Loved that they took this being a non-smoking property very seriously, even though I hadn't noticed that when I booked my room!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Great experience in Amsterdam would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was good but only worked well when in the lobby area didn't work very well or at all in our room. Could've definitely used more shelving or something in the bathroom, very small bathroom but functional, just would've been nice to be able to keep more toiletries in the bathroom. The room also wasn't well ventilated, we kept our window open most of the time which worked well.

    The hotel was in a great location! We stayed in one of the small basement rooms which was small but fine for us. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, again very small but functional. No fridge in the room or closet, we stored our suitcases under the bed which worked very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel V Frederiksplein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: