Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt 3 stars

Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, Netherlands

#28 of 51 hotels in Maastricht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1567 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I still wish the beds were not sooo soft, as I prefer more firm mattress.

    This was my second stay and I was very pleased with both of them. The park is nice, the restaurant offers good variety of food and it is of good quality. The room was clean and it was cleaned every day. I also wanted to leave late, so I used the service to store my luggage at the reception for few hours, which is free of charge - very useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is the best place we stayed in The Netherlands. Beautiful grounds, wonderful roomy castle like building, nice restaurant with attentive staff. So peaceful and relaxing. It was a 10 minute walk to the train or bus station to get into Maastricht. The room was clean and well designed. They had secure bike storage facilities. I would stay here again for much longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon did not work and it was hot enough to need it. The meal took over three hours. I don't mind relaxed timing but the seats were not comfortable enough to make 3+ hours pleasant. There were no cups in the bathroom etc just lots of little things not quite right.

    The location was good and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place You can rent a bike Perfect for nature lovers Very calm and peaceful location 1h walking from the city center, or 3 min by train (15 min till train station)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls between the bedrooms are very thin, and you can hear everything. You miss more privacy. The bedroom was very basic, and you dont find there extras, like soaps, creme, water bottles, coffee machine, etc. Maybe they can add some small details onto the rooms. They can also leave extra toilette paper inside the toilette. We had to call to ask for a new roll. They had one inside the wardrobe, but we didn't know about it. The toilette is really basic.

    Breakfast was good, but its very busy in the morning in the breakfast area. They could create more breakfast areas, also in the garden. They could spread people a bit around. Meals at the restaurant and garden are nice, tasty and the staff is very professional and friendly. It takes some time to order and to get the food, but sometimes its busy. About the bedroom: the bed was very comfy and clean. The toilette was modern and nice clean. We have also enjoyed a room overlooking the garden. Overall its a great hotel, with amazing gardens and located in a nice quiet area, not far away from Maastricht. Its a place to return some other time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of my work I have travelled extensively for 50 years. The bed I was in in in the hotel is probably the worst I j have ever slept in.(hardly posible to sleep)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no tea/coffee making facilitates in the room.

    Such a lovely castle-like hotel in the countryside of Maastricht! Beautiful halls with paintings and furniture. The owner has very good taste in terms of interior design and usage of facilitates. Wish I had stayed a bit longer! Bonus point, the hotel also has a environmentally-friendly theme.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the iron was in a seperate hallway on a different floor The bed was two single matresses together

    staff at restaurant overall atmosphere Grounds were beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    THE BED are bad. The room is a bit austere (some additional decoration and used of colors would be nice) Put some royalty in the bedroom instead of claiming it this former (royal) castle....

    Lovely location if you like to be in the nature and out of the city center. Large breakfast buffet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only down side is the fact of not having a minibar or at least a bottle of water in the room , also some of the 'modern art' (which is on sale ) should be chosen more carefully as it rather spoils the ambiance, I am not suggesting old dutch masters , maybe something more representative of Holland

    the atmosphere is very special , the mix of old and new , also the great outdoor space, the dinning room is very romantic and a special mention for the fact that it's lovely and quiet, no music with lyrics that disturb one's dinner which was very good .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not a kettle in the room to make a tea or coffee, nor a fridge/mini bar. It was just one chair, though the room is for two.

    Location and parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff hotel was not very reactiv: more than 10 minutes to get a beer. Nothing available in the bathroom: no glasses (even in plastic), and no toiletries (like shampoo, tissues for shoes shining,...)

    The nice environment and the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are pretty sober and the staff in the Brasserie could be a bit quicker to help.

    The location and the property are beautiful. The bed and shower are great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel and very reasonably priced. Location means that you require a car since it is located in the countryside, plenty of parking spaces, fitness facilities were ok but not exceptional. Beautiful setting and nice large clean room. Good vibe in bar area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in the bedroom inadequate.

    Food was excellent both in the dining room (for Christmas dinner and breakfasts) and in the Sirius bar. Lots of extra treats for the children for Christmas - the petting farm, bird displays, sleigh rides and Father Christmas. Also lots for children to do in the hotel - face painting, games, colouring pens provided. Close proximity to Maastricht by bus or train - we went to the Christmas market and the ice skating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific Christmas atmosphere, never seen so many Christmas decorations in one hotel. Most helpful and friendly staff I have seen in a very long time . Exelent food. Bathroom so clean just a pleasure . Great setting .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, which are in an attached modern building, are very bare and unimaginative. The plastic chairs in the dining room look cheap and are not very wide; however, our excellent waiter found me a more suitable chair for a person of size! It's a little bit of a challenge to find the entrance at night.

    The staff was very helpful. There was an elevator to the rooms. The grounds are very impressive! The main building is gorgeous and impressive. Our dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant were wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really required to comment, everything was arranged nicely. Even some staff which was just employed at the location as they told us, which is honest and appreciated. We were served well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was offered with a bath on booking.com, although there was no bath in the room.

    The hotel was very elegant form inside. It is outside from the city, which gives you a nostalgic countryside feeling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I would possibly change is the bed, I found it bit too soft for my liking - used to harder beds.

    The room was very clean, and it had a small bathroom and it was cleaned daily. The park is amazing and good to take a walk in. The restaurant provides good food, but make sure you make a reservation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that I disliked. It was a perfect place to stay at. Great and beautiful location and room. I highly recommend this hotel and I'm anxious to go back to Maastricht to stay here again.

    I loved everything about this hotel. The room was big, contemporary, clean, perfect. The staff was very friendly, the restaurant on premise was excellent, and the grounds were beautiful too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The contrast between the pitoreske old main building and the boring new hotelrooms.

    The main building is a countryhouse/casle like atmosphere with a wonderfull garden, but the contrast with the hotelroom (very modern, basic rooms, without any luxury) doesnt fit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were made very sloppy on our second day. And a request from us for a second duvet, was forgotten twice and we had to remind them.

    The building and the surrounding park are absolutely beautiful and peaceful. Maastricht is only a 15 min bike ride away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was slightly moody when I said No to the breakfast. We said No because we aren't breakfast people! They need to better advertise their facilities and what you can do around the hotel. It was a case of exploring rather then using a map.

    Incredible location. Lots of free parking (50+ spaces) which fit big cars (5 Series) outside next to the hotel. Can't stress enough how beautiful the scenery is.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing in room, obviously as France so no tea and coffee, but no leaflets about the history of the hotel or about the surrounding area, and what to see. Not sure about having the washbasin in room - even though it was a lovely big one . The food in the bar a bit bland .

    A gorgeous building with very unusual design features . Quirky design - bird house in bedroom ( not used,)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave

    The whole ambiance here is magical. Excellent meals in the dining room and on the terrace. Lovely walks in the grounds Very comfortable room Within walking distance of the train station and the Park and Ride for either the bus or the train. Looking forward to our 5th stay next year

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO air conditioner in almost all rooms! Staff was not nearly as warm as at other hotels we'd stayed in on our trip. Excellent staff on patio in the afternoon/evening, though. Was completely booked and hosting a chemistry conference so many shared spaces were unavailable. Gardens show echos of what must have been a grand estate, but the upkeep was minimal- probably due to philosophy of keeping it simple and sustainable. Why not at least weed and trim, though? Not a place for travelers without a car.

    Very comfortable bed. Nice shower, but no tub. Peaceful surroundings. Excellent tomato soup!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the lack of toiletries BUT I've read the reasoning behind this and can only agree. Might be a good idea to make this policy clear in the room details rather than not referring to it.

    The bed was huge and very comfy. The bathroom with twin washbasins, bath and separate shower was superb. The hotel grounds were truly beautiful and there was a real sense of community.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cost of taxis booked by the hotel were very expensive.

    Most of the staff were good, the breakfast is continental really, we have returned 4 years running but not sure if we will go next year due to price increase. The accommodation is like a up class travel lodge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the cost of the hotel for three nights bed & breakfast was too expensive. There is definitely room for improvement in this hotel and it warrants better value for money. I would suggest some nice outdoor seating at the main entrance while guests wait on their taxis. I noticed some older people using walking aids and they would definitely benefit from some outdoor seating. I also observed some families and I am sure the children would love a swimming pool. I was disappointed that that bathroom was lacking in toiletries. There were no tissues, no body lotion , no conditioner and the shampoo was a two in one shower gel for hair and shower. This I did not like as the gel did not suit my hair. When one has to travel from another country by plane we are limited as to the toiletries we can bring with us.

    I liked the location and grounds. The hotel was very quiet at night. Having said that one would have had to walk about 15 minutes to Meersen train station which was too far for my husband.Therefore we had to take a taxi to enable us to get to Sunday mass and to go into Maastricht. The breakfast was good though croissants were a little over cooked . The hot breakfast could be improved. I was pleased to have bottled water in the room but the green apples were much too hard to eat. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The evening meal on the Saturday and Sunday was very good . However on the Saturday we had a three course meal and this took two hours . I thought the service was slow . The staff were very busy. The evening meal on Monday was not as good as the previous two days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast very unappetising no boiling water to make drinkable tea. all the food was precooked and eggs were not hot.

    The setting was beautiful but a little far outvto the concert and Maastricht. It became costly to use cabs as no public transport

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely setting a little out of town had to use taxi"s all the time .the bed comfy pillows a little firm for me . no facilities for tea and coffee in room was disappointing as it was quite pricey would have expected it .We had it in hotel in Amsterdam ! overall enjoyed our stay but next time would stay nearer town so we had a choice of public transport .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looks nice, but many wedding parties and other events. The rooms are extremely basic and not according to the very high price. Breakfast is limited and bread is of bad quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception was very off-putting. A road goes straight up to a small door that leads into the hotel. There's no apparent drop off area, no circular drive - you have to drop your bags and then back out again toward the turn-off for the parking area. Beside the small door on the wall is a very tiny sign saying 'Welcome' It is bewildering trying to figure out where to go. The reception desk is inside and around the corner. There was NOBODY at the desk for several minutes and no bell or anything to announce your arrival. Another couple were also waiting for someone to arrive at reception. Finally, the phone rang and someone came out to answer it. She checked me in efficiently, but told me I had not booked for breakfast, but in fact I had - in response to an email message from the hotel. So she gave me the breakfast vouchers and a pile of information, most of which was in Dutch. She pointed me to the room and told me it was just a few steps down. Later I realised there was a lift nearby, and with two huge suitcases, it would have been easier to take that instead of struggling with the cases down the "few" steps. We were tired and hungry after a long day of travelling so wandered around trying to figure out what was available and where. In the bar, there was a menu, in Dutch only and without any prices. It wasn't clear where the dining room was or what hours it was open. What facilities were available? No idea. I asked the woman at reception for information on the hotel "What information do you want?" she replied. There was just no basic orientation to the place. What appeared to be the dining room was in fact used for something else. A day later we found a laminated card deep inside one of the many drawers in the room outlining the facilities, meal times, etc - all the usual basics that would've been nice to know at the outset. Why couldn't this have been displayed on top of the desk?

    quiet rural setting, newly refurbished rooms - stylish though simple. Dining room staff were exceptional and the food delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Grounds were beautiful and extensive. The Terrace was a lovely place to sit in the afternoon sun with a glass of wine contemplating the expansive grounds. The Bistro provided reasonable food and value. The renovated wing behind but attached to the main house was bright and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic rooms with respect to the price. The hotel was overbooked so my sister had to sleep in a different hotel which was 15 minutes away. All expenses were paid for and she did not have to pay for the room.

    Beautiful location and nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was too expensive for what it offered. There was a wedding party going on that sounded through the premises. No shampoo in the shower. Quite noisy because of the thin door between the room and the corridor.

    Bed was very comfortable. Location is okay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negative points to report.

    Very interesting location some 5 km outside Maastricht to visit the city. We ourselves went by bike (only 10 mins ride - 5 km). Very good breakfast ; possibility to plan for dinner in the evening when needed. Very nice (big) garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are really basic, really meant for a seminar group or something. The breakfast was a mess.

    The centre of the hotel is beautifull, as also the environment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sloppy housekeeping - bin in bathroom wasn't cleared, bed made up in a very perfunctory fashion; truth in advertising - hotel is a LONG way from town and there are no easy public transport options; regular hotel guests do not get to take advantage of the historic building that is reserved only for conferences and private parties - I thought I would be staying in a nice antique building but was put up in a nasty post modern nothingness; absolutely no toiletries - sum of toiletries was a soap dispenser nailed to the wall, not even a box of tissues!; no heaters on the outdoor terrace so had to go inside when it got cold; breakfast was rather pedestrian - I actually got sick on my last day and threw up the scrambled eggs from the breakfast that morning; coffee was disgusting - don't know if it was the coffee or the UHT cream but it was awful and I couldn't drink it - maybe that is what made me sick! All over this was a bad experience and I won't be coming back.

    I'm trying to think of something positive.... but I can't.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little expensive for the breakfast and room no bottle of water or tea in the room for this price

    free parking nice open space nice grounds nice view The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, you are strongly expecting, when you see thoses wonderful castle pictures (from front and not back ;-) to sleep and stay IN the castle especially if the taxation for historical monument which has been taken into account in the bill is about 10 EUR/night taxes but it was not the case at all. In fact, you are entering in the castle using the back door and reach the reception in a corridor/ middle age horse car entrance porch :-(. I do not think that the reception of a historical monument should be placed in such entrance porch which is also very noisy, not confortable and quite windy as doors are always opening automatically. In reality this hotel has been transformed into a seminar, convention, event,mariage, meeting new building behind the castle ...The room is extremely "tied"however clean, the space for moving around the bedroom is minimal, there is no real cupboard for your clothes. quite noisy during the night as many event, seminar, meetings travellers/residents are often coming during the night after drinks and slaming the doors. The Breakfast is just simple however in a school dining hall, cold, the staff just do not care, clients are invisible for them as they are just concentrating with preparing the lunch for the seminar, event, meetings...if something is missing in the breakfast they just do not replace it. The restaurant has certainly not the level and the rank to play in this game

    Quite enough parking spots however you are not coming during seminars, meetings, events days... you can reach Maastricht center with walking just 10 min using the small pathway left from the parking or right with your back close to the castle door. You will reach Maastricht Noord.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some strange reason its rated three stars? Its way better than any four and five star hotel I have stayed in!

    The staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Hotel was very clean, nothing to fault. Food was excellent. Best hotel I have stayed in during more than forty years travel. Location great, plenty of private parking in massive grounds. Its a converted country house with new buildings attached. Private grounds, and when we stayed for this Christmas, the hotel and staff made such an effort to make everyone happy and comfortable. Superb, you will not regret staying here!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor organisation at cafe/bar in evening. Our meal was given to someone else and we didn't get any food for 3/4 hr! Would rather have had food than free drink. Waitress forgot the beer. Service v friendly but unprofessional.

    Breakfast extortionate at 16.50 euros unless you are a big eater. Cafe/bar shut until 10 am to force you to have it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange open plan loo in bedroom Some finer points of room cleanliness needed attention (hair down plughole)

    Great stopping off place avoiding Maastricht traffic and parking problems but 5 mins from city centre Stylish and attractive with a wonderful bucolic setting

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to quibble, the restaurant gets a bit noisy (all those hard, echoing surfaces) and we were disappointed to find that the shuttle into Maastricht only runs on Saturdays.

    Gorgeous, historic building in spacious grounds, modern and comfortable rooms, good food - all very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked tea making facilities within the room especially returning late in the evening.

    The bedroom was well appointed and most comfortable. The grounds were wonderful and we loved that it was not in the city centre but yet was very accessible. We used the bus into Maastricht....excellent service. We should certainly use this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a little expensive. Just a little grievance but no drawer space although there is ample hanging/storage space.

    Beautiful location with mature gardens and pleasant walks. Spacious terrace and ample room to sit outdoors. Taxi service arranged by hotel and fare added to your room. Meals are very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manor house is beautiful but actually a lot smaller than it appears in the pictures. And I didn't realize that the actual hotel rooms were in a new addition. The comfort and size of our room was nice--but it really felt like a college dorm room. Not what you'd expect with an estate like this. And there were not coffee/tea facilities, which is such an industry standard! Also no comfy chair--just a (dorm room style) desk and (wooden) desk chair. The gorgeous grounds made up for this, but good to keep in mind that that's what you're paying for...not necessarily a luxurious room.

    Absolutely gorgeous grounds, loved that it was a bit out of the city but still accessible. Food was amazing, and loved that there was a fruit garden where guest could go and pick their fill.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable rooms with wifi and air conditioning. Friendly staff, tasty breakfast and late bar where you can enjoy a few drinks on the terrace. Lovely gardens. Close to Maastricht Noord train station and the motorway.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Updated information in hotel info brochures. My mother read that there was a shuttle service into town everyday but this has been reduced to weekends.

    Beautiful setting, Well appointed rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a noisy all day disco on one of the days we stayed but it was not a regular event.

    Grounds of hotel were excellent for walking. Easy driving distance to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a wedding on the patio , it would be nice if they could arrange seats on the grass away from the reception so we could also enjoy the atmosphere.

    The hotel is great and value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the washbasin in the room instead of the bathroom while there is a big empty space next to the bed in the bathroom wall....

    everything except the bathroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was average. No information in the room about the hotel or the area.nothing to read at all. i asked reception about a getting a taxi back to the hotel at night from the city to be told it would be difficult. Taxi that brought us to town said different-gave us his card and said just ring number, which we did and had no difficulty at all.

    Very comfortable room with a big bathroom. lovely gardens to walk around. The hotel is very stately like.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu could be me extensive.

    Location, close to Maastricht, 5kms and in a very green relaxed environment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge.No conditioner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty , service not good , no fridge

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed (in fact two beds put together) very uncomfortable

    Surrounding is picturesque

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super place to stay for a romantic weekend or more. Excellent restaurant and surroundings. Quiet rooms and impressive building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful location. Very calm and picturesque. Staff were very friendly and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a shuttle to/from the train station

    Beautiful, peaceful, serene location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Surroundings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly out of the centre of town.

    Very quiet, clean and large hotel. Pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Awesome as usually!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic sheet on the beds... not like i am going to pee in it

    Beautifull environment. Nais old landhouse

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The best hotel in the area!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, excellent food and welcoming country atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stayed before,will stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely modernized chateau in park, just off the main connects, bargain deals

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no swimming pool

    excellent dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    amazing place and hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The matress of the bed was not very confortable (too soft).

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: