Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Valkenhof 2 stars

Zuidstraat 9 - 11, 4374 AJ Zoutelande, Netherlands

#7 of 8 hotels in Zoutelande

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 672 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed the stay at the hotel and the village is nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been bigger, but in general a good hotel for the price.

    The room / appartment was quite small but it was OK, just like the bathroom. Breakfast was good and we liked the location of the hotel, just 2 minutes from the centre and 5 minutes from the beach. The hotel has a nice private garden where you can have breakfast, or just sit and relax.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Hostel accommodation at hotel price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can appreciate that the high demand for accommodation in this small village gives a hotel the possibility to charge more, but if you do, there should be a higher standard of facilities too. The room was shabby, there was a kettle but no cups, no hair dryer, the curtains didn't close fully. Even if a room and a shower room are small, you could still furnish them a bit more comfortably if you want to charge 105 per night (without breakfast)!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    good but simple hotel in the hart of Zoutelande.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is too simple and dated for a price of 129 € per night. Windows didn't close in the bathroom and couldn't be positioned in the sleeping room. It was or open or closed, nothing in between.

    Old and very simple. Everything was there but dated. The rate quality/price is about 5/10. Very good location in the village and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    A very relaxing stay with lots of privacy near the seaside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good and there was enough choice but I missed some fresh fruit and a croissant or other gingerbread.

    Large and very quiet garden, well kept and open to all residents. A very dog-friendly hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are too small, the stairway up to the room is dangerously small. The air quality in the breakfast room was very poor.

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Tiny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room; very small bathroom; tight and narrow stairs that are hard to navigate while carrying luggage, for tall people and the elderly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay and bring your dog 5 min beside the beach
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really all good

    Easy going staff very clean and no issue with bringing dogs along

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    We will go there again next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location Good Breakfast Friendly Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    4.6
    Short stay in Zoutelande
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building decaying. Bad smells.

    Locarion close to beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    6.3
    The early breakfast in connection with the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are clean but too small. Beds are good, bathroom is small but O.K.

    The early breakfast in connection with the Zeeland walking marathon. Breakfast in a quiet environment, good quality.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    3.8
    Close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were old, damp spot on the ceiling, old dirty carpet, window didn't closed well, no wifi signal in the room, doghair on the couch in the room. At the moment we want to pay, the terminal didn't work, that can be a coincendence, but the way it was communicated didn't felt sincerely. Way to expensive for what you get. Never again!

    Close to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    2.5
    The garden was nice, but that was all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room in this hotel was horrible, the carpet was not clean, there was a huge water stain on the ceiling, smelled like mold. the room was so small that two people cloud not pass eachother, only room for one person to walk at a time. this was a complete rip off, I would never go here again and tell all I know how horrible it was. Your booking agency should drop them, this hotel does a great disservice to its customers and you are participating in this by listing them on your site. I spent 240 euros for two nights, and it was so bad i wanted to sleep on the beach, I was so embarrased to have to bring my partner in to this room, but nothin else available in small seaside town. This is exacatly why they dont care about the quality of there rooms, always someone else ready to waste money on a room. Its your job as our booking representitive to make sure its customers are not being ripped off. I wont use your service anymore and will not recomend your service to anyone I know who is traveling. we trust that you review these hotels, I am certian there have been many bad reviews of this hotel before.

    The garden was nice, but that was all

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Browse Hotel Valkenhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: