Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Van der Valk Maastricht 4 stars

Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, Netherlands

#28 of 54 hotels in Maastricht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3037 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Size of bedroom, peace and quiet, swimming pool, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa facilities unavailable weekday morning, no tea-making facilities in bedroom, bedroom safe broken and unusable,

    Size of bedroom, peace and quiet, swimming pool, excellent choice of breakfast, free car-parking,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    We are yearly regulars and will continue to do so DV.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing not to like.

    We stayed in a suite and the it was great. Worth the money with its own jacuzzi and steam cabin. Very comfortable and large bed. Very comfortable sitting corner. Also the internet access in the whole hotel is very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    2.9
    Bad place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stuff were horrible , unexperienced and with a bad attitude. for any request it takes forever. the Gym smells horrible, breakfast poor....lunches were below expectations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were large and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a good size bath and separate shower. The beds were comfortable. The hotel provides a free minibus into the city centre between 1700 and 2000. Parking is also free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    The staff were wonderful and made sure to help in anyway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were wonderful and made sure to help in anyway they could. The Room was very large and well equipped. All the furniture was comfortable and well placed in the room. The onsite restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    we have stayed before so knew what to expect, The hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was good

    we have stayed before so knew what to expect, The hotel is well located on edge of Maastricht and has very good pool /restaurant facilities. Rooms are a decent size and we will undoubtedly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    A good overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Taking breakfast is busy as it is a large hotel, with a significant number of residents milling around. The tea and coffee dispensing would be helped with perhaps additional machines. I think it is slow due to the numbers and water constantly heating up?

    It was well organised for attendees to the Andre Rieu concert with the coordinated transport, and the bar being open for returnees. It had a good car park for travellers as we had come by road from Rotterdam. The voucher system for ordering taxi`s on our room number was good although we did have an issue with the phone number as it was in Dutch. But we resolved it. Our room was very quite and a really good size to make it comfortable for us. Breakfast was really good and is an excellent mix of continental and English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel - though had better experieces at other Van der Valk locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like smoke. We switched rooms - problem was solved by staff. Rooms are also a little bit damaged.

    Free parking and great taxi+shuttle service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    An hotel with poor service. Hotel not in a good location for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at the reception by coming in. The lady who took care of us acted like robot, very unfriendly. Sauna is okay but would have been nice if there were signs were everything was. Water was available but in a coffeemaker. Not handy. No headstand in the sauna. For a 4 star hotel with wellness, bathrobs should be available in the rooms. Now you had to rent for Euro 5,-- per person. Location: it is 3/4 h. walking from the city.

    Room was comfortable. Nice there was a coffeemaker in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Facilities bar area and brassiere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff unhelpful. Had to sleep in dirty sheets Spoke to receptionist and asked for manager to email us but received nothing? Very disappointing

    Facilities bar area and brassiere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    A great weekend, good food and drink and fantastic accommodation at a sensible price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    we did not know what to expect but any doubts we had were unfounded. Located 30 minutes walk from the centre the Valk was an excellent hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient from the moment we checked in. We booked in for an evening meal in the restaurant, food and service was good although we had to wait a short time for our mains but not critical. The room was big, plenty of room for the 3 of us and immaculate. The shuttle bus took 10 minutes to get into town and picked us up when we were ready.The hotel was full due to the Andre Rieu concert but the service did not suffer. Food and drinks all sensibly priced and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable and enjoyable stay with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror area not light enough although bathroom mirror fine. A fridge in the room would have been useful .

    Food was lovely and bed and pillows excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very pleasant experience with very pleasant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far out from the city centre. Not easy to access and a little expensive using taxis if three for any length of time if you haven't got use of a car. We were unlucky in that our room hadn't been serviced on our second day until 5pm. Also whilst a fridge was provided it was not plugged in ( socket must have been behind the fridge because we couldn't find it) and unfortunatelyrics it was a hot summer.

    The public areas are beautiful, the restaurants layed out well with an excellent choice of food. Waiting staff pleasant and helpful. In fact all staff very pleasant, to their credit all spoke excellent English ( aren't we spoilt ) and happy to have a laugh and general banter with us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    The price to which I have booked was not the same price that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no third bed as viewed on the site. It was an extra 'camping' bed. The airconditioning made a lot of noice. The room wasn't that clean. There was coffee in the room but no milk or no tea. There were only two cups for three persons. There was a lot of noice from the room above.

    The price to which I have booked was not the same price that the hotel charged me! It was 20 euro extra!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable Maastricht had a festival atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in main restaurant needs to improve

    Breakfast was great Main restaurant was ok Brassiere was ok Reception service was very good Ambience of hotel very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shore cubicle was incredible, but better instructions in the use of the shower mis needed, I almost got scalded.

    Vast choice of breakfast, superb buffet and excellent room service. Lovely bedroom and bathroom. Hotel location is ideal, we went to André Rieu concert and the organisation was marvellous.Cannot praise too highly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Felt like we were treated differently to other guests very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing on booking in. Bed not being changed when requested? When I complained I requested a written response as to why? Never received. No taxi voucher offered all in all felt staff actually had no interest in us as a group ?

    Facilities bar and dinning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Easy to find because of its proximity to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was very tired and shabby. Fraying carpets, peeling wallpaper and holes in the curtains didn’t leave me feeling the hotel was well maintained. I stay in hotels in cities all over the world and this one Is very pricey for the standard of accommodation on offer.

    Easy to find because of its proximity to the motorway. Shuttle buses into town and nice friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I chose the hotel based on its facilities i.e., pool, sauna & steam room and little extra comforts like the coffee machine in the room however the sauna and steam room were not working or not switched on when we used the facilities and the coffee pods, creamer, sugar not replaced on our second day of our 2 night stay and the cups were not washed or replaced. It was late when we noticed so felt it was too late to flag with reception that night but this was very disappointing as we had planned to head back to the room and have a coffee that night. It also meant there was no coffee for first thing the next morning. I mentioned it on check out but didn't get much response. I could have spent a few hundred less on my accommodation but went 4* and payed 4* to have these extra comforts. So I really don't know what I was paying the extra for. Also on our first morning I booked breakfast but you had to queue for 10 mí utes for the coffee machine. They don't have enough coffee machines and all the guests were complaining in the queue about this. Zircon in the room inadequate also and cold water shower the morning we were check g out.

    The room was nice. It was a suite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far from the center. The Jacuzzi did not work in the spa complex

    The hotel is spacious, cozy and beautiful. The staff are very kind. Breakfast is varied and luxurious. The spa area is very pampering. Located about half an hour walk from the city center. Their are shatels until noon. We have really enjoyed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    The bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was shocking and not up to Van der Valk standards at all. Room had lots of marks on the walls, very cold with no mirror in the room, more like a prison cell than a hotel room where they charge you over Euros 100 a night. Air conditioning was very noisy and not possible to adjust i.e. either you were too hot with it off or you had to put up with the noise

    The bathroom!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel a couple days ago for the wellness facilities. When I went to book an appointment for a massage, the staff told me the massage therapist is free because it's a national holiday. I know that but the hotel is open and the staff is working as well. So I don't understand that there is only one massage therapist for the entire hotel and not working when the other staff is. I never had any email about reservations required for the beauty salon/massages or a warning that it's closed on national holidays aka the day I'm coming. The staff was very sorry but never offered any compensation, drink, voucher or I don't know... I'm disappointed, I wanted to RELAX. The hotel is near an autoroute. It's ugly and you have to walk 25-30min from the center to get there. The view from my room was that autoroute. Luckily it was not noisy but the AC was super loud and not very cooling. So it was hot in the room. The wellness facility was unfortunately small, basic and crowded. There were also some matresses in a corner of the sauna area. A bit messy. To conclude, I don't recommend this hotel. It's not a good service/equipment for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Matress of the bed pretty hard Breakfast not that great, my son alone has the breakfast but not too impress However the diner was nice

    Peacefull The pool area is fantastic and well design... TOP Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the highway side. The noise was ok, but there were some light shining on the windows through the curtains, which was very disturbing at night. The room could have been better cleaned. There was still quite a bit of dust on the headbord and night tables.

    Friendly staff, quiet location not too far from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for a fair price. Large and clean rooms with excellent beds and other faciities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent, but e.g. scrambled eggs etc were not kept warm enough in the pan. Wifi was not stable and sometimes not working

    Comfortable and specious rooms. Excellent beds and other room facilities. Large bath room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay. Very comfortable and very convenient to MECC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes I could hear the other room doors slam, maybe a quiet shut should be used on the doors to keep that from happening

    The rooms were spacious and we didn't feel crowded. Better than a normal European hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value/money ratio (although on the high side of my usual travel budgets)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decorated and furnished according to Top Dutch design standards Excellent diner and gorgeous breakfast. The brasserie is a nice spot for holding an informal meeting or just spend a relaxing moment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    A decent way to discover Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The city centre is just on the limit of being accessible by walking. We arrived after sunset, in the dusk, and we found it very hard to locate and identify the hotel: there is absolutely NO hotel name visible - only a green neon sign ... which looked more like a toucan than a falcon (Valk), see attached photo.

    We really liked the breakfast (even though it felt quite pricey), during our three-night stay we discovered new delicacies every morning - no chance of getting bored with the brekkie. The parking is free of charge. We didn't try the spa, but it seemed quite popular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Good arrangement for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for disposable slippers and no alternative option to buy plastic slippers; not common and not considerate for a hotel with sauna and swimming service For Easter no room service Extra bed is broken. The staff was not helpful

    Good arrangement for kids Food is ok Room is ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall I thought the hotel was very good but somewhat let down by the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices in the restaurant were on the expensive side for a hotel on the outskirts of Maastricht and for not particularly good quality food. My beef was very tough. There was not a great choice and the food portions were very large. Each portion of vegetables was enough for three people, so much was wasted. There was even less choice in the Brasserie. It had a very restricted menu.

    Room very large and very comfortable. Bathroom very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with nice jacuzzi
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in this hotel 6 month ago. We really enjoyed staying there, so we booked in advance for our next business trip. But unfortunately, our event place was changes to different city. We needed to cancel our booking. Hotel management was really helpful and cancelled it and refunded our money, even we booked rooms with "non-refundable" option. So it was really nice of them. If we visit Maastricht again, we will choose Van der Valk Maastricht hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    2.9
    Aweful!!! Poor!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would normally never stay in a hotel that has such bad facilities. As a woman alone, I was put in room 302, at the end of a long corridor. As I entered my room after check-in, there were housekeeping staff making the bed. Half of the bedding was on the floor. The coffee machine was dirty from a previous guest, the headboard scratch as in a low-rate motel. The room service menu was lying behind a cupboard, and the telephone connection to reception and room service was broken. The wind howled through the opening under the door the whole night. I had to put towels in front of the door. This hotel is not recommended!!!

    Nothing. The hotel needs an urgent revamp

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Very Nice and helpfull staf free shuttle service to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was nog cleaned very well durft kit Edges thin towels sofa was completely worm put the overal impression of the room was a bit that everything was out and about. But not the roomprice that was high. Overall not very van der valk like

    Very Nice and helpfull staf free shuttle service to the city good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff is friendly, breakfast is very good and available for a long period. Rooms are clean and up to date except for the bathroom (a bit older but very clean, it was no problem for us)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.2
    The most disappointing stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Dirty coffee can in room - They forgot to clean our room - Welness unmanned: we had to search for towels in the closet. All dirty towels on the ground. Water everywhere which was dirty and unsafe. - We arrive 1355 and could not get a key before 1400 for our room as there were no rooms available the servant said. 5 minutes, suddenly a lot of rooms were available?

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a first class location for the MECC in Maastricht a leisurely 10 to 15 minute walk. If you want to go to the centre there is a free shuttle service every half hour, or a 20 minute walk. The hotel also has a has a late opening Bar/Restaurant area with excellent service, great food recommend the the split pea soup and the beef lasagna. The staff are most helpful and really do there best to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money. Very polite staff. Need car to get to the old Maastricht center.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small swimming pool and not enough space around it. No seats or deck chairs around the pool. Only 2 small benches always occupied. No complementary bathrobes. We discovered on our last day that we could rent a bathrobe for 5€.

    Very polite and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    OK hotel but disappointing compared to photos and depcriptions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing depite putting the heater on max, very impersonal feel though the staff try their best the hotel feels like a holiday resort where all the guests are just a number. Pool too small, children hogging the pool doing water bombs... not what we expected.

    Great restaurant/bar, easy access from the highway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    clean rooms and bathroom.........would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor tea making facilities in room and powered milk!!!!!!!

    good breakfast selection but very thin bacon get to breakfast early or else it gets cold good bar meals but wider selection would be great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.0
    It was good but for that money they have to do better than we experienced
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the side of the bed a little piece was hanging loose. The staff at the restaurant was not very welcoming and the vegetarian food was disgusting and cold.

    The breakfast was really good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.4
    Sympa pour une dernière visite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was really disappointed about the extra services for the rooms. I requested some rose petals as well as a bottle of sparkling wine. Once arrived we found our bottle of wine and the rose petals next to it instead of them being on the bed. The comfort rooms do not have a fridge with a mini bar. Instead you can buy a mini bar box with includes some drinks and snacks but unfortunately the box isn't cold at all and as you do not have a fridge in the room you can't keep them cold. On our last day we found a garbage bag in front of your room. The room itself was clean but you clearly see that the hotel is a bit older.

    The Staff in the restaurant as well as in the bar were friendly and really helpful. The food is delicious and the prices are ok. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of sweet and savoury. Moreover the you can park your car for free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent to combine with Maastricht and a Welness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The distance between the hotel and the city center was a little bit too far to go by feet.

    The breakfast was really luxury with a lot of variation in the food and drinks. The wellness was very clean. The staff was also very kind and really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    good enough
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass of the shower was cleaned approximately... Noisy after 07:30 (work in progress) for which we were not advised , even if it didn't matter as we needed to go out early.

    Very good breakfast. Smart position - 3 minutes by car to the center and immediatelly at the highway exit for leaving the day after. Very big room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Very nice sauna and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no drinking water in the room. And there were no bathrobe and no slippers.

    Very nice sauna and pool. A bit small but very good. It was very clean. Free parking. 35 minutes walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice, clean hotel with kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the Spa; a bath robe on the room would have made my stay perfect ;-)

    Nice, clean hotel with kind staff. Loved the sauna and (small) swimmingpool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay in nice hotel on good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfest not included in room rate / too expensive.

    Excellent room with enough space. Restaurant and brasserie serve good food at a reasonable price. From hotel it is easy to drive to center of town. Free parking on site is a plus. Fabulous view from room on highest floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay - very reliable hotel chain
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small gym

    Great room ( Hollywood suite), steambath, jacuzzi and aromatherapy included! Hotel spa area with pool, jacuzzi and sauna. One of the best breakfast ever. Big restaurant utilised for breakfast too. Free parking Clean hotel Big windows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telephone in the bedroom didn't work so we had to go downstairs to order room service.

    The breakfast buffet is great! Many options with viennoiseries changing every day. The swimming pool and sauna are also a really nice plus. Too bad the massages were not available on Wednesdays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    We will definitely go there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The position of the TV: it cannot move to face the sitting area.

    We have stayed in the hotel before and loved it. We love the live cooking and the food in general.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel outside of Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning does not function well.

    The hotel is located in the closest outskirts of the city of Maastricht. If you enjoy walking you may access the city by foot but that would take you approximately 25 minutes. The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. There are different types of rooms at the hotel and I would recommend you to book a deluxe comfort room as the bathrooms of the standard rooms need some desperate renovations. The parking around the hotel is free and opposite the hotel is a gas station. Depending on the location of your room, you will enjoy a great view of the city from your room. Try getting a room on the fifth floor with a city view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice large rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice large rooms. Very comfortable beds. 15 minutes walking from the MECC and about 20 minutes from the city center. Nice and relatively cheap bar with good food and drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic and comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful sauna and swimming pool area; lovely garden view from the breakfast area; it was quiet in the room; very friendly staff of the hotel; excellent idea with the taxi vouchers and shuttle bus to the city centre; and what a great natural mint tea in the hotel cafe!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place, large room, nice pool and sauna, great...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were too squashy, some furniture like sofa need replacement - the cover peels off

    Very nice place, large room, nice pool and sauna, great choice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of restaraunt is everywhere. You enter the lobby and it smells like a fast food place. The breakfast is expensive - for a family with 2 kuds-4 & 6 yera old- it could cost us 45 euro. So we just drived to the center and for 30 euro includibg parking had a delicious breakfast. Doesn't make sense that small kids pay so much.

    The room was spacious and clean. The indoor pool is small but great for a nice rest with kuds after you explore the area around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Not a spa hotel but still worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came for the spa facilities and we were left disappointed. All treatments were fully booked out already at check in, the pool was unsupervised, small and full of jumping yelling kids - not exactly a romantic getaway. Our dinner reservations got lost so our dinner was postponed by an hour, and the restaurant was a bit too noisy. Breakfast was good but very expensive - 15.50 is not a good value.

    Not close to the city center but great location for coming with a car (right off the highway) - with good parking as well. We had a suite which was delightful - nicely done and the whirlpool was a great compensation for the lack of spa facilities. Good lunch and dinner, very pleasant staff. The rooms were quiet and the overall stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is not cheap to stay there. About 150 incl breakfast. Its a bit pricy but the hotel is always fully booked.

    Breakfast buffet was greaf and nice clean rooms with good beds. Friendly staff!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Charming weekend in Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is missing some little things in the bathroom but nothing that I can't leave with. Otherwise, everything is very good.

    It's the second time I've been in Maastricht and always at the same Hotel. Me, and my family, we like to stay at Valk Hotel Maastricht because the staff is very kind, rooms are spacious, breakfast is very good, and with lots of options, and the restaurant has also a great service. Because of all I describe, I recommend Valk Hotel Maastricht!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Our stay in the hotel was mainly bound to André Rieu's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices increased in all the restaurants and hotels for this opportunity. Thank you André Rieu.

    Our stay in the hotel was mainly bound to André Rieu's concert in Maastricht. All the organization, the shuttle round trip, parking lot booked for the customers of the hotel, everything was impeccable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect pace for a few days Maastricht!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not on walking distance from the city center.

    Most competent and friendly ladies at reception. Large and modern room with perfect amenities. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    The itemised bill when checking out could have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The itemised bill when checking out could have been presented in English. No idea what I paid for. But this seems to be common in Maastricht. No English signs or explanations. Unusual in Europe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice large, air-conditioned rooms in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice large, air-conditioned rooms in the summer. That is something that is hard to find. However, I am a great Wimbledon fan, and the TV was so small and so dark (I could not adjust) that it was almost impossible to watch. Other than that, which was a big disappointment, the hotel staff and facilities are very professional and up to 3-4 star rating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Nice Staty in Hotel Van Der Valk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little of Smoke odor that attached to the bed's sheets and pillows. But maybe it is not easy to get rid of this.

    I like the staff were very helpful, very kind. Each time to go to Netherlands, I stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    A comfortable and hospitable hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was in close proximity to the Margraten American Cemetery where I visited. It needs to be advertised as such. The rooms were well accommodated. I needed an adaptor to charge my phone and the reception was grateful to provide one. It was nice having the variety of restaurants in the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Good facilities but too warm rooms in the summer. With a proper AC, would be a gtreat place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was like a sauna at night. Too warm! and when we asked a fan, the staff just told us to open the AC which realy never cool the room, but just make noise. We couldn't sleep well. The matress was too soft for adults. Good for kids, but for 100kg person is not good. You feel your falling to a hole.

    Spa, location and brekfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Confortable. Great restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very confortable and spatious room and general hotel facilities. The pool is really nice! Also, broad choice for breakfast and good restaurant as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit difficult to get to the centre of the city from there. Maastricht is divided by 1. a river and 2. a railway line, and you have to cross both which needs some planning... So, better take a taxi if you go to the centre.

    A very convenient hotel for those who travel by car. Easy to reach from the highway. A huge parking lot. Nice staff, large and clean rooms, a very comfortable stay. To be recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    The wellness center pool wss open from 7 am to 10 pm which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wellness centre was disgustingly dirty, there were beer cans and a wine bottle next to the pool and a usedbsanitary towel in the changing room on the floor. Really gross. Also the whirl pool did not work which was disappointing.

    The wellness center pool wss open from 7 am to 10 pm which our daughter loved

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    We stayed in a suite and the bed was enormous and extremely...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite remote and the adjacent road works made this more inconvenient. It is a good 30 minutes walk into the historic centre. I was at a conference at the MECC and it was a reasonable location for this - a 15 minute walk.

    We stayed in a suite and the bed was enormous and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    2.9
    Totally dissappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait till the room was ready to check in and the receptionist could only say sorry offering a soft drink voucher. Having asked to be offered breakfast, the receptionist was well prepared to say he could not do that because the managers were out of office. Found a dead insect on the chair. No fridge in the room and the coffee machine in the room was useless. Very bad price/quality balance(!).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Carefully with breakfast after bank holydays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, the breakfast after Eastern (on the 18th of april) was partly too old, they served braun colored ham and salami - it tasted sauer and in them water swimed old fruits (kiwi, watermelone), the chees was served allso from the day befor, the hard boiled eggs loocked like double coocked, with yellow, green and braun stripes on the egg yolk. We made some pix. -Ther were 4 or 5 international cycle team, real profis, they eat, partly the same food, i hope they did not get sick from the food! As the waitress asked me why i did not eat the sauer and braun colored ham, and she transfered my answer, her boss (long, dark braun haired women) was running out from the Kitchen and screamed: how was that person how complain the food? But first of all they removed the old stuff from the plates. It was not funny. We traveled by train (interrail) one way by taxi cost from the main station cost ca. 9 €, free shuttle service to the citycenter from the hotel just operating on friday and saturday 2 times a day. The bus ticket to the citycenter, per person offered for ca. 9 €. Designed smoking area front of the hotel without cover. It was not so comfortable by rain and cold weather. If you can't speak very well english, like me and you try to order something in german (my native is hungarian and i learned german in the school - i use it most of them in international context, 'couse my english is not so good. - i learned it just on the autodidactic way), then the people becam unfriendly to us in the stores and restaurants or simple they don't served us so long we did not tried to explain it in english. Not everywhere, but we made this experience 3-5 times a day. Check the minibar box befor ordering! - Other guest told us, that they bot it and they were wondered, that the box included everithing, what they showed on the pix in the elevator, just in mini form.

    Room was clean and warm, reception was informativ.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.4
    Just budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's lights not working and we asked the hotel to fixed first day and few times after that stayed for one week,they didn't fix at all till we left.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Overall excellent hotel great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities

    Overall size of both the bathroom and bedroom. Very large and comfortable bed. Clean and tidy. Enjoyed breakfast. Excellent selection. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    nice hotel good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not very comfortable and a kettle tea bags and coffee sachets in room would be nice

    The friendly staff the food was very nice hotel had nice ambience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    We booked the suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer was malfunctioning and the tv didn't have good reception

    We booked the suite. Which was very spacy, the bed was very good. So was the steam shower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.5
    A typical Van der Valk hotel; good value for money, with no frills
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A food smell welcomes you in the main entrance obviously from the Brasserie situated in the main hall. Stayed in room on 5th floor (505) and due to storm, did not sleep one wink as there was a "rolling" on and off noise coming from the rooftop. I heard the guest next-door complain about this as well at 2.00 am in the morning....! Also ticking noises coming from the same roof kept me awake. Avoid staying in top floor (5th). No chair in room due to re-upholstery. Instead there was a simple dining room chair. A note was left to apologise for this, but I do not think it acceptable to offer a room without at least one comfortable chair in it. Hotel very hard to reach by car due to detours in the Maastricht area.

    Large and comfortable room with ample space for baggage, clothing etc. Large bathroom with basic amenities. Bed was very comfortable. Limited room service menu and 7,50 Euro charge for even a cup of coffee brought in the room. When traveling on your own, and you do not always feel like sitting in the restaurant, a minus! Main restaurant only open in weekends, during weekdays there is just the brasserie with also limited choice of food. I very much appreciated the complimentary and extensive breakfast due to my complaint of noise during the night (see minus points). A typical Van der Valk hotel with more for less attitude (huge breakfast, huge portions, huge room) at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Van der Valk Maastricht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: