Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel A4 Schiphol 4 stars

Rijksweg A4, Nr 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, Netherlands

#6 of 17 hotels in Hoofddorp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6266 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, i use this hotel 5 times a year, the manager always makes it a 10/10 experience, i have more enjoyable time here with amazing view compared to other hotels in netherlands

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room came only with a coffee-maker, paper cups and wooden stirrers - tacky for the price we paid, plus one member of the party only drinks tea, and it was impossible to get her a cup of hot water that didn't taste of coffee. The TV didn't work either. I wouldn't stay there again.

    The staff were friendly and the shuttle service was efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to many Chinese group guests, noisy and not comfortable. No fridge made me embarrassed and regretful to have chosen. Room is old-fashioned needs remodeling.

    It's a hu~ge hotel and looks traditional, has a nice view around. Good facilities and amenities. Shuttle service is quite convenient. Front staff are kind enough. Dinner at the restaurant was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not judge a book by its cover - from the outside the hotel is just the average, but once you get in is when the adventure begins. Nicely done interior, quite unique and memorable. Hotel is huge, with long hallways, many conference rooms, a bar and a restaurant, a lot of space where you can just sit and have a break. And then a breakfast- Oh boy, after spending three weeks in Canada and the USA ( food at hotels across the pond trully sucks) and then coming to the abundance of food served for breakfast at this hotel - worth every penny.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no bar fridge in the room. There is a coffee machine but only with disposable paper cups. The coffee machine was leaking water at the bottom. There is a new building with lovely rooms but then you must book there.

    The convenience of the Pick Up Bus from the Airport to the hotel for free and every 20 minutes. The very nice and affordable food in the Restaurant. The spacious room. And the big car park also for free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not up to standard. They are playing a brand new complex of which the plans and layout one can see in the reception area. So maybe this is the reason for not keeping up the older rooms.

    The convenience of going from the airport on the free "pick up bus" to the hotel and back every 20 minutes. The spacious rooms and enough towels. And the lovely and affordable meals in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in our room. Tv was not turning on.

    staff are accommodating. Rooms are clean and fairly spacious. Free shuttle to and from the airport. Based on the length of our stay, i can recommend this hotel and i might go back there if given another chance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has paid lockers for baggage storage which I don't mind but were so few that there were no available lockers at the time. With the big number of guests staying in a big hotel, there should at least be more lockers to use.

    The room was very spacious and amenities were available. The location was near the airport and they have a free shuttle to and from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Late night drinking is frowned upon with the bar closing way too early. The reception staff were reluctant to recalibrate our room key cards that stopped working because "we were leaving tomorrow." Breakfast was extra and 15euros seemed excessive. Save yourself a fiver and walk five minutes to the Starbucks and get yourself a decent coffee, sausage sandwich and a cinnamon swirl. The most hilarious and annoying thing is the revolving door which a coach load of guests tried to get through in one go which meant I couldn't check in for twenty minutes on arrival while they sorted out the jam. Proper Fawlty Towers moment.

    The room was nice and the decor ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better, we will use the facility again and again!!!!!!

    We loved the location, shuttle service to the airport, all hotel employees we came in contact with, the dinner and drinks in the Brasserie. Congratulations to front office staff and the Brasserie staff..👍👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If it wasn't for the great hotel shuttle service to the airport, taking the trip into Amsterdam central would be difficult. However with buses running every 40 minutes to the airport and back, it is very easy to get to Amsterdam central in around 30 minutes

    Very comfortable beds and pillows. Private terrace/ balcony works a treat. Wellness and gym is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough Electric places to load all Electronic equipment ( phone, ipad, Notebook etc). Nothing nrar the bed Magnifying glass in the bathroom Hangers to dry the toweld long waiting time for the reception

    Swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy with coach parties. Restaurant very busy and not much choice if eateries within walking distance.

    Outside did not look well kept but the inside was beautiful. Lot of statues to take photos of

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was give note to resption 3 times that the air condition it was not work cold. but there is no one solve this problem, that’s make my stay in this hotel very bad. Room No.:329

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed more staff in bar area. Had to order at bar for bar food and drinks. Many travelers did not understand and thought they were being ignored, especially the seniors. Bar food should be expanded.

    Décor in public areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airport shuttle makes it very comfortable and easy to reach the hotel. Rooms are a bit old and not in the greatest condition but very spacious, clean and with all amenities. I also really liked the fitness center and pool. It was a good stay and would surely recommend to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a small refrigerator is handy.

    The room is spacious and bright, also the bathroom has a tub and shower, which is rare in a hotel. Free shuttle to go to Shiphol airport is a plus for us. Nice decor in the lobby and room. Good value for your money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant food quality & service could be better no free bottle of water in the room

    swimming pool, rooms and parking space for the car checkin & checkout process

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to relax before catching a flight out of Amsterdam. Easy to get to airport and then catch train to Amsterdam for sightseeing. Really clean and fresh and very comfortable beds. I loved that hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. We were waiting more than 90 minutes for the hotel shuttle. One scheduled service has simply felled out. 2. A cockroach in the bath tube was really a non pleasant welcome surprise for us

    Willingness to help - they keep our luggage at the day of check -out till and of the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    last trip of bus from schipol airport should be extended to 11.45 p.m cause the last train from germany reaches there at 11.30p.m...we caught at brim..

    excellent ambience in hotel.reception,corridors,swimming pool,walls,pictures,antique properties,lawn,garden,gym were neatly maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was helpful and pleasant during check in. They even upgraded our room! The decor of the facility is very modern and comforting. Our room was spacious and the bed was super comfortable unlike most. This is a perfect location if you are wanting to visit the tulip gardens in Keukenhof. I recommend this place 100%!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel is kind and helpful but with a typical Dutch business attitude that may not always be appreciated by everyone.

    Great position for short stay before an early morning departure from Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (5 minutes drive or with hotel shuttle bus) or for business in the entire Randstad (just along the highway A4 that connects Amsterdam, The Hague and Rotterdam). Rooms are spacious, silent and complete.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A maze (not a-mazed). Plastic caps for coffe/tea in room. Request for pre-authorization of credit card.

    Huge room, huge bathroom, quiet place and surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in the room

    Location and staff were great. Janesia (our waitress in the dining room) was especially pleasant and made our dinner very enjoyable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel is what I would call perfect in regards to customer satisfaction. Everything advertised is in full working order. Staff deliver an wonderful service day in day out. Finally the facilities and the location are mind blowing and the shuttle works a dream.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionists were not really friendly, being a hotel near to the airport should be more international, with more friendly personal from all countries, not only Dutch staff. I felt a little bit discriminated by the recepcionist.

    Bed: comfortable, good space inside the room, nice restaurant and bar, terraza.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the bottom floor and had ants in our room-like it was INFESTED-we called housekeeping who said they were coming with a spray and they never showed up. I understand how this could happen-the patio door opened to the outside and we had left some cheese on the table. When we came back after an hour-there were ants everywhere. HOwever we were only staying for one night and it wasn't worth changing hotels.

    Free shuttle to the airport was great and the style of the rooms was adorable. Even the hallways were cool-they're like being inside a Delft plate. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast. The lobby is a bit of a zoo with huge tour groups coming and going but they manage everything rather well. You don't really get a massively personalized service but overall the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioned was still in winter mode so the room was very hot however the staff were helpful and apologetic for the inconvenience.

    Breakfast has a great assortment. Room are big and spacious. Transfer to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that it was off the beaten path and quiet. It gave us a chance to relax. The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful as was the dinner. The reception was quick and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our ket card did not work and you wait absolute ages to report to reception because they are so busy. get to the back of the queue to tell them it is still not working - 3 visits to reception before rectified!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ENORMOUS wait at checkin! The front desk had at least five people handling guests checking in and out but there were so many guests we waited twenty minutes and we were only staying a total of 12 hours!

    Well appointed family room - a separate toilet room from the shower room was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was further away from the airport than we anticipated and the shuttle bus wait was 40 minutes. We are not heavy eaters and did not purchase the breakfast because we thought it was too expensive for what we would consume. We got a light breakfast at the airport instead.

    The beds were immaculate and comfortable. Best night sleeping!! Small snacks and wine at the bar were perfect for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    My mom stayed there with her friend. Location is close to the airport, very easy to get to Amsterdam Centraal station and Keukenhof. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, helped to book tickets to Van Gogh museum. Clean quite cozy stay. Both mom and her friend were very happy and give the best feedback about the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twenty years ago breakfast was outstanding, now it is just ordinary. When there is plenty of space else in the hotel, breakfastroom was opposite. Very little room between tables and chairs.

    Central situated and big rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So, the toilet and shower are separate areas but the sink is open to the bedroom. Yet ONE light is for all three. Which means either going to the bathroom in the dark, hard to do in a strange place, or turning on a light and waking up your spouse. A separate light for the toilet seems to me to be a no-brainer.

    Very clean and comfortable. Everything you could need almost available in a vending machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is far away from airport and city centre

    We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and it delivered what we were looking for. It was comfortable and clean, but it is too far away from the both the airport and the city centre. The free airport shuttle bus made it easy to commute to the airport and connect from there. We were visiting Holland for 2 days to see the Keukenhof gardens and this hotel was the most affordable one we can find while all other hotels were either fully booked or way too expensive. If you are planning a longer visit this hotel would be too far away from sites

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast, some noise from the planes, but it wasn't too bad (during the night there was no flights/noise)

    A large hotel with lots of parking spaces, the staff was very friendly and ready to help, a free bus to the airport and back every 40 minutes, a very nice bar, the room and bathroom was very large with bath and shower, but there are some small things that need to be renovated (at the reception there is already presented plan for renovation in 2020), a pleasant swimming pool and saunas, 200 m away as part of the motorway stop there is KFC, Burger king, and some other restaurants, ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was crowded and chaotic with hordes of tour package guests- even late at night. There was no one to help with bags even though I had to make two trips due to a faulty key card. Had to take two elevators to just get to my room. Breakfast buffet was ample but again you were with hundreds of guests. The free shuttle to airport was a bonus.

    The room was spacious for European standards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative to say. All was like promised and extra points from friendly staff and excellent breakfast. We had great holiday and recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a sple did breakfast buffet with a huge assortment of cold cuts, fruits, juices but everything that should be hot like eggs (any style), bacon etc were cold and as a consequence with not much taste.

    Proximity to Schiphol

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff training is clearly not working.

    The staff were either ok or absolutely terrible. The Duty manager conceded that they had very severe staffing problems. My business partner and I found some staff to be extremely rude.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not everytime smilling. Friday night there were a arab wedding with a lot of noise. Flying airplane was in front of room. Sometimes difficult to find a place for car as customer of Casino take place in Hotel..

    I love bathroom 2 person and the other place for shower. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lay out of parking and overall appearance.

    Van der Valk A4 looks pretty undesirable from the outside however it is AMAZING on the inside. I understand the hotel is due for a renovation in the near future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok, considering the price of 15 euros per person it's a little over priced for the quality.

    The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was exceptionally clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dim lighting in the bedroom, Soviet-era furnishings. No fridge. No self-service laundry within the hotel.

    The wifi was great. Size of the bedroom was ample. Great shuttle bus access to Schiphol airport. I liked the vending machines at reception level.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes stressy/noisy at the reception at check in, as even with 4 counters, waiting times count up which does not give a relaxing feeling if on holiday.

    Very nice comfortable hotel, however sometimes stressy/noisy at the reception at check in, as even with 4 counters, waiting times count up which does not give a relaxing feeling if on holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Restaurant was excellent. Good menu, very good food and presentation. Service was first rate and very efficient. Exceeded my expectations. Shuttle bus service from Schipol Airport very good. Organisation of facilities for the marketing meeting I attended were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good this time, they closed breakfast 45 minutes early as they had to clean up, but still no refund even though we didnt get to eat

    Great customer service, i stay here all the time at least 4 times a year

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor of the room is not precisely my style, looks old. Also, no buckets to charge my phone near the bed, or near any desk, I had to connect it by the bathroom.

    Dinner at the restaurant was very nice, food was very good overall, they also have free airport shuttle and the staff is nice, the person who did my CK in was very kind and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel didn't provided any luggage room but only several charged lockers. The madam in front desk isn't very welcoming.

    The location of the hotel is a little bit far away from the airport but it can be both pros and cons. Room is very big but without minibar in it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge room with a view, fantastic bathroom, extremely comfortable bed, the transfer is useful and very easy to find. Overall an excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floor is almost all covered by carpet, sometimes it's a bit dusty.

    Good location with frequent shuttle to/from Schiphol airport. We love the breakfast menu and room was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room and bathroom with plenty of space for the four of us. Wonderful dining room and breakfast. Lovely swimming pool and wellness area. Gorgeous bar area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was overheated and with the window open, the noise from other guests was quite a disturbance during the night.

    The room was spacious, the wellness centre was a great bonus and we got to the airport on the hotel shuttle with ease. The staff in the restaurant were excellent and there were some sweet touches for my five year old, such as a necklace making kit given to her on check-in, and a toy in the kids meal she had for supper

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel policies regarding cleaning- replacing used towels each day is one thing, throwing out the bar of hotel soap you've just opened each day is another. Unnecessary waste in my opinion. Do be aware of the proximity of the airport- you can definitely hear the planes during the day, but things do quieten down between about 10 pm and 6 am. On the other hand, I could not hear the highway at all with the windows closed and that was a pleasant surprise considering its proximity.

    The shuttle bus service to the airport was excellent, journey of about 15 mins each way. Hotel room was comfy, really appreciated the coffee machine. The hotel swimming pool was a very nice surprise. Generally good, accesible layout- ramps and lifts- I was on crutches and still found it easy to get around in all places except the pool and wellness area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the swimming pool area and changing rooms could be improved. A fridge in the room would be useful.

    The waiting staff and reception staff were very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not clear I could call for a cheap 7,50 Euro transport Service after shuttle hours. Now paid 40 Euro for Taxi. They could make that better visible.

    The room, the bed and the breakfast. Very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy at spa. Need to provide slippers.

    Great location to stay for visiting the Tulip Frstival! Access to free airport shuttle and train to Ciry Center was very quick and easy. Spa is great - but no privacy and don’t forget your slippers! Breakfast was delicious and many options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers and robe!but that not a big deal..

    The room is big and bed is very comfortable and we sleep well,breakfast is brilliant a lots of choices..staff are so friendly and helpful..I can recommend it and definitely coming back again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checking in at 6pm was very busy and could have done with more staff for that busy time - it was a 15 min wait. The fact that the swimming pool was closed on one morning and we couldn't use either the steam room or sauna either. The staff did however provide us with an alternative but it wasn't quite the same. The fact that the hotel was sited off a motorway junction and we had a long detour to travel South again. The fact that breakfast was 13 euros each.

    The size of the family room. The swimming pool, gym and steam room. The on-site bistro and restaurant was good value for money with really tasty food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please lower your 4star expectation you might have in Asia. It's old, carpet flooring, interior is very old fashioned, worn-out furniture, no toothbrush, no slippers. It was snowy cold winter night, mitsubishi air conditioning warm max temperature I could press was 25 celsius. Window between the room and balcony was not double/triple glazed one, you can feel cold air. You can hear people passing by through the door while you are lying on your bed. Shuttle bus to the airport in morning time (9-10am) are packed, some were standing on board.

    Let's face it, hotels in Amsterdam are expensive, plus you only stay 1night for transit, A4 hotel offers competitive price among 4 star, massive discount deals all the time on booking.com, free shuttle bus to/from Schiphol airport. If you are 2 people, twin/double room price 60-70EUR is better than dorms, bunk bed at 30-40EUR per person. Bathroom is spacious, shower booth, bath tub separate, 40inch flat screen tv, Nespresso coffee/tea machine, clean bed, shampoo, shower gel and soap, towels are provided. I did not have breakfast in the hotel, but there are BurgerKing, KFC and casual deli, food market restaurant in 3 mins of walking distance near casino, breakfast 4.95 EUR for 6 items and juice, coffee or tea, highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to pay 15 Euro to leave our suitcases there while the room was ready already

    We loved to stay there on our way to Toronto We could drop off our luggage and have an Amsterdam tour before we left to fly home the next day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was water leakage . No, changes for blankets during our stay .

    It is very close to airport . By Shuttle 10 min. to Airport and 20 min to Hotel. room is very big and comfortable . Sauna and swimming pool very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room so no chance of making a cuppa. Bed and pillow were uncomfortable. Free Shuttle only runs every 40mins to the airport.

    Great gym facilities and large superior room with balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion rooms with single beds.

    Free shuttle to/from Schiphol is great to have until midnight. Shuttle takes about 15 minutes of driving both directions. Also balcony of the room is very good to have some fresh air. Remember to walk by vending machine down the corridor as there is no mini-bar nor fridge in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FACILITY IS LITTLE OLD, SHOWER CANNOT WORK, THE HANDLE OF BATH ROOM IS BROKEN, ROOM LIGHT IS TOO DARK, MAYBE JUST BECAUSE THE HOTEL WILL BE RE-BUILT, SO ANY DEFECTS ARE NOT BE REPAIRED. TOO MANY DIFFERENT LIFTS, WE ARE ALWAYS CONFUSED UP OR DOWN

    ROOM IS BIG AND CLEAN, SHUTTLE BUS FROM AIRPORT IS CONVENIENT. BREAKFAST IS OK, BUT HOT FOOD IS NOT MUCH

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms can be far from reception. slightly dated interior

    great size of room, especially for 4 adults. Nice sofa area and patio with chairs outside. Huge bathroom with double sink and mirror. Good shuttle service dropping off at schiphol near to the platform for amsterdam centraal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One has to walk a lot for access to restaurant or swimming pool. No clear instructions in the room that you will need a 2 euro coin for lockers at pool. Very limited choice for vegetarians.

    Airport shuttle is quite efficient and on time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That some of the lifts didn't work

    I would like to congratulate the staff as our room didn't have hot water due to a technical glitch and the staff was incredibly accomodating to change my room twice and even upgrade the room which exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got an old room at far end of hotel, where a remodelled room was expected or say booked. Engine resonating noise during second night kept us out of sleep. After complaint at 3:30am, I was told nothing could be done. Nevertheless, noise was reduced immediately by at least 50%. It was this time an uncomfortable stay.

    Location, staff, restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shuttle bus needs to run more frequently, 40 minutes between each trip and completely full both ways. TV in room wasn't working.

    Free internet room, great staff, spacious room, good location for my needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere and Staff where wonderful. Our group missed the last shuttle our last night as one of the women where robbed, the hotel gave us less than half price for the after midnight shuttle and extended our checkout by hours free of charge so we could go to the police station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had ample choices but quality was just average (croissants were dry, bacon not crispy). In our experience breakfast at other van der Valk restaurants has more quality. They have a shuttle to the airport that runs every 40 minutes, which means delicate timing (especially upon arrival when you do not know exactly when to arrive at Schiphol).

    Comfortable bed, spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is spacious and accomodates all, and the breakfast timing is really comfortable till 11 am , The additional hours allowed for late check out with a charge of Euro 5 per hour is very reasonable , free parking available on site which adds value for money, thank you ! And the staff are really nice !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel A4 Schiphol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: