Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Hardegarijp - Leeuwarden 3 stars

Rijksstraatweg 36, 9254 DJ Hardegarijp, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Hardegarijp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel - close to Leeuwaarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts of the hotel are a little old-fashioned but we felt that, if anything, this added to the charm

    A very comfortable hotel in a peaceful location. We liked the unusual decor in the corridors and thought the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A super stay over three days
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of aything

    We have stayed at this hotel some three or four times over some Fifteen years. We love the area and the people. We have a close relative buried in a churchyard a few miles away and attend the Dutch Rememberance day on the 4th May and the Liberation day on the 5th May. The staff are always welcoming and helpful. The food is excellent and we have been able to find food and drink sometimes late in the evenings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, quiet stay near Leeuwarden, NL. Excited to embrace the family ties from 100 years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old hotel that was built in 1896. My purpose in Hardegarijp (Hurdegarijp) was to locate a hotel with the family name. Turns out this was the same hotel, but with additions over the years (we believe grandparents or great grandparents ran/owned the hotel in the early years). The room we stayed in was in the addition, and was quite spacious and comfortable. Hardegarijp is a quiet little town just outside of Leeuwarden. We arrived on the King's Birthday, celebrated all over the Netherlands, and Leeuwarden was no exception. It was nice to be able to get away from the crowds by staying outside of town. Nice restaurant and outside dining area, friendly staff. I enjoyed my walks in the surrounding neighborhoods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Frisian excursion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems there is no air-con in our room; it has a good electronic fan though. The moment we visit, the temperature is still nice. However, I won't image how the guest stay would be for one of the hot summer day.

    1.) restaurant is nice 2.) room is neat, and the bed is comfortable. 3.) I think the property itself locates in a nice neighborhood. If you got a car rental, it is good to be a little bit away from the Leeuwarden: quieter and nicer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice refurbishment of the rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked with breakfast but one or other reason they had no BF in their system and need to pay additional. Arrived at 22.00 took 10 minuts to check in which i not appreciated.

    Nice refurbishment of the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely clean hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean hotel Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    breakfast, restaurant, friendliness, near to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast, restaurant, friendliness, near to railway station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.0
    Nice but bit smelly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway and room had an unpleasant smell

    Nice size room, comfortable bed and bath

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Very good bier :) Grutte Pier
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good bier :) Grutte Pier

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff are super nice and responsive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems no aircon in the room. Need a fan to circulate for some fresh air.

    Staff are super nice and responsive. Enjoy the stay very much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    alles was prima in orde
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    alles was prima in orde

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice comfortable and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a long time before the water out of the faucet got warm

    Friendly staff, good beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Hotel and food excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave I will be back t

    As a person who is a regular traveler I wish all hotels were as professional as this

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    This is an excellent chain of hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an excellent chain of hotels...the best in Holland. This hotel was a little tired and could use some up grading but was comfortable and the food was good.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.6
    Joh alles was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Joh alles was perfect !!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: