Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel van der Valk Spier Dwingeloo 4 stars

Oude Postweg 8, 9417 TG Spier, Netherlands

#1 of 2 hotels in Spier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location, but overpriced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated and even the bedlinnen was old. The room was clean, so nothing to worry there, but for the price it wasn't worth it. The dinner we had was not great. The waitress tried her best and apologized for the inconvienance, but the meat was rather dry.

    The location is amazing! Walk out of the hotel and into the woods. Completely amazing! Breakfast had so many options to chose from I'm still full from trying it all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Most of it all really,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to the Pool, it seemed like you had to walk through the Bar/Restaurant to get to it? Maybe I missed something as it wasn't signed clearly.

    Most of it all really, Location/Food/Restaurant/Staff. We always stay at Van der Valk hotels whenever we go to the TT Assen Moto GP, and they are always of a high quality, however, this was nice and clean, but not as modern as others we have stayed in previously, that said, we all agreed we would stay here again. The staff are great, the food is amazing, especially the Chataubriand…. mouthwateringly delicious! we ate here every night and as a party of 4, nobody had any complaints with any of the meals... Location was great, right on the edge of a National Forest, great for walks, or if like me, a nice early run. Top marks to all who work there. (would have been nice to try the pool out though.)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a double room which was just two single beds pushed together so impossible to use as a double

    Excellent location and nicely tucked away near a woodland. Nice outside area. Staff were great but special mention to Dann who went out of his way to help us and give great service. Seperate shower and bath, shower was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice beds, I slept very well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not as good as it was expensive. There were no showers in the ladies changing room by the pool.

    Very nice beds, I slept very well. The pool was very nice, and the surrounding hiking tracks in the forest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Also night receptionist must be service minded....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    strange arrival: at midnight the receptionist demanded immediate payment (normally I always pay at checkout) and did provide copy of invoice.

    Breakfast is excellent and the beds are exactly as they should be

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Assen MotoGP - Perfect Hotel to relax and unwind after a day at the races
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We used the hotel for the Assen MotoGP racing and it was better then we hoped. The Rooms are very comfortable, great facilities and all the food was perfect. The parking is also right next to the hotel with smaller areas to hide your Motorbike away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Comfort, luxury and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room. Staff very friendly. Wonderful dining area. Food was awesome and service was excellent. We also stayed at the Hengelo property and feel the Dwingeloo property is superior in every aspect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Pool and pool area are great, rooms are outdated but large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated place. Staff not very flexible.. wanted to use a shuttle service only in order to hear that we had to pre-book it (nobody ever told us).. was only informed there were no king size beds (requested at booking) at the day of arrival, at which point it was impossible to upgrade or cancel. very customer unfriendly

    Pool and pool area are great, rooms are outdated but large and quiet. Location next to the national park. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good menu and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could be a little slow in the bar

    Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good menu and excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The staff were very help full and friendly - food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic a little noisy as our room was facing the road

    The staff were very help full and friendly - food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice pool.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative was no hair dryer in my room.

    Very good croissants! Friendly staff, good decor and nice atmosphere. Enjoyed the pool - very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too long waiting at the check-out counter..

    Breakfast was great...as usual

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good.

    Breakfast selection was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Location was ideal for TT Circuit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Location was ideal for TT Circuit. Staff were amazing. Room was comfortable. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Staff were great n room was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay €15 for toast. That's all I required and there was no other option to just buy toast.

    Staff were great n room was superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Great restaurant, indoor pool and bike hire.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to carry your suitcase up a flight of stairs ( no porter)

    Great restaurant, indoor pool and bike hire. Plenty of bike tracks close by

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Great and extremely good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and extremely good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.9
    van der valk spier # always a good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    van der valk spier is always offering an high level of food quality , nice rooms and great hospitality

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is beautiful in a great location near the national...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is beautiful in a great location near the national park but also just off the motorway. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.7
    it was beautiful relaxing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no public transport or shops nearby for amenties! It was to far out to do anything you were stuck in hotel and its facilities it okay for weekend one night two night max. We were attending to go to assen tt circuit and thought this would be ideal location it was not far to far away without your own car or motor bike as public transport its non existent

    it was beautiful relaxing location

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.2
    Delicious food in the hotel restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Delicious food in the hotel restaurant. Very nice location near natural park.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    It was all very easy and comfortable, best croissants...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was all very easy and comfortable, best croissants outside of France.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: