Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Sassenheim - Leiden 4 stars

Warmonderweg 8, 2171 AH Sassenheim, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Sassenheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2362 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing to complain or to to be improve

    Excellent stylish hotel with an excellent breakfast buffet. Even Prosecco included and fresh orange juice. Location is outside the city nearby but perfect to visit the Keukenhof or nearby beaches. I wills stay there again when I visit the Keukenhof. Family room is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very expensive for those who, like me, eats only fruit, yogurt and a piece of cheese.

    The rooms are large and with good soundproofing. The bed is comfortable and has good quality linens and covers. The breakfast is very diverse and filling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went to our room disturbed our sleep without realising she needed to go to the other room. Every annoyed actually. Mentioned it to the reception but nobody got back to us. Not happy.

    Very clean and food is vey nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not central so it’s helpful to have a car.

    Beautifully decorated spacious hotel. All staff were pleasant helpful and multi lingual. Sauna was excellent and gym for a small space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were very nice but house keeping could have been better.

    Beds were very comfy. Breakfasts were great with lots of variety. Evening meals were equally as good. Staff were very friendly. Over all an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold, no heat. Tea making facilities was poor. Response to a number of requests from reception was ignored (wake up calls for two mornings did not come through and I asked for some help with heating the room). We were not told of a bus strike on the morning of our departure, we were informed by a taxi driver who passed us by at the bus stop.

    The room was a good size and so was the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furniture sparse - IKEA quality, especially bedside tables. No bathtub. Cleaning staff left window open, letting in mosquitoes (dirty water outside the room). We would choose a different hotel next time if returning to this area.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel has been well maintained but as a matter of personal taste I prefer a proper bathroom not an open plan affair with see through smoked glass etc

    The Hotel was well located for exploring and the dinner buffet was very good. The town of Sassenheim is quite small and we elected to stay in the hotel for food. The al a carte restaurant wasn't very appealing but the dinner buffet was excellent. The Pizzas were cooked to order if you wanted and they also did custom stir fries. The Miso Salmon was excellent and the price of 32.50 Euros pp included drinks so we were very happy. Breakfast buffet was also good but not as great value at 15 Euros.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Practically there are not parking at the hotel, almost all available spaces around the block were busy. So we had to drop car away of hotel. Looking angry man met us in the hotel. Hotel's style - back to 80-s. Terrible smell of sewage on the stairs and smell of something rotten in the room. To deal with smell we had to keep window open, but Hotel is located at busy road, so it was noisy all night. 4 euros for 3 days of wi-fi.

    Angry man explained everything clear , breakfast was possible for extra money. Clean in the room (unfortunately very smelly). Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The frosted glass doors to the toilet and shower - I do not like being on show or have my reflection

    The reception staff were superb. The restaurant staff were very good and the meals excellent. Breakfast was extensive and of very good quality. The room was very big and clean, beds very comfortable. Bottles of water are provided fresh every day. The mini-bar is empty but you can purchase a package. Nice balcony too although available to all others on the row - no divides. The hotel recommended an excellent taxi company - Sassenheim taxis - Richard and his staff were very professional and good company.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to rent a bike but they didn’t have enough the weekend we went as it was busy. My brothers door to the outside was broken the entire time. The safes didn’t work. The rooms had a dated look and feel to them. It had a motor lodge feeling to it. The service in the Dutch restaurant was very slow. We stopped there for drinks and a snack and we were there for hours.

    Location, parking, convenience, food, bathtub, outdoor patio, staff were overall nice. Both restaurants were good, especially the Asian one. The candlelight in the hotel had a pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • East Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved a suite. No coffeee!!! Did get tea though 😡 Last occupants’ items found in suite. Very strange glass walls for bathroom - completely visible from all angles - wrong for family occupancy. Spent candle...mini bar that we paid for only for two instead of three. Did I mention no coffee! Indifferent staff. Poor value for money.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky,my wife short in statue found the shower head a little high :-(

    There was nothing to dislike, the room, food,staff and location there outstanding. The room was modern as was the bathrooms, the food was 5* all the way. Staff where professional and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately ,our room wasn't cleaned properly during our stay; when drawn to the attention of housekeeping, it needed a "special extra clean" to rectify this.

    The food was excellent within a very large variety of choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restroom. It was not separated from the room. It's a glass door. It was not 100% transparent but it was somehow transparent. But the rest was perfect.

    The location was good. It's a nice location if you have the plan to visit Keukenhof for example. The great breakfast(very nice) and you can have some snacks in the corridor if you want. It was cam to sleep well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a room for three people and we had a girl with us. They gave us room with transparent glass doors for Bathrooms and Toilets, which was really Awfull. When we requested them to change our room, they said that they cannot give us room with Opaque doors for Bathrooms and Toilets. Even it is not specified anywhere that the bathrooms and toilets are transparent. The room could have been little more comfortable.

    The location is close to Keukenhof. Hotel overall is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our interconnecting rooms on the first night were on the motorway side of the hotel which was very noisy! The hotel staff kindly swapped us over to the other side for the second night but unfortunately we could not have an interconnecting room on the other side. The standard of the rooms however was very good.

    The breakfast and dinner buffets were great! Lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wasn't too keen about the nearest metro station being a 15 mns. walk away from the hotel. May not seem like much, but with the freezing weather in the morning and after walking the whole day in the city, it was dreading.

    Can I just write "everything"? Because I'd like to. Literally fell in love with this hotel. Hands down, best hotel I've ever stayed in. Since the first day we got there the staff were very nice and patient. The food from the restaurant that starts with an O (didn't quite catch the name, just loooved the food there) is amazing. If you ever order something from here, let it be the nachos from the bar. It's a huuuge plate (for like 2 people) of chips, cheese, sauces, guacamole and pure deliciousness. You will get addicted to them. The breakfast buffet is absolutely amazing too! All sorts of food: cereals, breads, croissants, yogurt, toppings, cheeses, meats, smoothies, juices, eggs, bacon, anything breakfast related was served. And our room was also spectacular. The ceiling shower was our favorite part. The bed was comfy and even the sofa bed was good to sleep in. We really did fell in love with this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants staff during dinner time seemed very much overhelmed. We got served different beers than ordered,it took 30 min to settle the bill as everyone was still busy running around after 21:30. Similar at breakfast, no one saying "good morning", you help yourself with plates, cups and cutlery. No sweet pastry or pancakes available at 10:00 in the morning.

    Our room was on the ground floor, very spacious with a big walk-in bathroom. Great bathroom amenities and good gym on the 2nd floor as well. The parking is available in front of the hotel at no extra cost, which is a huge plus. The food a la carte at dinner was really tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got a room facing the highway and unfortunately the balcony door did not seal properly, which allowed noise and cold air to enter the room. I asked at reception, if they can send someone to check it, but nothing was done. Cleanliness could be improved, both of the provided teacups were sticky, one of the provided towels had small dark brown stains (presumably blood) and curtains had what looked like burn marks from cigarettes.

    Staff at the reception desk was very kind. The casino is an interesting addition, even though there are only electronic machines. The bathroom had a nicely sized bathtub. Bed was comfortable. Gym was equipped a touch above average.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in the room is terrible, good to invest in proper ones. The bread and coffee at breakfast are not of a good quality. At both restaurants in the evening at dinner the staff was overwhelmed and the service takes ages, though the food was good.

    I very much enjoyed the gym and the comfortable big sized room with a good bed and nice balcony, very good for working in the room, too - table, lamp, sockets. Enough of parking lots outside and the distance to the sea is perfect :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The termostat in the room was not functioning according to our wishes as it seemed cold ( it was a cold weekend), but staff kindly offered us the option to have an extra heater in the room, this way the situation got solved very easily.

    The hotel itself is very welcoming, lots of details inside which captured our attention, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The unique of lack is the open hours of the sauna and fitness is not enough. I think they can extend the open hour.

    The location of hotel is good for drive and close to the main city in Natherland. The facility and entertainment are good enough, include casino, bar, sauna and fitness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna out of action - but compemsated by a room upgrade. Arrived by train in bad weather and a short but unpleasant walk from the station. Not normally an issue as generally arrive by car or taxi.

    Excellent staff. Convenient for my local meeting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dark with poor lights. Utilities such as water cooker were lacking and the sauna was under construction. Poor experience this time at Van der Valk hotels...

    Breakfast buffet is great. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of something I did not like.

    Spacious room with comfy bed.Large bathroom made us feel even more comfortable. Healthy smoothies during breakfast were highly appreciated. Quality and variety of meals served during breakfast is extremely good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink was blocked since day 1. After reparation it became worse every day. The cleaning team should have noticed and take necessary actions, but it never happened

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personell is very friendly, albeit certainly not all trained professionals. Had few mistakes in the orders, but always corrected and quality of food made up for it.

    Great restaurants for any meal. Although a big hotel the atmosphere is cosy and very family oriented. The rooms are all modern, comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay (our second in this chain and again a good one). Friendly and professional service, great breakfast, quite and spacious room, clean and modern bathroom. Location is great if you visit The Hague, Leiden, Amsterdam by car. Unfortunately, didn't have occasion to try hotel's restaurant which appeared to be very inviting, but some other time... would certainly stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    I like it that the hotel was completely revamped and find the entrances to the rooms are very well secured , accessible with room cards only. Very friendly and polite staff , a ⭐️.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff were extraordinarily slow - 20 mins wait and still not served - with virtually NO other customers in the bar. It was the lack of desire to provide customer service that was astounding. For every course in the restaurant we had to ask for cutlery. Very bizarre.

    Room was very good - did book two upgrades, which for some reason were not reflected when we checked in. The staff were very courteous nevertheless. The food at the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast choice was also really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior and decor is quite dark. The location is very central and practical for certain visits but not very quiet or romantic next to the motorway.

    A good size room with a bed. The restaurant and breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too bad the shower drain didn't work very well, the water flowing out from the shower box easily. The kids play area needs to be improve. So many broken toys and a little bit dirty.

    Nice hotel, great location if you travel with car, between Amsterdam and Rotterdam. Lavish breakfast, great variety. Kid's corner is available in the restaurant, breakfast area. Comfy bed, spacious room even with extra bed. Big bathroom, nice bathtub and it's clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected much better gym to be honest. If you're a gym addict (or simply your lifestyle involves working out) than this will be disappointment to you. Do not count on good workout besides cardio. Sauna on the other hand is big, there is an area for relaxation, showers etc.

    I loved the property, there are lots of places in the lobby to sit, relax, talk, read. Staff is very nice. Food is also amazing. There is good variety for breakfast so it does not matter whether you're vegetarian or not. Assorted menu guarantee quality meals throughout whole day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location for exploring the surrounding area. Plenty of parking, room large modern and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and professional but best of all was the superb restaurant where the quality of food was extremely high. Overall very good value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this hotel. In my opinion it is much better than any other 5 stars hotel and believe me I know very well what a 5 stars hotel is. I like the small effects : the flower arrangements, the furniture, the clever and tastefully design, the staff at the reception, the rich buffet and more. I can't wait for my next staying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If window is open, you do notice the proximity of Schiphol airport. With windows closed no problem.

    Receptionist was very welcoming. Room was big enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no soap refill the second day and no bathrobes...maybe for ecologic reasons?

    beds extra comfy, I slept like a baby great breakfast, all kind of options super menu at the restaurant close to the highway yet very well sound proof rooms close (by car, or bike) to the seaside close to the city of Leiden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you've been to Vegas and liked it, don't go to the casino here. Nothing really bad with the hotel, but the casino doesn't allow you to drink alcohol inside, you can't wear hats, and there are no table games except roulette. It was pretty boring.

    Clean. Big rooms and big bathrooms. Everything in the room and bathroom was modern and nice. Restaurants in hotel were nice. Staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 Star but 2 Star service Staff rude in restaurant in the evening, slow service, staff on reception would ignore you when dealing with an enquiry, going off to answer a phone instead

    Room was large and good bathroom, breakfast good selection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee in room was undrinkable. Shower stall leaked a little.

    The staff welcomed us in a very friendly way and the bed was comfortable . The room is spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were dissatisfied with the housekeeping approach and quality - obviously the room was never vacuumed during our stay, after the first night no one took out the trash (so we had to place it in the middle of the room next time, as it was full), plus no one really made the bed properly, the blankets were crumbled. The rooms have a shared balcony, with no division, which is very strange, feels like people can walk ther from one room to another...

    Spacious room and bathroom (both shower and bathtub available), excellent breakfast with a wide choice, the staff was nice and helpful, convenient location and very good value for the price. It is a great starting point for cycling trips to Keukenhof and to the sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if hotel had shuttle bus to train stop. It isn't far but it is confusing.

    Your staff were the most helpful I have foment across. Very impressive

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not much to do around if you don't have a car. The bar at the hotel is medium, not a lot of drinks, and the halls are extremely loud - it started very early in the morning, and woke us up. Very inconvenient if you are trying to rest.

    The breakfast was delicious - fresh orange juice, fresh eggs and freshly baked breads. Close to Keukenhof by car and close to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if their were tables specifically for wheelchairs in the dining facility. It was awkward to get my dad to the table in tight quarters. Also, it would be nicer to have a system that you can sign off for meals using your room number instead of your room key. It was a strange system.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Having handicapped accessibility was wonderful for my parents.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, we were expecting a bit more noise isolation in the rooms. The breakfast can be considered a tad expensive. The bathroom setup completely disregards privacy in function of “design”, a trade-off that some may not be willing to accept.

    Nicely decorated, breakfast is quite complete (a bit expensive too). The restaurant has quite a good reputation and quality. Free wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Perfect stay. I travel a lot around Netherlands and this is the best Van Der Valk Hotel I ever seen. It has new furnitures and room style. Comfort and style is the best.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised by the see through WC sliding door as well as the same type shower door. The bathroom sink is open in the middle of the room, quite strange altogether with a total lack of any privacy: not happy at all with this never seen before setup. Which interior designer came up with this idea ? And who in the Vandervalk organization approved it ?

    Nice and clean altogether. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No walls separating the bathroom. Uncomfortable for more than a couple. Extra bed is a small folding bed.

    Good breakfast, although very busy. Good 3 courses menu dinner, for a good price, was offered for the guests. Pleasant area around the hotel and annex Casino.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor slow service at restaurant. Haphazard drinks service. Rooms decorated too darkly, particularly bathroom area/ shower area where LED spotlights not illuminating area sufficiently. Why not have a basin 'plug' to hold water in for washing/shaving /brushing teeth, rather than a water wasting unplugged one? Another nearby group sister hotel helped with directions for this one we stayed at .That had 'Van Der Valk' clearly on the building. The Sassenheim hotel doesn't and it sits in an un-obtrusive position on a roundabout . We spent a tense half hour locating it after a long day travelling, in the area we were driving around ( with 2 'sat-navs'!

    Friendly staff. Clean modern hotel. Good Food and wine quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was confusion about the price of a room fixed by booking.com and which the hotel was counting to. It took some time to make clear that price has to be in line with the booking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet towels were, may be, new as they lints were coming out often and keep the windows closed, else as it's very close to motorway room would be dusty in a while. Room didn't have iron facilities as almost all the 5* hotels provide them.

    Breakfast is one of the best things in this hotel as the food items (including champion) were numerous. Hotel is very close to Keukenhof gardens and much easier to reach Amsterdam city if you own/rent a car. Definitely suits young and energetic couples. Room and toilet were extra spacious and clean. My room had a direct view to a tulip garden which is one of the unforgettable moments in my life. They have casino and fitness, sauna should be interesting to someone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast, bathroom lacked privacy, switching over-designed. Free water first night only. No mention of Van der Valk on building exterior.

    Good spacious room, quiet, good restaurant, strong wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The semi open plan of the room with only smoked glass screening allowing very little privacy. Using the room lighting and mirrors it is impossible to put on makeup or shave properly - try it, too many reflections and poor lighting.

    Large comfortable room, nice restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing truly negative just a comment to say that a member of our party who is partially sighted struggled with the dim lights in the rooms and public rooms... But I stress this is just a comment not a complaint

    Very plea sent rooms, comfy beds nice bathrooms... Great breakfast.... We dined in the restaurant both evenings and had lovely meals

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from hotel restaurant, few other restaurants within walking distance.

    Room was spacious and quiet. Free parking on site. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Easily accessable from motorway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were cool.

    Although the restaurant was very busy, the meal we had was excellent. The staff worked well together as a team to improve the wait time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! There wasn't anything we did not like.

    Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly staff member. She was very pleasant and helpful with information about our stay. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We love the rainfall shower head. The bed was perfect..with four awesome pillows and a down blanket. My husband and I really enjoyed eating at both of the restaurants. Both had delicious food, drink and deserts. The wait staff were great. We also enjoyed being able to rent bikes to ride around and enjoy the scenery of Holland. We definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really could have done with some English tea. This wouldn't be difficult as there was a fridge in the room where small cartons of milk could be kept and an English tea bag can't be too much to ask for. The restaurants weren't really to our taste and quite expensive. I noticed that other guests were ordering pizza deliveries so I guess we weren't the only ones.

    The beds were exceptionally comfortable which I find is very unusual in a hotel. The rooms were quiet and spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The level of service on the human side is not meeting the 4* standards. The staff didn't seem to be very friendly, many seem to forget what they've just been asked. Some inquiries take a long time to clarify or sort out. Not all of the staff speak English, and of those some only pretend to understand, but just disregard questions. So although on the 'hardware' side we were quite happy with our selection of the hotel, on the 'software' part the service was disappointing. Among other inconvenient things are the bathroom united with the room in one open space and the toilet with a transparent door, which is not even properly isolated. The lights adjustment in the room didn't work well either...

    The hotel is nicely situated just next to a major motorway and in close proximity to the key sightseeing locations of the region such as the Nordwijk beach, or the Keukenhof park. The room is clean and nicely furnished, and the food in the hotel's restaurant is good and tasty. A big advantage of this place compared to many other venues in Holland is free parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed moved still to the both side, and between both bed was distance. :-)

    our room was clean, comfortable and large.We enjoyed accommodation. The hotel is next the highway to Amsterdam 30 min to the centrum of Amsterdam. For breakfast was wide selection and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and the shower door is see through glass.

    The room is so big and very clean. The shower room is massive and the water is very powerful. The food in the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location. It took a good 20 minute walk to the train station and we was hit with bad weather, so not fun!

    The shower facilities in our room were fabulous. Huge shower head with plenty of space and very stylish tiles. I wish my bathroom looked like that!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping in the rooms could be slightly better : first impression is okay but lacks of the finishing (cleaning) touch.

    Comfortable spacious room. Very nice breakfast buffet with quality food and lots of choices

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some towels were dirty, could definitely use a wash...

    The breakfast was the most luxurious i have ever seen. Amazing. Rooms were very spacious and had a nice bathroom with both bathtub and shower. Quiet rooms you could easily sleep in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    This hotel is really awesome.... I had my stay here during the new year eve and it was my best stay in Netherlands..... Staff are extremely helpful. About the breakfast.... rich rich rich.....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink wasn't working. Had to clean it manually

    Free public parking, wifi, spacious room, luxury bathroom. Breakfast...we never seen such breakfast before! You could even get champagne

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No radiator so not too easy if you'd like to wash any clotches. No kettle. But overall, it was enjoyable..

    Typical of Van der Valk hotel, very quite and in a little bit out of 'nowhere'. This is the third Van der Valk hotel we stay and we still love it. Spacious room, very helpful and friendly staff. Ok gym. Love the room, good wardrobe, 10-15 mins walk to Sassenheim train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs one solid mass and only just warm. Lighting in the Delux rooms is very low with no oppertunity to adjust it. The heating on the winter days is not sufficient. Had to sit under the duvet to keep warm!

    I was given a room under building works...very noisy! However my room was changed without a problem giving me a much better stay. All staff were wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar closed at 11pm prompt and we were asked to leave, however it was a Tuesday night

    Everything including the breakfast was excellent. Service and overall professionalism and welcoming very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slow service in restaurant. take a la carte, a bit more expensive but you get some smile (experience from a previous stay)

    excellent, modern hotel. excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather could have been better!!!! I suppose this is not yet under your control?

    Staff went the extra mile and were so nice. The restaurant staff were attentive and talkative - very nice when you are an elderly lady alone. Reception - smiling and liking their job. I felt I was a long lost friend returning (which I was). I loved the surprise menu and thanks to the lady who organised a taxi from the station without me asking her.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping was very deity, only tide the beds and nothing else, Not change the Trash and towels and not clean the room.

    The room was big and nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel conveniently located for Castlefest. This is our third visit and this time we got one of the newly refurbished rooms which are very plush. Even with the older rooms it's was still very good. Free wifi as well plus a fridge, iron and ironing board (ironing area for the other rooms).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomservice platters left in the hallways by guests were left the entire night until the rooms were cleaned the next morning. It somewhat diminished the otherwise high quality feel of the hotel

    Large clean rooms with decent airco. Clean facilities. Parking right next to the hotel. Excellent bar and Restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Sassenheim - Leiden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: