Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van Heeckeren Hotel 4 stars

Torenstraat 22, 9163 HE Nes, Netherlands

#5 of 18 hotels in Nes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1607 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service in general, room service late room not clean because not enough time breakfast not enough service, guest has to wait, presentation of the breakfast, one mess

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Executive Suite with Double Rainshower, Double Bath (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A balcony would have been nice. It gives you that little bit of extra space to quickly catch some fresh air. A lot of rooms do have a balcony or private patio...we were just unfortunate I guess.

    The Van Heeckeren Hotel is a very stylish and well equipped hotel. The rooms are spacious with excellent beds. The use of Rituals products is simply amazing and the coffee is really good! The location of the hotel is simply perfect! It is right in the village center, close to all the shops and restaurants. It is just a mere fifteen minute walk to the beach, awesome! Furthermore, the early check-in was great (01:00 PM instead of 04:00 PM) and the late check-out (11:00 AM) just gives you some extra time to sleep in and pack your belongings. Shortly: amazing hotel, great location, awesome products, heavenly beds!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Double Rainshower and Bath (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. My positive opinion only in so far the present room is concerned. Other rooms in the hotel are more primitive. But anyway, this one was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Executive Suite with Double Rainshower, Double Bath (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Van Heeckeren hotel Ameland : review : I was very disappointed with our stay at this hotel because of the noise and disturbances we had on three out of our four nights stay here . The first night, Friday there was a street festival literally outside the hotel and the noise from hotel residents outside and underneath our room went on all night until at 5am when my partner and our neighbours begged the party makers to stop. I know a street festival is noisy but when I booked the hotel no one advised me there would be a festival. Nor did any of the hotel staff stop or apologise for the noise from the other guests. The worst noise was from guests returning to their rooms and sitting outside their room on their patios drinking and shouting . The next night , Saturday the hotel guests in the room below ours were again drinking and shouting and smoking right under our bedroom window from midnight onwards . We tried to keep all the windows closed even though it was very hot and airless. The small fan provided in the room was too noisy to leave on and there is no air conditioning so we were awake again most of the night. It was quite unbearable. At one point the guests in the room below ours were clearly drunk and when a neighbour asked them to stop they ran up and down shouting and banging on windows whilst using a mobile phone to share the experience with friends via FaceTime. On Sunday I complained to the hotel reception desk and asked for a quiet room . She spoke to the manager who was off site and she said that the manager asked to find out if if was the noise or the room we didn't like. I said it was the noise. The manager told her to tell me that the noisy guests were checking out so it would be quiet. On Sunday night it was quiet. But on Monday night AGAIN there were people in the room(s) below us sitting on the patio under our windows smoking and drinking and laughing and chatting and singing until the early hours of the morning .

    Very basic facilities and very noisy location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in time of 16:00h is a little bit late.

    Nice comfy room with appealing design and modern layout with open plan bathroom. Room was very clean and included a coffeemachine with fresh ground coffee. Also coffee, tea and cookies at the reception available all day without extra charge is a nice gesture.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury loft with double rainshower (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the weather, nothing to do with the hotel.

    The interior decoration of the hotel, a lot of wood which gives it a warm feeling. Within walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. not a big hotel and the price was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the bedroom, there isn't somewhere you can sit around and chill in the hotel, which is surprising since it has the space next to the dining area. As a suggestion, a sofa and a couple of armchairs there as opposed to normal chairs would make the difference, giving the place mire comfort and atmosphere.

    Staff were helpful and room was comfy. Quite similar to another hotel in the same category on Ameland. You have your own private terrace too. Breakfast I remember the choice being plentiful and the quality being good, since all the produce are fresh.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Family Room with 2 Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't first want to book a restaurant other then their own, but this was overhead by a super nice British co-worker who later came to our room and organized a reservation for us. Pillows are rubbish.

    Loved the location, the airy room and shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Executive Suite with Double Rainshower, Double Bath (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Our reservation was messed up and we were booked out; however their service recovery was done very well, and thus mistake more or less forgiven! * Views are ordinary from the room

    * Modern look & feel of rooms; Comfortable too * bathroom amenities ( Rituals) * their food quality is superb- both dinner at the café van Heeckeren & breakfast in hotel. Top quality. * Professional team & management * central location in Nes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury loft with double rainshower (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too little closet space for hanging clothes.

    Good bed with comfortable matress. "Open bathroom concept" meaning double shower in room ( however toilet in separate little room!). Very good and Large breakfast buffet. Free coffee and tea available during the day

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Double Rainshower and Bath (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dat de airconditioning defect was.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    _

    Luxury of the room. Comfort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a bit expensive

    Comfortable room with nice bed, shower, and seating area. Very friendly staff at check-in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury loft with double rainshower (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all was perfect

    Everything was perfect. The breakfast was excellent . Friendly and really helpfull staff. We enjoyed every minute.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Het is wat gehorig , toilet wat klein

    bed en douche comfortabel en goed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    professionaliteit service via whatsapp

    Kamer

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury loft with double rainshower (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small

    Great breakfast, great service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    evening no bar at the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service is excellent. free coffee and snacks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury loft with double rainshower (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    nice beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cabine and the Espresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury loft with double rainshower (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Liked everything.

    Very modern, comfortable and private room. Excellent breakfast. Extraordinary and helpful staff. Jura coffee maker in the room was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast: Too many guests for too few tables. Rooms: you could hear your neighbors very well and everything what happened outside.

    Nice rooms, comforting beds and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    limited facilities besides breakfast and room. A see through shower in the room could be a problem for non couples.

    Breakfast Friendly staff nicely furnished coffeemachine in room (jura)

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell in the room and bathroom, caused by scented sticks, was too strong and not pleasant at all.

    Friendly staff

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: