Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen 4 stars

Terworm 10, 6411 RV Heerlen, Netherlands

#4 of 11 hotels in Heerlen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1982 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been useful if the gym opened at 0630 rather than 0700hrs.

    Style of the rooms was very modern and the restaurant was great. Pool very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel facilities are great...very good indoor pool, backyard with animals and a nice walk to a beautiful castle nearby. Rooms are spacious and the bathroom is super comfortable. Great stay with kids! They even have a small area next to reception with many toys

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is practically on a highway outside of the city center. This means that there's not much to do around the hotel and one needs a car or a taxi to reach anything of interest.

    Good food, helpful and friendly staff. Decent sized room and an extra large bathroom that featured both the shower cabin and a separate bath tub. The hotel also has a large swimming pool and a recreational area. Behind the hotel, there are green pastures and forested ares, very lush and natural indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room heater was broken and the gave us two electrical heaters but we were with one baby and one kid so we have to take a lot of care because the could burn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed with two single mattresses and a gap between... The floor in bathroom was really very cold.

    Larger than usual double room. Very large bath. Nice lighting in room. Good breakfast. Very modern and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We told reception that we wanted to use the pool & sauna. The put us on the other side of the complex, an elevator and 5 minute walk to reach them. No slippers or robes to use to go to pool...Rooms looked like a nursing home, wallpaper torn, nothing in minibar & no bottled water in room. Called reception, took over 15 minutes for them to answer at 15:30 in the afternoon...

    Bed was comfortable, it is apparently the nicest hotel in Heerlen.....so that is why we’d stay there agsin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting time at the front desk can be improved from very good to perfect.

    This hotel really was a very nice experience where modernity and comfort meet perfectly. We trully recomand this place !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the first room we got appointed the curtains were stained with mould (see attached picture). There were hairs under both pillows and the floor (carpeting) was stained as well. Upon asking for a new room we got moved to a room two doors down where we unfortunately found a hair under the pillow as well. Food at the restaurant was underwhelming. Massacred carrots and overly salty potatoewedges. Lasagna bolognese was abominable (white sauce (béchamel) was grainy / starchy and tasted like mashed potatoes). Room was terribly noisy. We could hear neighboring rooms flush the toilet (and other sounds previous to flushing) and emptying the bathtub. It was great to have the facilities of a sauna, swimming pool, turkish steam bath and infrared sauna. Just that it needed a renovation. Lots of stains in the ceiling due to water damage / leakages also plaster was coming off the walls in this area as well. The swimming pool was heavily chlorinated.

    There was a swimming pool, sauna, turkish steam bath and a infrared sauna. The bathroom in the room itself was recently redone and looked great. Two showerheads with proper water pressure and you could look into the room whilst having a shower. Good fun. Breakfast facilities were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t a real problem but parking was a little bit of a challenge because of a special event being held there. The next morning all of those cars were gone.

    Breakfast was wonderful and so was the pool!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing in my mind

    very spacious in the mot of places within the hotel. We enjoyed the foods at the restaurant & Children liked the bubble bath in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels thin and small, flimsy plastic cups in bathroom. Poor bathroom lighting, can’t see to put makeup on

    Excellent buffet breakfast, very clean hotel and rooms, bathrooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the king bed was actually two doubles, and the mattresses kept sliding apart. One night was so blustery that the curtains inside the room were billowing, very patchy WiFi

    Nice no frills hotel, comfortable, well located in Heerlen and well suited for business travel, great bar, nice restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    GREAT REOSRT..AWOSOME FOOD. One issue: why is not possible when u pay for the rooms to also click the breakfast button also, and so that you can pay from the beginning for everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ladies at the reception need to smile, people often have long trips (we had an 9 hour one) before they get there and a smile would be very welcomed. There's currently some renovation going on around the hotel so don't expect the best of views (this didn't really put a damper on our visit but might do on yours)

    The beds were amazing, for someone who's husband is tall and usually has his feet dangling over the bed, this was a nice extra. Very comfortable mattress and pillows. The movement activated lights on the floor are brilliant for that late night bathroom visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing. the fact that we have to leave ... :(

    I think this hotel is the best place to stay in Heerlen.We felt very welcomed, right from the hotel entrance.The room was spacious with a big bathroom.We felt great to the pool and in this way we want to greet Tanja (one of the team who take care the SPA area) who was so nice with us and especially with our son. We had a good sleep because mattresses were very comfortable. In another train of thoughts they seems to be expanding the hotel, but we wasn't disturbed by construction workers. Parking area is free and big enough. If you are late to the hotel surely you will find a parking place.Wi-fi was excellent. Heerlen it is well positioned so you can go easy by car to other towns like Maastricht , Roermond, Aachen or Luik.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out room was terrible! On the ground Floor next to the laundry facilitiess and the bike parking for the employés. At night chats at our window by personal leaving the place. At 6.45h trucks standing in front of the window with turning engines Charging laundry. And in the middle of the night staff putting the empty wine Bottles in containers at night!!!!! we didn’r sleep at all.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a bit slow where I was. Overall a good hotel, the odd point knocked off as it was being majorly refurbished following a fire, however would happily stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small beds for 1 person - but hey, if you're 2.02m tall its not the problem of the hotel haha. They tried to give me a new room with a queen or king, but it was fully booked.

    Spacious rooms and the brand new construction work paid off into a nice property. Although not finished yet 100% its a promising and great value for money hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a room on ground floor with construction site in front. Working even in the weekend. No privacy with the window curtains open. Check in staff did not say anything about it. No even a apology letter from management in the room. After arrival we wanted a small snack and wine. We where ignored by 12 waiters and 1 manager for 35min. Had to go to reception to ask for service. Excuse was busy in the main restaurant! In the end got our first drinks on the house! Main Manager needs to still get some proper training at the hotel school in Maastricht!!!

    Great Rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No baked beans at breakfast 😣 No food available after midnight!

    Everything - comfy bed, Lovely breakfast, Room temperature easy to adjust, very accommodating staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been comming back to that hotel for about 15 years now. The Hotel has been changing over those years, becomming better and better. I will be comming back in future - if only had chance. Very good food since ever - not only becasue of the newely oppened restaurant. Saunas, swimming pool, gym - all what you need. Great location - outside the urbanized aread, great park if you run or just walk, etc. I definitelly recommend that hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV could have had more channels. Some of the food served for dinner at the restaurant was not that great. I think some of the prices are crazy.

    The location was good. Near dowtown Heerlen as well as a few restaurants. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected the Saturday LifeCooking and Sunday Brunch table reservations to be decorated as per my request and agreement when booked, for my parents 50th wedding aniversary, but it wasn't. I didn't want to obviously make a fush there and then in front of my parents. Enquired if my parents room could be presented with fresh flowers for their 50th wedding anniversary, I was however advised that there would be charge. Otherwise a good stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some construction at hotel means difficult to access reception and access through a restaurant. However, it was supposed to be over bymid October 2017.

    Surprisingly spacious rooms and extra large bed. Excellent breakfast spread.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect for everything myself and partner want to do (snowworld, roermond outlet, efteling theme park, Eindhoven even the train to Amsterdam although long was great value and Heerlen station was close by). The renovations look amazing as we have stayed here before and witnessed the start of the work and now the almost completed result! We (my partner and I) were shocked to discover that last year there was a large fire on the complex but it seems as though they have taken that unfortunate event and used it as an opportunity to improve on the hotel further, it looks even more beautiful than the last time we were there! Selection at breakfast is brilliant and we found even though we were late down one morning there was still an adequate amount of hot food on offer. Pool and gym are very clean and facilities were of a high standard Rooms are very spacious and are also very clean Recommend going to parkstad plaza (buffet) on the Roda J.C. ring, Kerkrade which is an 8 min drive, also on this complex is a cinema, football stadium, casino, trampoline park and other eateries as well as a supermarket! Staff very friendly an helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a few building works going on but these are about to come to an end.

    After a recent fire the hotel is currently undergoing total refurbishment. Rooms are of a high standard, comfortable and spacious. Personnel very friendly and courteous and amazing buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is some general construction of additional block going on in hotel, that has affected the logistics inside the hotel and surrounding territory. just be aware of that. but it did not bother us. only challenge sometimes is finding your room, reception or restaurant. room numbers are not intuitive (do not match floor number), and there are several sections with elevators. anyway - brain can not be switched off totally)) it is like maze. but i still give very good rating to the hotel because overall experience was excellent. one negative though - room service was not working.

    we took buffet dinner at restaurant, and it was excellent. very good/wide selection from cold/warm fish&meat. nice atmosphere. swimming pool turned out smaller than it looks on hotel pictures)) but it was great. it did not get too crowded.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under construction so first impression is confusing and finding a reception is odd, but i guess that is temporary thing.

    We stayed in Well being suite - beautiful view, amazing and spacious room with 3 TV's (that was nice in the morning when our child wanted to watch cartoons) and amazing steam sauna right in supernice bathroom. Restraurant has amazing buffet dinner - make sure to book as it might be crowded!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long waiting time at restaurant of van der valk hotel, not enough parking spots, too many flies in the food (breakfast)

    Spacious room, clean bathroom, swimming pool, modern

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here before and at other van der valk hotels and can't fault their luxury feel, heat service and comfort. Bathrooms are divine, the shower Fab and the bed very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a construction site ! From the outside it looks like site under construction with buildings materials all over the place including the parking. The road around the facility is full of hold and dirt. Accessing the reception is through the restaurant so you always walk between people that having their meal. It is called out in the Booking.com site but it's not calling out how big the construction work is. From the inside you do not really notice it

    Swimming pool and very modern rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been in there a few times over the years, comming back is a proof I am happy with the stay in this hotel. Nice park just beside the hotel is a really added value. If ever back in Heerlen - will always stay the Van Der Valk Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the hotel restaurant seemed all a little tired and uninterested in providing service. We were standing around for 6 minutes before someone noticed us to give us a table! There were plenty of staff but they were all just walking right past us.... very strange....:-(

    Bed EXTREMELY comfortable. And the pool was also great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle between the station/city center and the hotel. You need a taxi/ your own transportation to get around.

    Excellent breakfast, the pancakes were my favorite !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine hotel with good facilities - especially the swimming pool. Currently, some construction work is being carried out - and the place was quite busy with Andre Rieu fans going to one of his concerts, but overall we had a fine time. Found the cost of breakfast quite high: 36 euro for 1 adult and two children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and always recommend it to people with pets and children. The restraint is amazing and go ther just to eat without staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Van der Valk in Heerlen is really a pleasant place to visit. Staff / accommodation / facilities are all top notch. Impressive renovation going on. This is a Limburg gem. Swimming pool and the gym area very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location for travelling. The pop-up restaurant was surprisingly good with pleasant staff. Seemed popular with locals. There is still a lot of construction work going on so ask for a quiet room around the back of the property which overlooks the garden and is very peaceful. You have to go through the restaurant to get to the reception at the moment but I am sure when the building work is finished it will be very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Part of the hotel under construction. Some confusion with finding a parking lot.

    Very good standards. Flexible personnel especially with breakfast hours. Excellent sauna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no door! Construction made finding reception a bit tricky (had to haul suitcases and necessities through a crowded restaurant.)

    The bathroom was huge! Bed was comfy. Pool/spa area was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only one issue which related to the building work in that our room window was adjacent to the temporary restaurant extractor fans,

    very comfortable rooms and bathroom modern and stylish, the hotel is having extensive building work, ideal base for the amstel gold weekend, the hotel even started breakfast at 6am on the saturday which was very helpful, nice pool I would expect when the building work is finished it will be a great place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even the despite the temporal "pop-up" restaurant service and atmosphere were outstanding, once the new entrance and restaurant building is finished (end 2017) service and comfort will be even better.

    Clean, spacious, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. Nice swimming pool a real bonus. I participated in the Amstel Gold Race and hotel had no issues storing my racebike in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once all the construction site is gone, everything is gonna be great.

    Great Breakfast and Buffet Dinner! Bed were comfy and the room very clean. A bit cold at night, but I might as well shut down the heating because i hate the ventilator noise during the night.Fitness and welness area was great, and staff very helpfull and friendly. I would stay there again for one night city break

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A towel dryer in bathroom will complete this perfect hotel!

    Comfortable rooms, great service and a very good restaurant. You also have a very good wifi access. Indoor pool and SPA is another additional beauty of this hotel. Team is very keen to help with any problems 24/7. As traveling with an infant, we requested a silent room and got it! We thought the room was a little bit cold for our little baby, they installed an extra heater in a few minutes :) Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredibly busy.

    Great breakfast, brilliantly equipped gym and very comfortable, soundproofed rooms, beautiful park and gardens surrounding the hotel and great advice re: running routes from the reception.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa. The pool is small and in the sauna area it was no one cleaning and it was a big amount of water on the floor. I hope that they will move the spa area in the new building.

    The room was very nice, and the restaurant is great!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sleeping on the crack of two mattress put together. I hope that you have a queen size mattress or a mattress that is comparable to a queen size.

    everything!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to this hotel specially to use the pool but after getting changed they told us at 10:00am the pool is only open to elderly for lessons until 13:00. Our check out was at 11:30/12. So our kids were disappointed. The spaghetti for the kids was too salty. The bed was comfortable but too high for young kids. Open bathroom made the room damp. The male receiptionist was offish and aggressive as we asked if we could have our room earlier than 14:00. In our booking we had stated we arrive at 12:30 with kids and if possible to have our room ready! We did go in just before 14:00.

    Room was spacious, bed was comfortable. Lunch for adults was nice. Room had jacuzzi bath, shower was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is some building work in progress but the hotel did their best to minimise disturbance

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely. The food at dinner and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got food poisoning from the burger.

    Booked a single room with a king size bed. The room was clean, excellent shower corner and a pretty relaxing bath tub. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They are remodeling the hotel, so parking outside is very limited. Also because of the remodeling, it was quite confusing moving from floor to floor. The food in the restaurant was quite expensive and they didn't have that much variety. I would suggest for people to go to downtown Heerlen and find one of the many restaurants available out there. The heater in the room was not working well at all. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

    The room itself was very comfortable. It was big.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room rate is on the high side considering the area. The breakfast should be included.

    We only stayed one night and wished we had more time. We missed the buffet dinner so we had to order a la carte, it was good but I have heard the buffet was amazing. We paid extra for the breakfast buffet which was fantastic. The room and the bathroom are super nice. The indoor pool is superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the hotel and restaurant are pretty busy, contrary to what you might expect from the odd location. We had to wait a while to get seated for dinner.

    Dinner at the restaurant and breakfast was excellent. Hotel room is luxurious and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff members were rather rude. My boyfriend checked in later, didn't even get his own room key. Bathroom, though stylish, doesn't have a door, not much privacy (separate toilet has a glass door, but that doesn't help much). Shower door leaking. Huge construction site due to several fires.

    Location is directly off the freeway, so ideal for stop over. Lots of parking. Rooms spacious and newly renovated, king size matress. Bathroom stylish and pretty new.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction works start before 08:00hrs. there has been a fire at this hotel nearly a year ago and construction work is ongoing. There is a pop up restaurant which is pretty good although you do need to obtain your own cutlery.

    Spacious rooms and warm small swimming pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food was expensive, not very good and the service was slow. Hotel situated in the middle of nowhere with a taxi needed to get to the nearest town, Heerlen. Maastricht is the nearest city but still 20 minutes away by car.

    Room was well appointed and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pop up restaurant was great. Taking the kids and the family to dinner was a breeze, the food was good, and the price was reasonable. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I wanted to do some sports, staff first hesitated if I could enter the gym since some people (not hotel guests) were training with a personal trainer. Staff did let me enter after checking with the PT, but it's strange that hotel guests (who book the hotel partly because it has a gym) cannot always enter during opening hours.

    Large, modern and clean room. Big and luxurious bathroom. Restaurant had a good menu and friendly personnel. The pool and gym area were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont know if it is a hotel or senior recreation center? I have been to Valk Hotel in mastricht a few times, their Facilities was great, but at Heerlen was very bad. on Friday at the pool(which I thought supposed to be relaxing, calming area) pool was full of Elder and seniors. they played very loud music. for at least one hour. sauna and steam room was full. I dont think all of them were guest at the hotel. for dinner my husband had mussels, as soon as we got back to our hotel room, he got very ill. the next morning I told the restaurant manager, but she said oh no one else got sick , it was just your husband. sorry that he is sick but dont think it was because of our food!! so def not going back there again. spa area too crowded.

    good size room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was like staying on a building site, cranes, lorries and concrete everywhere. wouldn't stay again until they finish the work. Staff didn't understand the layout of the hotel when asked if there was a closer door to my room, a fair walk, answer was no. BUT there was one directly into the car park only 10 secs from my room away though.!!!! Cleaners apparently go home at 1pm so if you don't get your room done before that. Tough.

    errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not being told half the hotel had been demolished was a bit of a shock on arrival as the restaurant was now a pop up restaurant. A very good pop up at that. There were 2 nights when we were unable to use the hotel bar as there was a function going on which also poured out into the pop up restaurant bar (where we had to go for a drink). Not sure the hotel guests should have been the people put out of using the bar when the function was also using the restaurant. Perhaps they could have used that bar instead.

    The newly decorated rooms are very comfortable & the Spa facilities are also very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had not been informed of a fire at the premises so it was a huge shock to find half the building missing including its fantastic restauarant,the car park was virtually full which made parking awkward and the put up temporary restaurant was a joke,staff with no interest in serving us maybe because we were british im not sure,the hotel was tired and dirty looking in places with paint missing around door frames and carpets thread bare.We were so upset what has happened to our lovely hotel that we fell in love with many years ago whilst attending a car show in landgraff,sorry we were not impressed staying on what looks like a building site.Even the lovely little area on left at top of entrance steps where you could have a n ice drink on a summers night was unlit and uninviting.

    we have stayed at this hotel many thimes over the years and always look forward to returning but sadly this will be the last time,we have always enjoyed value for money helpfull freindly staff and a wonderful atmosphere sadly none of this was prescent this visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The expensive breakfast price!

    Beautiful breakfast buffet, however a bit overpriced in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at. There was a lovely heated indoor pool, however we didn't have time to take advantage of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We drove up and saw it was a construction site and our faces fell. But we enjoyed our stay so much we booked another night. There was no noise although the real building work has not yet begun. I can imagine that if you are in a room on that side, it could get noisy in the months to come so best to check. Excellent breakfast and dinner in the 'pop-up' restaurant. Great pool and gym facilities. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and very relaxed hotel. Our second stay here - last year we were over from Scotland for the Andre Summer concert, this year we stayed over enroute from Scotland to Germany. Will be back :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service a little variable in the restaurant although mostly good - had to remind for ordering. If gym opened earlier than 7 would be more convenient for exercise before breakfast - not supervised so not sure why not 24hr.

    Beautiful room and surroundings. Restaurant food very good, especially at breakfast. Hotel staff very good. Fantastic location for a stopover as very close to the autobahn. Very good gym.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Part of the hotel is a building site,creating dust and noise making it impossible to sit outside in the hot weather.Lack of staff in the bar area.Had to go to reception to call for bar staff on more than one occasion.Selection of food in the restaurant was not as good as last year.

    friendliness of staff, especially reception who where very helpfull.Enjoyed pool Area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we were most impressed with all the staff, and the lovely room.

    The fact we arrive late just before the restaurant closed, the staff were very accommodating and served us with a great meal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant staff were not as courteous as you would expect in a nice hotel. Personally, I found most of them rude. Restaurant food could have been better. There aren't many options available. Otherwise, nice rooms and cozy beds. Good location as well.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner shut off and you had to manually turn it back on.

    The bathroom was really nice, the toiletries were excellent, the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Refused to provide me an itemized receipt and provided a consolidated receipt. Claimed that it was not possible to provide a receipt that showed daily rates. Employer require that I get an itemized receipt in order to be reimbursed. Unable to get satisfaction from management. Also hotel undergoing renovation from an apparent fire damage. Front part of building is being demolished.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work being carried out near room 620 but it wasn't too bad.

    Room size, cleanliness and restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the price

    The comfort of the room and beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff swearing and very poor customer service

    Leisure facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This level hotel shouldn’t have a room mini bar empty. It’s nonsense.

    Excellent hotel with the best hotel gym I’ve ever used. Really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75