Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Leiden 4 stars

Haagse Schouwweg 14, 2332 KG Leiden, Netherlands

#6 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1247 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Food low value for money. The stake was raw While served. Worst about the stay was the service. I h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food low value for money. The stake was raw While served. Worst about the stay was the service. I have been travelling a lot on many hotels in the World But this service was terrible

    Food low value for money. The stake was raw While served. Worst about the stay was the service. I have been travelling a lot on many hotels in the World But this service was terrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice for a romantic night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com or the hotel(not sure whom) didn't warn that they preauthorised about 1/2 on top of the booking sum on the card, to make up for any additional costs incurred. Since this wasn't my main bank account it put me into trouble. Be prepared for that. I tripped in the bathroom because the shower is above the floor level and I didn't wear my glasses - perhaps that's normal in Netherlands, just be warned.

    Very quiet room, large & comfortable bed. Depending on the room you booked you get a nice balcony. The location is not central but there are buses to Leiden station & the hotel have some shuttles. Possibility for buffet breakfast & meals. We tried the buffet breakfast & there was a large range of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, nice location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Whilst the breakfast buffet was very good it didn't make sense for the plates used to serve up any hot items were themselves very cold meaning that one's breakfast became cold before one was able to finish.

    The hotel met all of our expectation with good location for easy access to Amsterdam, the coast, Keukenhof Gardens, Delft and the unspoilt island areas south of Rotterdam. Free Parking was a bonus and hotel itself was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant one-night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single room in Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was ok for dinner, but the food was a bit dull in taste. The service was good and friendly. Bar did not have an ample choice in beers.

    Exquisite rooms! Breakfast was very good, with ample choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    OK hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, hotel has free parking, it is a bit outside of the city centre; we could not enjoy the outdoor space as the weather was not up for it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    excellent stay, nice hotel, good location & nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really, although as we asked about bus service , I felt staff should have told us that the buses do not take cash, we asked about bus to the city. Very helpful with timetable..

    excellent stay, nice hotel, good location & nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner at the restaurant and food was not so high quality for the price.

    Gorgeous breakfast. Clean nice room with both shower and tub. Very quiet. Nice hall with working fireplace. Staff very kind and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    If you have a car it is a nice place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet Needs to be changed in the room and the corridor, it's worn out. The light in the corridor is visible from the bed below the door. I didn't see the sky from my room (in the basement)

    I liked the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for business travellers around Den Haag, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water and towels in the fitness room Check out in the morning took very long ( junior team member), not ideal if you are in a hurry

    Very good location if you are around Leiden/ Den Haag, easy to get there, ample parking space, friendly staff; nice, stylish and modern rooms, very good beds, excellent breakfast in a pleasant setting, good fitness room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    LOVELY stay in Leiden!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved my stay!! The room was amazing and so spacious!! The location is beautiful and the hotel stunning. A bus also stops right by the hotel so makes it easy to get into town. 😁😁

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice bedroom, quiet, good beds, nice towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warm buffet breakfast was disappointing, and not up to the normal Van der Valk expectations

    Nice bedroom, quiet, good beds, nice towels. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    A peaceful stay in Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite a distance from the city itself, and the only 'bus runs half-hourly. There was no messaging facility for telephone calls from outside.

    It was roomy, quiet, and handy for the event I was attending. The breakfasts - the only meals I ate there - were ample. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    A very comfortable room, very good bed, etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    a rather expensive breakfast. the client should be given the choice between that pantagruelian meal and a normal breakfast that should be meach cheaper.

    A very comfortable room, very good bed, etc. An abundance of very diversified food for breakfast (see negative points also)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice location but poor bed and gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room is outdated with switched of cardio machines and 1 multipower machine of which the cable was broken, so better close the gym or buy new equipment or fix them. The bed was heavily used already and my back got the problem after 1 night:-(

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slight smell in the hotel that lingered, I couldn't put my finger on what the smell was.

    The property was clean and in an ok location (located opposite a bus stop that took you to central station) however bear in mind that there is nothing else in walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Pluses and minuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having electricity would help though appreciate that's out of the hotels control, no effort though to either mitigate of compensate guests for the inconvenience, just asked for an email to send the bill onto! Hotel is a fair way out of Leiden though on a bus route.

    Classy hotel with good facilities, breakfast was very good though a powercut on the second day compromised that. Staff seemed distracted (even before the powercut!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    perfect room with large space,even has a balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite far away from central station, need to take tram 47 and the cost is 4 Euro.

    perfect room with large space,even has a balcony;breakfast is valuable with good canal view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Very comfortable, relaxing stay. Just needs a little bit more attenition to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Que-tip/Cotton bud left in room when we checked in. No tea/coffee in room, but there was a nespresso machine - but strange. After our second night and housekeeping in the room, the quetip/cotton bud was still there.

    The Junior Suite was beautiful - Bath was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    Horrifically overpriced, inconvenient and unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean

    Very little. We liked the bike rental from the hotel. We were very very very unsatisfied with our stay. Horrifically over priced, worse staff at any hotel we stayed in 3 countries, terrible horrible location, noisy, terrible view, ugly room, poor lighting, front door very far away from where rooms are located, they charged for local phone calls, no front desk staff after 11pm, it was the worst. Total waste of money in every way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the evening was not good value. Chicken Caesar salad was made with the wrong lettuce etc. We ordered Steak that the menu said came with a portion of fries and vege. Unfortunately they only brought this 1 portion for everyone. When we questioned this they were very annoyed and said when this was finished they would bring another? So we sat for 15 minutes waiting for the next portion and again for the 3rd portion. All this instead of bringing us each our own individual portion with our meal as stated on the menu and we were charged for. We didn't eat there again and found some wonderful restaurants in Leiden instead.

    Large spacious rooms with a fabulous balcony with a table and chairs. Modern bathrooms. The restaurant and bar had tables and sofas outside with a view of the pleasure boats going by. Throws were provided when it got cooler in the evening. The breakfast was a buffet and was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the location was a little far out of the centre

    We were a group of Engkish cylcists and would like to thank the fantastic staff -very friendly. Good safe cycle storage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    The location is directly on the river, the restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is directly on the river, the restaurant terrace overlooking the river. Very nice food plus nice location - perfect. Also they offer a shuttle bus to get around Leiden. As I was the only one on the bus on both days, the driver took me exactly to the building I needed to go instead of dropping me off at one of the designated stops. :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Super cool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hall forniture are amazing, I mean two "Arco" lamp by Castiglioni and precise choices for the others. Our room was large and bright also with a balcony: it was amazing! The staff is super polite and helpful. Our stay has been great, you can't go to Leiden without spending your nights in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Luxury for an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I didn't like? We had breakfast at a place neareby, what I regret most is the fact we did not have the breakfast from the hotel.

    The beds were HUGE and it was the best night in a long time. Also a great bonus was the jacuzzi, Did not expect that. The room was large and very clean and wished we would have booked another night there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was first class but an expensive extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location hadn't much access for walking or entertainment. Access was restricted by builders in our carpark.

    The breakfast was first class but an expensive extra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.5
    The staff was very Nicke, all of them.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we told the staf when checking out, the bathtub did not feel clean, so we did not take any relaxing bath as planned. Other Van der Valk hotels seem better.

    The staff was very Nicke, all of them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Almost Terrible
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To much, e.g.: 1. No Reception sign board. 2. No place to relax, eat, drink or have a smoke. 3. Breakfast 2 stars (no access < 7:00 and > 10:30) 4. Lounge bar was closed for a private party! 5. No coffee shop, 90% of entrances were closed most of the times. 6. Attitude young personnel 1 or 2 stars. (that means almost rude) 7. No pencil/paper, scissor, cups in the room 8. Empty Mini bar. 9. House phone, no 9=Reception sign. Or even worse how to call Emergency 10. Last but not least: How to get there by Public Transport? Note: Ratings based on 11 year S-E Asia experience.

    they claim 4 star Hotel, but 2 stars would be closer to reality. Very good reception (if you can find it). The only 24/7 functional facility, nice and experienced people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Superb hotel in a lovely setting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, no complaints

    This is a superb hotel with a great location next to the canal. Very easy to find with more than enough free parking onsite. Check in was very efficient and we were greeted with a warm welcome Our room had air conditioning, was overlooking the courtyard area and had a balcony. It was spotlessly clean, very large and had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Nice large TV that had a brilliant selection of programmes in all languages including English channels. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke perfect English, nothing was any trouble to them. Food in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast with a great seating area outside overlooking the canal in the summer morning sun. A lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was over priced and I had to pay for my children under 10, that was off-putting. Most hotels now days don't even charge for breakfast. Dinner was good, but again, expensive for what you get. The room was a little noisy since the street is next to the building. And I know it isn't the hotel specifically, but everything can be heard in the hallway people walking, talking and making noise all night.

    Very large (Huge actually) clean room, with a patio and excellent WiFi. Beds were very comfy. The whole hotel is nice, clean and furnished well. I liked the location and view and that I could watch boats go through the draw bridge while I ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant on the canal. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is perfect as it is a ten-minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect as it is a ten-minute ride to Katwijk beach. The staff is nice and friendly and if you opt for breakfast you get a real treat in terms of buffet breakfast. The dinner was also tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Vonderful Van Der Valk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Van der Valk in Leiden was one of the most beautiful place which we have seen so far. It is quiet, yet lively and best of all they have thought of everything in terms of convenience and comfort. We had booked two rooms andthe rooms were comfortably big. the view from the rooms was superb. we woud surely surely stay here again .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Great stay in Leiden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit difficult to find the hotel at first as the road to get there was blocked, also bathroom can use more light

    We chose this hotel as we're planning to visit Keukenhof the next day. All perfect, breakfast is also great, appreciate the whirlpool in the family room :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Loved the Boutique feel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love this Hotel it was easy to find. Excellent parking. Fabulous food. Helpful Staff. Comfy bed with spacious well equipped room. Love the Boutique feel that included a pottery Sheep on the fake grass outside my window. Cannot wait to return to this one next year when I go back to Holland.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff, excellent breakfast, very useful shuttle to and from railway and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning of corridors while everyone was going to and from breakfast. On our last day, a bottle of water, either still or sparkling, was put on each dinner table. We didn't see the small notice saying we would be charged 3.5 euros for it until we had opened it. This did not happen during the rest of our two visits to the hotel.

    Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Lovely view from dining room. Very helpful shuttle to and from railway and bus stations, available most days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Very well-designed and new-looking hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really located in Leiden but between the town and seashore (Katwijk). The problem can be fixed by hiring a bike. That basically means it is not a problem if you are Dutch. Not sure about other nationalities...

    Very well-designed and new-looking hotel. Perfect sound insulation and therefore almost absolute comfort.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful little get away location for a relaxing spa moment with your beloved ones!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too far away from Leiden center which wasn't very clear to us when we booked it.

    This hotel is everything we were hoping for. The jacuzzi bathtub made our dreams complete and the bed was extraordinarily comfortable. The walk-in shower a great add-on and the coffee really was very tasty and a nice extra in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Overall great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a bit too soft to my liking.

    Welcoming and helpful staff. Breakfast, great variety! Omelet cooked in front of you.Free parking and wifi. Lovely canal side setting. The area is lovely and easy to get to other nice places.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful modern stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short stay to dislike anything

    Modern comfortable quiet hotel. Ate in hotel bar and food and service excellent. Beds very comfortable best ever. Bathroom luxurious and large

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.5
    A lovely hotel on the banks of the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One dinner meat dish was poor quality but the cost was reduced. At another dinner the service was very slow but the cost of two glasses of wine was deducted as recompence.

    Location on the side of the Oude Rijn [River Rhine], dining room and terrace overlooked the river. Easy access to A44 motorway and to Leiden. Ideal location for a visit to Keukenhof Gardens and the beach at Katwijk. General helpfulness of staff and the ambiance of the hotel. Forty-five minutes from Hoek van Holland car ferry.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key kept ceasing to work, despite care being taken to keep it away from mobile phones and other electronic devices.

    Room was large, airy and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far to walk about 25-30mins from station, no restaurants etc near, but a nice walk through a big playpark. No tea coffee facilities.

    Big family room for 5. Nice bathroom. Clean modern rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Packed lunch was disappointing. Unamaginative and not good value for money. Would have been nice if hotel a ittle closer to the town for walking.

    Waterside setting. Excellent food. Efficient staff. Quiet ,clean and comfortable room. The "suprise" evening meal which was beyond expectations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location for Keukenhof
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea/coffee in the room for a drink in the evening and morning. Access to car park could have been easier to avoid a long trek round with bags.

    Great breakfast, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    A great place for an escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big issue, but the internet connection inside the room wasn't very good.

    This is an excellent hotel. Very elegant and neat! The hotel is very quite, you can't hear anything from the other rooms or outside. It has a nice bar and restaurant as well. The rooms are very confortable and big, it has a good size bathtub plus the regular shower, an area with coaches and a reading table, and the terrace is also very nice. The breakfast was superb! with different assortments of cheeses, hams, jams, breads, yogurts, eggs, and much more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Short, pleasant in Van der Valk Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ordered spinach ravioli one evening but it came with eggplant, zucchini, paprika and rucola! Too many extra things that I did not want...

    The breakfast was excellent I loved the smell of the hotel as you walked toward the rooms--do not know where it came from but it was very pleasant! The hotel was very nice inside, and the view of the water from the restaurant was lovely--I am sure in warmer weather it is even nicer! The room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay in one of these hotels again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait half an hour to get our order taken in the restaurant as they were very busy. The housekeeper knocked on our door 20 minutes before check out and had a very miserable demeanor.

    The reception staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.5
    Good place for leisure time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not convenient to travel between Leiden central station (the train station to other cities). Very limited buses.

    Beautiful view. Good construction design. Breakfast buffet is good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    Not as the picture sugests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room had no view and was on the bottom floor, which is where their biggest rooms are strangely?? The view outside was a brick wall seperating you from the busy road outside. The room was quite warm and the aircon couldn't seem to get the temperature to go down. The only access is to the room was to go up a set stairs then down in an elevator. The carpet in the room was very worn and the decor was bland. The pictures on the site show this picturesque view of a white building, however this is the resteraunt area. The hotel rooms are through a connecting hallway into what I call a very dingy looking apartment block. When I was driving to the hotel I saw the apartment block and said thank god we never booked there, unfortunately we had. We complained and the other room was no better just smaller. The staff did not offer anything else and as we had pre-booked we ended up staying there.

    The beds were comfortable, and the room was fairly clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.7
    Friendly personal.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not cleaned before check in. Dust everywhere also in the bathroom. For 4 star hotel for sure no standard

    Friendly personal. Nice Brasserie. Reasonable prices

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    Good base for a visit to wonderful Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no help with luggage, the staff though charming were over worked. I like to be served tea and coffee at breakfast even with a selfservice. The tables were not even laid for breakfast. It was too 'do it yourself'

    The room was an excellent size, the bed extremely comfortable and the balcony an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Relaxed comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laptop which you Can use from Hotel was Not Working, what is of course Problem if you need for Business!

    Breakfast perfect!! and sleeping good! Terrace outside nice but blankets for evening missing and Restaurant very nice and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.8
    Nice but expensive without breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail after first night stay, coffee cups not cleaned, no attempt to make beds after we had made them up. Cost did not include breakfast, very expensive without this included.

    Location, room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Holiday in the heart of Holland with easy reaching distance to everything you need nearby.
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location does not allow for any selection of restaurants so therefore we ate every evening in the hotel, but that is not really anyone's fault.

    Big rooms, lovely breakfast,wonderful terrace with excellent food and service and the Brasserie is very nice too. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent modern hotel in a pleasant riverside setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious modern bathroom but lighting could have been better. Walked into town but couldn't locate the hotel shuttle to come back. A little more explanation & info from reception would have helped. The taxi back cost a reasonable €14 so probably not worth waiting for the shuttle anyway. Otherwise staff at reception friendly.

    Large, bright, comfortable room which was very clean. Pleasant location overlooking the river. Food was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included. Housekeeping was substandard.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very large and comfortable room, nice placement just on the...
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very large and comfortable room, nice placement just on the river side. Had no time to try restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, plenty to watch on the canal whilst have your meal. Staff great and meals in the restaurant were delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Great to rest
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    The bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Room well cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be better

    Room well cleaned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Staff professional efficient and personal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Eva on reception is fab, so kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meat is cooked a bit too rare!

    Outdoor terrace and staff lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    large room, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    large room, very friendly staff. excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    The food could have been better .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been better . Steak with boiled onions which u get from a burger van normally not very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was semi-basement with a "view" below the parking.

    Clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both restaurants the food was of poor quality. More like fast food. The chicken curry was disgusting

    Breakfast was fine. Cleaness was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Cute Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Africa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very nice boutique style hotel right next to a river. It was nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Some of the staff at the restaurant were downright...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff at the restaurant were downright unpleasant. Creating problems rather than solving them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location for the flower region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The location and the terrace by the Canal - excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super comfortable bed. Everywhere spotlessly clean. All staff efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with you great restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a maze to get through, doors everywhere (inconvenient when you're hauling luggage)

    It's clean, nice staff, spacious room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    The gap between the two beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gap between the two beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice bar (range of food limited), good service, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quiet location about two kilometre from the old town, shuttle service to town or the bus stop outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Good for Short and Long Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bath Room, Dirty and small shower box

    Location and WiFi as well the Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were cheaper non booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with balcony (courtyard view)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cheaper non booking.com

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: