Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alp de Veenen Hotel 3 stars

Ouderkerkerlaan 19, 1185 AC Amstelveen, Netherlands

#8 of 13 hotels in Amstelveen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1620 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok...meats cheeses breads....even a bit of scrambled egg...some more warm food would of been nice for the price. And for over 100 euros a night I was disappointed to find no tea of coffee making facilities in the room and a fridge that didn't work.

    The staff were nice. Its in a beautiful part of Amstelveen and is very quite. My room with the balcony was perfectly fine....comfortable beds good bath and shower. Quite easy getting to and from Amsterdam when you know how.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for the money. Needs a little walking to public transportation but it's easy to find and handy to travel to central Amsterdam. Free parking for cars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The short time we had, unfortunately.

    The location is just 10 min from the airport in a very small area with nice local pub with friendly people. We hired two bikes at the hotel itself and cycled about 20 km around the city of Amstelveen, between the park and the river Amstel. Simply amazing ! and no tourists! I also recommend looking for one of the local pubs and ordering local beer with the typical cheese croquettes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really liked the room. It had comfortable bed and the neighbourhood was really nice. The only thing that I didn't like was its distance from the nearest metro station. It was 1.8 km away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Personel is helpful and welcoming. These people are doing their job really good. Bus station is only 5 minutes by walking ans Schipol airport 15 minutes by bus. Clean room, bed and pillows were comfortable, breakfast was delicious with a lot of choices, espresso coffee was very good and offered for free during the day, The hotel is in a very beautiful and quiet area. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fridge in the room for cold water during the day.

    Friendly, welcoming staff and very helpful when I asked to print my boarding pass, clean room, bed and pillows were comfortable, breakfast was delicious with a lot of choices, espresso coffee was very good and offered for free during the day, bus Amstelveen station only 5 minutes by walking and Schipol airport 15 minutes by bus; the hotel is in a very beautiful and quiet area. I would recommend and I would stay again there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly/welcoming staff Clean/efficient Prime location Good service Large rooms Helpful Would recommend to anyone who is looking to visit Holland.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a bit outdated, but everything was clean which for me is the most important.

    Very friendly staff, good price and a very nice breakfast. Very good value for your money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets were very dirty in the lounge and as eldery people we were offered a very small and hot room in the upper storey;, needed to climb two pairs of narrow stairs with our luggage and although we understand that we arrived before it has been cleaned, we noticed the stained matress and bathroom smelled badly. We were directed to another small room equally uncomfortable and at the end got a bigger room, although still not the one we paid for in advance. We did not get any discount on 2 days and thereafter moved to Grand Hotel Amstelveen and got much more for the same price and an excellent room

    Receptionist trying to accommodate us in a better room, although it was still not the room we booked 20 days prior to arriving at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not having a lift / elevator was quite a challenge going up and down the rooms. Although the staff did help in carrying the luggage up the stairs.

    The place was very cozy, comfortable and clean. The personnel were absolutely friendly, helpful and accommodating. It was definitely a family atmosphere. A convenient walk to the Mall and Metro which takes you to Amsterdam in about 40 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information about the using the in-room safe and possibly finding a better place to keep it other than on the floor. Not a good location for people who cannot get on their knees.

    Close to Amsterdam and bus services.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were super comfortable and the breakfast very good. But the thing that stood out were the staff, especially the manageress, who was lovely. We were staying for a family birthday and she treated us all so kindly and made sure that the "Birthday Boy" was made to feel very special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful, answering questions about tourism destinations and more. The hotel is on a quiet street close to public transportation, old town Amstelveen, and a modern shopping mall. Breakfast was great and we relaxed in the dining room, enjoying a break whenever we wanted. It was the best place to get WiFi as the room connection was not good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is close enough to the metro station (GVB) and there is no reason to go to the central bus station to get the R-net bus which is a lot more expensive ticket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty from the beginning: dirty floor, spider webs, questionable bed linen, overused towels. Overall value for money very law, it wasn't even clean. I would have loved to find the room cleaned from the start. The room was the only one left and I payed for it at booking time (they low rate policy).

    We enjoyed the breakfast and the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old premises, not looked after. No attention to detail in common areas. Rooms small and very outdated and tired. Good location to access the motorway to airport and Amsterdam city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great selection of local restaurants within 5 minute walk. 20 minute walk to metro station which takes you right into the centre of Amsterdam. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty old room.Bathroom worse .No place to put wet towels. Bathtub broken. No cleaning of the room for 3 days. Basket garbage was full at the end. Staff nice but structures so old and dirty

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old and it’s really visible. But if you just need a place to sleep, it’s totally ok.

    Super friendly and helpful staff! Flexible check-in times, parking free of charge. Breakfast was also plentiful. The place is good for its price in Amsterdam. It takes about 45-50 minutes till the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit small for the bed, you had to walk past it side ways and you still bumped into the TV mounted on the wall and both Radiators need painting & re fixed to the wall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the restaurant is worn down, but that’s pretty much the only thing I can think of.

    Staff was very friendly and the bed was very comfortable. This place had its priorities right!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be a bit noisy, depending on guests next door. Not too many free TV channels. Then again, who watches TV these days...?

    The staff were very helpful and will make you a (free) cup of coffee or tea any time of the day. We loved the old hotel bar. You're spoilt for choice in restaurants in the 'old town' nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours did not start until 8:00. I also would have preferred a fitted sheet on the bed as the flat sheet moved too much causing a less restful sleep.

    The staff made a breakfast bag for my son since we would be leaving before breakfast hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise coming from the corridor into the room.

    A comfortable and well decorated room. A good bed and pillow. A complete breakfast and friendly staff. What else could you want. Well, I got free water, an apple and chocolate in the room and free coffee and tea in the bar. Well done! And that for an unbeatable price for the Amsterdam region.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is quite old and the bathroom sanitary ware were a bit worn out. Quite far from Amsterdam city center.

    Room was descent. We stayed for 1 night, so we didn't expect much. Staff was polite. Breakfast was amazing. Located in a quite neighborhood with a beautiful canal across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in the building. The shower was super tinny, the curtain stucked to my body all the time. It's time to replace the curtains by glass walls.

    Friendly personnel at the front desk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too small. Bathroom was too small, has no artificial ventilation - only way to ventilate is to open the window, and that's not very comfortable in winter time. For a 100 Euro not-central location I expected more.

    Good breakfast. Room was cleaned every day. Fast check-in/out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be a little bit better. The shower is not too comfortable

    I liked the hotel. It was very cosy. The room was great. There are a few nice restaurants nearby. The breakfast is good. And free parking spaces are available at the lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No bathtub in every rooms like specified on the website - Stairs but no elevator, the personnel won't help you with your luggage - Poor breakfast - All heaters turn off, needed to crawl to open one

    - Reception open until midnight

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place looks like it has got stuck in the 80s and zero has been spent on it since. (We should have realised with "boutique" in its name!) There were holes in my sheets, which is appalling. Cracked tiles in the bathroom, dead insects in the light fittings. Very gloomy corridors and some missing lights on the stairs. No tea and coffee making facilities. A twin room but only one with a bed side-light. Supposed to have plenty of parking, but only saw spaces for around 8 cars. Although we managed to park easily on the road outside. Rooms have names, like they are something special, but they should ditch them and just use numbers.

    Bed was ok and breakfast was nice. Not too expensive and fairly close to central Amsterdam. A quiet place. Close to the motorway. Water bottle, Orange and small chocolate bar a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and cosy room with e-service provided. Great workers and wonderful location. But if someone is leaving from or going to the airport, it takes time or money~

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed sheets were super-insulating which some might rate as a good thing I guess :). Room was basic and a little dull, but everything was in good condition. Furniture was somewhat old and lighting could have been better. No desk which was kind of a bummer. Keychain for room&front door is too bulky (20cm long, 5cm wide).

    Friendly and helpful staff. Almost instantly got another room when I reported a light to be broken. New room was bigger and fully functional. Extensive offering of breakfast options, self service, perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Entertainment options could be a bit better, very few TV channels and no multimedia (Netflix) possibilities.

    Very friendly staff, good value for money, comfortable bed. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have an elevator and most rooms are on the upper floor, so it didn't look like it would be ideal for people with special needs or with suitcases (like in my case).

    Breakfast was very good and a nice selection. The staff was very friendly. It's close to the bus station and only 5 min walk away. Nice and quiet area and close to a big area of water and park, if you would like to explore the surrounding. Close to a shopping mall too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a boutique hotel with out the feel of a boutique hotel. It is more of a bed and breakfast. There was no service to carry the suitcases which were big and heavy up the stairs. The young girl at the reception offered to help which was a plus for her but we politely declined. The room was average towards poor. The wall paper was torn in certain parts and it seemed like it was in need of a renovation. The bathroom brought me back to the 70s including the hairdryer. I could clearly hear the television from the other room (others didn't work) which means the walls were paper thin. The breakfast was also average. I would recommend it to people who want a bed and breakfast. I feel it is overpriced for what it has to offer.

    The hotel staff was friendly and professional. We had a room on the first floor. There was no service to carry the suitcases which were big and heavy up the stairs. The young girl at the reception offered to help which was a plus for her but we politely declined. The room was average towards poor. The wall paper was torn in certain parts and it seemed like it was in need of a renovation. The bathroom brought me back to the 70s including the hairdryer. I could clearly hear the television from the other room (others didn't work) which means the walls were paper thin. The breakfast was also average. I would recommend it to people who want a bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little far from Amsterdam Centraal, but it IS reachable by public transportation.

    GREAT BREAKFAST and quiet/beautiful neighborhood right by the Amsterdam Forest. Also great staffs and ambiance at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It'd be better if there's an elevator provided for tourists with heavy luggage.

    breakfast is pretty good. staff is friendly and willing to help. beautiful view in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of parking space and hard to get in and out of.

    Room was big enough. Quiet location. Tea or coffee whenever you want. Nice breakfast. Close to busstation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this place! I stayed by myself for a few nights and had a small cosy room. Received house keeping everyday, the breakfast buffet had a nice range of different foods. All of the staff were so polite and happy, very helpful. Great location not far from the bus station or the trams, great view and close to bars and restaurants and a shopping centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean hotel in tranquil location by the canal about 10 minutes walk to centre of towm and about 5 to modern art museum. There are buses at least 10 min interval to Schipol or the Hotel can arrange Shuttle (10 mins to AMS). Many good quality independent restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This could be a great hotel, if the cleanless would be little better and in the bathroom you would have a closed shower instead of a plastic curtain, which does not the job properly. When you take a shower, the bathroom is flooded.

    It's located in a more quite zone of Amsterdam, near a canal, 1km from the metro, which drives straight to the center in 20min. If you turn right from the hotel in 500m, you will get in a nice street with restaurants and bars. Parking is possible near the hotel and on the street. Breakfast is OK with a nice variety of food. You can rent bycicles in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dingy and shabby, walls were dirty and there was mold in the shower curtains. The closet was missing two doors.

    Beds were new and comfortable. The hotel has bikes that you can rent during your stay. Breakfast was ok. Peaceful location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were not that helpful. 15 minute walk to public transit. Another 40 minutes on tram into city. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Bathroom sink did not have hot water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice room with a bit used but clean bathroom. Breakfast of excellent choice and taste. Location at 15 min from the airport and 10 min to the metro station to the city centre. Restaurants close.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to clean the chairs and table before we could enjoy the patio. Cleaning inside the room and on the patio not up to standard. Cobwebs, dust, etc. even in the room. No facilities for coffee or tea in the room.

    Our room had a patio. Beautiful location, water all round.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We found the room adequate but the linen was old. Stairs to 1st floor were not adequately lit. At the latter end of breakfast the choice was limited. The property was a fair distance from public transport. Further from Amsterdam center than we anticipated.

    Dining room staff were friendly. Was situated in a nice area close to the old village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi had poor signal, our room was at the second floor.

    The property is located in the quiet and fairy-tale-ish Amstelveen. While pretty far from the Amsterdam city center, there are some bus stations nearby the hotel and some Connexxion buses go directly to the central Amsterdam station, expect ~1h of travel. The breakfast was very good and the rooms were spacious and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    power sockets near bed not working or not 220v

    Friendly staff, clean, tasty breakfast, 15 minutes on walk from metro, very good bathroom in room, after checkin: free 0.5l of water, apple and chockolate. Tea or coffee is free in anytime in kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light was very week. We needed to ask them to clean our room because it was not done automaticly.. There is no safe and fridge.

    The area is wonderful, very quiet and peaceful. The guest house is very clean and quiet and most of the staff are very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other two rooms were unacceptably tiny and dark, at the second floor with steep stairs really hard to climb. The employees were not very friendly or smily apart from some exceptions. If you want to visit Amsterdam in 2 days I wouldn' t find it ideal in the end ' cause it's more than 15min walk to the metro station (if you don't go running) and it's far more than 10 stops. Breakfast eould need some variations.

    We were a company with 3 different rooms. The double room with terrace was very good, modern and clean, just like the foto. It is a nice, quiet, green area outside Amsterdam. You can rent a bike from the hotel and go cycling to Amsterdam, in more rhan an hour to the centre though. It's good for excursion by bike in the suburb or if you have a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room does not properly isolate the noises from the corridor so everytime someone was talking our even walking in front of my room, I could hear inside. Fortunately, all the hosts were quite persons so this was not a big deal. The TV has a very limited number of channels available for free.

    The hotel is located in a quite place and, even though it is far from the center of Amsterdam, it is close from a bus terminal in which you can take a bus to everywhere around. The breakfast is really good, having a lot of different options. The rooms are warm and the bad is really comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly. The hotel was in a great location and we could access public transport very easily. We had a great balcony on our room! Overall, very comfortable and a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are too small, and climbing up the stairs was exhausting, to say at least. But the worst thing we experienced while staying was the loss of some of our souvenirs (which we have bought while strolling Amsterdam), they were taken away from our room while we were out! First we were told that non of our belongings were taken by any staff member, after that we were told that they were mistaken by the cleaning staff as belonging to the hotel - some of our stuff were lost, some were found, but at no point we were offered any compensation for our aggravation. This was a bad experience that could easily be improved with a little compassion from your side. Shame.

    The location is good, not so far off the central station, the place also offers a close parking space. The rooms are clean, and are cleaned everyday (not always for the best, see below).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have problem with check out, because on booking and confirmation message says " check out between 7-11am" on weekends and the real time for weekend starts 8 am. So we almost lost our flight.

    Breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was high for the specific, which was good on one hand but in a moderate building with quite small rooms and not as much facilities to justify the price of the room

    Cosy place to stay for a couple of days

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing is there could have been an AC in the room as this was a summer month and it was slightly warm in the night. I am sure if I have asked they would have provided something but I never asked. The staff are too brilliant cant sing their praise enough.

    Fantastic people very friendly and facilities are great. Felt at home despite personal booking error from me the staff were able to accommodate my short comings. I will always return to this beautiful place whenever I am in town. Lovely location to city centre and local amenities. The kids loved it here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit far from the metro or tram station since the buses near there are not included in the gvb's 48 hours ticket.

    Breakfast is perfect. The room is clean and comfy. And the staffs are friendly. Easy to get from or to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, outdated furniture, curtains don't make the room dark, bed light didn't work turned out to be not connected to electricity, shower curtain, insufficient light in the room.

    Euitgebreid ontbijtbuffet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit far from the nearest bus stop, but this problem is negligible if you do not live a sedentary lifestyle. If you're planning to visit the city centre by commuting, you should consider other accommodations inside central Amsterdam.

    The bath is amazing and contains a lot of space. The hotel is near a diverse selection of restaurants (Chinese, Indonesian, Steakhouse). Nice staff, great breakfast buffet, especially the unlimited cheese. During check-out, there's a taxi service to the airport for 35 euros.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready when we checked in, even though we were half an hour after check in time. Rooms were too small, with slanting walls, which made me bump my head all the time. Got a small head wound from a badly placed lamp on the wall next to the bed. No elevator, had to carry heavy bags to third floor. Even though I booked for an adult with child, they still charged me 45 euro per night extra for an eleven year old which felt very unfair and made the hotel very expensive for what they offer. Not recommended.

    Breakfast was decent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi was extremely slow, and if you wanted faster service to stream videos, you had to pay 8 euros per day extra for that. Setting up the wifi every 24 hours was an odd and convoluted process.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood was quiet and peaceful with a park, shopping center, and old town within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is highly over-prized. We stayed at the Amstelveen Grand Hotel at the beginning of our trip and it was 100% better considering the price was the same. Compared to the Grand Hotel, this place is a dump. The room is an attic-like place, the bathroom smelled very musty.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff on the day of our departure rude and spoke to me in a sharp and abrupt manner when I enquired about our payment. When my husband came in, the staff member attempted to be more helpful! Not acceptable for a front of house staff member. Despite reviews stating it wouldn't take long to reach Amsterdam city, it actually takes 50minutes. The map provided to direct us to the tram and bus stops was unclear. Not information about the local area was provided. Our room was very dated and does not appear on any of the photos.

    Outside terrace was nice. Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains and trams are not close so you need to catch a bus t this location

    Great location. This little suburb has a lot to offer, shopping and great little village cafes and bars are all close by. We walked to the windmill restaurant for dinner which was fantastic! Our room had a fantastic private balcony on the canal!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel really pleased wanted to see Amsterdam this is outside Amsterdam in Amstelveen Lovley quiet place it's only half an hour on a team into Amsterdam centre costs 7.50 euros can travel for 24 he's on that bus station is only a five minute walk from hotel room was Lovley staff very helpful breakfast was great would stay again parking at front of hotel also they have bikes you can hire and a Lovley area at the front to sit out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room I had was very dark, with very little natural light. It was tolerable as spent very little time in the room. However the shower drain was blocked, which overflowed and flooded the bathroom everyday. Asked for the drain to be unblocked and to move rooms a couple of times to save me having to clean the floor every morning. Neither of these were done. I wouldnt have minded so much for one night but considering my stay was for 6 nights you would have thought they would have helped to make my stay more comfortable by unbloccking the drain or moving me to another room, especially on the days it wasnt so full.

    The staff were helpful and knowledgeable on the surrounding area and transportation. the location is very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Toiletries replenishment should be more often and there should be easier/simpler WiFi joining procedure. Having to renew WiFi access each day is a bit of a nuisance.

    The location and the neighborhood, easy access to public transport, yet far enough from crowded city center and easy access to the airport. Great staff, tasty and descent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No aircondition, it was so hot in the room (we stayed at the last floor), that you could not stay in the room.Also they don.t open at least the windows on the hall, that the air felt like burning on the skin because of the heat.And it was begining of june.The cofee..it.s instant cofee, couldn.t drink it. Pretty far from metro, and the Amsterdam..By tram you need an hour to get to central station, and by metro 30-40min. And the windows have only little mosquito net (and a broken one), so if you wanted fresh air at night..you have mosquitos..or..you manage the heat.

    The breakfast super various, very good.The beds are ok, the room ok,not so big, clean, also the free parking is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't open the window of the noise of the highway behind the hotel. My room was on the backside of the hotel, second floor. You can't see the highway but it is about 500 meters away. The breakfast only start at 8:00am. I had to leave early so no breakfast or bag to take out. Wifi reception in my room was poor so slow. A bit annoying are the airplanes approaching Schiphol. I like planes but a bit noisy when so low :).

    The location is relaxing, water in front of the hotel and back. Road is local so not very busy. I rented a bicycle at the train station to go around and there are some very lovely path to follow in the neighbourhood and toward Amsterdam center. 1 day I left a 8:00am and they made a breakfast bag for me, nice. The girls at the reception are friendly and responsive. The room was nice, big windows, nice green view. The bed is spacious and of a good hardness. Bathroom was very nice, rain shower and bath. Very nice tiles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of the hotel showed the rooms as looking slightly more modern however our room was rather dated. Good wifi but had to pay to watch TV. 30 minute tram ride in to central Amsterdam.

    The staff were friendly and the street the hotel is located on is quiet and pleasant to look at. Breakfast provided is nice - variety of pastries, cereal, fruit etc. A short walk from the bus station and little town where there are nice restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location just a 10 minute walk to the tram heading into Amsterdam city, free street parking right outside the hotel, friendly and helpful staff and a view of the river from our room. Good value with all you can eat breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated rooms that need painting, but comfortable and clean

    a lot cheaper than comparable hotels closer to the centre, and while it takes cca 40 min to reach the centre, the public transport is not horribly far away. If you are on a budget it is a good choice. Peaceful and nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Friendly and helpfull staff, openbuffet international breakfast, very close to (700 mt walking) the tram no 5 and metro to reach in 18 minutes to amsterdam center..we had the room with its own terrace was quite large..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything

    Fabulous attention to details, stayed at a 4 start the night before for twice the rate- that one was a disaster, this stay was pure pleasure. This hotel is a gem, a very unexpected pleasant surprise. Fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep Steps to room and difficult to carry luggage.

    The bedroom is so cozy..clean, cute and comfy. The garden was just perfect at the front and backyardwith canal at the back with shady trees and seating for a couple..so serene.fruits and cofee fresh and tasty..

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alp de Veenen Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: