Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Verdi 2 stars

Wanningstraat 9, Oud Zuid, 1071 LA Amsterdam, Netherlands

#117 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 768 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Fine for one night, but for the price I still expect a decent bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fix the bed headboard, put in a better mattress (even a cheap Ikea mattress would be better), and move it to a spot where you can see the TV. Give people earplugs if you won't invest in soundproofing.

    The bed was too soft and it felt like the mattress was slightly tilted, so I felt like I might roll off the bed. The headboard not attached, just leaning against the window/radiator (and banged it each time I got in our out of the bed). The soundproofing is horrible, a lot of noise from my room of everyone walking around in halls, in room above, and voices from lobby at all hours. The TV was on the wall above and to the left of the bed, so impossible to see while lying in the bed itself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very nice and breakfast was great, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared toilet on different floor. There's a cat running around which is very cute but may be an issue for people with allergies.

    Staff was very nice and breakfast was great, too. Good location though a little walk from a lot of the tourist sites.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a wonderful stay at Verdi. The staff was kind, the location was phenomenal, the room was cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was surprisingly good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was nice and cosy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was nice and cosy and clean. Location was great. Rooms are small, but beds were very comfortable. We had a shared bathroom which was clean and wasn't problem to use. Easy to reach from the airport with 397 bus. Best 2star hotel I've been to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, older style hotel in a great neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, older style hotel in a great neighborhood. Staff were excellent and very helpful - we were able to rent bikes at the hotel, which they organized for us very quickly and efficiently. The location is ideal for sightseeing and for getting to and from the airport in around half an hour on the bus or tram.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming, comfortable, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, welcoming people who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Because of the heat and the stairs they upgraded me to a very nice room with shower on the first floor instead of the room I had booked on the top floor. Quiet location but close to museums and Vondelpark. The trams and airport bus stop are a short walk away. It is not difficult to walk to the city centre. A very good breakfast is provided. My bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay at Hotel Verdi again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall, we liked the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main problem was the steep stairs! Our room was on level 3 and it was so difficult to climb the stairs with our luggage. They helped us with some of the luggage. If you are young and have no knee problem, it should be OK. This summer the weather was very hot and Europeans did not expect it. There was only a small fan in the room and we could not stay in the room during the day. Also, there was no fridge in the room.

    We enjoyed staying in this hotel. The location was good. We paid Euro 6 per person and took a bus from the airport to reach there. The staff were friendly and the breakfast exceeded our expectations. It was a simple breakfast but much better than many other 2 and 3 star hotels. Our room was very clean. The bathroom was clean and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    The people we're great.
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, bit of a challenge going up 3 floors with luggage. Had to no AC.

    The people we're great. Very helpful when we needed help. Also breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is the best thing about this place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was overall good, but cleanliness could be at a higher level. Some refurbishment would improve overall impression.

    Location is the best thing about this place. It is just nearby main museums and not far away from the old city. If you are on a budget and looking for a place in the Museum Quarter, this may be a good solution. Breakfast is included and it offers a good choice. Staff is also very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, super nice staff and an excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was one floor below my room and the shower had stains on the floor resembling dark droplets, which demanded shower shoes.

    Great location, super nice staff and an excellent breakfast spread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Safe, clean, happy stay with nice hosts and perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not realize, I had booked with a shares bathroom. It was no big deal, just a little inconvenience, so read the offer :-)

    Very nice staff, perfect location right by the museum's, easy to walk or take the train everywhere. Be careful if you bring heavy luggage, the stairs, like in most houses in Amsterdam are supersteep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A delightful stay with delightful hosts
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no comment

    In addition to the condition of the property, I was impressed by the friendliness and warmth of Yuko, her sister and other members of the team.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, great location and friendly/pleasant staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I need a hard mattress to sleep well, and those provided were very soft. So the first night was a tough nights sleep. Also, I was in a room at the very top of the building, which was hot and a bit airless despite having both windows open - but that was more circumstantial, and only lasted one night before the breeze picked up and cooled the room down.

    Very clean, great location and friendly/pleasant staff & 'gentle' atmosphere. The surrounding neighbourhood is very pretty and peaceful, but next to great transport connections and other more active neighbourhoods for a bit more fun in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    All Tidy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in the third floor, no lift and the stairs are too steep. Also I felt too controlled from the staff every time I came back inside the hotel ; The sensation was like they don't trust customers. A bit unconfortable .

    All Tidy and clean. Close to supermarket and city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast is nice especially incl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single Room doesn't provide Kattle. No shampoo and gel in public bathroom.

    Breakfast is nice especially incl. in room price. Location is perfect for me, although it's take 20 min to center. It located at Museum area, 5 min walk to RijksMuseum. The cloest AH only accept Cash.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    I recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t a hair dryer in the bathroom.

    Everything was perfect, our room was very clean and we had private bathroom. Bathroom is new and clean. Breakfast was fine. room wasn’t cold. We left very happily.location is super.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from koingsallee Street & old city

    Nice place. You can use bus or tram to central Station. They give free transport card to use during your stay.good value for money. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    great hotel. highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stairs are precipitous. the breakfast can be better.

    The room is excellent! Clean and comfortable. The size is larger than I expected. The location is great! very close to supermarket, museums and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice place, not quiet though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin, could hear people having conversations in the hallways and construction workers outside at 7am!

    Friendly lady at the counter was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are bare...need wall art in the rooms. The few eating establishments in the area are high-end.

    Spotlessly clean. Very close to art museums and tram/bus stops. Very quiet neighborhood. Nice owners. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Everything here is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything here is perfect. The food, the location and the staff who helped us with everything. I will definitely choose to stay here if I am going to Amsterdam again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely reasonably priced hotel with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely Hotel with nice bars and restaurants within walking distance, a very good Continental Breakfast included in the price and the staff were very helpful at all times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay if you aim at sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - extremely steep stairs - you will struggle with large suitcase/stroller/small children - a cat on the property - I have a mild allergy, but fortunately cat seems to not enter the rooms, as it didn't have an effect on me

    - very kind and helpful hosts - located in the quiet museum area - the heater was working well, room was warm despite negative temp. and 45km/h wind outside - nice breakfast - advantage vs similar locations in the area - Albert Heijn supermarket 200m away (although you cannot pay there with MasterCard or Visa, so prepare cash) - bus stop to the airport located just 200m outside the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff is extra nice, loved the music during breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a refreshment-new wall color, removing of carpet stains, broken tiles etc. Bed was too soft for me.

    Staff is extra nice, loved the music during breakfast, safety is great, loved the location-quiet, near bus and tram stops, museums etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Homely ,warm ,clean ,friendly ,very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs up to room is out of the question for anyone with mobility issues

    It is situated away from main area of Amsterdam which guaranteed a night's sleep .Easy access to the center either by foot or tram. The tram station and art museums are only around the corner from the hotel .You can buy tram tickets in the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great staff, great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom (toilet and shower) was separate from the room, just a tiny inconvenience though.

    This hotel is amazing, a great location that is close to things but also quiet enough that you can actually sleep there. The staff are so friendly, really helpful and there is a beautiful cat! The room was small but ideal for our purposes, and for the price we paid. The breakfast was delicious and well set out each day. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.4
    Missleading description "private shower" led me to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missleading description "private shower" led me to believe that the shower was in the room when in fact in was out in the corridor. I fail to see how "private" corresponds to this arrangement. If I had known I wouldnt have booked. Othewise OK stay . Breakfast not bad but not up to par with what you'd expect from a regular buissiness hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Good budget hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs and no lift. Luckily we didn't have much luggage,but with a big suitcase it can be trouble.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast! Good location close to the museums and bars at Leidsleplein. Also close to tram stop from where you can get to the city center in 20min. Next to the tram stop there's also a big supermarket!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    The mattress and pillow were really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet in the upper floor

    The mattress and pillow were really comfortable. The staff turned out to be very kind and friendly, they gave me several indications about entertainments in the area and transports. The international breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very cute hotel with a really great location: close to Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. The staff was really friendly and helpful, they also serve breakfasts in the morning. And, despite of the fact that it's so close to touristic places, it was quiet there, so one can have a good sleep in this hotel. The mattresses and blankets were extremely soft and comfortable. We enjoyed our time in this hotel and hope to stay there again during our future trips to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Awesome place to stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the stairs, but the staff was able to help me with my bags!

    The staff was amazing, everybody really helpful! I would recommend this place and also go back again! It is really close (walk distance) to the Van Gogh museum and other places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great find and good location for museums
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs but that's the same across the whole of Amsterdam!

    Spacious and clean, staff were super friendly and location was excellent for the museum district.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Cozy and Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size are small. But then that's Typically European style. No lift for those lugging luggage to upper floors. But the location service and breakfast makes up for the stairs. Overall a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Breakfast is standard but enough to wait till lunchtime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed instead of two single

    Breakfast is standard but enough to wait till lunchtime. Close to the parks, museums, flower market and other things to see. Recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Included breakfast was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older, European "tourist-class" hotel situated in what was probably a late nineteenth-century private home. While there's a certain charm in that, there's a certain cost: the steepest stairways I've ever seen (and no elevators). Needed staff assistance to pull a suitcase up two flights.

    Included breakfast was quite good. Desk staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Verdi is a perfect small tucked away hotel close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Verdi is a perfect small tucked away hotel close to the best museums of Amsterdam on Museumplein and the Concertgebouw. Great value for money. The breakfast room has pictures of artists that stayed at the hotel before/after their Concertgebouw performance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hosts, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned by many people before, the stairs are very steep, which may be uncomfortable to some people. It didn't bother me at all though. I ordered a room with a shared restroom and I had to get down one floor in order to ise the toilet.

    Fantastic location (1 min walk to the airport bus station, 2 min. Walk to the modern art museum, van gogh museum etc.) The hosts were lovely and warm! They helped me with any problem or question I had and made me feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, private, clean and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was on the third floor, there are people on the second to fourth and they all share it. I don't mind sharing the toilet but I had to get up and put trousers and shoes on to have a quick pee.

    The staff were really friendly, the room was cosy, private and quiet. The breakfast was great, a lot of variety! And very central, just a short tram journey to the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    location, bed, breakfast, and location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it's an old Building so it is hard to expect much more than we get. Almost vertical stairs is something you need some time to get used to, but it is part of tradition, so this is not complaint.

    location, bed, breakfast, and location again.... + Mona - the house cat

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Hotel is very cosy,familiar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beeds too soft for me

    Hotel is very cosy,familiar.Not too big what's an adventage.Quiet location,but very close to Museum Plein,tram stop/2,5 to Central Station/and 5 min walk to bus stop /number 197/which goes to Schipol Airport! Braekfast room nicely appointed with nice courtyard view,quiet music. Breakfast sufficent,tasty, everyone will find something for himself. Family room is big enough for 4 people.Room cleaned everyday! Owners are very friendly and helpful.We asked for an electric kettle and a hair dryer and we got it.They also helped us with printing our boarding passes.Everythig with smile!HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Delightful stay, excellent location for museums and the concert house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was a very steep flight of narrow stairs up from the toilet, which was not so great really late at night and half asleep. I had to stand up to see out the window.

    The staff were very kind and helpful and accommodated my special diet at breakfast. The Verdi itself is adorable and clean. Perfect location. Mona!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, Good customer service, lots of stairs, just no information regarding cat on property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Management needs to disclose that there is a cat on the property for allergy purposes! We would not have stayed at property had we known a cat was there as it caused allergy leading to sickness. also very limited TV station access in room with no English news or weather channels.

    Service was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Really nice hotel close to the center with friendly owners and staff. Perfect for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and shower in our room hadn't a ventilation and the hotel has very paper thin walls so it's a little bit noisy. But I guess this is generelly the style of building houses in this region, so it's not fault of the hotel. Also typical there are the steep and small stairs, so think about to bring smaller baggage.

    The owners of the hotel are very friendly and open minded. They help if you need something extra (we asked for an elektric kettle and for a second umbrella which we got immediately). The hotel is a small one with about 12 rooms and very familiar. This give an extra feeling of living in this city like the people of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    If you give precedence to quiet places and are not afraid of steep stairs, this is a valid option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for money can be discussed, but taking into account that Holland is expensive anyway, maybe it's the price to pay for such a place. Stairs are not for elders - reaching the 3rd floor you nearly cannot breath anymore. Shared toilet for my small room located 1 floor below !

    Quiet location near the museum, very friendly staff, small hotel, you feel like in a distant branch of your family. Wifi good compared to many more expensive places. Bed OK. Can easily be reached from Central station by trams 5 and 2. "Aside" Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    A great choice. A very quiet and safe neighborhood, right around the corner from the Concert Hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our fridge in the room did not work

    We were in a very quiet neighborhood in the museum district. Museums were only a short walk as was the public tram which made getting into center city. Great room for family of 8, much more spacious than we expected. We enjoyed some good restaurants in the area as well. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, convenient, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Lots of great tips for exploring the city, especially from Arnold (his Dutch name was close to that, and I have forgotten it). Super quiet location on backstreet, but close to the big museums and Concertgebouw. Nice courtyard view from the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    The staff was extremly friendly and helpful, the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most steep and narrow stair case i have ever seen but i have been told its normal in Amsterdam.

    The staff was extremly friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and spacious room, good breakfast and feel cosy and homely. My friend requested to change her room to a lower floor dues to the steep stair and within 30mins they swapped the room. We were travelling with a baby and requested a cot while all cots have been used in the hotel they actually went and bought a new cot. Wifi is good also. We would definitely going back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    I luv Amsterdam :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quiet Hotel, very kind staff that helped me a lot with everything I needed. The hotel is very close to Leidseplein area and the Tram that will take you to Central Station in only 5 minutes is just around the corner. If you are looking for a kind staff, quiet ,place that close to everything, it is the place to stay. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Familyfriendly, genuin hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get a bit hot in the room, but easy to fix with opening the Windows. However the church clock makes noise every hour so it was not possible for us because it disturbed the kids sleep otherwise.

    Nice and helpful personel. Big comfy room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice value for money family run hotel with freindly staff in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is not so big - so if you expect to have the choise of many different products for breakfast you will be disapointed. To us it was quite OK

    The hotel is a traditional local family driven hotel with lots of personal charm and really down to earth owners that did a lot to exchange view and talk to the guests - the staff (primarily family) spoke Japanese - Dutch - German - French and Spanish while we vere there - very impressive. We visited the hotel during the urban sports week in Amsterdam and had a lot of fun looking at the spectacular shows in the museum park about a 100 meters from the hotel. We also enjoyed that the big museums vere just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Excellent to stay with hosts who made our stay homely. Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom amenities like stand for putting the stuff , wash basin within the bathroom and toiletries.

    We found the hosts most friendly of all the hotels where we stayed till now during the current tour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Very caring and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Hotel Verdi is nicely located in the city centre, with easy access to museums, restaurants, public transportation etc. The room is nice and clean. I enjoyed the breakfast too! The hosts are really caring and helpful. I couldn't thank them enough for helping me out when I had myself injured. I would definately recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Charming! A first rate choice in the museum neighborhood if you do not require an elevator.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visitors to Amsterdam must understand that many of these converted townhouses have no place to install an elevator as they were built to economize on space. This means that they usually have much steeper stair cases than are found outside of the NL. This is not a complaint so much as forewarning that you need to check for an elevator if you will be challenged by steep stairs or narrow footing or by carrying your luggage up a couple of flights of stairs.

    This is one of many small hotels in Amsterdam that occupy converted town houses. This one is particularly charming. The breakfast room, was nicely appointed and looked out onto an attractive small garden. The food was very good, though the only egg option on the buffet was hard boiled. That is of course standard for this kind of hotel in Amsterdam. I have been traveling to Amsterdam on business for the past 20 years. This is probably the nicest hotel of its kind in which I have stayed in the past five years. For many years I stayed in one just as good but it is no longer available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Great for a weekend get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs that all these dutch houses have.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Brilliant location near museums and a lovely park just round the corner. The tram stop is a 1min walk also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Very simple and sweet stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very simple and sweet stay in Amsterdam. The hosts were very helpful and informative during my stay. Excellent location - close walk to Vondel Park, and into the western/southern canals and Jordaan. Breakfast had lots of pastries, boiled eggs, cereal and coffee and was very satisfying. I had a single room, with seperate shower and shared toilet. Great value for money and a great stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Great quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great quiet location - city centre in walking distance, easy to get to the airport, friendly and helpful staff, room cleaned every day. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Verdi, the safe bet of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room door doesn´t insulate the noise well so it can be a problem in case of noisy guests.

    My daughter is diary productos allergic and the hotel team seemed very involved in her needs in order to do our stay as much confortable and safe as possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Great and kind people and place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A hair dryer option would be nice. The stairs are extremely strepy, but it`s a common thing in Amsterdam as we were told.

    Very kind and helpful stuff! It was clean and comphortable. Near to museums, tram stations, supermarket. Perfect for a short stay (we were there for 4 nights).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    A clean and quiet place for a brief stay in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if they offered free shuttle services from the airport to the hotel for the people who arrive late. They did not have any of the extra amenities such as shampoo, soap, tooth brush, hair dryer, and etc in the room. The building did not have an elevator, and the stairs were very steep and narrow. It would be difficult for travelers with big luggage to climb up the stairs (if their rooms were assigned upstairs).

    The bedroom, shared shower and restrooms were all very clean, cozy, and quiet. The location was close to the bus stops and museums. The breakfast was nice, and the free wifi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and very well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of disadvantages. We really enjoyed our stay there.

    Friendly staff, available any time we needed something. Rooms are simple, but very clean and recently renovated (from my experience it is rarely the case in Amsterdam, especially for affordable price). We were very comfortable as a group of friends there. Location is fantastic! We never took any public transportation because it was so easy to walk everywhere from the hotel. What is more, the bus 197 that goes directly from the airport, stops right next to the hotel - very convenient. I would stay there again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    The staff were so kind and understanding of our arriving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shared toilet was the only deterrent as someone was ill on our first day, but that's to be expected with shared facilities occasionally. Otherwise, no issues.

    The staff were so kind and understanding of our arriving late, as well as my arriving the next morning when I had passport problems. They were very prompt about their reply via email. The location is superb if you're interested in the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum as they're practically on the hotel's doorstep, as well as being a minute walk to the tram and bus links to the Centre. We really appreciated how thoughtful they were, plus their cat was adorable! The breakfast was the perfect thing to start our day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have problems with stairs it is an issue! There is no lift and the stairs are quite steep and small!

    Very comfy beds Decent breakfast Lovely staff Easy to get to by public transport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Perfect location, warm and comfy home with amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think if anything. It was all great.

    Reception was very welcoming. They even let us checkin a little early because they could see we were feeling jetlagged. They made us a cup of tea while they finished cleaning the room. They were extremely friendly and were full of helpful information about tourist spots. Breakfast was great. Beds were comfortable and warm and the room was quiet. The location close to the tram line was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    best location, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Seems the reservation system has problem which caused conflict and lack of communication. First day we (2 people) were advised to stay in a triple room , to leave luggage on 2nd day morning, and when back from visit we can move to another room. While we spent 1-2hrs packing luggage that morning and was about to leave, I was told no need to move, and can stay until the 3rd day. Finally, we stayed 4 nights and I packed luggage 3 times. Packing takes time, and this could have been avoided if I was informed earlier. 2. the steps are quite narrow and steep, but staff always helps when sees. 3. 1st and 2nd floor not soundproof enough. After all, I know staff are trying their best, so I still give high rate. Hope these can be improved.

    If you come from airport, the location is best. Just several minutes walk to Van Gogh Museum, and Rijks. If you have a tiring day , you can have a good rest, and proceed your visit in later day. Also several steps to the concert. Hotel staff very friendly. Breakfast is quite good, but , would be better if not the same kind every day ^ ^.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    5 дней и ночей в великолепном месте
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great hotel! great staff! A delicious buffet Breakfast. The location is the best. Quiet calm. Near the best museums of Amsterdam. The interior of the hotel is simply gorgeous. At Breakfast he plays classical music. Special thanks to the hotel staff all friendly and helpful, real professionals. And thanks for the sandwiches in my way. It was so cute! I truly loved this town and this hotel! I recommend to all! Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Charming one day trip to Amsterdam
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staircase is very steep. The beds were not extremely comfortable.

    The room was very comfortable. The location is very good, the service was great. The breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    Great base for a stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor with very steep stairs. They did warn us, but you need to be fit!

    Helpful and efficient staff. We had booked a small room, but they upgraded us to a bigger one at no extra cost. Generous room, comfy bed. Good location near the major museums, and easy tram ride to the station. On a small street, so check on Google maps first Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.3
    It was really noisy, even at 2 a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really noisy, even at 2 a.m was people laughing loud. The stairs and floor rooms also squeaks, the bed was so soft. So I couldn't sleep at all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    The atmosphere here is amazing, personal is absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only think I didn't like was the bed. It was just too soft for me, not very comfortable. But that's personal opinion.

    The atmosphere here is amazing, personal is absolutely perfect and placement, I don't think you can find better compared with price. Absolutely great. I definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel near the Rijksmuseum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes wifi network does not work.

    Kind staffs, nice breakfirst, and cozy room! Great location near museums, and Easy access to the central with trams, and schiphol airport with bus!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical breakfast with egg ,bread ,fruit ,cereal,coffe honestly good enough to start your day, the personal is very helpful and the property is located 5 min walk to the tram.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Frendly small but good modest hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing for me but for a customer with difficulties in climbing the very narrow steps might be a challenge, no lift available.

    good location, close to museums and tramways. friendly personnel. Nice breakfast , no noise of trafic. Modest hotel but fullfilled well all the expectations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    great staff, great location, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    really cannot think of anything that needs improving

    location was brilliant, 2 minutes walk to the museum grounds, lots of shops and public transport. the staff were excellent, really happy and helpful. room was a good size, had a twin room but was easy enough to move the 2 beds together, really pleasant stay all round

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.3
    A great value option!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs, as other reviewers have noted, are quite steep, and I was on the top floor. Probably not ideal for older travellers and / or travellers with knee issues.

    The bed was nice and soft. Shower was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    the friendly, helpful and accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the friendly, helpful and accomodating staff.. cleanliness, they clean all the rooms everday. the breakfast is also good.. we will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: