Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel The Veteran

Herengracht 561, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 BW Amsterdam, Netherlands

#347 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 525 hostel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Awful place. Don’t waste your money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t be fooled by the pictures on the site. Iv been coming to Amsterdam for the last 10 years, this is by far the worst place Iv ever stayed in and it’s also expensive. The apartment stunk of stagnant water and the windows r screwed shut so u can’t even open them to air the room out, also causing health, safety and fire risks. The was also no proper lights in the room, literally a few lamps screwed to the walls. As I went to have a shower I noticed both shower doors were just about hanging on and they wouldn’t shut properly, I reported this to one of the staff at reception and he sent in the manager. I spoke to him and said I wasn’t happy with the shower and the general state of the room for the money we had paid, his response was well u can take ur money and go find somewhere else to stay.

    The beds were pretty comfortable Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location and bad room condition for 180EUR
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price not corresponded with room in basement under the street without proper window and sharing shower with smelly environment.

    Location in the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    I realy enjoy my stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recomandet for family with children and disable person because there is not elevator.

    I realy enjoy my stay there. Exelent location(a few min walking by Dam Square, Red Light District, Jordan Area etc..). Behind the hotel there are diferent opened restaurant to enjoy Italian and tradicional food, aftenoon beers and enjoy the atmosfere there. Helpful staff, even the check in was till 23:00 I called they te notify for my late check in(1:30 AM) and they were able to accept my request. The continental brekfast was included in the price and you can rent a bycycle to the hotel for only 10 eur for the entere day. If you are expecting lux, do not go there because it is a basic hotel but if you are looking for a great location to enjoy your days in Amsterdam and not using the tram every day, this hotel is perfect. I recomandet it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Confortable place close to city attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed at was really big. They gave us a bigger rom than the one qe booked for because it was at the first floor and we could access dircetly to the room. The room had a fan which is pretty nice for the summer (they usually dont have air conditioners since it is really cold in the winter, autumn and early spring) becauseit could get hot and really dry. It provides you with clean blankets, towels and liquid soap. We got a city map and at the check-in the lady told us where were we and where were the most popular attractions in town. The location is pretty nice since it is very close to the rembrandt plaza. The breakfast was tasty as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    The best thing about this hostel is undoubtedly the position...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sincerely we had not so much expectation about this hostel, we booked it only because was the cheapest in the city center. As already said by other guests, the room was really noisy because there is a lot of nightlife along the street and in the whole Rembrandtplein. In addition, it wasn't possible to close entirely the windows and during the night the mosquitos bit us numerous time.

    The best thing about this hostel is undoubtedly the position in Rembrandtplein, from here you can reach on foot whatever you want to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were shocking especially two of them. I went down to state that the safe I had in my room didn’t seem to be working, they talked in there own language and responded with, ah sure we think that’s broken one. I had no comfort to leave my personal belongings in my room because they wouldn’t try fix the safe Then after I paid €408 in cash to pay for my 3 night stay. When I am checking out I realize the hotel has also gone and taken 100€ out of my bank account???? At first it all seemed pleasant and it’s a lovely location with a very nice view but not worth the helpless staff and I must say breakfast is shocking too.

    Location was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed and get 5 single beds we did not like that and trying to get to the room with the stairs well you will find out if you book and also it smelled of cat urine all though out the hotel/hostel

    It was were we needed to be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast and bed was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many rooms for one bathroom. The stairs are really dangerous

    The breakfast and bed was ok. The stairs was really really small and tiny, so its not a place for older people or kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    We booked last minute and it was not like how the pictures...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last minute and it was not like how the pictures was on booking.com. We had a horrrible room where there was a wardrobe was half covering a part of a cover up of something in the room. It was not like how it looked like on booking.com. Horrible! Our window was outside on the strip so we could see reflections of the people walking past. The noise made me not sleep the whole night! The guy at the desk hardly spoke English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Good but expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are really terrible but is not their fault if you think most of the buildings in Amsterdam is like that. For me e for my husband was ok. But if you going with children or elderly people you should look for other place. The toilet is far from te room.. i was in the last floor so i had to go downstairs. Just have 1 toilet. And the shower is with the toilet. And the worse thing not enough hot water.

    The location is grand. Close to everything. And if you like to enjoy the night is gonna be perfect for you. Breakfast is very good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible, Booking.Com should not offer such rooms on their site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark, dingy room in the basement with hardly any natural light. The high level windows were at the outside street level and were a constant source of irritation due to loud noise from passing traffic and humans and sometimes real loud noise from people banging on the window from outside or unlocking their bicycle chains wrapped around the iron grills protecting the window. Breakfast was cold, nothing hot was offered except hot water for tea. The room, adjacent toilet and the interlinking corridor was smelly to say the least.

    Nothing, check if the room is in the basement or the upper floor. If the basement room is offered, do not take it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Hostel - The Veteran, Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As first time using hostel accommodation. I have not much too compare with.

    Comfortable bed. Good heating. Breakfast each day was included in cost. Close to central station, shops and main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    In general it was everything really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple bed is not attached, it means twin bed one beside eavh other, it's not so comfortable for couples to sleep together.

    In general it was everything really good! Breakfast is very nice and clean. The view from the room is lovely :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    4.2
    Was the cheapest option at the time, but definitely not worth 90 euros per night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except location, rooms small old wind from windows, our room was very inclined as it was under the roof, cords where all over the room. Stairs extremely dangerous and for older people not recommended

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the cleanliness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit expensive, but it was good. It was a bit hard to get to the toilet/shower in the morning because it is a shared bathroom. The stairs were a bit scary but managable after the second night’

    Breakfast was great - included hard and soft boiled eggs, toast, cereal, orange juice, meat, cucumbers, tomatoes, butter, different kinds of bread, sweet chocolate spread, yogurt and fruit! The view was amazing and if you get the I amsterdam card, you can get practically anywhere, the tram stops are everywhere and I didn’t have to wait for more than 10 mins for a tram. I really recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    Was expecting more for the money paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to reception but more especially poor access to the room. The external stairs was like a ladder, especially when negotiating them with luggage. The internal stairs were very steep & twisting. Steps were narrow and on an angle, which made it difficult to open the room with the key, while balancing on very narrow steps. The room key / lock would only function if the key was inserted at a specific position, making it difficult to open and a little panic, thinking that I was locked out. The shower room included the toilet, so you had to wait for someone to finish in the shower before you could access the toilet.

    The breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location close to all the major areas, nice and quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So like any building in Amsterdam it’s tall and thin, hence the stairs if death. Not easy to get up after a few after dinner drinks. Needs more handles to grab onto

    Great location close to all the major areas, nice and quiet with some good bars and restaurants near by. Breakfast was simple but filling and great coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    The location was close to Rembrandt, close to restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially they put us on the 3rd floor because unfortunately the room that we have booked in adavance was not available. It was a bit hassle because I wasn’t able to set up our personal things. The following day, the manage to move us to a double room which we have booked.

    The location was close to Rembrandt, close to restaurants and metro station. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    The location is great right next to shops etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairway is very steep, I know lots of places are similar in Amsterdam but the stairs are almost vertical. The shared shower facility was basic at best.

    The location is great right next to shops etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.3
    Horror
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt, bad smell in the room, without the door to the bathroom, the ceiling stood, you had the impression that the top would fall over you, the bad food, the ham was purple ..

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    The hostel was in a very central location so you can walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are many coffee shops around, the hostel is vivid and very noisy at the same time. The room number 6 was a very tiny room with a small window.

    The hostel was in a very central location so you can walk any touristic attraction and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Not bad. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a great location no doubt but it is congested. The staircase for rooms 1 - 4 are scary. One bathroom for I guess 4- 5 rooms. Staff is good though. Breakfast was OK. Highly recommended if you looking for a great location but not recommended if you looking for super comfort

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    great area great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stairs were very steep no good if you have mobility problems!!!but then again it is Amsterdam so you expect that the breakfast was very basic

    It was a last minute booking due to been stranded in Amsterdam because of the weather and they were very helpful booking us an early morning taxi to the airport the room was really clean comfortable and in a great area for everything would stay there again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Price value don’t even match!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities. I have paid way less and had way better. The rooms are really small and not really “taken care of”. We felt a bit claustrophobic, like we were held captive or something. The building has a really narrow and steep staircase, on which you can easily fall or trip, a bit difficult to walk with luggage. It did the job for 2 nights but the price is absolutely absurd. I wouldn’t have paid more than 30€ a night in a place like this.

    Staff was very helpful and kind, location is excellent! Breakfast is also nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.8
    Very cheap accomodation only book if you really cant afford anything more
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only 1 shared bathroom between the whole building was quite disgusting, no separation from the toilet sink area to the shower, if you need the toilet whilst someone is in the shower you just have to wait, the pictures show another bathroom/toilet but this is not the case. The cost of the accommodation is way too much.

    The location and staff were great but the accommodation itself was very disappointing for the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.5
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff member was not polite and offered really bad service. Did not make me feel welcomed at all. Room was cold, dirty and bathroom was the same. Will never stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    It was a good hotel, it could be cheaper with all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer to have private bathroom. The room doesn't have it.

    Good breakfast, the best location,beautiful view through window,so warm room in winter time :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Did what we needed it to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t like the pictures sold it as on booking but it did it’s job

    I went with the lads it’s is what it is if you want a fancy flash hotel then book one if you want a bed and a shower book this one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    4.2
    Please do not stay there .. you get nothin for what u pay Nd that place is overpriced .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no security for any of the rooms there .. towels and bedsheets were never changed . Hair dryer never worked . Breakfast just sucked .. it was the same every day .. nothin changed .. it was limited btw .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, basic room hugely comfy beds! Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were horrendous, although they did make us laugh every time we walked up them. You need a qualification in mountaineering ha. We called the room our treehouse as it felt like you were climbing ladders!

    The location was the best especially with it being one of the cheapest options of accommodation. Defo stay here again. Good price for people on a budget!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    I dare you to take chances. You'll be surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small. If you have two big luggages then the room will be cramped. The window curtains were not meant to blocked lights from the outside. If you sleep late then expect the room to be brighter despite the closed curtains. If you are light sleeper then expect noises 24 hours. I think it depends on how sensitive you are to the noises. As for me, the only annoying thing was the early morning when the street was busy. Btw, you can hear people talking from the other side of the room or when they walked with their feet so heavy. There is only one shower room and toilet put together. Remembered, this hostel have shared facilities. In my experienced, I have no issues of waiting just to used the toilet or shower. It was not so busy that time. I would say, the time of my stayed, everyone seems to give way and considerate when using the only toilet/shower room among us. The best time I have noticed to use this facility was around 1000, 1600, 2100. Bring your slippers and toiletries and robe. But if you have privacy issues and don't like sharing then think about booking this property. The stairs are spiral and bloody small. If you are claustrophobic then I would think twice of using the property. Not for the oldies who are struggling for their gait and uses stick. Speaking of the above, I still want to use this property. I think, the bed made it worth and the location. Hey, it's cheap too.

    The bed was really comfortable. I had the best sleep for 3 nights. The bed is huge for two people. I am surprised of the quality of bed this hostel provided. I have used hotels before. But the bed was really uncomfortable. For those people who are travelling to Amsterdam constantly, I would gladly recommend this hostel just for the sake of the bed alone. The view of the Canal from the window was awesome. The window can be open to get some fresh air. There is a flat screen TV hanging on the wall. A few English channel. There is a small cabinet inside to put away your clothes and belongings. A table and two chairs for you to eat. There is also a sink inside that's quite useful for personal care. The location is awesomely favourable within the Rembrandt Square. The hostel is easily accessible from the Airport. Train from the airport to central station in Amsterdam only cost about 5 euro ( Flat Form 1&2). From the Central station, take the tram number 9 to Rembrandt Square where you drop off. Then on, only about 5 minutes walk to the hostel. ( If you are staying for 3 nights or more, I encouraged you to buy a ticket for 72 hours or more because it is cheap). It will save you money. Though everything is walking distance around the city. Try not to stick inside the city centre because there are so much more to see. From Rembrandt Square, take Tram 14 to Sloometer because this is the cheapest and easy way to see places in Amsterdam. The only way to do the hop in hop off using your Tram card.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    brilliant. would definately go there again the location best and worth the money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we felt the breakfast was quite poor the selection wasnt great and the place looks quite run down. we felt there could have been more selection for breakfast and abit cleaner it smelt a little bit of mould but you couldnt fault the staff or the location.

    The beds were extremely comfy despite the room being so small and looked abit run down. The location was just fantastic and would recommend it to anyone. the staff were friendly and let us check out a little bit later they were very considerate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Central location but very poor value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could 've been cleaner. Treacherous access to the room, sprained my ankle. Noisy area with drunken loud singing all night. Poor value for money. Would've liked some advice about parking while booking this hotel as the parking we found was 1.5 kms away costing us 50euros/day!

    The bed was comfortable and the location of the hotel was very central- walking distance to all sights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely canal view from the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared shower room downstairs via a steep narrow staircase. It's OK but not very convenient.

    Location, location, location! The canal view from the room was the best thing we had in Amsterdam. Don't expect much for other things. Breakfast was quite generous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    It's location is the best there is.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cheap compared to what we got but it's an Allright stay for 2 days.

    It's location is the best there is. We had a view of Rembrandt Square. With our door just to get to the square. 50 meters.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    Good location, but definitely not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was pretty disappointing for the price that we paid (just over 200 pounds for a double room); the room was minuscule, barely enough room to walk around the beds. There was no storage space whatsoever, just a low table to place keys etc. The beds were incredibly small--the mattresses were slightly too big for the frame, so if you moved too far to either side, you'd roll off the bed with the mattress like a sled on a ski slope. The bathroom was horrendous--the shower was weak and the temperature was either too hot or too cold. There was no separation between the toilet/sink area and the shower, just a small drain near the toilet, so whenever someone showered, all the water and dirt would pool near the toilet, making it disgusting to step on the floor if you were just trying to use the toilet. There was no rubber mat on the bathroom floor, so it got pretty dirty. There was constantly a mop and bucket in the bathroom, leaning up against the toilet too, which really grossed me out. The bathroom was shared between the entire hostel, so it was nearly always a wait to get in. From our room, you could hear people showering (and one man coughing and spitting onto the floor...) Also there was a shelf to put your things, and I left my shampoo in there for 8 hours and came back and it was gone. It was expensive. To get to the room, you had to ascend a very steep and narrow spiral staircase--clearly not accessible for many potential guests. Though the square in which the hostel was located was fun and bustling, it made for a very noisy night. Though we never ate the breakfast, we did enjoy a nice cup of coffee in the morning. However, we thought it would be nice to take one of the apples offered in the bowl, but when I bit into it, it was like biting into a marshmallow. Yuck. Not fresh.

    Fantastic location, right above a coffeeshop in central Amsterdam, about 20 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and the Red Light District, 10 minutes to get into the Old Town. Coffee in the morning was free and pretty good. Nice view overlooking the square below, which was filled with restaurants and bars. The staff were very friendly, though we didn't interact with them too much. There was a wall of coupons available in the "lobby" which offered discounts to a lot of great places around the city--we made use of the bike rental one, and a few of the museums!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower water goes too hot/cold. One sore point to the nice room was the temperature of three shower changed drastically while using it, so even after finding the perfect temperature it could go to very hot or veery cold in an instance.

    Location was amazing. Literally right next to a host of bars, coffee shops and a 2 min stroll away from thee centre. Great value for money. Very spacious room which was s able to hold 4 big guys and there was even an extra bed in another room. Nice and helpful staff. Very helpful on check in by providing a map with all the things to do/see. Always happy to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Location Spot On
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't supply basic toiletries like soap and shampoo. So carry your own.

    The location was good. Breakfast was very basic and hearty. The hotel was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and they also arranged a cab for us for the night to travel to the station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good for a short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hooks, mirror or towels in the bathroom Bad Wifi Narrow staircase and small room (for us no problem - we just had hand-luggage. But with two normal size trunks it would have been hard)

    Very comfortable bed For a Hostel, nice breakfast Central location (at the Rembrandplein)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one Toilet and it was on a different floor and always people in it.

    Staff very helpful, great location, 10 15 min walk from literally everything, etc heniken store , I AMSterdam sign, red light district, and everything else is at your doorstep. would happily stay here again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.0
    Too expensive for a hostel this old!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is very very old and small, very noisy, you can hear everything from the street, it's next to the coffee shop and other bars so it gets very loud at night. If you're staying in lower floors, you hear every footstep above you, every move, every sound, every time the doors gets opened.... If you're not a heavy sleeper you won't be able to sleep at night till the morning :) The bed is so soft like you would be sleeping on a marshmallow :))) but at least it's clean. Too expensive for a hostel this old!! Wouldn't recomend it to my friends.

    The only good thing is location and free wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.4
    Too expensive for a very old hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old build with dangerous stairs. The bathroom to share is only 1 for 7 rooms, dark, very old and cold. The room was located almost on top of the roof with a noise sink inside all night long and beds not the best comfort, one of them was broken. Room's door too hard to open. Price and quality absolutely doesn't match, 2nights 2 persons 186€ for an old Hostel, I can pay 50€ for that, no more. Breakfast was okey, but nothing special.

    Strategic position, nice view and friendly staff. Store luggage free of charge

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.8
    Nice breakfast small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yoy actually have to climbing the tiny steps, toilet without a proper shower, and just 1 for many people so always busy and dirty

    Good breakfast, comfy bed, center location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    2.5
    HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The manager is awful and couldn't sleep at all as an orgy was happening right above us and it was like they were in the room with you as the walls are that thin.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Had a nice room with a very nice view of the canals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom/toilet is on a different floor and a bit inconvenient considering it's an old building with very stoop stairs! "Coffee shop" the next building, so you can smell it climbing the stairs in the building during the night.

    Had a nice room with a very nice view of the canals. Very nice and helpful manager and staff. Nice breakfast and kitchen. Very nice WIFI! nice location. Heat very effective!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.1
    Good location and awesome view from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That narrow and steep staircase was a pain to go through with all the luggage

    The location is pretty good considering there is a tram station just round the corner. The view of the canals from the room is amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely stay in the middle of beautiful Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was spot on. I've got no complaints.

    The location was amazing. The room had everything it needed, the most charming view included. At night you would see the up-lit bridge crossing the Herengracht channel. I'll definitely return to this hostel!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    If you want a nice experience in Amsterdã, avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are not a weed lover as I'm not, if you are not a noisy place as I'm not, if you are not lover of argue, fight, screamming place as I am not, please consider another option to stay. In the heart of pubs, noise, fight and weed smoke place. The rooms smell weed and if you open the only small window you will sufocate with the weed smoke and smell (day and nights) and if you close the window you will die by the heat in summer time. During our staying it was almost impossible to sleep because of the noise coming from street, fights, screammings, police force trying to stop people fightings. The stairs are impossible for some people to use and depending on the ammount of bags it's really not recommended as they are very narrow and dangerous. One bathroom for two floors (yes... two floors) =( Total lack of whimsy with simple things. For example... There is a door of a closet in the room just for us to use the mirror of it... Why put an old door and not just a mirror? Missing light bulbs in the light fixtures. A little attention and care would be the minimum expected. This really contributted a lot for us to wish to leave Amsterdã to another destiny.

    In the heart of Amsterdã Easy to get to the touristic attractions Close to metro station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    2.5
    My stay the first night was in a substandard room :
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My stay the first night was in a substandard room : 1) the room had a very powerful smell of cigarette smoke. Even though the hotel claimed to be smoke-free, it was obvious that previous users had smoked in the room frequently (the smell was in the curtains and the walls) 2) the bed was terrible : the mattress was worn out, very uncomfortable and didn't give much support. 3) because the hostel was situated next to a 'coffee shop', fumes of people smoking marijuana entered the room if the window was open. 4) The hostel is situated close to the popular Rembrandt square. During the night, even with the window closed, there was a lot of noise from the bars in the area and (drunken/noisy) people on the street. Not ideal if you want to get some sleep to wake early in the morning to visit the city or go to a conference. After complaining the next morning (there is no 24h reception), I was, with some reluctance, moved to another room which turned out to be cleaner and more quiet. But there was still noise from other guests entering the building or using the shared bathroom. The staff was unprofessional or had limited English proficiency. Given the price-range, the overall quality of the hostel is unacceptable. The pictures on the website are deceitful and don't correctly represent the state of the hostel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.0
    don't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    where to begin. The stairs were ammended on our last day but extremely dangerous. Windows did not open. Tv did not work. Could barely sleep from the noise. We know what hostels are like... save your money pay 10 20 more and stay in a hotel. Felt scammed.

    Location is central in Rembrandt square right by a canal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    3.3
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like pictures. Horrible stairs, room was dirty with old blankets and sheets with holes in them. Not worth the money they ask for.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.1
    Perfect location and staff, but not much comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *double room was quiet messy and did not look to hygienic (it was cleaned but inventory and sheets were kinda old) *living room and bathroom (including toiled) were separated only by visible through curtain (yes, no door at all).

    *Location is perfect *Staff was friendly and very helpful, provided all information needed and more *We rented bikes directly from hostel quiet cheaply, which is nice *breakfast included without separate payment

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Amsterdam at its best..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best value for money. Next to coffee shop, everything is within walking distance, very nice and happening location.Attached to canal, amazing view from hotel window from top floor. Decent breakfast, helping staff. Highly recommended for couple, solo traveller, family. My next visit in Amsterdam will surely be in The Veteran. :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.9
    GREAT location in town, and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ONLY downsides is that this is NOT a place for tall people. Both my friend and I are almost 6 foot or taller, and my friend had to stoop in the room and couldn't stand up straight because he was too tall. And the stairs are tricky as well. The bathroom could have been better taken care of, especially because it's a shared bathroom but it wasn't awful.

    GREAT location in town, and close to everything. Only a 15 minute walk from the main train station. The breakfast was great, and they also had the option of renting bikes during your stay. Made traveling though town that much easier. The view from our room was right over the canal and it was a beautiful view from our room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    The location was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was quite dim.

    The location was fantastic! We really loved that it was close to the city center and close to many of the attractions in Amsterdam. We also loved the complimentary breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money and excellent location and courteous and efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the amount we paid it was gud

    Location and the excellent staff Gud value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Good Location, Very Small rooms, Stairs are uphill task
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs, room size

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People that work there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice friendly staff, room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for double bed it was just two single beds pushed together, no air conditioning

    Good location, nice friendly staff, room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Good cheap hotel/hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated, but was clean and tidy.

    Room was great, good location and view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice place with really crazy stairs! %)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of ability to shade the windows, shabby surroundings.

    It was calm, nobody disturbed us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stairs were quite steep.

    breakfast was great. beds were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Room comfort.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Room comfort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    The view was amazing and the room was very cozy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, can be a challenge if you are stoned

    The view was amazing and the room was very cozy and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room tv didn’t work could smell cannabis constantly tiny stairs to walk up. Nothing like the pics on booking.com

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were very steep

    Location was perfect and the beds were so comfy, large tv in the room also

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    It was a good location if your going to smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are on a slant not very good to sleep had to move some beds but perfect other than that

    It was a good location if your going to smoke

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Decent cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny staircase, pretty smal room but nothing bad about the room, poor breakfast

    View and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Amsterdam is an amazing place. Looking forward to more travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of the stairways!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Very Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant complain

    Personal breakfast beds all are Nice, some rooms are nicer then others. But overall Nice place to stay for this kind of budget. A+

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Cute bedroom overlooking the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in the shared bathroom

    Cute bedroom overlooking the canal. Close to both main parts of town and quite at night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.9
    Totally waste of money
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not the same room as we were expecting. It was super bad and small

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    2.9
    Rooms with no window, bed to small to lay in (I'm 1.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with no window, bed to small to lay in (I'm 1.80m), no ventilation, next to barstreet (noisy), mold in the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel The Veteran traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: