Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vijaya 1 stars

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 GE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#366 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2437 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were surprisingly comfortable. my room faced out a busy street so as expected, it got a bit noisy but once the windows are shut and the curtains are drawn, it was ok. unbeatable value for money for the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty. Unfriendly staff. I couldn't sleep. actually, is not a hotel it's an hostel with young people going to the red quarteer. So, expect the dirty from this type of hosting : dirt, noisy, and unfriendly. I do not recommend for a staff journey. No host allowed even if you booked a double room (strange).

    Excellent Location. Take the room 1, 2 or 3 to avoid the noisy street; They are quiete but windows let enter the noisy from the indoor court.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to leave our key to our room when we went out and came our room wiyhout saying they were going to and had a go if we didnt leave the key also couldnt use the toilet normally because the wall was right infront of toilet so made it hard to use!

    Nice clean place to stay very welcoming people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, very good breakfast, close to railway station, shops, historic sites, good selection of TV channels, daily room cleaning, will most certainly return!! Excellent hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is l dearty, they don't clean well, the room Was very Little big The i didn't clen we'll. In the contrary the view was perfect on the canal with all' pub. Beatiful.In the Night there is a Little caos but for It not was a problem. There is moquette. I payied too much for this single little room but really less than in the other hotel in the same position!! .There is breakfast also with eggs and buiscuits, milk and coffee . Nice. Amsterdam is very expensive. If You want a Central position this is ok!!

    It is in the centre or the città, in the light area and 5 minute Walking from the Central train station It is in front of the canale, the position is really perfect!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilets being outside the room and the fact there are no lifts, if you’re placed on top floor and have alot of bags it will be a good effort getting them up and down the stairs.

    Amazing location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter got bitten by bed bugs on our first night there..Room 17. The staff did however move us straight away to another room with the same outlook and no bedbugs the following night.

    Our room on the 3rd floor had a great view over a canal and was surrounded by great restaurants and bars. Very lively Red light district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are looking for peace and quiet --- THIS IS NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU. It is directly over the Trinity Bar which MUST be one of the most popular pubs in Amsterdam. They serve until 3:00 a.m., and the crowds downstairs were large, rowdy and LOUD, every single night during the entirety of my 7-night stay. And I mean--- LOUD. My room was on the first floor, directly over the street. Luckily, I brought good ear plugs with me, so once I put those in, I was able to sleep. But without the ear plugs, I doubt I would have gotten a single good night's sleep. It is the only thing that proved to be a MAJOR detriment to the overall quality of this hotel stay.

    The location of this hotel is excellent, (about a 6-minute walk from Centraal Station). All of the staff were very professional and personable. It is an excellent deal for the money, in such a city. But it is "bare bones" accommodations: the room was super small, but VERY clean. If you're like me, you are not in a foreign city to sit in the hotel room anyway, so the size of the room didn't bother me. Also, I am a woman who was traveling alone, and I felt completely safe and secure in this hotel. The free breakfast was excellent. Heavy on proteins, good coffee, nice selection of teas, lovely breads. I am attaching 1 photo to this post. It shows you the easiest route to this hotel. If you are standing in front of Centraal Station, facing the city - look to your left. You'll see in the distance, the large building, Barbizon Palace. To the right of Barbizon, you'll see a tall building with the blue words, "Jesus Loves You". The street between the "Jesus Loves You" building and the "PANCAKES Amsterdam" restaurant, is the street you want to take. The street continues winding to the right, and in very short order, you come upon the Hotel Vijaya on your right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could of done with an extractor fan and the room was very hot and our fan was taken out by the cleaner on the second day.

    The hotel itself is a bit dated but we paid £40 per night so was not expecting Hilton standards. The rooms are fine as a place to lay your head after a busy day and night. Location wise its fantastic 5 minute walk from Central station and in the middle of red light district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather was unusually hot and thus the bedrooms were very hot. Noise from the pub next door went on late at night.

    The hotel was cheap, friendly, and exceptionally well placed for visiting the central zone of Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and helpful - lending a hair dryer on request.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic hotel, but clean for sleeping and washing in!

    Great location for everything, short walk from central station, night life, shops, museums...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit basic but that is only a minor moan

    The hotel is in the middle of where you want to be. It is a short 10 minute walk from central station and the hotel staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets with holes. Although quite clean it felt untidy.

    Position. It's the best thing about this place. You are 5 minutes walk from the Central Station and just at the edge of Red Lights area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase upstairs is quite challenge to navigate with large suitcase. The bathroom toilet in my room was positioned almost wall to wall so you have to be creative to use it. Room was old and had a draft by the window though the room radiator did work well. There were several hairs which were not mine on my bed linen and the room tv was positioned only for god to watch.

    Location is moments from the centraal station and amsterdam nightlife is at your door. The staff were very nice and they have affordable drinks available. My room had a great view of the canal and was not too loud considering the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never thought I would have to pay to stay in a dungeon! Law offenders get to serve their sentences in more comfortable cells. This place should be shut down. Below standard!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t have people in your room even though you pay for the room. Stairs are lethal their with the light not working by mine so had to use phone light.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, not even fans in a room, bed is smaller than a benche, room is micro size, there was hairs in a sink when I arrived and all this for over 90€/night... terrible experience, was trying to take a nap someone unlocked my door and enter my room asking me something...

    Breakfast was fair for bad hotel like this It is red light district it is nice and a lot of bars around, but some guy got beat up just around the corner from the hotel. There was one guy from Morocco working there he was amazing I seriesly don’t know why he is wasting his time working in such a terrible hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and no AC.

    Breakfast was good, one staff has poor attitude, no elevator makes carrying luggage a big struggle, no AC makes sleeping hard. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to leave the key of your room to reception which is a little bit weird. The breakfast was very poor if you want to eat something else than a toast and jam. Our room was in 3rd floor and the staircase is very narrow so don't take big luggage with you.

    The room was clean and there were just enough space for 4 people. I think the building is very old and you can see some damages on the floor and walls. The location of this hotel is excellent. Staff was friendly and they were available all the time. It was a good place to stay for two nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was run down. The room floor was dirty and there was a loose electrical socket. Lights didn’t work. The shower and toilet were except-able. The breakfast Situation were unexceptable. Not enough sets for people to sit down, so we had to go without breakfast twice.

    The hotel staff were very good and it was located right in the red light area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, broken lights, electrical outlets didn’t work, and noisy! Spoke to management and they didn’t care. They cleaned the room next door at 11pm and it sounded like something was digging into the wall. We could hear the guests in the next rooms.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The management asked if we would prefer a basement room instead of the 4th floor room they had assigned us. Most of us are older and the 4 story climb was not appealing. We were shown the room before making the change. It was a decent room and mostly clean. The beds were not very comfortable and two of the beds were bunk-beds. The breakfast were too early for us. They did have coffee. Mostly it was just too expensive at $250 per night.

    It was a great location. only 4 blocks from the train-station. Trams were only 3-5 blocks away. Lots of things nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of the room was number 16 however, the number of flies inside the room was greater ..

    The location was good. Pretty close to Amsterdam city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not having any towels.Not having a plug in the sink.Not having a hairdryer,only one was available for 30 rooms.Unclean and gungy.Having to sit at breakfast with everyone else at the same long table.No tea/coffee making facilities.Having the previous tenants fag burnt bedding removed and not replaced.Had to take some from another room. Noisy and very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was noisy but it was part if the fun too

    It was very centrally located. Nice room , small but comfortable, clean. It provided good continental breakfast. Had 24/7 reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the room were perfect for what we needed. Moreover by having you check your key in when you leave/go out, there are no possibilities of losing the key. Good idea. Lovely breakfast and location too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival our room had clean bed linen but waste bins not emptied and one dirty towel on floor. No other towels in room. We were put in another room (in the basement) for the first night. Only bonus bed was comfortable. The next two days we were put back into our original room that had been cleaned an bleached. The bed in this room was very uncomfortable. They hovered the hall and stairs and room above us about 11.00 pm then swept the patio ( Which was outside our room ) at 12.10 am just as we were going off to sleep.

    Breakfast was fair, no de-cafe coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General Interior Decoration/Worn & Tired, carpets thin in places, Cleanliness is basic, under bed, top of units could do with a once over, duvet 2 sizes smaller than the cover, top cover had holes in it, pillows very lumpy, mould in the shower, none matching bathroom accessories (colour of toilet & seat) could do with freshening up. Breakfast was served on one long table in the same one room as check in so often very busy and not as shown in the pictures. It did as we didn’t plan on spending much time there or in our room but it was a let down. Would not stay there again.

    Location, 24hr Access, Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough tables for breakfast for the amount of rooms & people at the hotel. Out of our 3 night stay, we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel once as too overcrowded. We were in room 10, when people moved around in the room above, our ceiling light rattled & vibrated & were wondering when it was going to come down! When we arrived, we had a dirty pile of laundry (presumably from the previous occupants) left in our room! Either the shower, toilet or sink leaked & so we had to use a spare towel on the floor to keep it try. Instead of fixing the problem , when we came back one day the cleaner had kindly left another towel on the floor to mop up the water.... how thoughtful! Also, the noise from the smoking area was far too loud late at night.

    N/A

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We first come in a dark room with no light a view on an internal dirty court... totally depressive ! we managed to switch room for the other 2 nights, small room but a bit better, you cannot sit on toilets as the wall is so near that you have no place for your legs !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wet room bathroom water from the shower tended to go all over the floor rather than in shower section.

    Views from the room were lovely, beds were memory foam really comfortable, Continental breakfast. Exsalent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for 3 single adults and ended up in a room for 3 but not 3 single beds it was a double and a camp bed, the shower in the ensuite bathroom didnt fit the wall holder making showering a hassle with only 1 hand to do everything normally done with 2 cos of 1 hand needed to hold the shower head

    Desk staffed 24hrs so no problems with late nights or with the room service they offered which we didnt use so cant comment on its quality of sèrvice, in a morning there was ample breakfast supplied so you could have as much as you liked no worries and the central heating warmed the room perfectly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. However the staff at least responded when other guests were very noisy late at night.

    The food was poor for the price - better to have breakfast around the corner, wnmven with family. Also, there weren’t enough seats so there was a queue. The mattresses were stained and sheets didn’t fit the bed. The stairs creaked and the walls were very thin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab location close to train station, trams, tour bus and boats. Staff very helpful. Room was adequate, clean and overlooked street and canal. On a busy street with plenty going on so take earplugs and you'll be fine :) Breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv had no signa. Do not say on booking.com that the credit card is just to confirm the booking. Then take the amount off straight away. Booking Com isgettong very misleading.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel have lots of problems. It is not like a hotel. It should be said a hostel instead of hotel. We paid alot for this hotel and we never satisfied it. The first room is very small and it was not clean. So,we asked to change our room. The other problem is Internet. The Internet was terrible in the rooms and we couldn't access to Internet easily. We should go to downstairs if we want to use the Internet.

    I like only the location of this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, you cant have visitors in rooms, the window wasn't working could not keep it open, and when I used an item to keep it open by mistake, the object fell off the window on the street, and the restaurant downstairs was complaining, the Staff told me off that this is not acceptable. Lol thought my window should work then. I felt there is a lot of restrictions / next time I would go elsewhere as there is a lot of tension between hotel and restaurant.

    Location and polite staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    absolutely no wifi anywhere really cold room some extremely uncomfortable beds

    we were in the rooms 7 (6people) and 16 (4people) , the hotel is not a new one, but it is in an excellent area, close to everything, supermarket 2min by feet, central station 6min by feet, reception 24/7, helpful staff after reading reviews we were worried about bedbugs but nothing happened to us, clean beddings, towels,... room for 4 people - amazing view to canals, normal beds, normal bathroom, very cold in the room, asked for extra heating, never brought it room for 6 people - view to smoking area, incredibly uncomfortable beds, clean and nice bathroom breakfast is good for the price, juice, coffee, toasts, marmalades, musli, milk, but no fruits, we were 10 friends so we appreciated the one big table where you can sit all of you together, but definitely not a hotel for families steps are steep, especially to rooms on the 3rd floor, but you are in Netherlands, that is how it is

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the size of our room. For a double room it was stupidly small. We was just on top of each other all the time. Really should have had a single bed in it. There was enough room to walk around the bed and there was a private toilet across the hall for us which was clean and easy to rest your head against the wall while your sat down.

    Really liked the continental breakfast that was a nice touch. The place was clean and staff was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were bitten badly considering we were only there 2 nights. Having to go through the smoking area to get to our room. We attempted to check out and just got ‘keys’ and a dismiss of a hand. Would have been nice if any of the staff had spoken a sentence to us during our stay.

    The hotel was right in the middle of the red light district which was fab. Our attic room was out the back of the buiding through a smoking area and up another outhouse to the top so didn’t feel as part of the hotel. The room was clean and comfy but the shower was not the greatest but fair for €100 a night. We have gotten home after 2 nights covered in bites, I presume from bedbugs so I wonder if the sheet are getting washed properly (we saw all the dirty sheets thrown with the clean sheets when they were changing a room) and the customer service was non existant- but we didn’t really need anything. The out of tune/ random time (14.13pm) bells was a quirk 😀 If location is more important than room this hotels good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a 1 star hotel but costs like a 5 star in other cities. But Amsterdam has grown expensive and I didn't want to spend that kind of money just for a weekend break. So I knew it was gonna be a 1 star. But the surprise was that even though property really needs updating, it was super super clean! The bathroom was clean and nice. The room was spotless. I have more faith that my room here was cleaner than at some Hilton.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean.... The bed was not changed or maybe it only was not clean ... The bed was not comfortable.... The bathroom was disgusting....

    The stuff was verry friendly and the location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dated and the hygiene was very poor. The beds were uncomfortable.

    The location was in walking distance of almost everything. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water did not work for an entire day even after letting the staff know. Got bitten by something in my sleep while there, I pray not bed bugs. Rough towels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window didn’t close so it was freezing and banged all night, had to roll up the duvet and shove it on window cill. Top of bed was straight under window which couldn’t be helped due to size and shape of room. Once duvet was there the room was warm as radiator was really hot.

    Radiator was really warm. And breakfast was simple but nice. Hotel in fantastic place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the entire stay the radiator was on very low even though we turned the dial right up and checked it every time we would come back into the hotel, we all slept in our clothes we went out in that day and some nights a coat aswel as it was absolutely freezing! We informed the people that worked there numerous times and every time they would just say they’ll sort it but they never did, definitely won’t be staying again.

    I liked the location of the hotel as it was right in the centre, also we got a room at the from window on the first floor which I was pleased about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. Outdated mismatched furniture. Bathroom was a joke. Door didnt close or lock. Walls were dirty. Window didnt open.

    Only thing good about this hotel was the front door out of it. Location was the best thing about it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No handwash in one of the rooms, missing batteries in the remote for the TV, no towels... Small things that the staff can fix quickly.

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean, it was a glorified hostel and for €75 a night I'd expect to be allowed to keep the key with me but had to leave it at reception when we went out.

    It's located within walking distance of everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of bed room was too small. Bedroom was cold. Choice of Breakfast was limited. Too expensive for the quality of hotel.

    Good location. Good appearance of hotel from outside. Easy check in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaner, also the size of the room was rather small, but enough.

    The location is great, close to the central station and the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stairs would be difficult for those who will struggle to go up those stairs.

    tghe fact that we didn't have to pay much was very good. it served our purpose. it was at the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family-room number 6 (5 persons) should not be rentable. Its 'near the stairs', so you hear every guest who's going tot his room, till almost in the morning. Its also above the smoking area (voices!!), wich is cleaned around 00.00h. The only way to put the radiator off , is to open the window, 2 of the 5 lights didn't work, .... Ik hope booking.com does something with this information!

    Everything very basic, gentle and helpfull hosts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to switch rooms as we were 3 individual males, given a little attic room with 1 single and a 1 double bed. Not really practical, however once we spoke to the desk a second time they were happy to re-accommodate us to a larger room with 4 beds and a bunk-bed, so were spoiled for choice after, cant really complain. Also room was not ready when we arrived with laundry all in the hallways so first image was a little spoiled. Maybe time for a Re-vamp maybe.

    The staff were quite welcoming, The food was quite nice. I liked the fact we had to leave our key at the desk so we didn't loose it, Genius!!. The location was right in the heart of Amsterdam, 24/7 enter & Exit. The 2nd room was quite warm and cosy. The Night man was always friendly and always greeted us when we came back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. This was a crammed to the rafters hostel (And not a good hostel) with no facilities. Worn and dirty furnishings.

    Nothing at all about The hotel. The location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours.. small towels..

    Great location (we have stayed in the dam over 12 times) but due to where it is all hotels will be similar quality. For more luxury you will need to head a mile or so away from the red light district

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard mattress,dirty shower should of brought flip flops to use in there,cold room in January winter radiator only worked half way up,cold room,so many staires more then the usual in dam as Iv stayed rite at the top before in other places never seen any this steep would never bring anyone elderly here or anyone with leg problems I’m relativy fit and young and it was alotttt! We opened our door for our room and much to our supirse more staires in our room which was wierd,staff didnt smile short blunt answers to any questions to any thing we asked , dirty room bathroom which was freezing,smoking area is outside the back of hotel by the bins freezing in the rain, expensive for what it was ,no hot water in the evening either! No WiFi in top rooms,starred at by reception at breakfast looking at every move u do looking at every bit of bread u butter was uncomfortable

    the location was the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night, but right in the middle of the red light district, so we expected this. There is no lift for higher floors and the breakfast is very minimal but plenty of it.

    Very central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..The hotel is the worst ever i see! The room was very small, uncomfortable,bad smell

    Nothing..The hotel is the worst ever i see! The room was very small, uncomfortable,bad smell

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't as nice as we had expected. Our room stunk of bleach although it didn't really seem very clean. The room wasn't cleaned each day, just a new towel and the duvet folded. One of our towels had a big hole in it. Although we were in a room off the busy street, it was noisy from the floor above and from cleaning the bins in the smoking courtyard that the hotel staff decided to clean for an hour or two at midnight. Didn't see any evidence of a bar or restaurant as the hotel advertises, other than a sign showing some meals and prices but certainly nothing really happening in that sense.

    Easy access from the train station and close proximity to the red light district as well as some cafes and shopping. Everywhere is really in walking distance anyway if you don't mind seeing it on foot. Breakfast wasn't amazing but was reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door handle wouldn’t stay on door so Couldn’t open the door from inside, you couldn’t have a shower without soaking the entire bathroom, floor was damp and sticky between beds

    Location was great and staff was very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the windows were very bad so it was cold in the room we had one bed "to much" the breakfaast was not that nice need to leave the key every time we leaved the please

    it was possble to let the bagged in the hotel before and after check out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to waste money, go to Hotel Vijaya. Cleanliness is terrible, rooms are pathetic, WiFi is poor, breakfast is not even worth commenting on. On top of it all my wife got bitten by bed bugs. Please do not believe what these people advertise, because what they offer is completely different. They should be reported to the Dutch authorities for malpractice.

    Location is the only thing this place can offer!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor; it was cold in the room; the toilet was so close to the wall, that it was quite difficult to use it; there was a strange open slot/door in the ceiling; no hot water in the evening; very thin door, so I can hear everything in the hall; no hair dryer

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets had stains on them. We asked for two single beds but the beds were pushed together and it made a double bed. Rooms were extremely small and my room did not get cleaned. One window was also broken therefore did not sleep as could hear all the noises out on the street.

    The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location for red light and full mix of beers

    Out was a short notice very budget hotel that served to province a basic clean and hot room clean room, dedicated bath room across the hall. Very basic but small room good valve.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room (single room) was rather small, poorly heated and the windows did not keep out the sound of the rather crowded and noisy street below. The room itself could have been a bit tidier, including bathroom and toilet. Breakfast is sufficient, but rather spartan and not very convenient.

    The staff was very friendly and motivated to help. The stay was rather easy-going and without hassle. Hotel Vijaya has a very centralized location which enables a quick getting-around to all major sites and sights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect the Ritz and you may need to climb a load of steep stairs, but the price and friendliness of this Hotel make up for it. If you are arriving by DFDS ship, the bonus is that its very close to the coach drop off point.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very unclean, we had holes in our towels and there was ridiculous amounts of dust. Our room definitely wasn't cleaned daily just a quick make of the bed .

    Staff were lovely and the hotel is in a very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too tiny room. Toilet size was just not enough.

    Location is good. But need to describe exact walking way to reach hotel from Amsterdam centraal station. I should mention about the extra ordinary help given by one of the staff Mr. Dilip . He helped me for Getting taxi in right time at early morning hrs. Thanks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and very small bathroom. Water came up from the shower every time I flushed the toilet. Extremly noisy hotel, inside and outside. Floor was sticky.

    Location is central (also very noisy). Good heating. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was weak. The noise and smoking from the courtyard are annoying. The breakfast was okay.

    The room was clean. It’s good for 2 nights in the private room and bathroom. The location was good walking distance to tourist area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light in batbroom, shower didnt drain properly and plug sockets that didnt work. Was in best possible place could be and the staff were very welcoming. The bed had a nice new memory foam mattress and was comfortable and clean. Didnt try the breakfast as i was too hanging in bed each day to get up.

    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful. It was flooding from water after 5 minutes, and more than 15-20mins were needed for that water to disappear through the sewer. We had to ask many times for clean towels after the room service took our used ones but never replaced them with clean ones. Also the bed sheets were on bad condition

    Bed was ok and the breakfast was ok too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent, the bathroom was large, the room was warm, there was a good view from the room window. The breakfast was decent. Hotel Vijaya is excellent value for money compared to other hotels in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Vijaya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: