Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Ruimzicht 4 stars

Ruimzichtlaan 150, 7001 KG Doetinchem, Netherlands

#3 of 4 hotels in Doetinchem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 664 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs halls and landings all painted in very dark colours. Made it very dark and uninviting.

    Beautiful building. Excellent beds. Liked the room. Helpful and friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Bright room. Good bathroom. Liked the window shutters.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    The property was ok, friendly staff, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are old and don’t close properly, if you didn’t turn on the heating on max it was very cold. Unfortunately it wasn’t very clean. When we arrived everything was ok, but during our stay the shower wasn’t cleaned even once, all the glass doors (showers, bathroom, toilet) were covered in fingerprints every day more and more, the glass shelve under the mirror also wasn’t cleaned even once during our stay, just like the washing basin.

    The property was ok, friendly staff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, rooms overlooking the garden with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building so brings some earplugs if you want to sleep in because we could hear our neighbours quite well

    Beautiful location, rooms overlooking the garden with magnificent old trees. Shower was great and beds very comfortable, staff very friendly in helping us arrange a taxi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfun
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been good to have coffee making facilities in the room.

    We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and good value. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice romantic stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely long service in restaurant. Leaking shower cabin, all the floor was wet.. bit dangerous Poor breakfast for 17 EUR per person. It has to have more varieties

    Very beautiful modern hotel in old villa. Nice restaurant, delicious food, comfortable beds, nice area, fast internet. Generally we were satisfied!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    I loved the big room with a balcony , sauna and bathtub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Waterfun
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old beautiful building , but unfortunately it’s not well insulated. The guests on the floor above us kept us up , you could hear everything . I didn’t like anything from the breakfast .

    I loved the big room with a balcony , sauna and bathtub. Clean . The staff were ok , but one girl in particular from the restaurant was very friendly and went beyond our expectations and totally made my day . Her name is Jamie Lee .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got locked out late evening and despite trying our entry card and the night staff member seeing us struggle with the door we were largely ignored. No tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Quirky building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Romantic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pity they apparently don't allow dogs, because we've just bought one, and will now have difficulties returning.

    Bath in our room, and great view at century old trees.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Good beds, electrical charging point for my electrical car,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the building is old and not well insulated (no double glass). So, not very energy efficient.

    Good beds, electrical charging point for my electrical car, very good food in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, nice and comfortable, good and creative food, some staff need training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at the front desk needs attention. Not pro-active, bit clumsy staff.

    Lunch outside on the terrace, was served with a smile and of high quality, even though it was already off-season. We just managed to avoid the rain..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    4.2
    Wont ever go.back
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking across a busy road. No heating on when we arrived. Very poor lighting in room. No shampoo etc no tea in room no.bedside lamps. No desk to work on in.room.food portion of salmon ordered was so small un beleivable in.holland.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    nice place to stay if you want to give yourself a treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very dissapointing and not worth 17,50 €. Bathroom had a broken sink which should be exchanged at a hotel of this level.

    Room was very nice and exclusive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Villa Ruimzicht, and can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Villa Ruimzicht, and can recommend eating in the restaurant as well. The location is a little outside the centre, otherwise we really enjoyed staying here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice downstairs. Rooms need looked at again. Will stay at De Graafschap next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Room 301 needs an extra wall put up between bedroom and showerroom. All the money was spent downstairs not on rooms. Staff were excellent. Rooms let it down. Wont stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Historic building set in a well treed park-like setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has an excellent restaurant; to get to other restaurant in the downtown core it's a 10 minute walk or 5 minute bicycle ride. I really don't expect to have to pay for bicycle rental in the Netherlands, even though the rate wasn't exorbitant. Upon arrival we noticed that, although the rest of the room was fine, the bathtub need cleaning, which was dealt with within 1/2 hour. The WiFi was down on that floor upon arrival as well - also promptly addressed.

    Historic building set in a well treed park-like setting. Friendly reception by staff, mostly friendly service throughout. Two level suite-style bedroom was large and spacious. Traffic noise is modest in the daytime, comfortable at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed with my six year old son and spent one night there. Arrived before check-in time and there was no trouble checking in. When we came back to the hotel around 10 PM, we had dinner at the hotel. The menu was in dutch but the waiter translated the menu for us and I had the best Club Sandwich I have ever tasted. The room was really nice, on two floors and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was also really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Quiet and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like shower so... the light theme had remote control that did not work well, bad internet connection

    Excellent location and good looking house beautiful trees in the garden, nice veranda, this town is quiet and cozy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    should have been so much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was put on the third floor. The 2 man lift was ridiculously slow. The stairs were quicker even with bags. Parking is over two main roads outside the front of the building. Female Bar/Restaurant staff were slow and uninterested although the young guy was much better. Room design is badly executed. Nice red glass bath but taps you can't operate with wet hands, soap dispenser mounted on the wall behind you out of reach and pop up plug broken. Light switches at bed head totally confusing, no minibar, no bottled water. Somebody has not really thought this through and gone into detail. Disappointing.

    Nice building in good location. Pleasant reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    poor standards
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cielings are so so thin. I was just walking in the room to go to toilet, coming back to bed, etc. and suddenşy got a call from reception asking if I was walking at the room by explaning that they got a complaint from the room downstairs..!!! It was still cold outside but the heaters were not working and it was really cold in the room. It is a 4* hotel but there is no minibar at the rooms. I arrived at midnight and there even no bottle of water. Will never go again.

    breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The glass wall for the toilet and shower area. The noise from the room above us. (wooden flooring) But hey it's an old building .

    Breakfast is excellent. The rooms are spacey A beautiful Mansion. The Whisky and Ginger ale. Great staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Make me a lot relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    I canno't use TV.

    I love this hotel. Atomosphere is very nice, and the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    location and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    I was here very short but i got a supercool room for myself under the roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light of the airco

    The bath

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect selection for all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Room and wonderful location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room the noice from neighbours is loud to hear. We had bad luck we had noisy neighbours.

    Nice old building. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Stylish hotel with large rooms.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish hotel with large rooms. Excellent restaurant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The restaurant at the hotel is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant at the hotel is amazing. Excellent food. Brilliant chef!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Very nice. Will repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was really good!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.4
    not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad intensive smell in the room. very, very small windows - which could not be "opened" properly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms need just a bit of renovation

    Really nice coffee and breakfast, very beautiful area around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Fabluous ,stylish hotel with great beds and bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    No it was great

    Fabulous hotel , beautiful and tastefully appointed , wonderful bed,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Charming and stylish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style of the room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Breakfast was delicious - room was great - staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was delicious - room was great - staff was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Quite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance

    Quite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Great place. Will come back if I visit the area again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi very unstable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.3
    If you like it quiet, go for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lifestyle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior requires refurbishment

    Easy pace of life in Doetinchem, very frendly staff at the hotel, good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast is so good and hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Impossible cold in the room. "American style" carpet in the room is very difficult to keep clean and fresh!

    Breakfast is so good and hot! :) Very nice place. Nice to be there.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.1
    -Walking distance to center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Difficult to find the car parking area, it was on the other side of the street, you need to walk a little and staff did not ask whether I need some help carrying my luggage. - Housekeeping knocked my door at 4:30 pm after I came back hotel from my meeting! The room had not been cleaned and tidied during the day.

    -Walking distance to center -Breakfast was really good and lady who makes egg had very positive and high energy -Food at restaurant was very original (small portions,different varieties) and very tasty.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.0
    Nice old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel as there are not many hotels 4 or more star in the region, but the building is nice from the outside, but from the inside there is other world, I would rate this hotel not more than 3 star, the small build in lift is so slow you can walk 3 times faster, however the basic check in was done than we make our way to the room, its old designed rooms but the housekeeping was terrible, when we checked in we have to ask for towel as they placed only one towel, than i have to call for bath rope than i have to call for tissue also finish, light bulb not working when i ask they say they forgot. the interial designer just came from school as they do not know when you don't block water with glass or shower curtain the water will run in to the room, and this is what happen after every shower everything wet. the worse was the dust, when we wanted to call to the reception, there was a whole layer dust on the phone you was able to write you name on too it, the way they make up your bed i have never in my entire live seen so badly done they only pull the comforter over the pillow and thats it, i guess they do the room in less than 2 minutes "no" house keeping is really need training, the restaurant is ok for dinner, breakfast also a experience to get fried eggs they dont know the different between sunny set up and fried on both side, that time it reach your plate its scramble eggs its quite messy the breakfast what ever is finish you have to ask for more otherwise you will not get it, its like grand mothers kitchen breakfast and no sufficient seating. the cereal and milk messy over edge of the counter and everything is do it yourself. Than last but not least when you arrive with a car there is no car park before or behind the hotel you have to park on the otherside of the road on a public car park,

    Nice old building

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    2.5
    Booked this hotel as a business trip, to meet with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booked this hotel as a business trip, to meet with colleagues staying at the same hotel. Despite having a confirmed reservation from booking.com upon arrival at the hotel after travelling all day I was informed there was no prior notification of my booking and the hotel was full. No-one has yet claimed responsibility for the problem. Not impressed in the slightest. Won't be returning or using booking.com again.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.2
    Location of hotel in relation to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was stylish but not functional- care needed with heavy glass doors

    Location of hotel in relation to the town centre. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful The hotel grounds were well maintained and attractive

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast was excellent and the staff was overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed mattress was too soft. There was no hairdryer in the bathroom. Nothing mayor but for the price x night I had higher expectations.

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff was overall diligent and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    The park is magnificent and the building is remarkable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water and light systems are weird and not functional, modern, shophisticated but not eco or user friendly. Television is too far from bed (or too small for the room). Ceilings are not sound proof; one hears and fools (vibrations) people's footsteps above.

    The park is magnificent and the building is remarkable. The staff was very helpful and friendly, specially in the restaurant. Rooms are spacious.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.2
    I have stayed at Ruimzicht both alone and with my wife at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None of the rooms I have otherwise enjoyed was quipped with a desk, with limited the possibility to catch up with work.

    I have stayed at Ruimzicht both alone and with my wife at various occasions, and each time look forward to my stay. The place is clean, and the restaurant excellent. The staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.9
    lovely building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No water in bedrooms. No tea or coffee in rooms Lights and and TV control are way too complicated and. I would argue for function over stayle

    lovely building. Nice staff .

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Nice building and location, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is aging a bit and i think it would need some overhauls in a year or 2

    Nice building and location, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    Comfortable room which was well equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable room which was well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    lovely hotel quiet and clean ,super shower lovely dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow lift

    lovely hotel quiet and clean ,super shower lovely dining area.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    all from room to food to location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    can't think of any

    all from room to food to location

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tv and wifi

    Shower

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    8.8
    Prettig rustig hotel met vriendelijk personeel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedlampjes waren kapot, konden niet uit.

    Prettig rustig hotel met vriendelijk personeel

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    9.6
    very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The parking is difficult to find in the evening

    very nice hotel

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Villa Ruimzicht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: