Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg 4 stars

Walramplein 1, 6301 DC Valkenburg, Netherlands

#28 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 408 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and quality in the "french specialty restaurant" And for the rest see above.

    Never back again. How can one call this place a Grand Hotel? It was like staying in an english hotel in the fifties: dangerous to stay in, lots of steps up or down on one floor, bathtub too high and a risky thing to use it especially for elderly people. Far to expensive for what it offers. It probably was renovated 50 years ago and that is visible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the breakfast when they make the eggs for us, i ask them to put some onion in it. Answer: we don't know where is it... :( 😱 No vegetables for the breakfast :( Parking is expensive.

    Beautiful places, in the middle of the town. You can ser the Burg from your room windows.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dog in room next door constantly barking whining and scratching door when left alone in room. we asked to move but our request was declined. suggest a ban on dogs in hotel rooms

    excellent location. good breakfast. helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacious and the breakfast was actually good. I usually hate hotel breaskfast but this place had plenty of options and the atmosphere was great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were uncomfortable and kept sliding off the bed frame. Our double bed was actually two single beds pushed together and I nearly fell into the gap between the two beds a few times. Also, the doors to the rooms close very loudly even when you try to close them quietly. I was woken up several times during the night by doors closing with a boom.

    The location was great, the staff were friendly, and the facilities were clean. It was also a very generous free breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read the positives first. I found the 2 single beds very soft, WIFI not so great and it's 12.50 euro a night for the pooch. There was no "Do not disturb sign" so take your own! Otherwise, we'll see you next time!

    What an absolutely lovely classical hotel. Lots of period features and a brilliant location. Great check in, lovely room with full tilt and turn window giving access to views of the castle. Little fridge very useful for wine storage from the supermarket 5 mins away. Spotless bathroom with lovely products. And dog friendly! So Alf could enjoy it too. Fantastic Dutch breakfast, plenty to go around. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is quite basic

    Very nice hotel, spacious room and new facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no free parking available. To pay €12.5 / day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A kettle in the room would have been good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi a little slow

    Nice location, main street behind Hotel with lots of nice restaurants/bars. Good breakfast. Clean, modern rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Close to everything. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was extremely noisy during the night and the small hard cushion as a pillow was very uncomfortable.

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice quite area with pretty view. Right around the corner, there were lots of restaurant. It was pretty cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for accessing Christmas markets in valkenburg. 3 mins walk to main tourist belt but far enough away from noise and crowds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nonthing.

    We really liked the hotel. We were just passing through. Great breakfast and wonderful wait staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice staff, very helpfull. Very near all THE bars And restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very nice and friendly staff! nice warm interieur!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was central to all facilities we required. A very clean and friendly place. Would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to see christmas markets

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the way we wasn't explained probably to whereabouts of the car park ..and we were conned into paying for the hotel car park which we didn't use . ..The older lady at the reception was totally not helpful on us leaving and rude to us ..apart from that ..The rest if the staff were lovely ..she needs training in customer care !!

    This Hotel was lovely and close to all the markets ..Bars ..and Restaurants. .lively lovely place ☺

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was ideal and they offered us parking for our car very close by which meant we were right in the middle of things. I loved the interiors, retro chic but with modern facilities- very charming. The staff were all friendly and helpful, an overall enjoyable weekend away!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy room. Neighboring room had their TV turned on and everything came through the walls. Same with conversations next door or in the hallway. Not really willing to provide roomservice.

    Very frindly staff behind the hotel desk.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist was excellent and coudnt do enough for us. she was so helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tea & coffer making facility in the room. A little updating required to make it better value for money.

    Location and friendliness of staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fridge in the room was loud especially at night.

    The room was big and clean. The bed was comfy. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location close to town centre

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was perfect just a matter of a few minutes walk from all places of intrest

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was lovely, bed very comfortable. Plenty choice at breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was too soft

    Friendly staff

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: