Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Waalwijk 4 stars

Burg. van de Klokkenlaan 55, 5141 EG Waalwijk, Netherlands

#6 of 7 hotels in Waalwijk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1249 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't much fancy the menu offered in the Aubergine restaurant. There are not many options for fine dining in the town either. We ended up having a cheap and cheerful Chinese meal with wine which was available on Station Street nearby.

    The Hotels free Car Park was good as we though we might have to park on the road outside. The area is safe for walking into the town centre. There is a coffee machine available 24 hours in the reception area. Efterling Park is just a 10 minute drive away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room. Access to the bar Friday pm.

    I was impressed with the attentiveness, friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too hot in the room and there are no air conditioning, no mini bar in the room. During the breakfast, staff didn't clean the tables in time, we couldn't find the free table to sit down, since all of them were with used plates. Coffee in the hotel is awful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are spacious with all requested facilities. Bathroom with bath and individual shower. No noices, small and strongly clean hotel. Perfect to rest a night and nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room interior was quite "old", and the bathroom was a little disappointing for a 4* hotel standard.

    The free hotel parking is a very good point, like the Waalwijk city, which is nice, with some good restaurant and places to see. I also liked the modern pictures that decorate the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room next to the elevator, this made some noise. Not a big problem though

    Nice clean and large room, free parking, busstation nearby and a very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a big letdown- poor choice and poor quality. Coffee was good but only because we insisted on an espresso which they had to make elsewhere

    Good location, convenient parking, large room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are terrible and the reception staff are rude. I booked a Deluxe Double room and the pictures show what I got. The bar and restaurant are very nice but when you get to your room you will realise the lift was actually a time machine and you’ve been transported back to the 1970’s. 4* food and drinks everything else is 1*.

    Bar, tranquility, food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is outdated and dowdy. The bathrooms need to be updated and there is a musty smell to the rooms. The temperature was very warm in the rooms and we turned all the heating off and opened a window. The beds were at ok but the pillows were torturous. Like sleeping on bits of lumps. After repairing the shower so water actually came out of the shower head, the shower was alright.

    The hotel was conveniently located to family that we were visiting and to the downtown area. We had a problem with the shower and they repaired it right away (on Christmas Day, no less).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned building, also rooms are not on the latest standards. I would have expected to have a better standard for a 4 star hotel. We booked the hotel for business reasons and we expected to have an open hotel restaurant for dinner which was closed on a Friday evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited amount of soap and shampoo Heating didn’t work Breakfast was one big mess to many guests for such a small area No mini bar Towels thin and hard Pillows to soft and thin

    Spacious room Nice welcoming staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated colours, furniture and I would not rate this a 4* hotel. Service at the restaurant was terribly slow and there was not enough customers eating to justify 95minutes for main course to dessert. The room had stained carpets, dirt not hoovered and bathrooms stuck in a time warp - outdated. Very expensive for what you get.

    Immediate last minute availability. Close to Efteling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent family rooms, one of the few hotels that have rooms big enough for a family of 5. The family rooms are not quite as luxurious as the smaller rooms, but comfortable, and very spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came back late and my card was not working I waited 2hours the property no one was there and no one answered the phone and they gave me a topic room very very strange room

    Nothing really

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to use stairs to get to our room as there wasn't a lift to the second floor and our luggage was quite difficult to get up the stairs.

    The fact that the room was comfortable for me and my family as there was five of us. It is usually difficult to find comfortable rooms for all of us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not informed that you can reserve an airconditioning and upon arrival all airco's were booked, so we did not sleep well at all due to the warm/humid weather and the warm/humid room. Window open + a ventilator did not help because it was still warm outside. Room needs a make-over into the 21st century. Instead of carpet, should be laminat or tiles (wooden design). More hygienic than carpet. Bathroom/shower is very basic and also needs an update.

    Location close to the Efteling. Very kind woman at reception. Parking behind hotel. Breakfast, although minimal, but sufficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The five bed family room was located at the top floor with no AC and it was hot! There was a small ventilator in the room but it was not up to the task.

    Pretty good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a bit old but, taken care of. TVs in the room was old and channel selection was poor though you have paid movies and 'other' programs too. Breakfast could have been better too. Not that much of selection.

    Hotel is very clean, quite and well located in the city of Waalwijk. Rooms are good size and bathrooms are well taken care of. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made a big mess of the room charges (charged with other guests bills!) but the desk manager handled it well.

    Breakfast was very well arranged with plenty of choice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was for 5 of us, no ventilation, very claustrophobic- had to put a fan on to give the illusion of air circulating.

    Staff were lovely and friendly, bar and breakfast were very good.Beds were comfortable and mini bar and tv in room. Nice area to sit outside if sun shining. Peaceful location, near bus station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast: very few fresh products and rolls ; lousy coffee; expensive meals;floor covering (carpet ) badly needs change

    big rooms for 3 and large bath room; tea making facility

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facility is really out-dated. It's 4 star in 1990 standard. But on the other hand, the price charged reflects that fact, so nothing to complain about that when you are paying 60 euro for a night.

    Right at the edge of the old town, for business traveller it's slightly more convenient than those hotels down the highway. Super nice restaurant on-site.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room is very basic. The bathroom is very outdated and not very clean. The room had a very dusty smell. When we woke up in the morning and drew the curtain, we saw water running down on the window inside of the room due to no ventilation. Not very healthy...

    Location is OK, few minutes drive from Efteling. Restaurant is good, nice atmosphere. Breakfast was good as well. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only problem i was that there is no elevator. so i had to carry up all the suitcases three and a half floors up, and a day after to the take it down.

    clean, friendly staff , close to the center of town and to a supermarket.very good breakfast! 5 minutes from Efteling park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel rooms and staff were great. The hotel is very quiet and clean. My daughter has celiac and needed gluten-free food - the hotel went out of their way to make her feel she can blend in, bringing her special bread, cake and treats. This hotel is awesome!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room on the second floor was extremely hot when we arrived (at 11pm!), even though the outside and ground floor temperature were very reasonable. We had to sleep with the window open and using the provided fan. Thankfully it's a quiet neighboorhood and we still managed to get a good night's sleep. Only in the morning did I read in the room info that portable air conditioning units could be rented from the reception (subject to availability) for €5. Stingy. Still, you wonder why it has to be so hot up there! Probably due to poor architecture (typical Dutch shoebox-design, by the way). Calling this a 4-star hotel is ridiculous. It's a reasonably priced, decent, if a bit ageing, 3-star hotel at the most.

    Convenient distance from Efteling amusement park, even though you'll probably still have to face the traffic on your way there when it's a busy day. Quiet neighboorhood, nice bed (although we couldn't get a double, we had twin beds put together), good breakfast, helpful staff, reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was quiet a short stay. Wish could have stay longer, guess may be next year then.

    Breakfast was excellent. Kids enjoyed running round the reception lounge area. Manager was friendly and spoke brilliant English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything; the courtesy of the staff, reception ambience etc. The Manger, Niesen, was very wonderful. He made the entire party ( I, my family, my five friends and their families) feel at home and indulged us immensely!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We must say regarding this hotel specially owner of this Hotel are very frankly he is giving attention his best with all border/guest like a one of hotel workers that's why I must say All together fantastic because my family and kids say that whenever they will come in future Efteling they would like to stay in this Hotel Service Pupils Cleanness Accommodations Location Foods

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright, spacious room, clean, calm, breakfast.........hot and also continental with selection of cold meats, yoghurts, bread, rolls etc. Staff professional in attitude and room service excellent. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the town centre, close to Efteling and set in residential locale. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and I have booked their double suite for next year. See photo! :-) Free parking too + free wi-fi. We were here for British Car Auto Jumble and Classic Car Display in the nearby Lido Park.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot, it was very stuffy. Air conditioning units are available to hire but I feel the hotel could have a more reasonable room temperature considering the time of year.

    Large family room with extra space so we were not tripping over each other.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for the location

    Restaurant good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Conditioning in room

    Good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squezzie bed

    The kindness of the owners and the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Access to Amusement Park
    • Stayed 1 night

    basic breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet brush in our room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price might be more competitive

    Restaurant with good quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was spacious and good car park. Breakfast was decent. Staff was helpful. Room was good and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound carried a bit too much between rooms and from the corridor.

    Good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Joining the basic fit gym for free that day, perfect service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toothbrush set in a room as option

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait to be served at the restaurant for a while.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find the way to the room. The hotel should provide a map of the building with the exact location of the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic facilities . Everything in the rooms is outdated old but functional . Basic basic amenities

    A busy hotel so feels better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable and spacious room, very comfortable bed. Very quiet and not far from centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms a little bit outdated - could do with a refresh

    location was good for our trip/clean hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dated , especially bathroom

    Very comfy bed , great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was nice, organized. The city shops are walking distance. Parking easy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, very nice people!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is terrible

    Close to efteling, free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is terrible

    Close to efteling, free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room, the breakfast, the airing of the room

    very bad quality bread at breakfast, but the rest of the food was resonably good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good value for money, quiet, good breakfast, lots of parking, good location, cute little town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nice stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great מלון פשוט מעולה

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to stay. Friendly and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel and Location not far away from Efteling park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great location in a beautiful quiet place Good breakfast We loved it alot Very close to the efteing park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive bottled water lots of stair no elevator to our room

    Nice breakfast very clean big bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the doors made a very loud nois when closed. It was irritating us when we tried to sleep.

    Very nice bed en breakfast. We had a nice meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was 4 stars probably in 1960. Very old, bad smell in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE most comfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel !! Nice breakfast too, and a good bathroom with plenty of hot water and pressure !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are bit outdated

    Nice hotel with spacious rooms, good value for money. In neighbourhood nice restaurants and very close to theme park efteling

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, only 5 minutes from the Efteling

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food we ate at the restaurant was so great. We couldn't finish it even. I'm still hurt my stomach couldn't take more.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have pay extra for tax than was on the websait

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more fresh items for breakfast would be good

    Excellent food, friendly restaurant staff. Good location, large rooms ample car parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Access to Amusement Park
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place to stay with a nice modern art vibe. Very comfortable beds. It could use a little bit of updating, but well take care of for its age.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel very outdated and definitely NOT 4 stars! The dining area and reception have been renovated, but certainly not our room.

    lovely breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find. Strange street designs

    Relaxed environment. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old family room, not according with the nice and modern restaurant

    Nice restaurant, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast

    good beds

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Waalwijk traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: