Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Walvisvaarder 3 stars

Lies 23, 8895 KP Lies, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Lies

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 615 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-out was way too early for us-10:00, and the breakfast was till the same time. It is not very convenient, made us feel in a rush, and also lead to a queue of guests for check out. I would suggest to make it 11, to allow sufficient time for guests to have breakfast and pack. I would rather have check in time starting 1 hour later.

    We liked the location, the hotel was comfortable and stylish. The breakfast had a good variety of products. Good bicycles for rent. Friendly staff and you can choose your welcome drink :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was authentic but not most modern. Rooms were also good, but nothing special.

    Great stay at Terschelling. Great atmosphere. Family run hotel. Nice big living room with wood fire place to relax and bar area to have a drink. Nice to mingle with other guests, get some good tipps and share stories over a beer at the bar. Maarten, the bar tender, is a great guy. A local and he can share a lot of stories on the Hotel and Terschelling. Has a great art. Enjoyed the evenings with him at the bar. Dinner is a high quality no-choice-take-it-or-leave 3-course meal. It is lovely. Bicycle rent at the hotel is great. You can rent it there and cycle around. Also very child friendly. It is a big recommendation and we would come back definitely here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no choice of hot meal for breakfast, such as omelet, bacon or sausages.

    The room has a bathtub, it was great for relaxation after a long day of travelling around the island.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bus schedule is not really reliable (even the staff is confused about it), so plan your trip and excursion properly and think of relying also on other transportation means (bikes, taxis, car sharing etc.). Or just take it easy and wait for the bus :)

    Very helpful staff, always happy to go the extra mile, nothing was too much for them. The hotel was in a very nice position in Lies, bus stop is right in front of the hotel and connects to West-Terschelling and Oosterend (and all villages in between). The position in Lies make it a very quiet property, and there are (a lot of) bikes available to enjoy the surroundings. Nice, spacious room with outdoor area and all necessities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that does not fit in to my overall picture was the breakfast. There was no fresh fruit offered and also the variety of bread/bread rolls was poor. I simply expected something else.

    Great location in the middle of the island, ideal starting point for excursions. Many restaurants in the close by area. The garden suite room is huge and has a modern style with a separate living area, master bedroom and a bathroom with steam shower and bubble bath. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was very polite and helpf. Bartender had a great smile and was the best!! If I ever get back to Terscelling I will stay again! Loved it!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously over priced. Rooms were loud. We thought it was a small farm style hotel and instead it was a giant complex. & They charged more at last minute for our 4 year old son despite booking.com plan. Definitely avoid the dinner plan. It was the worst food and most expensive meal we had for the full family. For the price they need to do real restaurant and not cafeteria style food menu.

    The general staff seemed fine though restaurant staff were far from friendly. Bikes were a great deal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve, it is just excellent! Good value for money.

    Logistics could be somehow problematic if you come from the mainland but it is definitely worth!! The island is a must-see. It is very compact; distances between towns are not that large, which makes biking through the towns an excellent activity. The staff of this hotel is very friendly. You can rent great bikes from the hotel. If the weather does not allow you to do outdoor activities, just have a whiskey-tasting or play board games. In the end, we had lots of fun and we think we will come back again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Love the open fire in the bar area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a rather big enterprise, but it felt like a comfortable surrounding. Friendly, quiet, comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV (not horizontal) and low batteries(?) for the remote control

    The bath(room) The room The whole building

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect location in the middle of the island. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great that they have bikes to rent. Very cute bar in the hotel as well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very sober. No tissue paper in bathroom small bedroom No refrigerator in room.

    Bar terraces and hotel clean cozy. Dinner was excellent breakfast okay

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative during our entire stay was just before check-out, when we were just preparing to leave the room. A lady came banging on the door and shouted at us very rudely to vacate the room. We were only 3 minutes late to leave the room (it was 9:33am and checkout was 9:30am, which is very early for checkout anyway) and we were just about to leave anyway. A bit of a downer on an otherwise lovely stay.

    The hotel is located in a lovely village and the surroundings are very peaceful. The village is well located in the centre of the island and you can cycle easily to other villages and to the beach. The suites were very quiet, large, clean and the terrace was really big and perfect to catch the morning sunshine. The staff at reception were really helpful and friendly. There is a lovely terrace outside the restaurant to enjoy. We were very pleased with the (suite) facilities and would have gladly stayed longer at the Walvisvaarder.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    even though the local cheese farm and bakery are close by, the hotel uses industrial baked bread and factory cheese for its breakfast; i think thats a very bad thing....

    nice hotel, very fitting to the surroundings

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great info, loved the food

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't tell: really everything was ok!!

    The very nice room, with shower and bath!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Floor in the room was not clean. I could not walk without shoes.

    Friendly supportive team there. location very good.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cozy lounge area with a fireplace, friendly staff, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Spa bath was really nice

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly great place good food just fantastic

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was just fine

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: