Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Washington 2 stars

Frans van Mierisstraat 10, Oud Zuid, 1071 RS Amsterdam, Netherlands

#313 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1916 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here for 2 nights, me and my wife. we asked for a double room and given a twin room. we were put on the third floor the stairs are very steep and carpets were torn and dangerous! the guy on night time reception, very ignorant! the only good thing was the beds were ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not something that I personally didn't like, but if you have difficulty walking up or down steep stairs then this is not a place for you.

    Friendly check-in. I was upgraded to a room with bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alex knows, and did his best to rectify the problems, but it should not have happened in the first place. Reported mold/ broken light to ‘Peter’ on first day, he didn’t listen and record issues. The mold, in our bathroom, was all over the ceiling and walls and was damaging to personal health. We came home the first night and found everything still in disrepair so Alex (luckily) was there and assisted us to resolve the problems. However, Management should inspect the cleaners work more often, as they are slack! Don’t vacuum daily, just change sheets, straighten bed and bathroom. Broken bedside light fitting in our room was in a hazardous position (was repaired once we reported it), but should have been reported prior to us arriving! Closing a stuffy, unventilated bathroom door aids mold growth, so, commonsense says ‘keep door open’, but cleaner insists on shutting door! Eventually said, no one is to enter room until we leave, as tried to dry washing (as traveling for 3 mths) and silly cleaner STILL shut bathroom door, so nothing dried! First day breakfast, pretty average spread, Peter didn’t even offer eggs, was, by chance, that we realised were on the menu, when Alex offered them to us, on the second morning. Alex set up a great breakfast. Other staff could learn from Alex!

    Alex was great! Really helpful and obliging at all times! Luckily we had a large, quiet room, #3! Location was good, provided you like walking! Trams/ buses available nearby, if you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a really good option for travelers who don't want to stay in a hostel and are looking for some peace and comfort, albeit in a good location. The place is very convenient if you want to visit the 3 big museums and vondel park, It's 20 minutes by tram to Dam square. Overall it's a good value for money, with neat and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having read the reviews, I wasn’t expecting it to be great. Having said that, I was still shocked by the state of the stairs - apart from being vertiginously steep (OK for Amsterdam I suppose) they were dirty and poorly lit. Being on the 4th floor that was an issue. I was disturbed 2 nights out of four due to noisy guests in other rooms - you can hear everything. The skylight blind kept snapping open so I had to wedge it with a comb!

    The room I stayed in was surprisingly clean with a comfortable bed and chair. It was properly cleaned and tidied every day. In terms of value for money, it was fantastic - there is a great coffee shop on the corner and Loetje - a very popular and good quality restaurant - is just a few meters further on. The location in the museum district is perfect, and it is on a quiet street so there was little disturbance even though I had the window open all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a complete rip-off and probably the worst hotel I've stayed at. Doors are gouged (ie. not just scratched) , fitments hanging off, no facilities to speak of (not even a kettle !). Words fail me as to how they have the audacity to charge this rate for run-down premises.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had ticked double as preferred bed option but was provided with two twins which kept slipping apart and creating an abyss between them! Decor is outdated and the bathroom radiator (for example) needs replacing!

    The location of the property is excellent. Staff were friendly. Size of the room and bathroom were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a kettle/tea in the room but nice cafe on the corner. Garden needs attention. Cig butts on balcony. Stairs very steep, carpet needs replacing, handrail not secure. Hum from vending machine at night.

    Great location close to museums and some super bars and restaurants. Quiet street. Clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best of this hotel is localisation, close to city centre, restaurants and business places. Also has cheap single rooms, that is very important in business trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently renovating the building 😒

    Great for travel within the Museum District and beyond. Great old building. Convenient breakfast and exceptional staff. Strict noice police ensures a great night sleep. 😎🤙🤙🤙🤙

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps it was £100 a night because I booked late if it's normally around the £70 to £80 Mark it would be excellent. I also had to share a loo and shower with 4 others.

    Clean bathroom and toilet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren’t always cleaned everyday! Could’ve done with new bedsheets and towels.

    The 4 bed rooms were absolutely huge ! Plenty of space for everyone :). Location was great as Just found the corner to get the 16 tram . Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the 4th floor. There was no lift and the stairs were very steep. The bed was small and a bit uncomfortable. The shower pressure was low so the shower was not brilliant. We had breakfast one morning but it was very basic. No fresh fruit. We asked for fried eggs and got 2 on one plate to be shared.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY poor shower, a single run of water like a slow running tap. Narrow tread stairs up to 4th floor making it difficult to carry cases up. No lift as far as I’m aware. Breakfast really average. Two fried eggs presented on a plate as ‘one’ egg and over cooked. Staff at breakfast inattentive.

    Room was clean and tidy with comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old, it stunk, the walls were paper thin, No air conditioner, and when we asked about getting a fan we were told they were all given out. There was a garbage dumpster literally 3 feet from the entrance, absolutely ZERO amenities, I could never recommend this property.

    Nothing Really

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet outside our room was very dirty. The bathroom had a urine odor and the staff were rude when we requested a working fan (no ac).

    Really good location, well lit room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room Tiny bed Bathroom has black mould on the shower wall WiFi Is useless Staircase is seriously dangerous Paper thin walls Should be listed as a hostel rather than a hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would liked to have known that there was no lift - that was a hassle. And instructions on what trolly to take from the train station - where to get off the trolly - and how to use the public transportation system in general before I arrived would have been helpful. Also, a list of good local restaurants say within 10 - 15 minutes walk (or trolly ride) and a decent map of Amsterdam would have been appreciated and useful. Nothing was bad but I do believe it would have been easy to be more helpful.

    Bed was comfortable - shower was good - staff was friendly (although not particularly informative unless one had a very specific question) - location was very convenient to the trolly, the museums and therefore to downtown Amsterdam

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was quite dated with old shower hose broken and leaking ; very steep stairs up to floor 3

    Location was good, easy parking in the street, surprisingly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are steep and the hallway carpet and skirting boards need replacing.

    The room was modest but adequate and the bathroom and shower fine. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass door was broken and boarded up. There was no mirror in the room for shaving

    The place was being refurbished, the room and the shower were new . The breakfast was good value for money also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement, we got twin beds instead of duble and the guy in the reception wasn't helpful about this

    Good location, stuff ok, comfortable room, not that expensive- could be that I'll come again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought there would be tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The common areas haven't be refurbished yet...

    Room had recently been refurbished so was very fresh and clean. Plenty of towels. Beds were very comfortable. Free wi-fi always a bonus. Lots of character - an old building with steep winding stairs. Huge windows letting in lots of light and air. We were able to leave our bags when we arrived before check in and all day after we had checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls so could hear other guests coming and going and tv through them. My room was v small! So seemed expensive for what I got. Also no tea-making facilities. Just basics.

    Good location and clean room w own bathroom and tv.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall just a little grotty. Would not recommend more than a couple of nights

    Very nice location just out of town with some lovely local bars and cafes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from first impressions to arrival at our room on the 3rd floor, up 3 sets of stairs, with worn, holed and dangerous carpet that badly needed hovering. Walls marked by builders who were working on the 2nd floor Balcony littered with cigarette butts’ tissue and other rubbish. Floor next the window had large puddles of water both mornings ( both nights had a lot of rain and clearly some came in even though the window was closed ) We booked a double room for two nights at a cost of €338 but when our confirmation email came it said we had a twin with shared bathroom. They could upgrade us to a double with ensuite for €75. As we could not get a refund we felt we had no other option. On arriving at the room we found 3 single beds, a very sparse room with no amenities. I went back to reception and expressed my dissatisfaction. I was refunded the €75 for the upgrade we didn’t get and was given an electric kettle and 2 cups. Nothing else,no saucers,teabags,coffee,milk etc..

    Very little. Towels and sheets were clean and fresh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower were VERY small. The entire building was going through a remodel, so the construction was unfortunate.

    Room was nice, clean, and cozy. I had a balcony, which was great! The building was quaint. Relatively affordable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decorating much of the hotel at the time meant it was sometimes a bit noisy

    Good recently decorately and modern room and bathroom with a great location for just outside the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed. Foam mattress! and was not wide enough for me. Currently under renovation although no work being done during my stay. Steep stairs but I was warned at booking.

    Well positioned for museum quarter and direct tram to central #16 Some awesome food in the nearby top end streets. Good basic brekkie at reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast starts at 8:00 which is not convenient for a business trip.

    The location is very good for visiting the center of the town. The room was clean, comfortable in a typical Dutch house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some details could be updated like the stained sink or broken mirror. Also the doors handles could use an urgent update

    4 beds in a huge huge room with loads and loads of towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I stayed on the 2nd floor and next to the entrance there is a sound of something like a washing machine. It is not that load, but penetrating. And it switched on and off even during the night. Also the curtains, could not close completely. So there was quite much light coming in.

    The shower was good. It had always warm water and multiple functionalities. Also the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The builders/decorators were in redecorating the remaining rooms on the first floor and started work at 6.30 on our final morning- wallpapering the other side of the wall of our bedroom

    Our room on the first floor had recently been redecorated, so was very comfortable. The room was cold the first night but I contacted reception and they came up and switched on the heat in the room- it had been off

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was very overpriced for what I got. Maybe it was because I was there Easter week but it seem like I was paying twice what everybody else was paying at other times. At that price breakfast should have been included!

    Charming and old-fashioned and friendly staff. Nice privacy up in the attic. Transportation easily accessible to Central and other areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old, run-down and a little dirty. Also, had to walk by smokers (tobacco and marijuana) standing by the entrance door. No elevator and has four very high floors. Definitely do not stay there if you have a physical limitation.

    Good location, 5 minute walk to Van Gogh museum and local restaurants near hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, there is no 24h reception for a "hotel" charging 100+ euro a night. Second, the hotel is under a major reformation, that means, a lot of dust, bricklayers walking around and talking, using with their drills at 10 am. Last, the stairs were a challenge, it was an everyday risk climbing those steps.

    The breakfast was simple but good, inexpensive. It offered some regional food, like waffles and some local cheese. The location is good, near museum square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs! They are so steep! special if you have a luggage it is too difficult to go up....

    This Hotel is located in a very quite neighborhood! and not far from the downtown. Tram is also very close to it. Nice place if you have a short stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 beds instead of one big bed...We had scrambled eggs only one time. Not well isolated but people was quiet but one night. No elevator a lot of stairs until 3rd floor but that is Amsterdam I think!

    very close to museum Van Gogh et Rijksmuseum. 3 lines of tram very close. Nice street. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs in the hotel are very steep. The reception staff will help you bring your suitcase up the stairs..

    Hotel is in a great location, clean and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please how hard could it be to add hooks/rack in the bathroom for the towels? There's nowhere to put them! Especially when wet! Also the sink was slippery with a thin rim so the very one glass couldn't be put on the sink but was left on the wooden thingie standing next to it or just below it. Although the soap bottled (which couldn't stand either) slipped off twice almost breaking the glass. get a plastic cup next time? And maybe a tiny shelf in the shower? Nowhere to put things there either. Breakfast could have had more veggies? and vegan options. (I'm not vegan but don't do dairy so maybe soygurt or something?, please label the milk/yogurts etc now it was in glass containers not knowing was in them) Otherwise it was nice bread and waffles. Loved the fruit basket.

    Glad I was on the ground floor! Had a singlebed and it was ok, nice enough space. Staff gave me an electric kettle when I asked. Staff was always kind and helpful when I talked to them. Good. Tram stop just on the opposite street, easy ride to the main station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift. The stairs are very steep because these are old houses. It might be difficult for elder people to climb up.

    Very close to the museums. Small but clean and warm room. The staff is nice and ready to help. Close to the airport bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put us in the basement which is fine, we just needed a place to sleep and explore the city. The smell downstairs was awful, we played a never ending game of the "floor is lava" because of the smelly carpet in the room. The room looked nothing like the pictures online and therefore absolutely did not meet the expectations. I never ever made a bad review but I couldnt resist this time.

    There was hot water i guess and the staff was friendly. Shared bathroom was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs to climb. This should have been stated . Lot of noise from maintenance, however I do appreciate this has to be done to keep the rooms looking good .

    Staff were very nice and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were very thin and the room was noisy at times - not from the street but other guests. Also, most of the time the wifi didn't work.

    The location was good - quiet and near major attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included in the price. Water stains on the ceiling should be addressed in the room.

    The location and old Amsterdam feel of the hotel. I stayed here 20 plus years ago and it has not lost its charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff Washington not very concerned with service to customers. We requested to change the room because the first given one was dirty. The second propose was ok . During our stay it was very noisy too. To have to pay all the stay at check-in also guarantied by a card. This hotel needs to be refurbish.

    Its location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite street, close to some museums, 2 minutes walk from US consulate. Very friendly staff and room was clean and in good shape. (single room, ground floor, next door building). Very nice shower(hot and lots of water:-)).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we faced was that we had 2 single beds rather than a double bed, but this wasn't a big problem as we just push both beds together.

    Fab location. Easy to access the tram (number 16 stops a few seconds away and takes you all the way into central). Free breakfast is ideal and has more than enough options for everyone. Room was cleaned each day with fresh towels provided. And free Wi-Fi!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 3 (deluxe double) has a separate entrance and is its own flat which is nice, but the next door residential neighbors seem to have their bathroom and/or utility room next door with only a normal internal door (locked) between the room and them. The noise from their washing machine while spinning was noticeable and you could hear them talking when they were in that room, so I assume they could hear us too! There was no noise late or early and our sleep was not disturbed by this.

    The deluxe double room #3 was bigger than expected and comfortable. It was a separate flat with an entrance next door to the main hotel so no noise from other guests. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. The hotel is only a 5 min walk from the museumplein area where the airport shuttle bus (9 euro return) drops off and the tram stop to the central area is located. Good location with plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of our lights did not work, but that's a minor problem.

    Very friendly staff, cosy, clean and spacious room. The stairs are a little bit tricky (too steep), but it's quite normal in Amsterdam right? Located 3 minutes from museum square, near the tram line so very easy to access the rest of the city. Breakfast was good :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are brand new but building itself is kind of old. Stairs are very steep, something very typical of Amsterdam but which can be a problem for people w/ mobility issues. Room was small but agreeable.

    The hotel is very well located, close to parks, museums, and bars and restaurants. The staff was very nice, and the breakfast was good, even though one needs to pay extra for it. Bed and shower were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gap between two beds pushed together

    The staff was really nice and helpful Got a free upgrade to a bigger room Room and hotel got really nice authentic old house atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy renovations going on in one part of the hotel next to my room. Very steep staircase to get to room on top floor - would have been impossible for many older people and difficult with luggage.

    Great location and quiet street near museum district and Vondel Park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only the stair!

    Great location surrounded by 'Definite World Class Museums' Amsterdam Museum Quarter just walking distance to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Modern Art Museum

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safe also a good 35 minute walk to centre

    The hotel was around 25 minutes walk from Rembrandt square, and 30/35 minutes from dam square. Very close to museum quarter. I would stay here again. The stairs are very steep in the hotel, be warned. Also there is no safe!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Active renovation that sometimes resulted in loud noises starting at 8:30 am! Crazy! Very steep stairs, no elevator.

    Nice, tiny, accurate rooms, quiet neighbourhood, 7 min walk to the center of the city and public transport. Personnel is really welcoming and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant and non-negotiable check-in staff. My Apple-Pay credit card wasn’t accepted as a proof of the booking and I was made to leave my passport at the reception until I could log into my bank account statement to prove the payment transaction. It was a cold welcoming and I felt patronised. The lady was clearly not familiar with new technologies and refused to even discuss it. Very unpleasant experience.

    Location, room service was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall great stay at this hotel, and while the room was generally "clean", it could definitely benefit from some deep cleaning. Especially the bathroom that had a super gross smell. The staff was wonderful and very eager to help with recommendations, directions, etc!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only has Shared Bathrooms unless you pay extra and the Shared Bathrooms can be annoying if Checking-out @ the same time. Basement rooms really cold and uncomfortable even with heating on. And all rooms are pretty small, cramped and dimly lit. For the price, probably not the best value.

    Bed was fairly comfortable, shower was good. Clean hotel, and the location is great for restaurants and just out of the central Amsterdam area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproof was bad, because of old windows all sounds on the street were very well heard during early morning hours. Also, the soundproof between rooms is not good.

    Location is perfect, just appr. 30 min from the airport by bus, some significant attractions are right near the hotel, others are in a walking distance or easily reachable by public transportation. The room was modest but also very clean, linen, bathroom, everything was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been more comfortable. No tea and coffee making facilities in room. Safe didn't work. Price of room dropped a day after I had booked.

    Location was good. Staff were helpful. Modern and simple to use shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very small and mattress was well worn, our bathroom had a constant overpowering smell ? Drains!!!, on our arrival there was a leak from the ceiling resulting in a wet bed and carpet, on a more positive note this problem was fixed promptly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was so soft you couldn't use the pillow or your neck would hurt. And the room was cold so I kept on waking up all night. I sleep in a pretty soft latex mattress, so I'm not a person who likes very hard mattresses. The bed was uncomfortable soft. There was no heater controller on the wall, and the room was very cold. I assumed the heater was on, when after a while I checked it wasn't, completely off at the end of December. I put it on, and it did no difference. Bed was dressed with linen and a thin blanket, and another thin blanket in the closet. But no duvet, what is standard in a city like Amsterdam. I was cold all night and couldn't sleep

    The location is fine, the room was big enough for a single

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is more of a hostel rather than a hotel. The reception is the same as the dining area and it's quite small. The stairs are very challenging. The steps are not wide enough to support your foot and the stairs are spiral which makes it difficult to get up and down with luggage as well (our room was on the third floor). Out stay was including internet WIFI for free. The service was not really strong.

    We arrived very early in the morning (around 08:00 am) and we were supposed to get our room at 02:00 pm as usual. yet, they were kind enough to provide us with the room around 11:00 am especially that i left a note about this while booking my room. Our room was private with private bathroom. The staff are really very friendly and helpful. we left our heavy luggage all the time in small storing place in the receptionThe location was good. Walking distance from the market and other restaurants/cafes/bars. Also, taking the tram was easy from the to central station (only 20 minutes) where all shopping stores, attractions of Amsterdam and fun. The hotel is located in a quite area and i have to say, the heating system in our room was a bless. We were visiting Amsterdam while it was snowing and everyday we would enjoy the warmth inside the room. Breakfast is nice with good variety of cheese, cold cuts, boiled eggs, bread, corn flakes, juice, coffee, tea, marmalade, cakes, biscuits. Also, Dimitri, the guy responsible for the morning shift was kind enough to provide us with very delicious scrambled eggs. if you book breakfast one day prior, you pay 7.5 euros. If you come without reservation, you pay 9.5 euros.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't stay warm for too long. Sometimes the keycard was a bit dodgy, but none of these were a real problem.

    Room was clean, place is cozy and comfortable and staff is friendly. Nice hotel for such a price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that it was written that there was a safe box in the room and there wasn't actually one. The fact that the stairs to the third floor (counting the ground level as the first floor) were really steep and no word was mentioned about that. I did not have a luggage but if I did it would have been impossible to take it upstairs. The internet was good but not excellent - not sure if this is related to being on the third floor.

    The fact that the place was really accessible from the bus station. The quality of the bathroom and cleanliness, and the pretty helpful staff are really great. The fact that the price was really good for the services offered.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is situated in a quiet residential area just around the corner from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums. It was my second stay and I would definitely stay here again. Room was clean and comfortable, concierge helpful and the continental breakfast was delicious - coffee second to none! A 24 hour ticket for the hop on-hop off canal boat that stops outside the Rijksmuseum is a good way of getting around the city, as well as finding out more about the history of Amsterdam. The 197 bus leaves Schiphol every fifteen minutes and stops just around the corner from Hotel Washington at Concert Square/Museumplein.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroomm was not very comfortable. The equipment was fine, but no space to place your personal cosmetics. The curtain at the shower was not fixed properly.

    Hotel was modest, but very clean. The staff was very friendly, spoke excellent English. They took into account my comments when booking, and gave me a room facig a little garden - not the street. Free Wifi was provided. The room was not tiny, there was enough space. The room had a desk, a TV set, a wardrobe, a table and a bedside table.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It doesn't have an elevator

    The breakfast choices and quantity were satisfying. The hotel is located near the museums area and the city centre is 30' on foot away the most. I didn't use the bus or tram at all. Just to get from the airport and back. The Airport Express Bus No. 197 is about 6' away on foot from the hotel's door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was no any porridge on the breakfast. From my point of view this is a cheap and very useful dish and the hotel can afford it. Also the size of scramble egg was too small.

    First of all, I can say that the hotel is worth it. Amsterdam is not a cheap city, and if you want to stay close to the center it’s a good choice. It takes around twenty minutes by tram to get to the center. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are small but clean and cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and 4 flights of steep stairs with a 23 kg suitcase. Not even any tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Parking is not local, 10-15 minute drive.

    Proximity to Museums & tram

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception demanded entry to our room pretending there was an issue with the bathroom but was not the case. They just wanted to access to see if I was smoking in the room. I let them in and of course as explained there was no smoking in the room. No respect for DND sign, pointless having it up. Chinese receptionist on Night shift was very very rude

    We had a balcony in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are too small, I was given the 4th floor, with no elevators, and narrow stairs. typical old house turned into a hotel. the room was the top floor with slanting roof with no provision to open any windows. Have to be careful when booking about which type of room they assign. Worst surprise was the toilet and bathroom were shared with 2 other rooms, but were clean. If I knew this before I would not have booked this property. For all this they charge for 3 nights around 380 Euros which is quite expensive I would say.

    Breakfast was fine...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was located on the 4th floor, with no elevator. The stairs are really narrow and dangerous. Nothing on the website tells you about it. Everyday when the room was made, they left us less and less towels, means they took 3 to clean and left us 1 one time..

    The staff at the front desk were nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    during my stay, the hotel was slightly noisy at nighttime ( but that may also have been a coincidence).

    very good location for a fair price, and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Washington traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: