Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Flower Market Hotel

Singel 458, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 AW Amsterdam, Netherlands

#408 of 449 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 834 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel, no reception but perfect for younger people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the double bed was made up with two single quilts and no cups in the room this was sorted straight away by the Adams team who actually couldn't do anymore for you. The room was very dark needed a light by the mirror. No reception in the hotel. We paid for a terrace and it didn't state when we booked it, we would be sharing it with others. There is no mention of a night club next door which is very loud. No sign outside the hotel so quite tricky to find at first. But as we only stayed for one night not a bad place would say better for younger ones.

    The location was great. Bed was comfy. Hotel shower was brill. Adams Team we're fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Safety box, WiFi, water, soap, shampoo - everything free of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from club next door all night (3 am). Steep, narrow steps. No door to the bathroom. Small spaces.

    Safety box, WiFi, water, soap, shampoo - everything free of charge. Comfortable bed with clean sheets and big pillows. Location was perfect! If your looking for a 3-5 star hotel, keep looking. If your looking for a place to sleep while discovering Amsterdam and are on a budget, this is the perfect place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.5
    Fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not particularly clean. We were not made aware that the room would not be serviced during our three day stay. Not the best given there were no towel rails in the bathroom, no toilet brush either. The hallway etc was certainly not cleaned either. At over 100 euro per night, it was very average.

    Fab location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    Nice ensuite room with terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning & heating didn't work , staff brought us a heater on the third evening , bitten by mosquitoes at night

    Nice ensuite room with terrace

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing double room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised to find the check in was not at tge hotel. And it was hard to find a phobe contact to the office. Took thr small double room- Room was much smaller than what I imagined amd understood from pictures. No door to the bathroom. Windows broken as well as walls. Room is for a single person. And not fittet for a couple. Plus- apparently they only have 1 small double in the hotel and its on the 4th floor. No elevator and steps are narrow amd steep. Bed was comfortable amd staff are nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    The Flower Market Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a television was handy if you wanted to just zone out in the evening but it was poorly positioned to view from the bed.

    Room beautiful, modern and very clean, bathroom was petite but functional, clean and very modern. Lovely shared terrace also clean and very modern. Location was central to most areas of the city, tram stop and supermarket just on the corner, which was handy. Coffee machine, kettle and fridge were provided also. Staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. Would most definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    An okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small room but did the job considering that we were only there sleeping but the hotel facilities are terrible...at least paint your walls!

    Even if very tiny, room clean and bed comfy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    I think that this place needs a more updated review, so here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wanted to update and re address some previous issues mentioned and our experience: - The noise (it being next door to a private nightclub) Being there the whole week, and spending most nights in the room by 9pm, the noise was not that bad at ALL. You could barely hear the back beat of the music over the TV. Nothing dramatic just a faint bom bom bom of the music, no vibrations or anything that would disrupt sleep! - The size of the rooms - News flash! This is Amsterdam you are visiting. It’s a tiny place, and most of the buildings (around 90%) are still the original buildings from when Amsterdam first originated, Amsterdam is small in general, thats what gives some of the authenticity! And in my opinion, the room was good for the price you paid! - The stairs - Yes. I agree with this one, the stairs are very steep and unfortunately there is not room for a lift to be installed.. However, was very fun trying to climb the, what seemed to be, mountain stairs, after a few drinks!! Just a few more things to note: (For the hotel) : When you guys clean, could you please make sure the loo roll is replenished ! - Also please ensure the fridge is working and someone takes a look at the shower drain :) (Tips for new coming guests) : Ask for the code to the safe at reception(if you need it). Thanks !

    I think that this place needs a more updated review, so here goes! To my understanding, this place USED to be rubbish, but since being under new management (Adam Suites) there has been a DRAMATIC improvement in all areas.. It’s not quite a hotel, However, the reception (which is pictured) and is the ‘base’ of Adam suites, is literally around the corner from the place that you stay at(literally a street away no walk at all really). This is where you ‘check in’. You’re given the key card which gets you through the front door, and then into your room as well. The receptionist was super friendly and helpful, gave us all the information we needed and assured us that even though the reception is in a different place, that they were always around for you. It’s basically you renting a room, making you feel as if you live there, which in my opinion, is the best way to experience it all. Also, the location of this hotel was fantastic, you were slap bang in the middle of everything! We did not need to use any transport as we were so close to everything, you step outside the door and you’re on flower market. We stayed for a week, and all week, even as the reception was at a different location, they were always around if we needed them like the receptionist said, cleaners come around 10am everyday, unless you ask them not to go in(Like we did). Upon checking out, you have to go back to the reception (Adam suites) and the receptionist had a great talk with us, we gave the key card back and all was good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful decor and fantastic location, check in was smooth...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riff raff outside after the bar closes at 3/4am(no fault of the hotels , they courteously supply earplugs) No milk in fridge for tea/coffee

    Beautiful decor and fantastic location, check in was smooth and 11am checkout is handy. Best hotel and value for money Amsterdam hotel I’ve ever stayed in - looking to rebook asap

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    It was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish there was a bit more space in the rooms.

    I loved the location and how there is a worker there 24 hours a day. Perfect for tourists in feeling safe and in the right area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.0
    I could not wait to get out of the place. Also there is no fire safety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should’ve been made clear that in order to get to your room, you had to be able to carry suitcases up very unsafe stairs. This is unacceptable. Also, it was unclear that the property was located at a different place where you pick up the keys. There is no sign there is a hotel. I would not recommend this for anyone except students with knapsacks. For anyone with a suitcase or who is older, the property is unacceptable. Also there is no fire safety.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep staircase to carry 30kg luggage up is difficult but worth it.

    Bed was comfortable. Wifi was good connection. Location was awesome walking distance to many popular tourist spots. Room was lovely and clean. We had a room looking at the canal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Almost everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to suggest 2 things 1. For old couples, don’t allot 2nd or 3rd floor room as they can have some health issues while going up and down 2. For indian tourists, they should provide few more utensils and a small microwave oven as every one is not able to eat what is available in the market.

    Almost everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely dreadful
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty the reception was away from the hotel very hard to find dirty bed not made when we arrived had to ask for a new room all and all it looked like a hostel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice room, good location, but too noisey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nightclub next door! These rooms only have single glazing on the windows so if you are staying on a Friday and Saturday don't expect to sleep before 4:30am. Loud talking/shouting/screaming outside all night long.

    Room over looking the canal was very nice and comfortable. The location is central with most places either walkable or only a short tram journey away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.2
    No thanks
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage to identify it. No onsite reception desk just a vending machine. Very noisey environment. All this mentioned by other reviewers so not sure why I went ahead with booking. Wouldnt stay again.

    Close to city activities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    I am happy I only stayed one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nightclub next door spoiled my night, The room did not at all look like the advertised room at the net, It was fake. The room was small and very dark. The room wasn´t worth the fee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.9
    Just the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For all looking at this property, please see our pictures. Blood stains on walls, hair in bed, furniture and fixtures broken, window handle broken, bathroom door not closing, extremely dirty, safe not working. We asked for cleaning service or for the room to be changed and we were told that cleaning will be done next day, all we got was fresh towels. No one even bothered to clean. Bins dirty, balcony full of cigarette buds. For something over 100 eur absolutely unacceptable and not worth the money. By the way, place is not a hotel but hostel and if we would know this we would never checked in there, also pictures on their website are not current may be when they opened 10 years ago.

    Just the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and very adequate room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor things: Felt a lot more like an apartment than a hotel. Given that it was self catering anyway, it would have been a 10/10 with a microwave/oven and a few utensils. Or even just a bigger fridge so we could store our own food and drinks. More minor things: The shower was great but didn't have a door or shower curtain, water therefore got all over the bathroom floor.

    Location was perfect, very clean, beds were super comfy - not much to dislike about this hotel. The staff were also cool. Overall it's a perfect place to stay, especially for the location, about a 15 minute walk maximum to everything major in the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV wasn’t angled to reach the bed so you couldn’t watch it.

    Room was lovely at the bottom of the corridor, bed super comfy and cute little terrace outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Liked the location, liked the cleaningness, the bed was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4th floor was tough with heavy bags, check in on other adress was not communicated well, sounds of the supperclub during night

    Liked the location, liked the cleaningness, the bed was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Check in is a nightmare.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is a nightmare. No reception at the hotel which we were not informed until we got there and had to get a stranger off the street to phone them.. We walked up three big flights of stairs with our 25 kilos bags just to be told our room was actually the first floor and the first room, we Had then been checked in for two hours then told we had to move due to maintenance that needed to be done in the room.. Due to this inconvenience as all of our friends were staying at the same hotel, we were told they’d refund us 1x night accommodation and I had to wait for booking.com to accept it and refund my money. Three weeks later no one knows anything about it and is refusing to call me back. If you don’t want to give anyone a refund then don’t say it. Wouldn’t recommend as they only tell you things they want to hear, they’re very unorganised and over priced for what you get.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was on the 4th floor and we had to negotiate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the 4th floor and we had to negotiate extremely steep stairs with heavy bags. Not ideal for the older traveller. Also arrived in the middle of a heat wave and being the top floor, the room was too hot to sleep in even with the windows open. Fans were supplied but didn't provide much relief unfortunately.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect , supermarket on the corner .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Club next door if we weren’t tired I don’t think we would of got to sleep . We had to collect the key card from across the road (but were told this in an email)

    Location was perfect , supermarket on the corner . Lovely room . We kept our luggage in the Adam suite building which saved us lugging it around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    It’s location was amazing close to everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No receptionist at the location had to go to another hotel first to check in (not an issue but the door at the flower market hotel is open to anyone) We stayed on 4th floor and the room was full off mosquitos I stayed for 2 nights and have 16bites

    It’s location was amazing close to everywhere Staff were helpful when we couldn’t get in hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced for quality of accommodation provided and room not set up for hot weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air conditioning, and because it was hot during our stay, we had no choice but to keep the windows open. This meant that we had no way of keeping out the mosquitoes. It was either a lack of sleep through being extremely hot, or a lack of sleep because of swarms of mosquitoes. The room was not cleaned during our stay and there was not enough tea and coffee provided. There was hardly enough room to walk around the bed and this was not at all clear from the pictures and description online.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was nice. The coffee was alright.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    I read reviews about the hotel and was scared to book but we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is under construction and there is no sign on the front which made it hard to find at first. The stairs are pretty steep so I wouldn't recommend it for those with mobility issues. But we enjoyed our stay and the helpful staff.

    I read reviews about the hotel and was scared to book but we needed a room quickly and were out of options so I decided to give them a try. The person helping us was available, helpful, and quick to respond. The location is awesome, right on the canal and there is a grocer less than a block away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    CRAP
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Staff, Lies from the Staff. Hotel room was not the best, 3 of us staying only 1 coffee cup. coffee machine broke. Promised a balcony even when we got there and also early check in, Did NOT get any.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    3.3
    should not be called a hotel. Nice enough guy but was grossly misrepresented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs, no reception, managed by business 2 "blocks" away, filthy window which looked onto another bed in another room, too small of a fan, extremely noisy with nightclub next door (On a Monday night), fortunately, we asked for toilet paper-none in room, no place to put it, toilet seat falling off, Wi-Fi hanging from wires just outside of room, no signage, didn't know it was a "hotel", workers working when we arrived, they didn't know if it was s hotel,

    there was nothing. Good neighborhood but right next to a loud nightclub.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    The location is good and accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of no smoking signs everywhere, but still there is always someone smoking on all floors, since they don’t even had fans or AC we had to sleep with the windows open, breathing the smoke of the other rooms and having to get along with the mosquitoes, the room is way smaller than what they seem on the pics and the furniture is nonfunctional

    The location is good and accessible

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Location was probably the only good thing.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and being up on the 4th floor the steep stairs and 2 luggages to carry up and down was very hard. There was no air conditioner on the top floor and it was the hottest floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Location was excellent but the hotel/room was very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No reception - so no staff on hand. Room was very small. No door to bathroom, part of the room therefore no privacy. View was poor. The room was not prepared properly. We found part of the chandelier in our bed. Not enough tea/coffee/mugs, no teaspoons. Room not cleaned during stay. Mosquitoes and stairs are a nightmare! Do not leave your bedroom window open!!

    The location was excellent, the hotel and accommodation was poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Location near to flower market and supermarket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing narrow and steep stairs especially going up to 2 floors and above. Not safe for old people and kids.

    Location near to flower market and supermarket. Tram station just at the corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.3
    Loved Amsterdam, but would not use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The checking in procedure was none existent, a key was left in a box on your room door, which resulted in someone else getting into our room before we got there! it took someone over 30 mins to get to us as there is no one on site at any point. The hotel is next to a night club, which has load music until 4am. The curtains do not meet, so we used a safety pin to pin them together! Plus the TV was broken.

    The Hotel was in a good position for visiting most of the sites of Amsterdam

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    Wonderful if you like terrible hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was so difficult to find as it's not in the same location as the rooms or clearly sign posted. Room was tiny and extremely hot - no air con - with loads of mosquitoes (and other questionable bugs) using us for a midnight snack. Stairs were a joke, they may as well have been a ladder - ridiculously steep making luggage difficult to get up and down. Location of the rooms are above/beside a nightclub so horribly noisy until 4am. We weren't informed what the wifi password was until after we had already checked out. Useful!

    Location was pretty good and the staff at The Adam Suites were pleasant. Overall awful "hotel" though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had room on the first floor, the gap between our roomdoor and floor made the room little chilly and let the mosquitos in.

    Room was newly renovated and it was beautiful. Location was great and the check-in wasnt hard to find. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    For heavy sleepers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to sleep bring your earplugs! It is very noisy especially in the nighttime when DJ is playing and you also can hear everything that happens on the corridor. Couldn't sleep in the morning either, there was some construction work going on at the hotel and woke up to drilling noise.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.9
    Don't be fooled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is being heavily renovated of which we were not told. There is no reception on site, I had to walk another 5 mins away to check in, also of which I was not told. There was no lock on the front entry, so patrons from the nightclub next door waltz in. Our room was not cleaned on arrival so we had to wait an additional hour, of which they had only then changed the linen, not cleaned. The rooms are super tiny with no room to move, we could barely fit our two suitcases in. It was hot and stuffy, no fan or way of getting air moving in the room. It was mosquito central and we were eaten alive. Our room was never serviced so all towels and bedding was damp despite contacting Adam suites. This accommodation really dissappointed and ruined our Amsterdam experience.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    It was great for location but the dampness and stiffness made us not want to return to our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moody bathroom ceiling, bad air conditioning, building in the morning, unfinished feeling to the room

    The style they were going for with the room was cool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Would go back, you get what you pay for and was fine for what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff helpful and location fantastic.

    Reviews were quite bad yet we found staff lovely, ok work going on but wasn't a problem. As with many properties in Amsterdam very steep stairs but to be expected. Isn't a five star but doesn't pretend to be. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.9
    If I don't receive a substantial refund or credit from you, this will be my last Bookings experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to begin? The day staff did not tell the night staff I was coming, and I rang and rang the bell at Adam Suites (this was 9 pm local time, not that late for checking in, and the email said after 6, just come to Adam Suites). A next door night neighbor lent me his phone to call, and Roy did show up but seemed very surprised to have me as a guest (he was helpful, but didn't really check the room). We got to the room, down a hallway full of renovation dust, only to find three new chairs in the room that needed to be moved out. That done, I realized I had no wifi code, had to go over to Adam Suites again and get it. Get back to room--no toilet paper! Fortunately had travel Kleenex. Room had a large gap under the front door, so had mosquitoes to kill. The main door to the building has no latch and slammed for everyone going in and out, so heard door slams all night. A nice coffee maker, no coffee cups. In short, the room wasn't ready to let, but you charged me for it anyway.

    the room was large and renovated, and had AC. Good location within Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    A nice room above a building site. Very central. And city centres aren't quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I read a lot of negative reviews ("My Idea of Hell" stood out) so I was bricking it ahead of arrival - my booking was non-refundable. Despite assurances that building work had finished (a source of many bad reviews already), it certainly hadn't. Also, there's no lock on the front door - not even a catch - and no Reception. You then walk past building materials and up a sawdust-covered staircase to get to your room. Once in your room, it's fine - apart from the chair with a broken leg and the smashed TV screen. In truth, they should shut the hotel, get all the work done and re-open with a Reception. And get someone to show it a bit of love. Quite a few rough edges needed neatening up in the room. It's all managed at arm's length from another building. No cleaning or fresh towels unless you specifically ask. It's more like a nice room above an unlocked building site. And there is the club next door. We stayed on a Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday night. The club was only open on the Monday night. You could hear the music and at chucking out time (2am) there were some overly-refreshed night-owls not too concerned about leaving quietly. I was slightly concerned that the noise of 3 tram routes just across the canal might keep us awake but they seemed to stop running at a reasonable hour.

    It's very central, making most of the city a walkable distance. Shops, museums, restaurants, the 9 streets, etc. Room was clean and bright. Nice furniture and interior design. There was a fair few negatives, as noted in other reviews but they didn't detract from what was an amazing few days in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Not conftable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooling system, no lift but long stares to carry your luggage up & down, no one there to give you yourkeys on your arrival, maintenance is going on in the building, lots of masquitos eats your flesh all night in May, the street is soo noisy at night untill 6 am. The triple room is so small.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms, insecure windows, deep staircase with bannisters missing, obstacles in the way of passageways - ikea bags full of dirty towels, cigarette butts discarded in water bottles, no reception, building felt very unsafe as a whole - AVOID

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Amazing place!!
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the stairs of the building..but it's an old building they can't do nothing with it..

    The location it's amazing. The stuff is really helpful and welcoming. The rooms are bueatiful! And I really want for coming back there!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Room and bathroom on the 2nd floor were OK clean and tidy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ground floor found under construction, and looks like that ambient will be better in nearest future. Floor stears are to vertical, it is tradicional for old building, must be carefull ! Anyhow I wish to recomend Folwer market Hotel

    Room and bathroom on the 2nd floor were OK clean and tidy, full equiped. Small refrigerator found off service - don't know the reason. Coffie machine and kitlle were ok, coffie, tea, suger packs were enought. Location is excelent, every city's attractions are very close 10-20 min of nice walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, great facilities, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not necessarily a bad thing but stairs were very steep to carry luggage up. Recommend not packing a big bag.

    The bed was amazing, super comfy and clean. Recently refurbished, everything was nice, neat and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Good, but small and a bit noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very little room and on the top floor, so also very hot. There were no door to the toilet/bathroom. There were tea and coffee in the room but no cups and the fridge didn't really cool. The hotel is placed right next to a night club so you could hear the music and bass at night. It is not a hotel with a reception but a town house with rooms, which is both positive and negative in a way.

    Super location. Could walk to everything, shopping, sight seeing places, closed to markets and Rembrandt Square where you could fine some nice bars/cafe's. Very friendly personel. Took 5 minutes with the tramline from the train station and 17 minutes with the train from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.5
    My idea of hell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was severely disappointed with this hotel servicing and facilities. Firstly it felt like staying in a construction site as our room was situated on the 4th floor. On the way up the carpets in the hallways were removed which exposed bare concrete, some of the steep stairs had the hand rails removed which made it particularly hazardous for my 70 year old parents to climb up. Additionally construction tools, machinery and cabling were just littered around the hallways creating a major trip hazard. When we booked this hotel there was no mentioning of the place being under refurbishment. The fact that the hotel was under refurbishment, the management or owners should have closed this place temporarily as it was not fit for customers to enter let alone sleep. When entering my room, the sink was blocked with hair and filled with dirty water as well as my room being blanketed with dust. We barely slept as a nightclub was situated below which started playing loud music around 9pm and did not close until 3am. But then we were woken up again at 7am from the construction workers drilling. I definitely do not recommend staying in this place as the pictures and condition of the advertised hotel (more like a hostel) is atrocious. This accommodation has ruined my holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.9
    building works on the hotel had overrun and the ground floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    building works on the hotel had overrun and the ground floor was a building site, with tools and builders and plasterdust everywhere. we were expected to walk through this to our room on the 1st floor, on a staircase with no balustrade. the frontdoor lock had been removed by the builders. there was no lobby and we had to walk an additional 10 minutes (in the pouring rain) to another address for our key. the hotel management was surprised that we didn't want to stay in the room. they did find us an other apartment (another 15 mins through the rain), but we got no apologies and it was clear they thought we were over-demanding. their main line was 'we sent you an email', but we never received any emails, and they should have made a note of the building work before we booked, and paid!, not after. sending an email is not enough, they should have insisted on a reply to confirm we were happy with the uni-lateral change they made to our contract with them. we did have a nice stay in the other place, but we had to make a fuss to get it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    This was NOT a hotel!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I received a text message telling us that we just needed to give the front door a good push & that our key card was outside our room door, got there and opened the main door by a push and we walked into a buidling site, place is obviously been renovated but we were not informed of this before booking. Got inside our room and the floor was covered in dirt & dust with nails lying around also, bits of the ceiling was on the beds. There was 1 mirror in the bathroom and that was it, the sink in the bathroom was tiny. Tv was smashed so when turned on you could only hear it, you couldnt see anything. There was a kettle in the room but no cups. No shower curtain so when someone had a shower the floor got soaked. Electricity went off for an hour just before we checked out and when we left the "hotel" and went round to another building that was a 10 min walk and also the reception the man said to us that the people sleeping in the room under us was complaining that water was coming down through the ceiling, how this was ment to be our problem we still are not sure...The fact that anyone could of opened the main door by giving it a push made us on edge, we had to carry all our passports and money around at the one time in fear anyone could walk into the building. Would not be staying here ever again or recommending it to anyone else...

    Location was good and beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    The room was clean and interiour was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was construction work downstairs. The room was incredibly small up to the stage that my suitcase almost did not fit in. There was nobody to contact after 6pm and before 10am which was when I was there. There was load noice (music) until after mid-night.

    The room was clean and interiour was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    One of the worst hotel experiences...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we came in, there is no reception so you have to wait outside and call someone to come and let you in and therefore if you have any problems at any point, you have to phone and wait, and if it is through the night you will have to wait until morning. I was aware there was going to be some renovations during our stay but we walked in downstairs and it was a complete building site, dirty and dusty everywhere. Workers were there drilling and with loud equipment from 8am so no chance of having a long lie. It was also difficult to get to sleep as there was a club next door which went on until 4am...even on a Monday. We phoned to mention how loud the work was and the man we spoke to told us that he would ask them to start later on the day after, only for them to start off even earlier! On our second morning after two of us had showered there was evidently no hot water left and so one of our party had to go for a cold shower. On the same morning the electricity was cut off for an hour whilst we were trying to get ready, so no lighting or anything and couldn't charge our phones. When I came back I subsequently found myself itching in three places over my body and when I looked saw them as some sort of bed bug bite, the sheets looked clean but obviously there was an underlying issue with critters! Not a happy customer, would 100% not reccomend!!!!

    Good location but that was about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.9
    Don’t stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for the following reasons: 1. No reception. Had to walk 10 minutes to a separate building for keys. 2. Ground floor is literally a building site - complete with exposed wiring. 3. The hotel is located next door to a night club. The sound of music kept us awake till early hours of morning. 4. Security is poor. The front door is unlocked all night. 5. Ceiling in the ensuite bathroom was covered in mildew. Very disappointed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Amsterdam trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the club next door was loud until early hours of the morning which I did read about before I booked.

    The view from our room was beautiful, comfortable beds the location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Very pleased. Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was not told there would be scaffolding where our canal view was suppose to be... however we did get a reasonable discount which was great.

    The decor and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    We were late checking in and we were delayed booking in,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late checking in and we were delayed booking in, when entering our room previous guests dirty sheets and towels were in room and bed was in made. The loud music kept me and group awake til 3 in morning. As if All wasn’t bad enough we had a freezing cold shower followed by no water at all. We had to leave this poor hotel. I have had better experience in a hostel. Don’t know how they get away with their high prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.0
    We arrived early and was greeted by a lovely man at The Adam Suites, he stated our room was ready sl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and was greeted by a lovely man at The Adam Suites, he stated our room was ready slightly early and handed us the key. We arrived at the Flower Market Hotel to find it covered in scaffolding making it very hard to see where the entrance was and making it very hard to believe this could actually be our hotel. Inside the ‘hotel’ there was a strong smell of cigarettes (after being told it was a non smoking hotel) there was a radiator hanging off the wall, bin bags in the corridor and the check-out box had fallen to pieces. We finally got to our room after taking the vertical stairs all the way to the top, we found two men in our room painting the window doors. They asked us to come back in half an hour, when we did the room spelt of paint and was freezing cold due to them leaving the window open hoping it would air out the smell. We’d had a very long day because of delays due to the snow back in the UK and just wanted to relax. Working in the hotel industry myself, I know things like this happen so decided not to raise my frustration as we wouldn’t be in the room that much anyway however - the bedsheets were dirty, we found someone’s medication in our wardrobe and although we had a kettle, we had nothing to drink out of. Coming back that evening again after tackling the vertical stairs, to the loud noise of the night club next door and the strong smell of cigarettes we found out our curtains did not draw properly. This became a problem in the morning when I was taking a shower, my partner still in bed to find two men on our balcony climbing the scaffolding - they were there for around 15minutes and were not shy to take a look into our bedroom - which you can appreciate is not acceptable when I’m in the shower. I am extremely disappointed with our stay - The photos you portray on booking.com<http://booking.com> are not a true reflection of reality and no where did it state we were going to be staying on a building site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    1) Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Pillows are awful( the next day all of us had pain in neck((( please change pillows! 2) Kettler and cups were provided but no tea/coffee was in the room. Please make sure to put them in the room)

    1) Great location 2) Easy to check in/check out 3) Value for money is good (compating to other places in the center of Amsterdam)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.8
    Unsafe/horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an absolutely horrendous time at the Flower Market Hotel. We had been warned by booking.com in advance that the hotel was having work done so to expect noise during the day, however it was far worse than this. We entered our room to find the window slightly open, and my partner struggled to close and lock it, thinking it had been securely closed. We came home that night to find the windows wide open. The following morning a man knocked on our door and asked what time we were leaving the hotel as he needed to paint the windows. I could only assume that he meant the outside of the windows, but low and behold it gets worse... my boyfriend went to reception (a 5 min walk from the hotel as we had to collect our keys from an office). They assured him that nobody would enter our room when they were out and that they would paint the room after our visit. However we returned home that night to find our belongings moved to the far side of the room, and the window frame that was white when we left was now black, and the Windows once again left wide open. I am appalled that someone would be going into our room while we are out, when we were assured that this would not happen. I have photographic evidence of this all. This is a huge security breach and I am so upset that it happened to us.

    N/a. Definitely would not reccomend. Only positive was the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.0
    Amsterdam was great but I won’t be staying at flower market hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived quite late and there’s no reception, no guides on what to do until you find a sheet stuck on the wall saying to call a building round the corner. We carried our cases 5 flights of stairs until we knew what we needed to do. Got no notification of any works being done on the building (hence the massive scaffolding outside our room). We came into the room was clean and nice looking but no curtains. When I called to ask, I was told do I want to cancel and maybe we can sort out a discount (you can imagine how annoyed we was considering we’ve been travelling all day). Got told he’ll call us back on any rooms available... 40 mins later I called back as we wanted to go eat and only the 11th floor was available with a possibility of no curtains either... the fact that the rooms weren’t checked and we were left with “so what do you want to do” kind of answers, we was getting annoyed nothing was being resolved there and then (my boyfriend had to put the curtains up himself as they didn’t really bother helping). Didn’t get a call back about getting a discount and had 2 people walk in our room whilst we was in bed :) didn’t give us a chance to get up and answer the door. Really poor service and it’s good the rooms were nice.

    Was cosy and a good location near to a lot of things. Bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.9
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Filthy dirty, no reception to help you, nightclub next door!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was filthy dirty from the outside right through to the rooms. Disgusting. Night club next door, we got no sleep as very loud music coming through the walls until very early hours. Avoid this hotel!!

    The shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Good location but tiny and noisey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly advertised, Photos looked nothing like the room Tiny room Nothing was said about the 4 steep flights of stairs up to the room Next to a night club Very very loud untill 4am Said we could check in at 10am and couldnt untill 3pm

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    We loved it and enjoyed every minute, other than the minimal things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is lovely and very good, however, with that said there is a club next door which had big events so a queue outside the door of hotel at one point and we wasn't told about this and you could hear the music every night we was there loudly through our wall. We also had builders working outside our window so could never reply open our curtains which we did not know about; had an email to say they was working on reception I believe but there wasn't one so we don't know what the building was for. In our room it was a little cold at night, till we realised on secons night our window had a crack and whole in the glass so had to try cover that.. but other than the minimal things was a perfect hotel.

    The bed was lovely and comfy, and the location was very good. The staff helped us when we left the key in the room and was on call whenever needed. The decoration of the room is lovely and the tea facilities where what gave us a smile. The check in was quick and simple, thought this was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception.Main doors open 24h a day, no security.Staff came in the room with no apparent reason.Fire alarm went off 5.30am saturday morning and kept on going for an hour because there was no staff to turn it off after firebrigade had been.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.It's like a hostel but more excpensive

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.2
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    firstly reception is a few streets away, so you have to wait for someone to check you in, 3 narrow staircases to climb, heating not on when we arrived, no cups, hot water switched off after a few minutes in the shower, bed was broken and finally no housekeeping service :(

    the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.6
    Massively overpriced boarding house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is clearly a boarding house, not a 'hotel', and is therefore OUTRAGEOUSLY overpriced! My main problems with the whole experience were: There was no storage in the room, just 2 hooks on the wall so there was nowhere to put anything. The TV had no means of turning it on or off, rendering it useless. There was no door separating the bedroom to the bathroom, and the toilet was so close to the wall in front that it can only be used side-saddle. There was a hole (bullet?) in the window making the room cold and draughty, also amplifying the thuds of the nightclub next door. There were no cups/glasses provided in the room despite there being a kettle, and the seemingly-misplaced Nespresso machine in the reception area had no cups nor pods (decoration?!). There was no restaurant/dining area and I didn't once see a member of staff, including there being no housekeeping for the duration of your stay (so ration your towel use!). A really disappointing booking. Avoid!

    The room was clean, the shower was good. The staff on the phone (never on the premises apparently) were helpful when I called on arrival. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    2.5
    There was nothing to like about the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to like about the property. The room was filthy beyond words can describe. Rude staff. We didn't even unpack. We went and got other accommodation and they wouldn't refund us our complete money. Took 50% of it even although we left. Avoid, avoid, avoid. When I asked booking.com why are they advertising something that is not what it says, they don't even check hotels they trust that they are been honest. Will never use bookings.com again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    Do not stay! Keep away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT STAY. After paying with my creditcard a few hours later someone started using my card to purchase items.I presume one of the staff decided to "live it up" I would never recommend to any one to stay.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    On the Albert Hein supermarket section of the Singel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel itself was 'Tatty'. Loose carpets on the stairs, and peeling wallpaper/paint. We arrived quite late and this had been communicated to the Hotel. There was no one at the Hotel when we turned up, but we were let in by another guest leaving. After using the door buzzer, someone did arrive and process our key. Yes, the stairs are really steep, but that seems the norm in Amsterdam, judging by some other similar places we've been to. The music from the 'Supper Club' next door wasn't too much of a problem. All we could hear was the deep Bass. Sure, it went on for quite a while, but it's well documented in other posts, so we were ready for it. Our room was No.5.

    Close to the tram. Some really good shopping in the area too. Flower Market itself is very touristy. Good bathroom too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    The bed was very comfy and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned once throughout our stay no clean towels etc which was a little disappointing also coffee was not replenished so we didn't have any coffee or tea after our first day there was also none to actually greet us at the hotel you had to phone up to check in which was a little strange and pain to find your room lugging your cases up and down the stairs

    The bed was very comfy and the location was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.6
    Poor hotel, but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as next to a night club. No one available at check in. Room too small. Bed not comfortable. Looked more like a hostel than a hotel! Television didn’t work.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    2.9
    Awful, will never be going back. Would not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe if they didn't charge me twice for my stay and 2 weeks later they still haven't given the money back. The room was very high up with no lift and the stairs were really bad, the room was awful no room to move around, or even to leave the suitcase open. the view was awful, check-in was also bad as no one was in reception and I waited hours for someone to come so i could check-in, and no one was ever in the office when we had questions. Overall worst experience. Would not recommend as the quality is awful and the price is way too high.Will never be going back there.

    The bed was comfy, thats about it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I have is we went in January and the room was very cold.

    This is in a great location, walking distance to everything. The room was really clean. I would highly recommend this place. There is steep steps up to the room bare in mind if you have a lot of luggage, not for families right next door to a club which I didn’t find too loud at all considering, no louder than staying anywhere in the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    4.6
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was broken in our room and no one attempted to fix this even though we reported it as soon as we arrived, the whole bathroom ceiling was covered in damp/mold. Under the bed had no been cleaned in a long time and there was items under there from previous guest. There was a kettle in the room with tea and coffee provided but you were given a small plastic cup (usually for water) not suitable for hot drinks.

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Flower Market Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: