Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of WestCord City Centre Hotel 3 stars

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 SC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#150 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3397 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic affordable luxury within walking distance of Central Station and Amsterdam life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel for our family of 4 and it more than met our expectations. The rooms were luxurious and everything from the staff, the lovely cucumber water in the lobby, the snacks and Nespresso offerings and fabulous linens made our stay fantastic. Wifi was excellent. My husband and I and our two teenagers loved it. And, the surrounding neighborhoods are wonderful for all that Amsterdam has to offer. We chose this location because it was so close the Central Station, and were pleasantly surprised by the restaurants and shopping nearby as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Had a great experience here last week (July 2018). Would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff and small but very clean rooms. The location is really great, and not far from the Jordaan neighborhood which is fantastic. Dam Square is a 5 minute walk, the Anne Frank House about 15 minutes. There are coffee shops and bakeries all around the hotel as well. About a ten minute walk to the central train station. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was very small - much smaller than the description...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small - much smaller than the description suggested. The quality of the room was OK but it was an odd shape that had been fitted into a spare corner of the building. This was for a special occasion and I had booked a room which reflected that. At first they couldn't find our booking and I think they just used us to fill a spare place. They were very nice however and even supplied a small bottle of wine for my wife's birthday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures of the room I booked wasn't the room we ended up with, the room was small and no fridge. Breakfast was ok, not a lot to choice from.

    The location was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Location is amazing one, near by everything , just few steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is amazing one, near by everything , just few steps walking for whatever u want, The WIFI is so good , Staff r helpful and answers all concerns

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact that the glass door to the bathroom had no stopper to stop it from hitting the glass shower cubicle door..... very dangerous!!

    Everything..... fantastic hotel. Will be staying again in the future! And will recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Had the most fabulous stay here at the hotel and in the city would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did put the clean my room sign on the door the first day and it wasn’t cleaned but after that it was and they apologised.

    The location of this hotel was literally perfect, trams right outside go to anywhere in the city. Staff at reception were really friendly and couldn’t do enough for you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Good location, good service, good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Petty, but we asked for a replacement for the shower liquid in the bathroom, but we didn't not get it. Apart from that no other "complaints".

    We had booked regular rooms for our 3 night stay and on check-in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to bigger rooms for EU10 per night. We did and we were not sorry. The rooms are different shapes and layouts - the first room we got was still a bit small, but we were able to get another room. If the hotel is fully booked this could be a problem. Apart from that the reception staff were extremely helpful whenever approached. Location is excellent - being a 5 minute walk from the Central Railway station and also 5 mins from Dam Square. We really couldn't have made a better choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Great end to our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff. Using our electronic devices in lobby., receptionist asked would you like a coffee? Promptly went into breakfast room and brought back 2 coffees. That defined our experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    A memorable experience in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of one rooms had no view whatsoever: the window was facing a wall!

    Excellent location, close to everything! Clean and cozy rooms. Comfortable beds. Great view from the triple room and awful view from the twin room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Had a great time and would return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed having a fridge, a small one would be ideal.

    Nice hotel in a great location with plenty of places to eat and drink. Good breakfast and very comfortable beds. Tram and bus stop just outside the hotel and it’s less than 10 minutes walk to Centraal Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value and clean and safe accommodations with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet could have been cleaned--a spot near the bathroom in 312. The fact there were no nightstands required us to put books and eyeglasses and phones on the floor. There were plastic chairs with arms on them in the room meaning you could not put a suitcase on the chairs. There was no place for the suitcases other than the floor. The bathroom was small and the soap dispenser in the shower became empty on the second day.

    Great location-near the railroad station and all the action. Staff was helpful and friendly. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was great. Loved the flavored water in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,everything was great. I have no complaints!

    Staff - friendly and helpful especially Bienva on the front desk Location - tram stop right outside hotel & 5 min walk to central station. City centre hotel,everything is walking distance. Comfortable - had a great sleep and no noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location - lots of eateries nearby, tram stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room. Didn't like the configuration of the desk behind the bed. We had no room to move freely around the room - If someone was working on the desk and you need to use the bathroom you would have to climb over the bed. The carpet on the wall is a little gross but I suppose this acts as a sound barrier between rooms.

    Excellent location - lots of eateries nearby, tram stop right in front of the hotel. Walking distance to all the places you wish to visit during your stay. Loved the complimentary mint water in the reception area. Breakfast was good - good bread and cheese varieties, The bed was comfortable. We arrived early and were given a room without needed to pay for early check in (thank you). Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    In general the hotel was very good, nice location, easy access to everything in the centraal loc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, difficult to pass to the other side of the bed because the desk and chair was obstructing the way. No room slippers and toothbrush/paste provided.

    The hotel was nice and secured starting from the main entrance not any one can easily just get in, have to use the bell and talk to the receptionist from the outside. The room was nice, it was clean, the bed was so comfy, I like most specially the toilet and bath with all glass wall and doors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice location but.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Considering the price I paid for the room, it was very small with hardly any walking space around the bed. When I sat on the chair facing the small desk, my son could not walk pass me because there wasn't any space left.

    The hotel is located near the main attractions in Amsterdam. The breakfast was fairly decent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    After the room position then Check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy lift/elevator system. At the room, you feel like that you sleep next the rail road all the night. The worst thing is ; Arter your complaint, they're intentions nothing, because they are full, all booked.

    Close almost everywhere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bathroom glass door which can not be fully closed, a water faucet is too short for this type of a sink

    Nice interior, friendly staff, comfy beds and pillows, good cleaning service, coffee machine in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    The location was central, staff super friendly but the room disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was expensive for what you actually get. It was very compact. There were stains on the carpet and the cleanliness was questionable.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful about navigating the area at large. The location is very central and there's easy access to all forms of transport and most things are a walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location to see city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price was high and the lobby was really warm.

    Location was fabulous and perfect for our needs. My husband and I were traveling with a one year old and a friend so the triple room was just what we needed. The room fit a crib and was clean enough for our little one to crawl around. Room was small but expected because of location. Lots to walk to in the area and close to train station. Pricier than other options for the convenience was worth it. Needed your room key to access the building and elevator which I liked for security purposes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The room was very clean and tidy, average size. Safe in room but no fridge. The staff in Reception were very polite and friendly. Great central location close to Dam Square and Central railway station.. We have stayed at this hotel before as it meets our requirements.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful property. Location excellent, great outdoor restaurants across street. Front desk people were very helpful, always had a smile. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast, good location, strange decor & furniture setup. No privacy for the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy in the hotel room bathroom. The bathroom wall was glass and not private at all! We had to leave the room for someone to have privacy in the bathroom. Not good with teenager. Also the adult bed was set up between strange, if you are tall your feet will be on the wall.

    Clean & good location. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall its a good hotel but with rooms and bathrooms so small we couldn't open the bathroom door fully and had to squeeze around the door to shower or use the toilet. I would class this as a danger as it would be easy to catch yourself on the corner of the basin, and if you were to slip I dread to think of the consequences.

    Location is great and a good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    A good location for a brief visit to Amsterdam by train and room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost the last room available in central Amsterdam! The room was almost smaller than the En-suite! For 2 single beds there was no possibility of making space between them.... But it was an easy walk from the rail station and gave easy access to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel. Fantastic mini break. Would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about, however Could be cheaper.

    The hotel is located in such a fab location. Easily a 5 minute walk from the central station and close to the city centre to explore. The staff were amazing and super friendly. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. We celebrated our 4 year anniversary whilst staying here and they had even left a cute little gift on the bed for us. This is a fantastic hotel and we will be returning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel for short stay but value for money lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small & stripped back but for visit to Amsterdam this is perfect. Thought, for what it was value for money was lacking, even for a city centre location.

    Great location. Good staff. Nice breakfast. An ideal hotel for couples visiting Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Beds very comfortable, room a little small with 2 adults and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom space was very cramped where the toilet was and we often when down to the lobby floor and used the bathrooms there as we could get in with our room key. Otherwise, we expected smaller rooms so we had anticipated that and really, we were out most of the day and into the evening. Was a great location for our 3 days before our cruise left (also put us close to the cruise port).

    Beds very comfortable, room a little small with 2 adults and 2 large suitcases. Bathroom adequate. Really appreciated the breakfast had lots of choices from hot to cold and was a good start to the day. We were happy we had included it when we booked the rooms. Staff was super friendly and helpful and hotel was, as promised, city center!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    My trip to Amsterdam was too short, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small.

    The location can't be beat when visiting Amsterdam for a few days. Within walking distance of the central train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    The rooms have everything you need and they are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a quite small, however they are comfortable.

    The rooms have everything you need and they are clean. The location is fantastic as it’s a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, 5 minutes from the Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - As every other hotels in Amsterdam, very expensive for what they are (I've travelled in 50+ countries, including many cities). - Quiet at night but noisy with traffic in the morning (we had a room on the main street).

    - The location (so central, 5min walking from Amsterdam Centraal station) - Both big bedroom and bathroom - Safe in the room - Strong wifi everywhere in the hotel - Good breakfast, served till 10:30am - Nice staff - Safe and secure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told the payment was pay at the property yet 2 days before £241 was taken out of my bank as a ‘pre-payment’ so I therefore feel like the ‘pay at the property’ statement was wrong. Our room 401 was also right next to the lift so struggled to get a good night’s sleep as this was disturbed every time another guest used the lift.

    The beds were really comfortable with super soft pillows that your head just sunk into. There was a safe in the room which was available free of charge allowing us to feel at ease about our passports and valuables being safe. The location of the hotel was also fab, right in the centre and 5 min walk from the train station, main square and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    WiFi was good, location is excellent, it was very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You needed your key to open doors and operate lifts, which was a little inconvenient.

    WiFi was good, location is excellent, it was very clean and staff were nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    My stay was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    All the staff were very friendly. This is an excellent location with a tram stop almost across the street and good restaurant near by. Central Station and Dam Square are with in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for sight seeing, very enjoyable, warm clean and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom small. could be improved if sink was half the size. Clean and functional but very tight to move around in.

    Location Excellent with friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great! Staff is great! Shower great! Nespresso machine in all rooms! Room was small but it doesnt matter when you have this location. When you're in Amsterdam you're not going to spend your day at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Expensive hotel and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room odd shaped and small, irregular walls and one side of bed right under the window. Bathroom was actually a quarter of the room, just a glass door and glass partition. Part of the red light district had moved within the hotel area. One 'shop' could be seen from our bedroom window, with it's occupant actively plying her trade.

    Train station and all the tourist areas were all within easy reach. Never more than 1.5 km walk. Plenty of restaurants and local shops. 1 Hour Canal cruise well worth doing. Plenty of shops if you like shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    NOT GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY IN OUR CASE. WE WILL NOT RETURN. BE MINDFUL OF YOUR BELONGINGS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OUR SON'S LIFELONG 11 YRS OLD SOFT TOY A SIZE OF HALF A PILLOW WENT MISSING WITHOUT TRACE AT CHECK-OUT, WHICH IS UNBELIEVABLE. WE DON'T THINK THE MANAGEMENT IS GENUINE ABOUT RECOVERING IT, SADLY.

    DESPITE OUR HEART-BROKEN EXPERIENCE OF LOSING OUR SON'S LIFELONG AND MOST SENTIMENTAL TRAVEL COMPANION (WITH LITTLE/NO VALUE TO OTHERS), BREAKFAST ROOM IS NICE, BOTH FOOD AND STAFF. THANK YOU.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotels in Amsterdam by any measure are expensive, I believe due to a freeze on any new hotel construction. A double room in this 3star hotel for4 nights was almost the cost of our 2 return airfares from Australia with a ‘top ten’ airline! And more than 10 nights in London. West cord take ever opportunity to add extra charges; 10Euro for 1 hour later check out, 10 Euro to book a taxi.

    The location is great; very convenient for a tourist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Cool, clean hotel in perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is not very private because it is divided with blured glass, but for couples it does not matter. It is very clean and everything works well which is more important.

    Location is just perfect. Everyting is clean, good bed, nice breakfast. 24 hour self service mini store in hotel lobby instead of room mini bar is very nice touch and we liked it a lot. No one can get in the hotel nor use elevator or lobby toiletes without room card which we found very cool and felt more secure to be honest. Staff was great during check in/check out and efficient with our request for extra blanket. Totally recommend this hotel to everyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Pfffff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was rock hard. Also booked a double room and got two singles and got fobbed off with the most rubbish excuse ever for it. Staff were polite and I'm not going to say the hotel or the experience was bad per se.... but I'd stay somewhere else next time I visit Amsterdam

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice to be near the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a little strange. Bed facing the wall and TV, friend's room was a triangle, maybe a foot between the bed corner & the wall. Bathrooms a little strange also, all glass top and sink. Rooms small, expected for Europe. A little of the red light district behind the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Would certainly book there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but sufficient

    Great location near train station, canal tours and restaurants . Hotel was secure and required key card access. Front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask to change rooms as the layout wasn’t very good. The room sizes are slightly small and I thought for the money we paid that the little things like complimentary toiletries should have been included

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    comfortable rooms and helpful staff
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was a bit hot at night. Openning window was good but sound from outside increased. Had to wait at reception for a bit. Person on reception was great but busy and no one else around to help

    comfortable rooms and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Good and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet should firstly be cleaned. And then properly maintained thereafter.

    Bed is good. Room and toilet size ok. Coffee making machine .. free coffee !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Location was great for getting around Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room without a view but hey ho comfy room for city centre

    Location was great for getting around Amsterdam. 5 min walk to Central Station and handy for canals and eating in Jordaan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent and within walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms! There is no privacy what so ever, everybody in the room can hear and see whatever is going on in the bathroom considering there is glass panels instead of walls.

    Location was excellent and within walking distance of everything we needed which saved us money from taxis and trams.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    We stayed ok..would have preferred more value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view No plug in basin Staff not very helpful Rooms small and extremely basic Had to check 3 times before staff actually booked taxi as requested Breakfast basic and disappointing

    Location Rooms neat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Easy access to public transport system
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than indicated on the photos, although we had two single beds they were pushed together and you could only access them from the one side, having to climb over the first to get to get on to the second one, not a good situation when you need to go to the bathroom at night. The carpets were extremely dirty, the Aircons didn't work and we had to ask for the bin to be cleaned as they didn't clean it for 2 days.

    The property is very well situate with trains, trams and busses within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, nearly everything in the centre was within 30 minutes walk. Tram stops right outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was just a bit too firm. The room is noisy with window open, no surprise given the location, but we couldn’t get the room cool enough for sleep otherwise.

    There were variations in the breakfast offering between the days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall an enjoyable stay but a little disappointed with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was somewhat small for a double, a little cold and also noisy from the outside even with double glazing. It was not worth the price we paid.

    The hotel was very centrally located and was within easy walking distance of the Station and town etc. The staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    The friendly warm staff at the Westcord, the amazing location made for a memorable stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views, but not a deal breaker.

    The staff was remarkable. I enjoyed the lovely morning breakfast. The room (although small) was clean, tidy, comfortable and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Weird, Uncomfortable bedroom layout
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin bedroom and bathroom was a very odd layout. There were no bedside tables for clock, glass of water, glasses etc. Both bedside lights were either on or off - not handy when 1 wants to read and the other person wants to sleep. If you used the desk and chair the other person could not pass to use the bathroom without the working person getting up and pushing the chair in. The bathroom was see through so light spilled into bedroom and you could see other person while at sink or even on toilet. There was no bar only a place to buy goods to take to room and no fridge in rooms. Coffee machine, but no Coffee supplied.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Good choice for included breakfast. Centrally situated, easy to get to transport around town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing stay. I am sure better options are available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am sure that the room advertised and pictured that we booked exists but we did not receive it. When we checked in we were advised that the double room was very small and we were given a twin room. This room (502) was oddly shaped without room for bedside tables and difficult to walk around the end of the bed. Breakfast would have been good if the hot food was not served cold.

    Located easy walking distance from the train station and many attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    For a pleasant stay at a great location try WestCord City Centre Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since I stayed for two weeks, a larger room would have been more comfortable, but I still had an excellent stay

    Great Location Competent professional friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    We felt well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom part was older it needs updating the bathroom was great.

    The breakfast was excellent lots of variety the staff were very accmodating. The front desk staff were very helpful the fact you could purchase public transit passes at the hotel was very helpful and everyone was interested in what we were doing. A great stay felt like home thanks to all of the staff. The location could not been better so central to everything. Thanks westcord central staff especially Bruno

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    I didn’t like the fact the maids didn’t clean our room until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact the maids didn’t clean our room until the 3rd day of us being at the hotel. Even then they left trays off food we were told to leave there by reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, lovely staff, clean, tidy and so near to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just to put the milk for cereal next to it rather than next to the juice in the breakfast bar

    Straight away the hotel was modern, clean, tidy and friendly. The rooms were the same and the beds and linen were so comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Would recommend as its a good location and very nice nice hotel, but ideally for couples only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better privacy in the bathroom/shower, again only a problem if your sharing the room with your mates.

    Stayed at this hotel for three nights with five friends, it was supposed to be four but after booking two twin rooms another friend wanted to come too. I emailed the hotel and asked to change one of the twin rooms to a triple room but sadly they had no triple rooms available for those dates so they put an extra bed in one of the twin rooms for an extra 60 euros a night. The extra bed was the one I ended up sleeping on and it was extremely uncomfortable and very squeaky being simply a fold out bed with a mattress on top. However my friends had no complaints about there beds and got a good nights sleep in them. The room was very clean and tidy with an excellent view. I must warn potential visitors however that the bathroom, although very nice and tidy, comes with blurred glass panels, which is fine if your a courting or married couple but embarrassing if staying with your mates as you can see them undressing, showering or going to the toilet through the glass!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, good breakfast
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was tired looking - the decor etc. The bathroom in the room was very strange since the “walls” were glass and slightly frosted. As well there was carpet up the wall as decor - very strange.

    Right in city centre and the breakfast that was included was very good with great selection of foods for every taste.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom walls are made of glass panels, as well as the bathroom door which doesn't close tight, has slot between itself and the glass wall, and is consequently absolutely sound transparent. When you visit bathroom you have the feeling as if you take shower and do other things just in the middle of your sleeping room. Considering that it's a double room and you are not alone, you have to switch on tv in the room and also take with you your phone with music playing in it to provide the least feeling of privacy when you sit on the lavatory bowl. Also the bathroom basin is equipped with a short uncomfortable water tap. You just don't have enough place for your hands and you always scrub metal details in the basin and hurt your fingers every time you wash hands. Room curtains are in some old blood stains, probably left by smashed mosquitoes. Considering that we stayed there in the middle of April and it is still rather cold for mosquitoes in Amsterdam at this time yet, we can only come to conclusion that the curtains were not cleaned since previous summer. Electric sockets in the room probably are not very powerful, as coffee machine doesn't work simultaneously with kettle, so you cannot prepare two drinks at the same time, and one of you will wait for his/her turn. Light switches are located just above your bed pillow. You touch them with your head when you sleep, the light switches on, and you wake up. This happens several times per night. There is enough room to place them at least 10 cm higher, and the problem would be solved, but we've got what we've got.

    The location is great. Right between the Central Station and Dam Square The room and the hotel on the whole is clean in spite of what was said above about the curtains. Cleaning service is provided every day, and the towels are also changed every time you need it. In the room there are coffee machine and tea-kettle with the set of coffee capsules, tea-bags, portion milk and sugar, and all of that stock is replenished every day. Bed linen is fresh and white, the bed itself is comfortable and cosy. The room is air-condishioned. Room window is sound proof, and trams in the street do not disturb you at all. Hotel designers done their work great. Room itself looks impressive and modern. Also it is spacious which is rare for Amsterdam city centre 3 star hotels. The staff is very friendly and is always available 24 hours a day. Breakfast table is very diverse, everything is fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are quite small and glass bathrooms don´t give much privacy. Be careful if you book a room which is not "with a view" - one of our rooms had a window but leading to an air shaft, so there was not much light.

    The staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall I felt that I had selected a good, modern, clean hotel, but room layout could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The layout of the rooms with the desk BEHIND the bed .This makes the room feel even smaller with the bottom of the bed up against a wall. It felt awkward to get around, and claustrophobic! Also the sink is FAR too large for such a small bathroom.

    A very clean ,modern hotel with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable short stay with lots of places to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a self service bar/sandwich bar which is cashless which is ok but I would rather have a lounge bar with staff At Central Station you have to make sure your money wallets etc are out of sight and safe as pick pockets are in this area

    Very comfortable stay breakfast had a wide choice to choose from only 6 minutes walk to central station and Dam Square and trams stopped very near to hotel The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful Local attractions are within walking distance of this hotel and canal tours very informative

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room next to lift therefore very noisy everytime someone used the lift, made it difficult to sleep Room very small Twin beds but no way to seperate them Glass door to bathroom, no proper doorframe so large gap around edge, not very private

    Staff helpful Breakfast good Room clean Great location for station and city centre 12pm checkout helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom leaked and was not immediately fixed. in general the condition of the room (fixtures and fittings) was not in line with the price.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Great city break in lovely hotel perfect location would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be slightly bigger.

    Staff so friendly and helpful rooms kept clean although quite small. Beds really comfy quiet had a great nights sleep. Shower hot and powerful too :) Tv had English shows to watch on an evening also. Tea/coffee facilities in room and WiFi good across the hotel. Breakfast every morning was great replenished often. Location was brilliant only a few minutes walk from the station and attractions. Great choice of shops and restaurants along the same road too. Could not fault this hotel and would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Location amazing, extremely central and near all attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, this hotel has no faults

    Location amazing, extremely central and near all attractions. Hotel staff extremely friendly & helpful. Will be returning to this hotel whenever I revisit Amsterdam

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    It'd states the room has a city view but we just had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It'd states the room has a city view but we just had a view of the street outside Our room was just one room the toilet and shower was in the corner with just glass separating it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall the hotel was nice but the small bedroom/bathroom would put me off staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was way too small and not enough storage for clothes and suitcases. The bathroom was tiny, hardly any room to move. Toilet shower and sink was too close together. A large person would not be able to use the bathroom because it is so pokey.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Really nice hotel. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy. We could hear the maids cleaning the rooms banging around people going in and out of there rooms door slamming etc. We could also hear the rubbish being collected outside. We were on the first floor so most stuff off the street you can hear.

    The hotel is lovely really clean an modern. Great location not far from most attractions. Hotel staff are really nice help you with anything. Rooms are small but standard you have everything you need. You’ve only in there to sleep and get changed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room, as requested; upgraded from a single to a more spacious double room at no extra cost; comfy bed; friendly staff; good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallest room I have had to the best of my memory. Had to store my bag in the center of my room and circle it when moving around.

    Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive for what it is😐
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not great, room very small for £200 per night. Reception very basic, not very comfortable. Staff were not helpful.

    The location was very convenient, close to the station and alot if the attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse WestCord City Centre Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: