Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Hotel West-Ende 4 stars

Steenweg 1, 5707 CD Helmond, Netherlands

#2 of 6 hotels in Helmond

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 710 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were doing the airport shuttle that was advertised on booking. We flew in Eindhoven airport at 11pm with a 3 years old child and had selected this hotel ONLY for the advertised airport shuttle service. Upon request by email (after booking completed), hotel indicated that we should get a taxi or bus plus train. Reception later confirmed that no shuttle service from airport was available. Result was a 97 EUR fare for a 108 EUR hotel stay. Feeling defrauded by misleading advertisement.

    Hotel was clean and reasonably confirtable, albeit a bit noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was expensive (I did not purchase it so cannot comment on quality) and if I'd had a car I probably would have been annoyed at the parking fees. Otherwise, no complaints.

    Elegant and comfortable room. I loved that the lights and AC/fans only worked if you insert your key card in a slot; that way, no electricity is wasted by careless guests. The hotel is located just across the canal and a short walk from a square with a great bakery/sandwich place, so if you cannot afford the (rather expensive) hotel breakfast, this is a convenient alternative. Room price was reasonable (but please be aware that parking and breakfast are extras).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice big room where 3 people could stay together Friendly staff Located in the city center next to shops, museum and entertainment Enough space to park our car behind the hotel (extra charged)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great hotel! First of all - the lovely staff that been so helpful! We really appreciated cancelation issue that been sorted out! Thanks a lot for that and also thanks for mini bar top up at 3am❤️ The room... just great! Having big bath with tv in front AND a separate shower was just a great experience! Enjoyed it so much! Room is very clean, two wardrobes, two chairs and big bed! Pillows, mattress, cover - everything perfect! Had a lovely sleep! The location is very good. All the bars and restaurants just few meters from hotel! We definitely recommend this place for everyone! Hopefully we will come back soon too!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When they could not book both of the rooms we had been promised, they did nothing to help us. Did not call or even recommend another hotel. We had to make a separate reservation elsewhere ourselves.

    It seemed like a nice hotel. But they only had one room left available when we arrived even though we booked 2 rooms!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of noise from the bar downstairs,and the room wasnt that clean

    got an uppgrade to the bridal suite because of an overbooking .Friendly staff good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife did not think much of the lighting in the bathroom for make-up purposes & mentioned this to the hotel at the time. If this were remedied, the room would have been perfect.

    The location is perfect for an overnight stay, as it is just off the E34 motorway. Parking is secure & the hotel modern & very comfortable. The restaurant menu is healthy & varied. The restaurant staff are delightful & speak excellent English! Breakfast is also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the maid barging in without knocking in 10am. The toilet was separated from bathroom. That is somewhat inconvenient.

    We liked the room, it was big. Bathtub had allso a TV. The pub bellow was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    they are cleaning the room only twice in week also towels and shower gels, when we came back to the room the floor wasn't clean and the shower Gels not renewed , the bed sheet look like not changed . when i complain in the reception next day morning , and i came back during night ( we traveled all day) , i found that only shower gel changed to new . the room was big . but the hotel is far from main visiting spots in Netherlander . during weekend this is strong noise from street clubs in down ( we was in the 4th floor ( last floor) .

    big room , we was 3 person .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no one help to carry the luggage and even if you want to carry by ur self there is no trolley to carry the luggage, its very difficult if u have many luggage. It's weird that hotel doesn't have luggage trolly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    to put more tea bags and sugar for 4 people to small toilet room weakend night was noisy from nearby restoransat

    nice hotel clean and friendly small kitchen in the room comfort bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On friday night loud music from bar until very late hours. Even with windows shut could hear it.

    Loved having the apartment rooms ... great for families

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Initially charged for parking, which was later removed. Would have liked low cost alternative light breakfast

    Location was ideal and staff extremely friendly. Room spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival in the reception area we were already confronted with a smell of spicy food. When we entered the bar for a drink this kind of curry or spicy smell was so dominating, that we decided to continue the evening outside the hotel, it took away all pleasure. Most likely the staff of the bar experienced the same since we had to ask the reception if there was any staff available. This is a reason for me to not go there again, despite all positive aspects.

    Welcome at reception was great and warm. Nice room, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator to the breakfast room and my husband is disable and they want to charge 5 EUR per day and person to bring the breakfast to the room.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the eggs could have been a bit fluffier ...

    aircon in the rooms even though the hotel is next to a very busy road, you do not hear a thing the bathroom was awsome bcause you could watch tv from the tub :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very average, worse than in some other hotels which are cheaper. Breakfast this style is just below par.

    Large bathroom, nice room, well decorated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of my room was half done (wet towel left on my bed, no refill of tea/coffee) No bottle of water available. Only a drink machine where you can buy water for more than 2€... Finally, I received a parcel that I have to claim at the reception desk because no one informed me about it

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being able to take a hot bath after a long day of work was wonderful! Rooms are spacious with room 423 having the best view. Breakfast is crisp with plenty of healthy options.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two Breakfast while the staff is vacuum cleaning! Asked for a room on the quite side and the room I got was on the main and relatively noisy street. Granted: with closed windows it did not disturb but since I like to sleep with open windows... The carpet could have really enjoyed a cleaning. Bathroom floor was sticky at places. Sink missed a scrubbed.

    Large room and very large bathroom with shower and bath tub with a strange inlet configuration though. Good breakfast in sympathetic room. Nice welcome at the reception and effective check in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is in a great location especially if you get a room overlooking the river. Parking was free and as well as the WiFi. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly, one of them even went out of their way to help. would defiantly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a double room at last minute and was a fantastic deal. The location is perfect, five minutes walk from main train station. Hotel is spotless, staff and service was spot on. Even got a free drink at check in as one of the many elevators was out of order. Helmond is close to Eindhoven (9 mins by train), Nuenen (where Van Gogh lived and worked - 20 mins by bus) so a good jumping off point for the area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking costs 12,50€ per day, even for hotel guests not really negativ, but somehow we always stay in the old part of the hotel, even though there is a new building, just curious how the new part of the hotel is.

    Got upgraded! Thank you. Very nice room. Good location. Very friendly receptionist, as always. We will continue to book this hotel for future visits in Helmond.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1, Loud music across the road from the pub 2, noisy fan intermitently running through the night.

    1, Very nice hotel 2, good,free wifi signal 3, spacious and quality rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took our 91 year-old aunt to dinner and she had trouble negotiating the many steps to the bar and restaurant area. There is no disabled access to these areas or to the toilets. Service in the restaurant was inattentive. We struggled to call the waiter's attention to take our order and to clear our plates and take our dessert order though it was not busy. The food itself was good though.

    Spacious, quiet room in the new wing, fast lift.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With currency rate it worked out at £100 per night for our twin room. Over three days we only had housekeeping once. Poor show. Very grey towels. Breakfast would have been nice.

    The location was central. The receptionist was polite. The lifts were quick and quiet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very good, not many choices. I had 2 single beds instead of a kingsize

    The hotel was very clean.. The staff were very polite and helped me when I couldn't find my room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean hotel, close to everything. Large room with little balcony and view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Places to hang the towels. A shower mat would have been good as it was slippery.

    Every thing was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was dirty, full of handprints on the walls, was it ever cleaned?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Close to shops and restaurants. The food at the hotel is also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better shampoo quality

    The interior and bed quality. Maybe have to be able more pillow choise

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the selection for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cons

    Location to shopping and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fantastic! Very clean, lots of facilities and modern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No city life near by.

    Clean and very good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was unattended Saturday evening due to a wedding at the venue. Perhaps extra staff may have helped?

    A fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great with many options and the bed was super comforty and the staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    extra payment for parking!

    nice hotel in a very nice location, room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Friendly Staff Car Parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service, clean and modern rooms, just loved it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smell of diesel fumes from traffic on nearby raised dual carriageway

    Location to the town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your bonus questions - very annoying!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking the car at the hotel €12. 50 per day, which is not highlighted on booking

    Good location , for our stay comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from streets

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Service was not up to standard

    Food was good quality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting 35 mins to be served in the Bat Steak cheap cut Restaraunt Manager rushed approach

    Location Excellent Staff on Reception

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel, big and nice rooms Good spot and nice restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot days when staying...nothing in mini bar...no courtesy water...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. The hotel was situated very conveniently for the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A sign in the hotel area for the way to the breakfast room would be helpful.

    Good breakfast, high quality of the room interior, mostly friendly and helpful staff, quieteness despite location, spaceous room, good bed.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Group

    Having to pay extra for parking the car. To my opinion 12,50 is a little too expensive. Breakfast was pricy, but good

    Good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Recently renovated with nice restaurant and available parking (extra fee). It is located next to the center of Helmond and very practical to go out for a walk along the river.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This time the view i had was nothind special (NOT facing the river) BUT this is NOT changing my nice opinion for the hotel. Next time maybe i will be luckier. That's all.

    Nice and clean renovated modern style room. I have nothing negative to say. I have enjoied a lot the hotel and the small village. The center of the village is just a bridge ahead and in 5 min you are there. The Cook in the restaurant is VERY good and i have enjoied the plates i got. The Staff is nice and smilling, moving fast to get the job done. I had a very nice time... Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent position. Nothing was too much of a problem for the staff who made our stay very enjoyable. Outside bar and dining was superb and full of atmosphere. Would love to return for a longer period

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel parking lot is still expensive (12,50€/per day). If you park behind the parking lot on the public street it might be cheaper (depending on the day). In the evening and on sundays, parking is for free on the public street. Roof terrace is only for smoking. There is no view or anything else to do. We hoped that the new hotel site would include a small sauna, but they only build more rooms.

    Even though there was a big karneval celebration in the hotel, there was little noise in our room on the 4th floor. Staff was a little bit stressed but polite. We only stay there because it is central and right across our favorite restaurant (Ons Loes). They finished the construction on the new site of the hotel which looks nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With the bed a little less soft, the entire stay would have been just perfect.

    The hotel is located in the immediacy of the shopping center, the medieval castle (now a museum), several good restaurants and bars, the railroad station, and other facilities. Staff is very friendly and prepared to help out. The room we had was one with a view on the canal and the nightlife center, very nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't get the room serviced anymore after 4 days. towels were left on the door. Must have been due to the holidays.

    Breakfast was great but tongs with the bread so people don't have get in with their hands.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was so very nice, I could live there. The service and staff were perfect, I will be very happy to stay again.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar area needs more space

    Lovely room, spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Perfect location, excellent beeakfast, we had a pleasant dinner too. Would not hesitate to go back in case I would need a hotel in Helmond.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking was difficult and pricey

    Staff, location and food were excellent

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neither gym nor sauna.

    Excellent staff. Good position. Very good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great beds. Big separate shower and a deep bathtub. Lovely buffet breakfast. Loads of restaurants close by.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely staff, comfortable room, nice food, good location.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The service of the staff. They even checked me before my checkin time. A must return

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Couple

    Hotel was less isolated from streetnoise then I expected, still heard music from the cafe's

    Nice breakfast but unfortunately not included

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    AC difficult to manage temperature

    Staff were great very helpful Rooms lovely. bathroom modern and immaculate

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place. Near to my place of business. Was initially recommended.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location. Very close to the heart of the city.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No swimming pool

    Location.Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in town centre

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Tulip Hotel West-Ende traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: