Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Abdij de Westerburcht 3 stars

Hoofdstraat 7, 9431 AB Westerbork, Netherlands

#3 of 4 hotels in Westerbork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not told as residents we still had to book in advance for meals. Inconvenient finding out and having to look elsewhere for a meal.

    Good location, good parking, comfortable accommodation. Lift is a bonus as stairs are quite steep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light above the small basin suitable for shaving, but the light above the big dressing mirror made up for it.!

    An excellent restaurant in the same premises. Good selection of wines. Quiet sleep (not only because the wine!). Quality bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Our 2 stay at this hotel, does the job great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting could be better, room quite dark

    Comfy large bed, great TV channel selection, very friendly helpful staff. Also very handy for Assen TT circuit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    Underwhelming, sums it up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold, no tea / coffee facilities. Breakfast was a big let down very limited choice. For the price a big let down.

    Location to where I needed to be

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money, nice quiet getaway, will definitely book in again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of flies about the breakfast buffet, not very hygienic, food could have been covered with nets.

    Staff at reception very welcoming. Room spotless, kingsize, firm mattress, great shower. Dinner delicious, service excellent. Morning breakfast, plenty of choices. Free parking. Very relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Loved every minute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here because we were going to truckstar, the location was great, the TT circuit was so easy to get too. The staff were excellent and answered our every need. The rooms were gorgeous, clean and spacious. The food was delicious, I couldn't fault it and it was lovely to sit outside in the evenings by the fire pit!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent in so many wsys
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was the best hotel I stayed in Europe. The staff were amazing they went out of the way to help. The other perks were great; including the bike rental.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    welcoming,friendly,comfortable,pleasant surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect

    bed is really comfortable ,we had to book out early monday morning and there was no one on reception,the lady from the restaurant managed to do this for us,thankyu

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is very comfortable and cosy. The area around is green and quiet. The spa center is worth trying. The restaurant offers good food. You can rent bikes at the hotel and spend a couple of hours going around the village

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place to stay, deff be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Theme Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi a little slow ......but maybe that just me ! 😋

    Great themed rooms, lovely location and all the staff are always very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Possitoned in centre of village shops and restaurants close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possitoned in centre of village shops and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Two happy travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were great , this made our stay very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with perfect restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little noisy, because of thin walls

    Friendly staff and good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    good comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Theme Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    The evening meal I had was excellent, staff so friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal I had was excellent, staff so friendly and helpful. Beautiful village to walk around.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Nice accomadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good no issues

    Nice clean room, excellent rain head type shower. Cheap cycle hire very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    + included: private sauna (outdoor)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - sauna took ages to heat up and didn't go beyond 60 degrees Celcius. I actually feel asleep while waiting for it to heat (me) up - Breakfast not included

    + included: private sauna (outdoor) + village located in between two national parks

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.2
    The room was pleasant, the bed was good and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was pleasant, the bed was good and everything worked. Breakfast was also good. The bacon was soggy, due to being covered with a lid without holes. However, the manager told us that a new set-up for the presentation will soon deal with the issue.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    We got upgrade to a better room without additional charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna is described in the website as hotel facilities, but no additional cost is mentioned there while in fact guests should pay extra for using sauna. This info should be mentioned in the website.

    We got upgrade to a better room without additional charge. We liked the room very much (nice thematic room with comfortable bed). The dinner was wonderful, and the breakfast was also nice. Thank you for making our stay memorable!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.6
    Staff member arranged for his wife to drop me at Beilen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff member arranged for his wife to drop me at Beilen station on departure to catch earlier train for Schiphol flight, a very nice extra gesture to assist. Great apple pie, great lunches, central location, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    The location was quiet, peaceful with an atmosphere of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was close to perfect. Would have been great if there was a gym but I did my workout in my room which was more than large enough.

    The location was quiet, peaceful with an atmosphere of serenity. The staff was very positive, smiling and friendly. I'll definitely be doing free advertisement for you guys ;-)

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    Great theme rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit pricey in the restaurants and not much choice but it is a small village.

    Great theme rooms. Good all round facilities. Great place for cyclists or for walking. Small village but really beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.3
    Good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit noisy in hall way

    Good service. Quality food and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, great breakfast and meals, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast and meals, excellent value for money in a nice little village in Drenthe

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    good location in nice village with plenty of resteraunts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location in nice village with plenty of resteraunts and cafes nearby

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Hotel Abdij de Westerburcht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: