Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bed & Breakfast WestViolet

Violettenstraat 4, Amsterdam City Centre, 1015 NP Amsterdam, Netherlands

#13 of 250 B&Bs and Inns in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 151 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pics didn t mach the room.towels were not changed for two days.first night only he set our room and took garbage.bathroom was very small.the shower was same level with tiles so to have a shower you get all the bathroom wet.he came everyday in our room as we always found the window open but it was all they done.breakfast was poor.last day there was no white bread and the brown was not fresh.location not good.to take a bus,a metro or a tram you have to walk for 15 minutes.last day our flight was at 5pm and he told us that we have to depart at 11.he didn t want to keep our luggages for just 2 hrs.he sad that if we advised he he could have tried to.so we where stranded.had to go to the airport early and we lost an attraction.he just sad i don t care.just go.and he sad goodbye in a sarcastic way.and we paid over 800 for just 7 nights.just to sleep and shower and drink a coffe and a muffin in the morning as there was nothing good.the stairs to go up was like a loft stairs.each stair was about 10cm and really steep.to get out big luggages out we had to stay one up and one down so we pass luggages as you can t go down with the suitcase as well.he never bothered to ask if everything was ok.it was the worst place i have ever stayed on a holiday in my whole life.don t let him trick you with the pics and the reviews.never ever again.very disappointed

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would call in advance to see if there was a blow dryer or not (we didn't need it, but I have not seen one either, probably the owner has it). There were two types of soaps, one in the bathroom in the dispenser and the other in the shower, just a regular, individually wrapped bars of soap. Just be advised to either have what you need with you, or like I did, just use what's there. We stayed only for two nights, it was totally fine. But I also had some things with me)

    We loved everything! Frank, the owner, was very nice, always there, making sure that everything is to our liking. The coffee he made was fantastic! Kitchen was supplied with everything to every one's taste. Of course, you will meet Blanca, the most beautiful white cat ;) The place is very tastefully decorated and clean, the bed - comfortable. There is a table and two chairs to seat and enjoy your drink, or just to do some tanning, right outside of your room of the first floor. There is the fridge in the room, which we found very convenient, as we bought some cheese to take back with us. The location of this place is great, it's just a walking distance from majority of attractions, like the Rembrant Museum (15 min), or Van Gogh, (about 35 min)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Loved the "do it yourself" kitchen with all the breakfast food provided! Location was great! Owner was "top notch"! 2nd visit better than the first! Lovely spacious room! Of course, we'll be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous rooms, very comfortable, very clean. Great bed. Breakfast is self-serve and the owner makes sure the pantry and fridge are stocked with lots of good quality products. Great coffee. Owner extremely nice, welcoming and friendly. He was ok with us leaving our luggage at the property after check-out since we had a late flight. Loved the place and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!!

    Our third time in Amsterdam and this has been the best place! Frank is a wonderful host, very welcoming! We booked the room on the bottom floor with the patio, which was veg spacious and exceptionally clean! You could smell the fresh towels and linen! Shower was great and bed was super comfortable! Breakfast was amazing! Could not fault a single thing! Thank you Frank for one of the best stays in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was close to everything yet, very quiet street and felt very safe. Our host has a beautiful, social cat and the home is lovely with just two guest rooms, a balcony or patio peaceful garden. The host made you feel like it was your second home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the ground floor room with a small garden. It was spacious,nice & tidy. The host Frank is a lovely gentleman. The neighbourhood is quiet & it's a pleasant walk around the area. We enjoyed our stay & we definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing?

    Located in the quieter Jordaan district but walkable distance to most places. Kitchenette always accessible and well stocked. Comfy King size bed. Good sized room, good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is just a charming place, on a quiet street within a short walking distance to the heart of the canal district. The lower floor room where we stayed is just lovely--- spacious, clean, and has everything you need. The bed was extremely comfortable, with down comforters and great pilllows. You can open the door onto the garden, and hear the birds singing in the morning - really wonderful. Breakfast was great, too. We could make our own hard boiled eggs, and there was always a nice selection of spreads for the bread, as well as various cheeses and meats, and yogurt, muesli, and fruit. Frank was a great host - very helpful and easy to talk to. He made us excellent coffee every morning too. This place is a real gem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our host André was very kind, helpful and friendly. He was really a perfect host. Our accommodation was very cosy, comfortable, fully equiped, situated almost in the city centre, quite near to the main sightseeing points of the town. I can highly recommend it to everybody.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Frank was an exceptional host always willing to please and help in any way .. our stay here was excellent and would recommend this property for anyone seeking great value

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frank was amazing! He was always available to help and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. Our room was huge and so comfortable! We loved the fluffy duvet covers and the stocked kitchen. We made ourselves a hearty breakfast each morning (bacon, eggs, pancakes, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal!!!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot conplain about anything... Honestly

    The room was very spacious and super comfy. Andre and Frank greeted us very well and were super nice and friendly. The kitchen was equipped with everything needed to have a great breakfast. The room comes also with a balcony, something not very common. It is not in the main centre but its a few meters away from the hassle and busy streets of dam square. We visited all the squares by walk. In the streets of west violet you can find great cafes and pubs in the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frank thank you for your warm hospitality and generous service. The room,the breakfast,the neighborhood,were all perfect for our yearly vacation in Amsterdam!!! Feeling just like home ❤️ Eldad and me will come back for sure!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room is very comfortable and clean. Frank the owner is super friendly. We loved him. Also he had a new door for the room near the kitchen as some customers were annoyed from the noise. The location is great you can walk to nearly any place you want to visit in Amsterdam. The kitchen was always filled with food and you are welcome to eat anytime. Its like you feel at home.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the minute we arrived the host was so friendly and welcoming and really made the stay special. Great location, close to many lovely bars and a very comfortable stay. Breakfast was really good and we liked being able to have access to the kitchen at all times. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was a terrific place. The area was quiet, yet many nice places to eat and drink near by. Breakfast was good and the owner Frank was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was fabulous. It was a great location and Andre was a terrific host. He was attentive to our needs yet his presence was discreet.... not in our face. We felt very welcome and at home ...big thumbs up

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, but u have to watch steps, almost every steps in holland is narrow and steep, it will be fine if u watch ur steps

    The best b&b ever seen, the price is cheap compare to others, the room of ground floor is so big that is more than 50 sqr meters I supposed , and also is pavery neat and well decorated. the kitchen is on the 2nd floor, which has everything u will need. the most of all, u will meet a nice and handsome host here, Frank, thanks for the stay, hope to be back soon.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Wifi connection lacked much to be desired but thankfully we did not have a lot of time to waste on using internet in the room as there were many more interesting things to do around Amsterdam :)

    The host Andre was brilliant. He is a really nice guy, extremely helpful and he made sure to be as fast as possible with assisting us with everything that we needed. The B&B is really nice, it's an old place which was given a really sweet modern touch. The kitchen was always extra-well-stocked and the food was very delicious! The location is pretty central, it only takes 15 mins to walk to Dam Square and we really liked walking in Amsterdam! The area is safe and quiet. There are also a lot of restaurants, take aways and supermarkets close by!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Located in heart of the Jordaan. 15 minute walk to central station and the Dam. Large room with comfortable bed in extremely quiet area. Frank was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints!

    Loved the fact that we could make breakfast wehenver we wanted and the fridge was always full (this was great preparation for my Marathon!) Comfy bed Excellent location in the quieter part of the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely comfortable and one amazing host! A home away from home that couldn't have been any better! Not enough recognition! 10/10!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great. Lovely restaurants near by and so central to everything. Nice big room with help yourself breakfast worked for us. The host was very friendly and helpful. Would like to go back again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sleeping by the kitchen, we were woken by breakfast chat next door.

    Breakfast, coffee, modern yet homely, nearby supermarkets, good price compared to other local properties.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Cleanliness was impeccable. You can eat any breakfast, just have to ask Frank. Dear Frank is a very good host, he was always attentive to our needs. He gave as travel tips, tips that were very helpful. We stayed downstairs and I recommend this room. From here to the station or city center it is easy to explore on foot. Amsterdam is a city worth seeing at least once in life. People are friendly, smiling and always willing to help.They made me feel the need to go back on the bike after 40 years. If you have time do not miss Madurodam Museum (especially for those with children, but also for those who still feel children) and Scheveningen.on the North Sea in Den Haag (The Hague). We visited many countries in Europe, but nowhere we have not felt better. And no, we have not tried the coffee shops! Have a pleasant holiday!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this accommodation would not be suitable for the infirm. There are 2 apartments one on the ground floor and second on 1st floor but the breakfast room is on the 1st floor and the stairs is very steep.

    lovely large bedroom with comfy bed with small balcony. Lots of hot water. There is a small kitchen and breakfast room, the fridge is full of yoghurts, cold meats and cheese. There is a selection of breads and teas and coffee. Really good value for money. really great location with some lovely restaurants close by

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed Hot shower Large room Excellent location Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic homely place great location and the host frank was a very friendly helpful guy you will be pleased if you stay here for sure :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable room in a great neighbourhood

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great hospitality, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the comfiest ever! And Frank the host is such a lovely person. It is truly a home from home!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Owner and staff were extremely kind and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was excellent. It was very quiet. The staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    location staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Frank could not be more helpful excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andre was very accommodating and nothing was too much for him. The room was very spacious and had everything you could need!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!

    Neighborhood, location, friendly hosts, extremely comfortable bed, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the wonderfull place to stay, really comfortable and clean! Breakfasts are gorgeous, we would like to come again for sure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our host was fantastic - very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge bed, the small garden on the room and the amazing staff (owner). Very friendly and kind

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything in this property!

    All..the room ,the kichen,the service..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality was amazing. Location was really good. The room was a perfect size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, great room and we couldn't ask for a better host than Frank. Thank you Frank, we will be back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place was lovely and clean, bed was extremely comfortable. amazing owner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and fab hosts. Perfect stay! 😀

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place. Best location. Frank and her friend are amazing! The bedroom is very comfortable. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great, cozy place, great location, clean and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful host made for a relaxing stay in a nice area of Amsterdam

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin/Double Room Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Average breakfast and shower room

    Bed very comfortable, spacious room, great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a fabulous B&B and Frank is a wonderful host. The place is very modern, very clean and in a great location. Nothing was too much trouble for Frank - thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is an old building, so Frank advised us not to leave the bathroom fan on too long, as it would cause the fuse to blow. Also, the shower handle is very close to the shower head, and you would invariably turn off the shower by accident. Not major deals, just tidbits you might like to know before you stay here.

    When we arrived, Frank took a few minutes to show us around, then gave us free reign of the 2nd floor room. The bed was comfy, and I was extremely happy to have very hot water in the shower. The room was spacious, and included a refrigerator and hair dryer. It is not a bed & breakfast in the traditional sense (we knew this before staying). There is a kitchen area on the 2nd floor that all guests have access to 24 hours a day. There's plenty of fixings to make your own breakfast. Personally, we stuck to yogurt every day - we felt awkward cooking in someone else's kitchen (our hang-ups, I know).

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frank is such a great host and the property is just lovely. Everywhere in town is a nice walking distance but you're far enough away to avoid the crazy and noise.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No downside!!

    WestViolet is in a really convenient location. Near enough to the station to walk, while at the same time in a great, non-touristy area of the Jordaan, with lots of good local bars and places to eat. The beds were big and super comfortable and the room spacious, nicely decorated and warm (the weather was very cold during our stay). Breakfast selection was good and we appreciated being able to make our own breakfast at a time we wanted. Really it couldn't have been better and so glad we opted for this, rather than a more expensive hotel, which could have in no way matched it and would certainly not have given the friendly welcome and care that we received. Terrific value!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The sink is in the ground floor room (it's just a comment but not a defect:))

    Excelent location, kind reception, nice furniture, a lot of air in the room, little garden (if you have a ground floor room), 24 hours kitchen

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and room were huge, we loved it. Excellent location, excellent host who made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay near the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cozy apartment in a nice location. Jordaan is a cool neighbourhood with restaurants, bars and little design stores. Close to city centre. Everything was very clean! Comfortable bed, white and new bed sheets. Great sleep quality, quite place. The owner is very friendly and the breakfast was everything we needed. We recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Everything was excellent - location, facilities etc. Having the kitchen stocked with food was great for breakfast or if you just wanted to pop in for a snack. Would 100% recommend and return to in the future.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staircase to first floor accommodation and breakfast room is steep, but this is clearly made known before booking and was not a problem.

    WestViolet is situated in a good location for access to all parts of central Amsterdam, either on foot or by public transport (less than 5 minute walk to nearest stop). The neighbourhood has a good range of shops and excellent restaurants to suit all budgets. Frank, the host, could not be more helpful and provides anything you could need for breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fantastic, couldn't have asked for more. Lovely spacious rooms with comfy beds. Frank was lovely and recommend some lovely restaurants and bars. Breakfast was great and loved being able to help yourself at any time. Can't recommend west violet enough :)

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good!

    We stayed in the downstairs room and it was lovely. The room is massive, the beds are class and the little garden out the back is a nice addition! There are lots of chairs and a nice sofa in the room too! The shower is very good and the room was nice and warm for our stay during the cold weather! Frank the owner is very nice. The breakfast is self service and there is a large selection of food.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

    The room was spacious with a very comfy bed and a nice balcony. Ample space with a seating area and a desk. Really clean. Lovely kitchen equipped with all you can need. A supermarket is a 2 minute walk away and really lovely restaurants around. Unfortunately our trip was cut short due to an emergency and Frank was very helpful and concerned. Highly recommended - we will definitely be back!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. We liked everything about our stay.

    Brill place. Frank is a great guy and very helpful too! The breakfast room is great. Nice to socialise in. Great location. Comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was great. Outside all the hustle but very close, in the loveliest neighborhood. Frank was so nice and welcoming. Kitchen was comfortable and offered everything we might have needed.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent room and conditions, hospitable and helpful hosts! great location - close to the city centre and quiet at the same time, maybe a little bit far from Museum Square. Umbrellas are always available which was very useful!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host Frank was absolutely fantastic. Friendly, informative and we felt at home. The location was superb close to everything whilst away from the noise and crowds. The accommodation was clean, well equipped and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed for 3 nights with my brother during Halloween. The place was amazing, clean, private and close to everything. Andre the host was accommodating and very friendly. Can definitely recommend this place. Xtra plus was the fact that we could choose what time we wanted to eat our breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frank is a lovely host. He made it look like home. We like the location near the west canals rings. 15-20 min walk to everywhere in Amsterdam. I will defiantly stay another time!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of the room with the small balcony, friendly owner who was really helpful and nice. Close proximity to city center, close to lots of cafes, restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very steep stairway. But the host helps you to carry up the luggage.

    Great host, very good bed, quiet place, close to public transportation. Huge room comparing to Amsterdam hotel room standards. The breakfast is superb, in a do it yourself all you can eat style with a full fridge and fully equipped kitchen. At the end of your stay you can leave there your luggage. My best stay in Amsterdam until now.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although I appreciated the freedom to make our own breakfast at our leisure, I think I would have preferred having something prepared for us. My husband also felt the bed was a little hard, but I slept great.

    My husband and I stayed here for just one night but would have happily stayed longer. Our room was airy and spacious and the location of the B&B is great. The hosts are very nice as well. Excellent value!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs were very steep - typically Dutch - but Frank carried my suitcase up to the room so not a big deal.

    Frank was an excellent host. Helpful, friendly and generous. Took very good care of us and the daily maintenance of our room was fantastic. Would recommend to everyone. Well maintained property.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frank our host was very welcoming and went out of his way to ensure that you felt at ease in his lovely house. The location of the property was perfect although it was close to the canals and many of the bars and restaurants a good nights sleep was assured with the property being in a side street. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the best B&B's we've stayed at! Great location, excellent facililities and comfort with the personal touch. I would highly reccommend West Violet. It was just perfect.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problem for us but very steep stairs. Could be a problem if you have reduced mobility. This is an old property and the stairs are part of the charm.

    Excellent position in lovely area. Very close to great restaurants, bars and all that Amsterdam has to offer. Very hospitable and friendly welcome. Great room with balcony. Will definitely return.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bed & Breakfast WestViolet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: