Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zeezicht 3 stars

Zuiderhaven 1, 8861 CJ Harlingen, Netherlands

#6 of 7 hotels in Harlingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, charming hotel, good staff and convenient to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I both agree there isn’t anything we didn’t like or that we felt needed improvement.

    Quaint, charming hotel, updated room, comfortable and clean. Wonderful location and view. Excellent location to walk to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    We have stayed here before and always found the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed here before and always found the rooms comfortable and adequate. There are some wonderful views of the harbour, the canal and out to sea. Breakfast is basic, buffet style but adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Convenient for a stopover between the mainland and Wadden islands
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area is a little confusing with the hotel and restaurant on opposite sides of the check in desk. These could be signposted more clearly.

    Friendly staff who found a USB charger for me to use overnight. Super convenient location, close to both the train station and ferry terminal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    The room was very comfortable and we liked the decor - zebra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the parking is a bit tricky and has to be made from the entry through the barrier by the swing bridge, otherwise the second barrier wouldn't lift.

    The room was very comfortable and we liked the decor - zebra stripes and impressive repro furniture. And the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Only just ok if there is nowhere else available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had dinner, service extremely slow took 1.5hrs. Reason given:- new chef. Food only just ok. Room tired and basic.

    Location is nice on the harbour front.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location - we liked the view from our room over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. If I were being nit-picky, the car park could have been bigger, but we had no problems getting a space.

    Excellent location - we liked the view from our room over the harbour. The staff were friendly and attentive, our evening meal in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast buffet set us up nicely for the day. The room was clean and comfortable, and the onsite parking convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    Great room but I felt cheated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe low season tourist should be encouraged rather than cheated. I booked a deluxe room, a bit cheaper because not refundable. I was really hoping for the bright corner room (as shown in the deluxe room pictures) facing the harbor. I didn't get that room. Since hotel was kind of empty I've asked for it. The staff told me it depends on the price I paid. When I showed I booked a deluxe room, they said corner room (number 105) is not available through booking.com but only on their website. I agreed to change and I ended up in the exact same room as shown in the deluxe room picture here! I've attached a room picture to this review so you can compare yourself with the one on booking.com At checkout I got charged the 'deluxe' room price however no discount for being 'not refundable' plus an extra 30 euro addition for a 'Basis arrangement' which I can't really explain what it means. In total 60 euro extra charge for a room which should have been available via my booking here.

    Central location (although it's easy in a very small city), good furniture and good bathroom, very bright room. Room 105 is really nice however hotel price-abuse its beauty as you can see from the above section

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice to be back home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were short and for me could be more comfortable but i am 6.4 so i have this problem more.

    The hotel is located in a prime spot right on the corner of two harbours and in front of the Ferry location. because this is my home town where i grew up as a lad i know the town back of my hand. the food looked very nice and it was busy during dinner time, we booked somewhere else. the beds for me where to short but i am 6.4 and i have that problem a lot. the rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. breakfast was lovely and plentiful, over all a very nice stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Not for a romantic trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the room description, the bed was not double but twin, additionally the beds move apart because of the smooth floor. Not good for what was a wedding anniversary trip. While the breakfast was OK, the scrambled eggs were gross, completely dry. Parking and access with a car very poor. The bathroom very small, couldn't "swing a cat". Anybody with a large body will have difficulty.

    Ambience. Staff are good. Location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Only thing worth paying for is the outstanding location, but even then would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff's attitude very indifferent. Did not make us feel welcome. Complete lack of interest in our stay. Have not enquired about our stay at any point. Restaurant unprofessionally run, poor service and terribly overpriced for the food they serve - compared with other restaurants nearby. NO air-con. We had a room with 3 windows but only one could be opened a bit. We had reasonable weather and the room was unbearable. Can't imagine staying here on a hot day. Very dated room furniture, small bathroom where you had to step outside of the shower to regulate the water temperature and flow.

    The location was indeed outstanding, best in town with the view of the harbour from our BEDS. Linen - good quality. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a bit more friendly and helpfull. Though being a Hotel guest we were unable to reserve a table in the restaurant outside.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Charming Harlingen by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived in the afternoon - and the maid in charge did not inform us about the parking facilities belonging to the hotel but told us to use public street parking. she informed us that we could pay with credit cards in the automats - but that was wrong - we had to provide coins. the picture of the hotel does not show that it faces the main road - so a bit noisy in the room from 6 am

    good view to the harbour and to the city - breakfast i OK, Harlingen is a nice town with many beautiful houses a mini "Amsterdam"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Hotel with a view and centrally located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant menu prices are quite steep for what you get. Some improvements in the cooking and staff attentiveness could be improved. New management so maybe a few wrinkles to sort out until things get back on track for this great hotel. Rooms are fairly modern and clean, however updates for bathrooms of the standard rooms is in need.

    Right in the center of town. Great views of the ocean/sea from the hotel restaurant and some rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    A pittoresk surrounding and close to all you need ...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom looked clean but when our 2 single beds separated from each other by coincidence it was clear to see that it had been a while that under the beds had been cleaned, a lot of dust.

    Friendly staff, very close to train station and check in for the ships to the islands Terschelling and Vlieland.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Not cheap, but so nice.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner menu in the restaurant could have been more interesting, and prices were a little on the high side. We were disappointed that there was no local fish on the menu.

    View from the room was great, overlooking all that shipping, and watching bridges being raised and lowered. The room we had for two nights was, I think one of the smaller ones, but was perfectly reasonable. The breakfast was very good, and plenty of it. This was our second visit, and we will be back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Can be recommend if you are staying in Harlingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel in a great location. Close to the old city and the sea. The rooms gives good value for the money. The hotel has restaurant with excellent food, but the service could be improved. Long wait to get the food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are very tied.

    A good location with secure parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay very much, comfortable hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift

    Delicious local bread and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Location near Boats terminal for the islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 beds instead of one large in the booking. Could not connect the Wifi.

    Location near Boats terminal for the islands.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay if you don’t travel by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking completely inadequate and also serious parking problems in the town

    Great location on harbour and in centre of the old town Good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very accommodating staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    NO coffee and tea making facilitied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO coffee and tea making facilitied

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Very small sleeping rooms, but that's understandable in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small sleeping rooms, but that's understandable in such a very old building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location ahead of travelling to Terschelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location ahead of travelling to Terschelling. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced medioker hotel for early birds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad value for money. breakfast is gone at 09.30! even on Sunday!

    nice location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in beautiful Harlingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We like everything about this hotel and have stayed here before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Location and food which was of a very high standard.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and food which was of a very high standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Alles was in orde.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alles was in orde.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    A great place to stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    really friendly people, good service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, great location
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are small. Like most places in Holland the lighting is not bright

    General condition of the rooms and facilities - fast wifi, clean,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic buffet breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is superb and our room had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is superb and our room had a balcony looking over the busy port. Harlingen is an undiscovered gem perfect for a short break. The room and breakfast were of a very high standard.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small stuffy room, up 4 flights of narrow stairs (no lift, no airco). Breakfast choice was limited both in selection and quality, and the narrow breakfastroom lead to long waits, very unpleasant. 3 nights parking was charged as 4 nights. 200 euros for room and simple dinner for 2 was bad value for money.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast one morning was a little disappointing. All tables were dirty and food was a little cool at the buffet. Had to ask for utensils. Staff did respond well when asked.

    Location. View was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.6
    Just about everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs-------we loved every thing about the hotel but as we get older we think that lifts are going to be necessary and it would be a shame if older people can't enjoy such hotels

    Just about everything!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Very nice location by the harbour and close to the beatiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Very nice location by the harbour and close to the beatiful town!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free parking for staying guests

    Perfect location and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    8.8
    Stayed here while visiting family, location is excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here while visiting family, location is excellent, staff helpful & friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Hotel, restaurant and bar staff all the same.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I left two days early, but still charged for the days I did not stay.

    Hotel, restaurant and bar staff all the same. They get to know you.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.8
    very helpfull staff- carried a heavy bag upstairs for us (no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no problems

    very helpfull staff- carried a heavy bag upstairs for us (no elevator), loaned us an umbrella when it rained, etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location ! Just in front of the ferry for the islands. Nice haven in front. The room was very nice and very good quality beds.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location, view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, view

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    great staff and friendly atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    great staff and friendly atmosphere!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.8
    We had a nice surprise: a music festival in the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a nice surprise: a music festival in the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    The friendly approach of all staff and the excellent food in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendly approach of all staff and the excellent food in the restaurant

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Hotel Zeezicht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: