Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zenzez Hotel & Lounge 3 stars

Canadalaan 26, 7316 BX Apeldoorn, Netherlands

#2 of 15 hotels in Apeldoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 586 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a main road and the drivers ignore the speed limit = a bit noisy with the windows open. It is not great parking on the main street with a car full of stuff either.

    Comfortable and stylish hotel with really super staff/owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely house in a beautiful neighborhood. The place has a comfortable feel that immediately puts you at ease. Great fresh croissants. The park/castle is a pleasant walk for here. The owners are wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    99eur a night + 10eur breakfast is just too expensive considering the 8eur taxi fee you need to pay from the train station, the small size and lack of proper sound insulation and quite a few missing amenities in the room. breakfast was way too stingy, continental at best, with only a limited for business travelers like me there was no table/desk to work on, and no common area downstairs except for the restaurant which I could use after the breakfast to work on my notebook, but I couldn't and wouldn't do that at night.

    The hostess is a very polite and kind person and the room was spotless clean albeit on the small side. There's also a restaurant on the ground floor also owned by the hosts though I wasn't told of the working hours. I caught the smell of what they were cooking and it smelled godly delicious. Wish they gave more info about what I could have for dinner, I was busy with work and didn't feel like going up and down 3 flight of stairs. Oh yes, if you get a room on the 3rd floor, the last flight of stairs is narrow and steep so the elderly and/or people with heavy bags should request to stay on the first or at most the second floor only.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - lovely stay.

    Train was late arriving, past check-in time but they waited for me. Comfortable room , good breakfast and helpfully called a taxi for me for trip back to station. Good TV channels, chance to catch up on BBC when in Netherlands! I had room shown at front of hotel, it had balcony which would be nice to sit out on in summer - not much noise from facing street too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Breakfast cooked , baked to order everthing fresh Lovely rooms , beds excellent Nothing to fault , very enjoyable 2 nights Lots of Great food 15 mins walk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing bed and beautiful room. Perfect location for the event we were attending at the Theater Orpheus. Staff was so helpful and helped us make special transportation arrangements for an odd hour. Decor and ambience was just first rate. Loved it all!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good (you fill a form with your breakfast choice the evening before) but it was standard and not memorable.

    This is a nice character hotel with great beds. Parking is in front of the hotel on the side of the street. It is an easy 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. The breakfast room is beautiful and lovely to be in. The managing staff were really lovely, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Very cosy room with comfortable bed. Had a room above the restaurant but heard nothing despite the place buzzing on Friday evening. A charming place to spend your time in Apeldoorn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, except that next time we must make sure the restaurant is open.

    Lovely hotel in quiet suburban area with easy parking in front of hotel on the side of the street. Very close to the centre, with a 5 mins walk though the park where we had an evening meal. unfortunately the hotel restaurant is open only from thursday to saturday night, and we could not sample the hotels promising looking restaurant. the breakfast was one of the best ones we have ever been given, all extremely fresh products and in a very peaceful diningroom which functions as the restaurant in the evenging. The managing staff is very friendly and helpful in every way. our room had everything that one wishes for, with very good beds!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - I would have liked to have a soap support in the shower cabin

    - Elegant design - Excellent breakfast (high quality products, excellent service and atmosphere)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was an excellent basis for exploring Apeldoorn and surroundings. The bicycle ride in the nearby forrest was just fabulous. The hotel is conveniently located at walking distance from the city centre and in a beautiful and quiet area with lots of trees and pitoresque town houses. The owner welcomed us and made us feel at home. The room with balcony was very cozy. A special compliment for the breakfast which was customised to fulfil each guest's needs. All in all a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't as private as we like. Our dog had a hard time with the stairs.

    The people were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent. It wasn't ideal for our dog, but I felt the hotel was sensitive to changing that next time. The area is beautiful with a park nearby. The hotel is very charming and cosy. The quality of the furniture and care in making it beautiful was striking. E.g. Fresh flowers everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too small shower. Room was not made up when we returned in the afternoon.

    Good quality breakfast. Nice and wide bed. Very quiet. Walking distance to city centre. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and charming place. Looks like an old-style cosy family hotel with small number of rooms and very dedicated personnel Definitely a very good stay !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used the hotel for one night due to going to the Ballet at Orpheus watching Swan Lake. It was nice, clean and cosy. Had everything we needed and very much enjoyed the evening. Would use again should we be in Apeldoorn in the future.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable hotel, lovely rooms, a delicious, fresh breakfast and kind and helpful hosts. The city centre is within walking distance. A great place to stay when you visit Apeldoorn or its surroundings

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything... A bit more room in the bathroom to store our things .. but a very minor thing.

    The staff were so very polite yet friendly and we felt completely at home. The decor was beautiful and we felt really pampered .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much really, just it is in a residential neighborhood, which was wonderful. The homes are beautiful The street seemed to be a major one and more cars than you might expect. Not really a problem, it is all I could find on this topic.

    Paul is a great host, considering of all your needs, the dinners and breakfasts we had were very, very good. The fish with tarragon was a huge hit with us. Overall, GREAT!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and the room was quite warm, but the hosts provided a portable a/c unit.

    Fabulous bed, lovely room, breakfast want superb, as was the dinner. Hosts and staff are absolutely on the ball-very friendly and helpful. The inside and outside spaces are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Felt so welcomed and simply loved the room, the décor, the lounge and outside terrace areas. Could not have been a better experience. Paul, the hotelier was a gracious host and it was one of the nicest stays we've ever had!! And, we have travelled all over the world!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the family room - which actually consists of two rooms on the 2nd floor, having to cross the public corridor to go from one room to the other. The master bedroom is rather small and the kids room is tiny, once you extend the bed there is virtually no space left. Appropriate for smaller kids only. The doors were noisy, inconvenient especially if a kid needs to go the toilet in the middle of the night, since there is no toilet in their room. There is no aircon in the kids room and windows do not open widely, I suspect in a warm day it can get quite uncomfortable. You can also hear noise from the street.

    Accomodation with charm, an old vicar house in good neighbourhood. Free parking on the street. Good selection of restaurants nearby. Hospitable owners, open to offer suggestions. I appreciated that they bought for my daughter chocolate cereals after the first day of stay, since they did not have it. Good quality of breakfast- not a buffet, fairly limited choice but good and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Huge very comfy bed. Lovely decor and very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and cozy place close to the city center. Charming host and delicious breakfast. Very beautiful building and interior.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Charming, beautifully decorated and cozy place. Very tasty breakfast. Smiling and friendly staff. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful! Warm, friendly and like home!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow stairs to get up to 1st and second floor

    Beds were super comfortable and breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, cleanliness of the room and the homely atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and well furnished room The host was very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent accommodation ,great atmosphere,very comfortable-great all round. Will stay when we go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep stairs

    Friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and wonderful hosts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    as before - basically no problems at all

    As before

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spotless room. World class bed. Welcome warm. Breakfast terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent host,friendly and welcoming amazing decor great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with on trend decor!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cozy little hotel with a personal touch. Walking distance from the city centre, very quiet, and a guaranteed good night sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice interior decoration / furniture Great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect Location, Nice Host, Delicious Food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stay a night

    Feels like staying at modern grandma's house, so cozy and sophisticated.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food presentation is excellent. Lovely quiet and comfortable bedrooms..look forward to returning

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing i can think of.

    Breakfast was exactly what i had the chance to order the night before and delicious. The friendliness of the owners.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were on 2nd floor

    Staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A la carte breakfast arrangement, "double" bed made of two singles

    Zen atmosphere, friendly and helpful host

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was super friendly and helpful, everything is very tasteful and we had a lovely breakfast in the garden!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music played at breakfast. I would have preferred no music.

    Clean, comfortable, good staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Location is about a 20 mins walk to the train station, which means not convenient to walk with even just one suitcase.

    Hotel and rooms are straight out of an interior design magazine- just beautiful! Staff are very friendly and helpful, accommodated our request for separate beds with no problem. Beds are extremely comfortable. The lounge downstairs is good for hanging out with friends.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    noise, I was in bedroom 0 close to the front door, would be woken by cars driving past, guest entering the property late at night, footsteps from guest in the above rooms due to wooden floor boards, it did not help being opposite restaurant, would have loved to been upstairs away from the noise as it was £220 euro £174 pounds for a 2 night stay with no breakfast.

    Very comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Liked everything about this hotel. Very central location, walking distance of central Apeldoon and Het Loo palace. Very friendly welcome, great service and friendly atmosphere. Beautifully decorated room in typical Dutch style, comfortable and spacious. Everything worked ! Outdoor patio area was a bonus for breakfast or just an evening refreshment. Very highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Compared to other b&bs we have stayed at throughout The Netherlands we thought this a little overpriced by about 10-15 euros per night.

    Clean, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Breakfasts were supplied on an individual basis so had to be exact when ordering the night before. Possibly be better with buffet style!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Does not apply, I liked everything...

    It's a small & intimate hotel. Feeling home from the start. Excellent custom tailored breakfast and extensive range of drinks. To be repeated when I'm back in that region.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    The building was incredible. Historic, beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The room was wonderfully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also wonderful and probably one of the cleanest I've ever seen. Can't believe this isn't 5* accommodation, it might as well be! I also asked if I could check out later as I was celebrating New Years and they let me extend check out until 1PM, an extra 3 hours! Absolutely wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner is so friendly and welcoming. He will make your stay perfect. The rooms are really nice, cozy and comfy! The breakfast is delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The friendliness of the staff, the care shown to us regarding the food, a willingness to do whatever it took to make us comfortable, which was very little due to the wonderful accommodations.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be wary of an over scented room. We arrived early enough that the staff aired the room out. If you are allergic or bothered by fragrances let the hotel know in advance.

    A good example of a boutique style hotel. Friendly staff and relatively convenient location vis a vis Oranje Park and the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Very friendly welcome to beautiful house.Lovely lounge and garden and fantastic cakes.Owner was very good at booking good restaurants. 9try Sizzles)

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a wonderful stay at Zenzez, it is a beautiful hotel and we received a warm and kind welcome from Paul and all the facilities and accommodation was excellent. The style and ambience of the hotel was top quality, we enjoyed a really comfortable stay in beautifully designed and apportioned bed rooms. The breakfast was also lovely.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We expected a room for 4, instead we got 2 rooms, forcing our children to sleep in a separate room without a bathroom or television. We found an old sock under our bed. The shower kept filling up with water, forcing us to take very short showers while standing in a puddle of water.

    The design of the room was good

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    I stayed at Zenzez with my family during my trip to Apeldoorn in mid-July 2015. We all like this hotel. The manager Paul is a nice gentleman. He helped us a lot during our stay. The hotel is located in a quiet area. The environment is so good. We had a family room. Children liked the child room very much. We would like to recommend this hotel to anyone who want to visit Palace Het Loo or Kroller-Muller museum.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully restored typical Dutch house, friendly accomodating staff, fantastic internal design. Walking distance to Apeldoorn centre. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Incredible hosting. Biological wine. Local cheese, the best croissant outside of France, but even with all this, it was the kindness and attention of the staff, as exemplified by our host, Paul.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator! But they help us to take our luggage! And the water goes slowly at room 7 I think, afraid water will come out during shower!

    We love the style of the hotel, very elegant! Host was very nice, make you feel like home! Worth the money!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location in a quiet residential area of the city. Great attention to detail from the bedding to the breakfast, and really nice owners and staff. Home baking, simple but tasteful décor, and genuine customer care.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    What a beautiful place to stay. Owners are very attentive and courteous and attention to detail is incredible. Lovely comfortable beds and beautiful decoration throughout. Great value for money. Would definitely stay again and recommend whole heartedly.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is really great!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very welcoming and intimate. Excellent room and restaurant. Great location close to centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feels like staying over at your best friends house but with high class seine.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never had such a charming place before!

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Décor, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely staff, super comfortable room and happy atmosphere, lovely food too.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the size of the ground floor room was somewhat small but nicely appointed and immaculate

    location, ambience of hotel, courteous, professional welcome

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Owners and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Attention given to every detail.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great hotel and the guys are just brill. Very welcoming and personal. The rooms and bed were so comfortable.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Zenzez Hotel & Lounge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: