Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Zwaan 3 stars

Kerkstraat 2, 8102 EA Raalte, Netherlands

#2 of 2 hotels in Raalte

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Room. The way they design the bathroom/shower! The water floaded everywhere and bathroom is too slippery for the children.

    Location. Swimming pool. Parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    The property is located right beside the church and walking...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located right beside the church and walking distance from the shops and city center. The restaurant served one of the best steak I ever had. Staff are very friendly, accommodating and patient especially for someone who only speaks English. Although the hotel itself has seen its time, it’s well maintained and we never encountered any problems with their facilities. Wifi works great too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Stay in the centre of Raalte
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the bedroom had a couple of dirty spots, but the rest of the room was clean. The breakfast room wasn't ready yet at 8:00 (breakfast started at 07:30). Some devices hadn't been switched on yet, the milk was missing and some food hadn't been unwrapped (but the breakfast was good).

    I arrived around 14:00 but could already check in. I got a free upgrade to a room with a bath. Because i don't have a bath at home i really enjoyed it. The floor of the bathroom was heated, really nice. The location is great, close to the train station and the centre of Krommenie. There was an electric kettle in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Beware of misleading pictures on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were very disappointed with our 4-night stay in this hotel. There is only one room pictured on the booking.com website that vaguely matches the room where we stayed and the way the picture is taken masks just how terribly small the room actually is. We booked this hotel because it was not in a large town and it was central to visiting several of the former Hanseatic League cities in that part of the Netherlands. When we arrived, we saw that Hotel De Zwaan is a Best Western Hotel. Based on the room we were given and other factors, this is not Best Western worthy (at least with our experience with Best Western in the United States). They advertise free parking but, for the size of the hotel, the few parking spots are not sufficient; they have about 10 parking spots in front of the hotel and a parking lot in the back with an additional dozen parking spots except when it rains (like it did for 2 straight days while we stayed there), the parking lot does not drain and you have to walk through about 3 inches of water to get between your parked car and the hotel (if you can even find a parking spot as most times these spots are full). They were hosting several vans to support some kind of bicycle event on Sunday morning and early on saturday morning they blockaded the entrance to the parking area in the front of the hotel, effectively taking away those spots as potential parking spaces for hotel customers. When we went down to leave the hotel, our car was the only remaining car in the lot and we had to ask the hotel staff to move their barricade so we could leave. We cannot figure out why they did not call us and ask us to move our car instead of just barricading us in! On Saturday night, they had a band in the bar area which played quite loudly until 12:30 am.

    Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Very close to train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    balcony side, outside noise comes into room, I have not slept enough due to drank people had chat and laugh until 4:00AM after summer festival finished at 19:45. The room windows and door glasses should have better noise proofing.

    Very close to train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Big room and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The churchbells in the morning

    Big room and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in the given weather conditions, room stayed rather warm, even with windows open

    location, Raalte at your feet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small and didnt even had an AC. That be alright for a reasonable price but for 100 euro per night we expected some more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great restaurant, try the salade Nicoise!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant, try the salade Nicoise!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    All round good Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All round good Hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    great place to stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were a bit late at the breakfast, maybe 15 minutes before closing, and the buffet was empty.

    great place to stay !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, great food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    the food in the restaurant was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was very cold in the morning in the restaurant

    the food in the restaurant was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.2
    We really liked the hotel and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area could have been cleaner. In addition the shower in the room wasn't great, since we enjoyed a poor water flow.

    We really liked the hotel and the staff. Everyone was so friendly. In addition we enjoyed the wild menu that evening. Really didn't want to miss it. We only stayed for one night, but it was a great experience. If we are ever in the same area, we would definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.4
    The room was clean and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and bathroom were very small.

    The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Fresh orange juice which you do not get in most of the hotels

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.9
    the steam bath, swimming pool, the staff, and the standarts
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    the steam bath, swimming pool, the staff, and the standarts

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.3
    Fod, service, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fod, service, location

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: