Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 1016 Olav Digre

Glengsgate 21, 1706 Sarpsborg, Norway

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Cosy place in the centre of Sarpsborg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not a dryer in the bathroom, and no plugs in the bathroom either! Corridor looks old fashioned and it was not the cleanest part of the hotel... fortunately the room surprises. Receptionist was not informed of events at the area and didn't give much information (even if the ski competition is very famous there and took place that day in the park close to the hotel) TV has only Norwegian channels

    Beds are very comfortable, the room looks nice and it is big. It is in the CENTRE of Sarpsborg! Close to restaurants, shopping centre, shops and train station, what it is great ! I didn't hear a lot of noise even though there is a road next to the hotel windows. The breakfast room is renewed and quiet, with a lot of light. The food was very good!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    I had a very enjoyable stay and I recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Sparsborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    excellent location close to the shopping centre and bus and train station. Very polite and friendly staff, delicious breakfast and above all a nice and clean spacious room. I loved everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.8
    pretty grim
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Several flights of stairs and no lift caused my wife considerable pain and inconvenience. She could not face leaving her room for an evening meal. This aspect spoiled our trip.

    Hotelier and staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    Moderate accommodation in centre of Sarpsborg
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not interested, left at 7.30 a.m., no check-out facility, had to put key through a shuttered reception. So no receipt available. Other guests were waiting for check-out, breakfast etc:-. (It was not early!) Room was functional, bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.8
    Why ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was indescribable indecorously for any hotel or home, probably clean but hard to understand

    the room is old and clean, but the only place is the location for a stop if you go from Denmark to Norvay, ok the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    My recommendation to anyone visiting Sarpsborg is to book their stay the hotel 1016 Olav Digre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    I enjoyed the hotel's delicious breakfast and had a very good nights sleep due to the very comfortable bed and everything new in the bathroom . In general my stay there was outstanding .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.9
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange smell in the rooms, can't even explain what it was. Like a mix of mold, dust, old furniture and wallpaper. The main entrance is easy to miss, even if you stand right in front of it. Had to leave the tap open for quite a while to get the water warm enough for a quick shower (big waste of clean water).

    Very welcoming and helpful host, nice breakfast, good location, quiet rooms, free parking (parking permit provided by the hotel), clean rooms, comfortable beds. Small but important detail - pillows. My usual experience is that they are either too soft or too hard. The pillows in this hotel were perfect, at least for me. Overall, very satisfied and would come back if I have to overnight in Sarpsborg.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Can be excellent, can be poor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit cold, but got warmer during the day. It seems that hotel is under some small renovation, the lobby and the cafe, restaurant seemed a bit like that.

    Very good breakfast, great location. Room nice, but I think that only part of the rooms are renovated - ours was. Excellent , clean and newly renovated bathroom. If you get a nice (and renovated) room you really enjoy your stay. As soon as all the common areas like lobby and restaurant and corridors are renovated this will be a great hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.8
    We consider our stay satisfactory and will be glad to return there in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the broken elevator and the absense of shampoo and soap in the shower. We had to use the hand soap. Otherwise the shower was excellent.

    We were overall satisfied, our stay was short and did not need any special services.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Not wery impressed.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door was broken. The floor was dusty.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Evident that a lot of improvements have been made. But still more to be done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom - shower curtain was old and stained. Room facilities just seemed old and crowded.

    Excellent breakfast and breakfast area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    a place to sleap when you work away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    windou was imposible to open

    near to job

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    It was cosy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smoking area

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    the room was at the last floor, lite hard for me to get upp,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was at the last floor, lite hard for me to get upp, when you have kneeproblems

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    I would just recommend this hotel to everyone who wish to visit Sarpsborg, great location , very
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    excellent location , super breakfast , very clean room and comfortable bed , very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    I will recommend this hotel to everyone who wish to visit Sarpsborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Very clean room and a comfortable bed, great location, excellent breakfast and very polite , friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Very Nice place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is old. Have to wait 9 seconds for hot water. So what? The Hotell is very cool.

    Very Nice place! Very good value! Clean, Nice people, breakfast is nice too.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.2
    Comfortable bed, good breakfast and good wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because there was an ongoing hotel strike when we went to Sarpsborg our originally reservation at another hotel was cancelled. Unfortunately we didn't have any other option than to book this hotel. When we checked in and wanted to pay in cash the receptionist seemed very bothered and said we needed to pay with credit card. When we insisted to pay cash she said we had to pay the even amount since she had no change. She even wanted us to go back out to our car to get coins so that she didn't had to bother going after change. The room was 1245 NOK and we had 1300 NOK. She suggested that we rather pay the 1300 NOK for the room and just forget about our change. We got pretty upset by this behaviour since it's not written anywhere that they don't want cash and it's not the guests problem that they don't have change. And why should we pay 55 kronor extra just because she don't have change?! Anyway, she managed to find change for us. This hotel is extremely worn out, shabby and smelly. When we arrived in the evening it was probably 25 degrees in the room even though it was only about 14 degrees outside. The heating was on full. It's very noisy, both from the corridor and from the street outside. There was a lot of drunk people walking the street in the night, screaming and singing. Bring ear plugs!!! The curtains did not stop the sun from lighting up the room in the morning. Bring eye over!!! We were told that breakfast was 06-09. We questioned this since it was a Sunday. The answer we got was that there are nurses who's stays permanent at the hotel and the work early and therefor want their breakfast early. We pointed out that we are reagular paying guests and really would like to sleep a little longer since it's Sunday. After the receptionist had talked to her boss she said we could have breakfast until 10.30.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast and good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    5.8
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    bathroom was outdated and freaky Room was noisy and no sound isolation We could hear people talking in the next room Bed sheet was not clean you could feel sort of dust on it.

    Staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was nice Good location for the city

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    8.8
    Room was clean and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. (had I checked this when booking I would have brought a travel kettle). This was only an issue as we stayed on Public Holidays and there was nowhere open in the town to get a cup of coffee.

    Room was clean and bright. Very pleased with layout of room and location of Hotel. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and spoke English, therefore able to help us. Staff were able to provide information on transport to get us back to the airport for our flight home. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    This was a wonderful historic hotel near the public square...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The entry from the street was very hard to find - no sign on the door. Rather grungy entry to a historic hotel, especially when the rest is so nice. Some plants, a bench and a sign for hotel on door would be easy to put in place! The rooms could use a slight investment to fix up walls and flooring. Shower should be updated. No elevator for HC.

    This was a wonderful historic hotel near the public square in Sarpsborg city. Near the pedestrian axis, in a quarter with street art and small shops. Lots of tiny cafes and restaurants nearby - with lots of cultural variation. Very good information at the desk on things to do, and maps etc. Friendly staff with good English skills. Close to train station and easy to find. Really enjoyed my walk in the city and the newly renovated pedestrian axis throught the over 270 city quarters. Such a beautiful city with wooden and brick buildings and architectual harmony. I would love to come back and wander some more. The hotel room was spacious, nice room temperature, the bed was wonderful and you can actually open the Windows! Great windows....loved watching the street life and breathing in the brisk air. The prices were very reasonable for Norway and the breakfast very good. They even had hot waffles for us americans.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    Liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Liked everything! Comfortable and warm small hotel in the center of Sarpsborg nice. Breakfast is very nice and pleasant in a cozy cafe. The heat of the fireplace. Sorry for my bad English. Понравилось ВСЁ! Уютный и тёплый маленький отель в центре симпатичного Сарпсборга. Завтракать в уютном кафе отеля было очень приятно. Сотрудники отеля позаботились зажечь камин к завтраку, от этого создалось ощущения домашнего тепла и уюта.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    6.7
    No blackout shades in room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No blackout shades in room! Just some sheer curtains. Apparently the shades had been removed, who knows why. Had to resort to using multiple bed sheets to block out the street light right outside our window. Staff was helpful, but the whole situation was absurd.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is cosy and the staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is a bit worn and needs redecorating but we didn't mind as we really loved the atmosphere there and the staff were great too. The lift didn't work.

    This hotel is cosy and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast/lunch. Great customer service in the cafeteria as well. The beds were comfy - I slept great!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    Location, service and a safe parking for the motorbike are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The elevator was eventually broken, but the personnel helped with the luggage.

    Location, service and a safe parking for the motorbike are the positives.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.1
    The friendliness of the staff, especially Knut, although we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very disappointed by the fact that our room wasn't cleaned or the bed made up on the second day of our three-day stay. It was made up after our first night so why not after the second night even though May 1st was a national holiday. But is that any excuse for such a lapse???.

    The friendliness of the staff, especially Knut, although we were given incorrect information that could have caused us to miss our return flight. We were told that there would be a free bus service to meet the train arriving at Rygge which would transport us to the airport. But we were not told that this bus does not run early on Saturday mornings. Therefore we had a panic which was only resolved when, somewhat fortunately, we were able to get to the airport on time thanks to locating a local taxi.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    7.5
    Central location, close to railway and town square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dark curtains, which would be a problem in summer.

    Central location, close to railway and town square. Good selection at breakfast, including a few hot ones.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    5.4
    Close to sentrum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No facilities at all at the hotel, and there is very soundy between the rooms.

    Close to sentrum.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.5
    good breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good breakfast !!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    4.0
    The cafe.
    • Family with older children

    No lift. Not easy if you have heavy luaggages. You can noises from the hallways and traffics

    The cafe. Short distance to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staf,good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staf,good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.2
    parking good near by
    • Couple

    some noise from technical pipes

    parking good near by

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    4.6
    You can hear evrybody moves in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can hear evrybody moves in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A strange noises from the led lamp. Not a big thing.

    Nice staff. Clean. Location.Breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Smell in the bath

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    Super-friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Super-friendly staff! Very helpful with all questions asked.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast & breakfast area, clean room, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very tight bathroom, lots of stairs

    Breakfast & breakfast area, clean room, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    3.3
    The shower,Town,no elevator,to hot in the room,lood party...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower,Town,no elevator,to hot in the room,lood party outside of our window could not sleep.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.1
    Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Problems with hot water. Printer in reseption wasnt working and I had to ask several times for invoice by email.

    Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    qualities of the guest rooms.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    7.1
    Staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nowhere to sit in the evening. Bar was closed and no tea or coffee?

    Staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    We like the room,breakfast was very good,wifi was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like the room,breakfast was very good,wifi was ok.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel 1016 Olav Digre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: